Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

The Healthy Back Institute

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 216-4908 Fax: (866) 843-4319 2407 S. Congress Ave Ste E 100, Austin, TX 78704 http://www.losethebackpain.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Healthy Back Institute meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

The Healthy Back Institute has been BBB Accredited since June 14, 2005 with BBB serving Washington, DC and Eastern Pennsylvania. The company relocated to Texas in 2014 where they are locally approved as a BBB Accredited Business.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Healthy Back Institute include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 3
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on The Healthy Back Institute
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2013 Business started: 09/01/2001 in MD Business started locally: 01/01/2014 Business incorporated 08/21/2012 in NV
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Dr. Jesse Cannone, Governing Person Ms. Eva Klein, Customer Service Manager Ms. Colleen Ullrich, Assistant
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Jesse Cannone, Governing Person
Customer Contact: Ms. Eva Klein, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Health & Wellness Health & Medical - General Consultants - Medical Health & Diet Food Products - Wholesale & Manufacturing Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies Medical Equipment & Supplies Compression Clothing/Garments Trusses - Medical & Surgical Health & Fitness Program Consultants

Alternate Business Names
SW Management Group LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Healthy Back Institute has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 2407 S. Congress Ave Ste E 100

    Austin, TX 78704 (800) 216-4908

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    333 Main Street Suite 201

    Gaithersburg, MD 20878

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On or about February 2nd 2016 I was searching for information on rheumatoid arthriris, which I have been diagnosed with and came across joint pain relief FREE TRIAL I filled out my name and email etc.. ,but never agreed to continue receiving prescriptions, which I have received 2 of and mailed back.Impor gangly the scripts were for back pain not joint! There website gives instructions on hos to return them so I followed instructions by keeping tracking number. Approximately 1 week later my bank account was charged8 I$ 49.95; May 17, 2016. I called customer service spoke to ***** and he said there is no refunds! Why in the world would a businessss have a return policy and not refund your money. After mailing back the 2 scripts I feel like this scam should have been canceled and they should not have continued mailing more scripts and charging me. They also charged me ,2 pther times before 1st charge for $13.95, the 2nd for about $15.95. Then this last time for $49.95! This is terrible to do to someone who for one, cannot afford it and another DOES NOT HAVE OR EVER HAD BACK PAIN AT ALL. ALL

Desired Settlement: Refund of $ 49.95 and to discontinue mailing to me medicine that is of no use to me. I feel a refund of the $49.95 should be refunded due to the fact I sent back the allt the medication mailed to me.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

On Feb 4, 2016 we received an order for Ms.****** for our Free Trial of Heal-n-Soothe. The terms and conditions for the Free Trial can be seen on the order form before the order is placed.

As per Ms.Farmers request on May 18th, 2016 we cancelled further shipments.

Please see attached documents.

Refund in the amount of $49.95 has been issued and may take 48-72 hrs before posting.

I do not see that we have charged Ms.****** $13.95 or $15.95 however if I can be sent a copy of the credit card statement showing the dates I will be happy to review.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,

*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

3/16/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an email from this company, advertising their product. I went out to their website, read the information, then closed the page. Not long after, I received an email from ***** *******, cofounder, thanking me for visiting their website, and offering to send me a sample bottle. I replied to the email, and agreed to accept a sample bottle, and pay the price of the shipping. I gave my CC# (big mistake), was charged for the shipping, and received the sample bottle. At no point in the transaction was there any indication that by doing so, I had signed myself up for a "subscription". I do tend to read the fine print, so I don't think I could have missed this. Much to my surprise, today I received an email saying "thanks for your order; your package has shipped"! I called customer service, who told me that they would cancel my subscription going forward, but that I would have to pay for the first shipment, since it had already been sent. I complained that I had never agreed to the subscription; the CSR replied that I must have agreed -- there was no other way this could have happened. This seems to me to be an aggressive, sneaky business practice, designed to delude people. Despicable.

Desired Settlement: 1) A cancellation of my "subscription", and a letter stating that this has been done. 2) A full refund of the 49.95 I was charged for the most recent shipment 3) A prepaid shipping label to be sent to me, so that I can return the package when it arrives, without incurring shipping charges

Business Response:

Ms. ****** placed order for Heal-n-Soothe Free Trial on January 23, 2016.

The link used to place this order:

http://www.losethebackpain.com/healnsoothefreetrial-30-m115.html

Once the “Where do we send your free bottle” box is filled out credit card information is entered on the next page. 

Best Regards,

*** *****


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

********* ******

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a lot of trouble with this business in the past regarding a product I purchased that I never got, despite them saying they'd shipped it, then saying it had to be shipped several times after, and refusing to give a refund. Nothing was done until I contacted the BBB about it, but that is now resolved. I also removed myself from all their emailing lists in 2013. I have been receiving emails since, and last week I filed a complaint with their customer service explaining to them that I had unsubscribed several times over the years and that if I receive another one, I'll be reporting their company to the BBB as well as reporting them as spam- Their response was that they removed me from all mailing lists. I received another email from them this morning. This is getting absolutely ridiculous.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to actually remove me from any of their mailing lists. This company is horrible and I no longer wish to have contact from them.

Business Response:

 

Hi BBB,

Our records indicate that Ms. ****** opted out from receiving promotional emails – special deals / prices etc - on 2/24/2015.

We are in the process of changing our systems and if The Healthy Back Institute sent a promotional email after the stated date above we sincerely apologize.

I have rechecked our databases and I do not see that we have Ms. ****** as an active customer to send promotional emails to.

On February 9th, 2016 we received ticket # ***** from Ms. ******.

We use Zendesk – a customer service ticket system. With this ticket system our customers receives a ticket number and an email is sent back to the customer with the ticket number. Once we have answered the ticket and email is then sent back to the customer. The system is set up to send out a survey to our customers “How would you rate the support you received”. Unfortunately, we cannot edit the survey as to who receives it or not. We do apologize for the inconvenience.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best regards,

*** *****

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I'm not referring to the survey sent on February 6th, but another email I received about coffee being a powerful joint pain relief on February 9th. I have been trying to unsubscribe from their email list since 2013, in fact I have an email that I'd responded to asking why I'm still getting emails when I'd unsubscribed several weeks prior from 2013. I had deleted most of the emails I'd gotten from them and was lucky enough to find that in my "sent" folder. I'm extremely frustrated with this entire company and situation. I can provide pictures of the one from 2013, from the ticket response survey, and from the one sent after the survey if need be. Updating your systems shouldn't suddenly put me back on a list that I finally got them to get me off of over a year ago with some struggle all the way back then.


Regards,

**** ******

3/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered three tubes of rub relief for $9 each. Subtotal was $27 & Total with shipping was $32.95. I immediately saw that I was charged twice (subtotal & total!) on my account so I called & canceled the order within the hour & I unsubscribed from all informational emails. I was told that my order was canceled & that I would be receiving a refund & a confirmation of that refund. The next day I received an email that the order had shipped. Whoooaaa....So I furiously called & talked to another csr who told me they never actually canceled my order. I asked to speak with a manager & after several brief holds & lies that the manager was on another call or otherwise to busy to speak with me, I was told I would not receive a refund & I would have to wait for the order to arrive in the mail & refuse the package to the mailperson....then I would receive a refund. I asked if they sent it fedex or ups? They stated they sent it usps. So I said, " I suppose you want me to stand by my mailbox for days (& wait for the snail) until the package arrives so I can refuse the package to the mailperson just to get MY money back?! Finally...the manager got off her call & got on the phone with me. She admitted she was listening to my call with "******" (hahaha...yea, the "phone call she was on..." smh)..."******" continually refused to refund my money, talked to me in a rude manner, refused to give me her last name after I asked several times (her first name is "******" & according to her she is "the only ****** in the call center"). When I asked for her employee number, she said they didn't have employee numbers. The person who lied to me saying I would receive a refund should be fired, ****** should be fired, & the entire company (especially since a ton of senior citizens are being scammed daily by these people & the call center is being run by 17 yr olds) should be investigated & shut down. I guarantee the feds will find something illegal here. Why isn't the amount of complaints here being investigated? I mean, seriously, I see a trend escalating (like my phone call with ******)... this company is stealing from people, mainly senior citizens, because that is who they target, & they only give the money back when the BBB steps in. THIS is completely absurd & appalling that this is even happening.....Horrible customer service & karma is a b****. You will eventually get yours "Back Institute".

Desired Settlement: Give me my money back $32.95. Stop stealing, lying, deceiving, & ripping people off. Leave the seniors alone....they especially don't deserve to be victims of your multi-million dollar scandalous marketing scheme & close your doors. Publicly apologize to everyone you screwed over.

Business Response:

 

Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute apologizes for the concern Ms. **** had in regards to being charged twice for her Rub-on-Relief order.

Ms. ****’s bank most likely posted an Authorized / Pending Capture charge first .Our system sends the issuing bank a “request “ to charge the card. The “request “is for a smaller amount than the total order.

Once we get back a notification that yes, you can charge the card the Authorized / Pending Capture is voided and is now replaced with Captured/ Pending Settlement. This takes just a matter of minutes.

Some banks display both these messages and some do not and we understand that this can look like a card is charged twice and we sincerely apologize for that.

Please see attached - You will find the transactions from Ms. ****’s order on February 2, 2016. As you can see the voided transaction at the bottom is the Authorized / Pending Capture that was most likely displayed by Ms. ****’s bank. The second transaction from the bottom is what was then charged to the card.

Refunds were processed in the total amount of $32.95 as can be seen below from the charged that settled on February 2, 2016.

The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that Ms. **** was informed that the order would be cancelled from shipping. We are working with a new system that sends the order instantly to our fulfillment company and currently we do not have a way to stop the order from shipping. Ms. **** should have been informed of this and that refund would be processed and once the order arrived she could keep the order free on us.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,

*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


This is a completely bogus response. I was told I would not receive a refund until I rejected the shipped order upon receipt & sent it back via usps. I had to call my bank & have them reverse the charge for the subtotal amount of $27.00, which they did. I sent the unopened order I received (as I was told to do by the company's supervisor; via phone) back to the company three weeks ago & still HAVE NOT received my refund of $32.95. Unless the company would like to deal with a police report & possibly a lawsuit for stealing, I suggest they promptly refund my money. I can go for damages if they would like to continue lying online to save face. 
Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

On February 4th I advised my agent to refund Ms. **** in full and apologize since the order shipped after Ms. **** had called to cancel. I also informed my agent to let Ms. **** know the order did not have to be returned since it was our error it shipped.

 

I really apologize that the above was not communicated to Ms. ****.

 

I understand that the way the system works with Authorized / Pending Capture versus the Captured/ Pending Settlement is confusing.

The customer is never charged the Authorized / Pending Capture amount and in this case it was the $27. This is to so receive confirmation from the issuing bank that we, The Healthy Back Institute have a customer who purchased something from us and we are looking for approval to charge the card. The Authorized / Pending Capture never include any shipping fees.

Once the approval is sent back to us the Authorized / Pending Capture $27 is voided and then the true charge of $32.95 is what is charged to the card.

The attachment I sent is a screen shot from within our merchant account – this is the company that processes our credit card charges.

As can be seen on the screen shot from the bottom there is voided transaction. This was the Authorized / Pending Capture for $27 – this is never charged to the customer’s card. This is the request to charge the card that is sent to the issuing bank .Once the issuing bank gives us the approval to charge the card the Authorized / Pending Capture $27 is then voided. Some banks post this and some banks do not post this for their customer to see.

The second transaction from the bottom is the charge that was charged to the card – Settled Successfully transaction of $32.95.

The two other transactions are the refunds we processed that total up to the $32.95 that was charged.

The Healthy Back Institute have fully refunded back all that was charged to the card $32.95.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,

*** *****

2/3/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Thus product was ordered on 12/11/2015 and it was delivered on 12/19/2015 and it was refused. The reason for the refusal was I found a lot of bad things about the product so I refused it. I spoke with a man name Manny on 01/02/2016 and he advised me they sent the product back out and when it reached my Post Office they sent it back. He checked in his system and he finally stated he found the product in the warehouse and I paid I believe $156.00 for it and he took off shipping and he told me I would be receiving a refund of $147.00. Now I called back on 01/04/2016 and spoke with a very rude lady that said she was a supervisor and that the product had not been returned yet even though Manny found it in the warehouse. This package was never opened by me it was just refused and handed back to the mailman. The Person I spoke with today advised she was a supervisor and said the product had not come back to the warehouse yet and I know she was lying because Manny said it had come back. She is trying to tie up my money and I live off Social Security and I need that money put back in my account ASAP. Please do what you can to help me I would really appreciate it. Thank you and have a blessed Day.

Desired Settlement: That my money be refunded ASAP and that's all I want.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for the confusion in regards to Mr. ********s return. 

We receive the return and processed a refund in the amount of $147 on Jan 7th, 2016. The refund was processed back to Visa ending in ****.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

 

Best Regards,

*** *****

1/8/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received product that I did not order on 12/3. Returned product and company received product on 12/7, but has refused to provide refund.

Desired Settlement: Refund the $49 that was charged to my acct for a product that I did not order and do not possess.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that refund was not processed as it should have.

I have refunded $49 back to credit card today.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

 

Best Regards, 

*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

1/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This business is in breach of contract. I purchased and received two items from The HBI: one came defective, and the other, damaged. I immediately alerted them of these issues and have requested a full refund, but have had an impossible time attempting to work with them towards a resolution. They refuse to send me a call tag to return the damaged merchandise, and for the defective merchandise,they have had returned back to them , in their possession since 11/24/15, signed by one of their employees, and they still refuse to refund my money after sitting on this returned merchandise for 16 days! They are very clearly stalling with the sole intent on withholding my money. This is an extortionist tactic and illegal. This company is a SCAM, and does not honor any of it's assurances. I will next be seeking to file a lawsuit in court to force these crooks to refund me my money for the defective garbage they sell, and the complete and utter emotional, mental, and physical anguish which dealing with them has been. They take advantage of folks who are in real pain, hence why I was lured into their product scam to begin with due to my severe back issues. Never before have I been treated so poorly as a consumer, by ANY COMPANY, EVER. Shame on you, Healthy Back Institute!

Desired Settlement: Full refund.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for the delay for arranging pick up and refunding.

A total of $777.75 has been refunded back to Ms. ***** credit card ending in 0758 however $399 was refunded today December 17th, 2015 and will take 24 -48 hours to settle.

It's no excuse however working with vendors can sometimes delay processes and we sincerely apologize for causing Ms. ***** anguish.

 

Best Regards,

*** *****

12/3/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was physically unable to take advantage of a "one day only" on line ad for the "Rub On Relief" tube at $9.00/tube due to a computer glitche on my computer yesterday, the day of the ad. I am a regular autoship customer of the Heal & Soothe capsules monthly. As a preferred customer, I am most angry that I was not afforded the opportunity to order this product at the discounted price less than 24 hours later!! (I was planning to order at least 3 tubes). Under these circumstances, perhaps I should reconsider my regular monthly order for the Heal & Soothe as well. Your sales pitches are certainly aimed at trying to get customers....in this case, even a smaller offer is shown. Your supervisorial "board" was definitely not helpful or personable in trying to resolve this issue to my satisfaction. Please advise.

Desired Settlement: to place the order at the one day on line advertised price....see above.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute operates just like any other store  / business with special offers / discounts / one day sales / while supplies last etc.

However, we do give our agents the flexibility to honor a special within a reasonable time frame after the offer has expired as long as we have the item in stock.

I honestly do not know why this agent did not honor our $9 / Tube Rub-on-Relief the day after it expired but I will find out.

Please call our Customer Service (************* and I will inform our agents that we can and will honor the promo we can for Rub-on-Relief on 11/10/1/2015 $9 / Tube.

 

Best Regards,

*** *****

 

10/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested a sample bottle from the company which I received paying the expected shipping costs. I noticed multiple charges on my MasterCard and phoned them and they said that another bottle was on its way to me. I cancelled immediately...it was my understanding that I had a month to cancel and it was noted to do so well before a month had passed in my agenda. I phoned them and advised them that I did not want the bottle on its way to me...there was no information on when I had to advise them not to be send additional bottles. No success. So I waited for the bottle to arrive at the Post Office and then refused it and it was sent back. I phoned them again today and they are not budging from the initial stance of no refund and there was no Supervisor for me to talk to. I let them know that I was going to be filing a complaint with you. The charge is $65.73...Canadian exchange made it very costly.

Desired Settlement: A refund on my MasterCard for $65.73 as they now have the bottle in their possession.

Business Response: Ms. **** was inactivated on Sept 1, 2015 from receiving further Smartship Heal-n-Soothe as per phone call we received. I have refunded$49 back to credit card today September 28, 2015 for the return we received on September 16, 2015 for the Heal-n-Soothe Smartship Savings Plan that processed on August 16, 2015. Please let me know if I can be of further help. Best Regards, *** *****

10/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ordered a seated inversion table from their online store. Received the unit and it was not what was expected, packaged poorly, missing some components and requiring extensive assembly and was not safe! The unit was overpriced compared to competitive retail and the return policy did not state any "Re-Stocking fees but were deducted from my return credit after shipping it back freight prepaid via FedEx one day service.

Desired Settlement: I expect the "re-stocking fees to be credited back to me, since they were not spelled out in the return policy sent to me from the CSR.

Business Response: Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute apologizes that Mr. *******'s Seated Inline Inversion table arrived with missing parts.

The agent emailing Mr. ******* return policy should have included the fee for Restock.

A refund check in the amount of $29.95 will be issued and mailed to the address listed on this complaint.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,
*** *****

9/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried their pain relief rub on cream and it didn't relieve the pain. I emailed them and explained that the problem I had was too severe for something like a cream to be effective, and asked to return the items. they emailed in return as to where and how to return the product for a refund. I have a tracking number from USPS. I mailed it on 7/31, and have not yet received a refund. I have emailed them twice since then, on 8/11 and 8/13, and have not gotten any response back. 3 of the four tubes were not even open, so I should receive a full refund for those, and the 4th was partially used, so partial refund for that is what I saw on their advertisement.

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: Hi BBB,
1 Tube of Rub on Relief was received as a return at our warehouse on August 11,2015. 

Our warehouse entered the return into their system on August 13,2015 and sent us notification that said date. Return files were not worked on Friday August 14, 2015. 

I reviewed return for June - August and did not see any other returns for Ms. ***** in regards to Rub-on-Relief. Our ware house may have logged the incorrect quantity returned on August 11,2015.

A refund in the amount of $69.95 has been issued back to credit card ending in 8654. The shipping fee if $5.95 was not refunded.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,
*** ***** 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I have not received the refund yet.  In addition, I sent 4 tubes of the cream, not one, and they need to follow up with the person who logged it in incorrectly.  

Regards,

******* *****

Business Response: Hi BBB,

The refund was processed in our systems on August 17, 2015. 

Please allow credit card company time to post the refund.

Mr. ***** may also call her credit card company to verify the refund is in process.





Refund


17-Aug-2015 10:18:16


*****, *******


M


XXXX8654


USD
(69.95) 


17-Aug-2015 17:01:58


USD
(69.95)


Best Regards,

*** *****








8/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In late May, I placed an order for 3 tubes of Rub On Relief. Within an hour, I cancelled the order at my husband's request. He felt that I should try the trial samples first. They shipped the order anyway (including the paid samples). Neither of the sample items helped at all , so, I requested return for refund instructions ( 3 unopened tubes). Their ads assure, refund if not satisfied. I have contacted by e-mail, many times since, yet have not received the courtesy of even a reply. They are still bombarding me with sales pitches, but, have not replied to a single e-mail. I am a senior with limited income and cannot afford to be stuck with something I cannot use. I just want return instructions and prepaid label to return items and a prompt refund. regarding info on next page...there were 2 more contact attempts that there was not room to list and the amount ($32.97) was for the 3 tubes only. The trial samples were paid separately ( $1.99 and $2.00)

Desired Settlement: Prepaid return label with RA# and a prompt refund

Business Response: Hi BBB,
Please see attached pfd.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: There seems to be a misunderstanding. I received the Sleepzyme refund (could not take because of conflicts with other health issues) and my complaint was not about the Sleepzyme order. The issue was with the 3 unopened tubes of Heal'n'Smoothe from another order, because the sample did not help at all. All I ask for is to be given instructions to return the 3 tubes and, then my refund of $32.95.

Regards,

**** ******

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The desired settlement was prepaid return label with RA# and prompt refund. Since we were not contacted to cancel the order for 3 Tubes of Rub-on-Relief we are unable to arrange for prepaid envelope with RA#.

However, please return the 3 Tubes of Rub-on-Relief with tracking number to address below - please include name on the return:

*** ******* **** ********* **** ***** ******* ******** *** *****

Refund will be issued - less shipping fees - once received at our warehouse.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
**** ******

6/11/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I did not order Heal n Soothe & Rub on Relief I received from Losethebackpain.com, for which my U.S. Bank credit card was charged $49.00 on 9/28/2014. I did not receive an invoice from Losethebackpain.com. On 8/29/2014, I ordered a free book "Arthritis Reversed" from Losethebackpain.com, for which my credit card was charged $5.95 for shipping stated in the ad. My copy of the internet order that I clicked on shows I ordered the book only. Nothing else. The Losethebackpain.com website did not show a detailed acknowledgement of my order. I did not receive an email confirming details of my order. For my online purchases from other businesses, I always receive an online acknowledgement of my order showing full details and prices; and also a separate confirmation email showing full details and prices. Losethebackpain.com did not do the above. Why? Is it a scam? Instead, Losethebackpain.com sent to me up to three emails a day advertising their products. It became annoying and I had to block emails from them after several days of this. I definitely did not purchase anything from Losethebackpain.com around 9/28/2015. I had blocked emails long before this date. I am 79 years old with Atrial Fibrillation diagnosed in 2012, in which my heart beats irregularly and too fast. Daily I take the prescription drug Coumadin (generic Warfarin) to keep my heart beating regularly. Weekly I am tested regarding international normalized ratio (INR) which for me is 2.0 to 3.0. If my INR is too far above or below 2.0 to 3.0, I could have uncontrolled bleeding or a stroke. Consumer Reports says that drug supplements (like Heal n Soothe) are not regulated regarding contents. Drugs.com shows that Coumadin (AKA Warfarin) has 777 drug interactions. Therefore, I definitely cannot risk taking any drug supplements and did not order the subject drug supplements from Losethebackpain.com. In January 2015, I read in the Heal n Soothe Start Guide on Page 10 that individuals taking prescription blood thinners (Coumadin...) should not take Heal n Soothe. Coumadin/AKA Warfarin are blood thinners. Therefore, I did not order Heal n Soothe, but Losethebackpain.com sent it to me anyway and did not disclose until Page 10 above that I should not take it. Unbelievable. This drug could have caused me to have a stroke or uncontrolled bleeding or worse. On 9/28/2014 and 10/3/2014, I notified U.S. Bank Customer Service by telephone regarding the above unordered drug supplements, and that because of health problems I cannot use them and will return them to Losethebackpain.com when U.S. Bank notifies me to do this. I later also mailed to U.S. Bank a letter and documentation about the above unordered drug supplements after U.S.Bank put the $49.00 charge back on my credit card account based on information received from The Healthy Back Institute (Losethebackpain.com), but U.S. Bank had not asked for my documentation like I was orally told by U.S. Bank during my initial oral complaints. U.S. Bank set up Case Number ************ concerning this matter. *** *****, Customer Support Department, *** ******* **** ********** *** * ****** *** ***** ** ******** ******* ** ****** ************ phone, ************ fax, advised U.S.Bank that her website has a 90 day money back and I did not cancel the order. *** ***** furnished (to U.S. Bank) invoice #******* dated October 26, 2014, that showed 1 Heal-n Soothe & Rub on Relief - FREE TRIAL!!!! $49.00, Payment made $49.00 Approved Visa, 9/28/2014 Current $0.00. What is the free trial all about? I did not order anything with a FREE TRIAL. How can it be free if I was charged $49.00? U.S. Bank did not furnish to me a copy of an original invoice supposedly furnished by *** ***** to U.S. Bank. My letter to *********, U.S.Bank, questioned this, but she did not respond to me about this. I did not receive this invoice, and the packing slip and instructions mentioned nothing about a FREE TRIAL. I certainly was not going to visit the above mentioned website after what happened as shown above. On November 28, 2014 (post mark 12/1/2014), *********, Cardmember Service Representative, **** ***** **** *** ***** ***** ** **********, phone ************ *** *******, sent to me a letter that stated the documentation lacks sufficient information to verify a billing error occurred, and suggested I work with the merchant to resolve this matter. ********* and *** ***** said nothing about the FREE TRIAL mentioned on the invoice. I was on vacation in December 2014, suffered a serious sinus infection when I returned and was unable to contact *** ***** until after the holidays. On January 9, 2015, I wrote a letter to ** ***** with which I returned in a large envelope the free book (not read) and the Heal n Soothe & Rub on Relief (that were not opened and were unused). In the letter I stated much of the information above as to why I was returning these terms. USPS Tracking disclosed this mailing was delivered on January 14, 2015, at 9:17 am. I have not received a response and refund and my shipping cost from *** ***** and/or The Healthy Back Institute. It has been four months since I notified them about my complaint. I note that there were 17 complaints to the Better Business Bureau, because The Healthy Back Institute did not followup and take action on complaints by customers. Now, this has has happened to me, and U.S. Bank seems to be condoning it. I may also make a complaint to the Office of the Attorney General Attorney. The Healthy Back Institute should not be allowed to get away with this. U.S. Bank seems to condone their actions.

Desired Settlement: Issue to me a refund check for the $49.00 charge and my $5.75 postage paid for my return of the book and two supplements that I did not order. A written apology to me. A letter to *********, U.S. Bank, about the above two actions.

Business Response:

Hi BBB,

Please see attached pdf file with the order in question.

As can be seen we received an order for Heal-n-Soothe and Rub-on Relief Free Trial on 8/29/2014.

This product billed according to the billing terms on 9/28/2014.

The Healthy Back Institute will issue a refund check in the amount of $54.95 however this does not mean The Healthy Back Institute billed for an item incorrectly.

Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Best Regards,

*** *****

Business Response: Hi BBB,
This was responded to earlier this morning. Please see attached.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,

*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** ********

The copy of the offer submitted by *** ***** to BBB showed the two unordered products with a free book, "The Calcium Lie II" book.  I never received this book and I did not order these products or this book.  I ordered a free arthritis book, and the copy of my online order showed no other products were offered or ordered.
It appears someone mixed up the offers. 
*** 

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: While checking my bank statement for the month of March, I noticed a debit charge for the amount of $5.95, from the website of : Losethebackpain on 3/10/2015, posted on 3/11/2015. Knowing that no one in my household nor myself had ever ordered anything from this unknown website, I called the toll free number ###-###-####, and spoke to a lady. I went on to tell her that I had not ordered anything from them for $5.95. She proceeded to tell me that it was for a back brace. I told her that no one in my household has back problems, so therefore, we didn't need a back brace. She supposedly went on to say that she was doing some checking on it, and proceeded to give me my mailing address and email address, and asked if that was mine. I said yes. She then said that someone had ordered the item. I told her no again that no one had ordered anything from them. She said, "are you sure"? I again told her that no one had ordered anything. She then said that she was going to check with the shipping/warehouse and if the order had not left , she would have it cancelled. If it had left, then I owed $5.95, and it could not be reimbursed because it was for shipping. Again, no one from my household ordered this item. The information on my card had to be gotten by ill means because no has my card but myself. I demand my $5.95 be reimbursed. I have the package still unopened and will return it when I get reimbursed. I will be waiting for a return shipping label.

Desired Settlement: I want my $5.95 reimbursed to me, and i also want a return prepaid shipping label to return this package, which I have no use for. Thank You!

Business Response:

In regards to Ms. ********'s charge of $5.95 I can see that an order was placed for ***** *******'s 7 Day Back Pain Cure book.  

The Healthy Back Institute do not currently sell a back brace.  

A refund in the amount of $5.95 has been processed back to Ms. ********'s card ending in ****.  

Please allow 24-48 hrs for the transaction to settle.  

Any questions please let me know.  

Thanks!   

***,

2/13/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a book on August 16th 2014, was told it had been shipped August 21st, being told it could take 2-3 weeks to arrive. I waited a month before contacting them after I had been told it was shipped and that it could take 25 days get here. Since then I have been told it was shipped again in October, I've requested a refund several times and all they've done is ask for my address over and over again. Today is February 1st 2015- I have yet to receive a book or my refund.

Desired Settlement: I'd like either a refund and an apology, a refund and an apology along with a copy of the book I'd originally ordered for causing such a problem.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for our error.

Our books ship media mail and unfortunately media mail does not offer any tracking. I will arrange for Ms. ******s Arthritis Reversed Book to ship out USPS with confirmation delivery numbers.


A refund will be issued via check since the original purchase date is older than 90 days and our system does not allow refunds back to credit card after 90 days. The refund check should have been issued earlier however internal procedure was not correctly
followed.

 
Again we sincerely apologize for our error.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. IF it actually happens this time.

Regards,

**** ******

1/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered an inversion table from the healthy back institute's online store in November. I used paypal for the order. In spite of the fact that the product was out of stock, The Healthy Back Institute processed the bank draft via paypal anyway and took $399.00 out of my bank account on 11/20/2014. Due to the unavailability of the product, I cancelled the order, and I have been trying to get the $399 back from them since early December. They have told me that refunds are done "on a case by case basis." Refunds should be automatic if you have not shipped the product and the order has been cancelled. I have made calls, and have emailed them, and have sent customer service requests via their ticketing system, to no avail. They should not have processed the bank draft when the order was not shipped.

Desired Settlement: I just want my $399.00 back. Some interest on it would be fair as well since they've had my money for 2 months. I would like 1.5% per month which comes to 11.97. So total would be $410.97.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for the delay in refund.
Internal procedure was not followed and caused the delay.

Refund in the amount of $410.97 has been issued via PayPal today.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I can see the amount of the refund in my PayPal account, minus the PayPal transaction fee.

Thank you!

Regards,

********* *****

1/16/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 11/13/2014 I placed an order for 12 bottles Heal N Snoothe supplements for $399 which I received. I never signed up nor agreed to any automatic monthly Smartship program.Just 11 days later on 11/24/2014 I was shipped another 9 bottles of Heal n Snoothe. I haven't even finished 1 bottle yet. I never placed this order and requested an immediate refund to my charge card of $249.This Company wants to hold me responsible for all costs to ship their products back on an order I never placed! The customer service department is a joke. I explained the situation and they agreed it their was an error, but still wants to me to come out of pocket to return the items. I requested to speak to a manager on two separate phone calls. The manager never came to the phone. They took my number and never returned my call.This company is operating in a fraudulent manner. It a scam. Once they get your credit card number, monitor it as you might get charged for an order you never placed like I did. I filed a complaint with my credit card company and will some one file with the U.S. Postal Inspector. The Postal Reorganization Act of 1970 incorporates these protections for American consumers and makes the mailing of unordered merchandise unfair methods of competition and unfair trade practices under the law.

Desired Settlement: I requested this company to send me a return mailing slip and cover the costs for return shipping, insurance and delivery confirmation as that was what they recommended to me. Or have their carried pick up the items.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that there seems to be an unwanted order that shipped. We receive two separate orders from Mr. ***** on November 12,2014 however they shipped on separate days.

I have included the orders as we received them for your review.

We will arrange for UPS to come and pick up the 9 bottles of Heal-n-Soothe. One of our representatives will contact Mr.***** with the details of the pick up. Once we have received the return we will refund for the order.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,
*** *****

12/26/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have ordered a free book online and unwittingly disclosed my credit card details to this company to charge for the delivery. Just a week ago, I received a mail from the company advertising a holiday sales promotion. I clicked on "Buy 6 Get 3 Free Super Joint Support with free shipping" box and was charged $299 to my credit card without my verification. I was not sure if I have placed an order as there is no accessibility on the website to check on my order status except through the Customer Service. The Customer Service confirmed that the payment has been processed. When I verified the order quantity, they insisted that their system showed only 6 bottles on my account (which is not accessible by customers) and not 9 bottles as advertised.

Desired Settlement: The company to honor their advertisement and deliver the order quantity as advertised.

Business Response: Hi BBB,

The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for the inconvenience we have caused.

I have discovered through Ms. ***'s  complaint that we had an error in the order set up.

The order that Ms. *** placed was in fact buy 6 get 3 free for $299 free shipping however only 6 bottles processed on our end due to our error.

We will ship the 3 bottles we owe Ms. *** and an additional 3 bottles as a way for us to apologize. 

Please let me now if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,

*** *****


11/26/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Although I had ordered from this company in the past, I was not currently ordering from them. I inadvertently clicked on an ad they had sent me, and, without ever getting an initial bill, they sent me an item. Upon calling them, I was told to mark "refused please return to sender" and take it to the post office...of course, the following month I had not gotten my refund (minus their shipping costs, of course) and they said they had never received the item back and it may be "lost in the mail". Their website claims to be rated A+ by the Better Business Bureau.

Desired Settlement: A prompt refund - credit card credit of $59.00, as promised by phone and email.

Business Response: Hi BBB,

The order in question was placed via our new 1 Click ordering method. We have a lot of customers that like this method since no credit card nor address information has to be entered.

We apologize that ******'s order was placed.

The return has not been received however a refund for the full amount of $65.95 was processed on October 7,2014.  

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards,
*** *****


11/25/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hi, I ordered an infrared heating pad from this company. It is not what I expected. It also heats up very slowly. I do not want it. Their money-back guarantee promises to give me a full refund, minus shipping charges, for any reason I am not 'delighted' as they say. You can see the guarantee on their website. Google 'losethepain' and infrared heating pad. Scroll down. The guarantee also says: 'No questions asked. No strings attached" etc. I have a series of emails from them to me and me to them that demonstrates they do not intend to pay me back. Also, they told PayPal they will NOT pay me back. I want them to deposit money at PayPal, because I believe they will not pay me back when I send the pad back. They said they will have to check it for defective parts first. That is not the guarantee. They said I get my money back for ANY reason. I have since purchsed a different pad from Therasage, which works very well. I discovered from the Therasage people that The Healthy Back Institute used to sell the Therasage pad, but since then they have made an exact replica of the Therasage pad. It is so exact that I was fooled by the pictures on their website. I thought I was getting a Therasage pad from the Healthy Back Institute. No matter what I thought, their guarantee promises a full refund for any reason. I will accept the deduction of the initial shipping charges because the guarantee says it is my responsibility. On top of everything else. the pad they sent does not have CSA approval. It does not even indicate where it was made. The bag it comes in is called Dr. ***** *** Infrared Heating Pad. Anyway, the item appears to be a knock-off. I have a series of emails going back and forth to them and they are making excuses not to reimburse me. Now they say I have to wait for them to receive the pad and they have to look at it to see if it is defective. I can send you the emails if you wish. I just want my money back and to get this pad out of my house...along with the aggravation it is causing me.

Desired Settlement: I want them to credit my PayPal account or have the money held at Pay-Pal for when they get the pad back. I will send it registered.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
Ms. *******'s heating pad has been received and refund to PayPal has been processed.
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that our heating pad was not what Ms. ******* had expected.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

10/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Saw on Discover card a charge for $47.00 on August 7th for something I did not order. Called company and they would not even explain what I supposedly ordered. On hold for 25 minutes and got no answers Supposedly a 90 day free return policy but they won't accept that and refused to offer any other information.

Desired Settlement: Either provide information to credit card company or issue refund.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
I have refunded  the order Lose the Back Pain - Online Version $47.00 that was placed on August 7,2014 today. The refund was processed back to credit card ending in ****.

We have the following notes for this order:

Prepared chargeback for *******  ********

****** ***** called in to advise he did not order the LTBP system. ** states that his chargeback was declined. I was going to issue the refund, but cu states he requested another chargeback from his CC company yesterday. I advised cu we have to wait for that process to complete.  10/1/14

 As per the above notes we ask that the second chargeback is removed since refund has been processed.

Thanks and please let me know if I can be of further help.

Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:there was never a refund issued, they rejected the first reversal, per credit card company, the only thing I could do was request another chargeback, they are stalling so they won't ever have issue refund.  The next ploy is to let clock run out and then refuse to issue refund.  What a scam....



Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The refund was issued back to the card on 10/8/2014. It may take a few days for credit card company to post the refund.

*******
Refund 08-Oct-2014 11:11:09
****** ******
XXXX****
USD (47.00) 
08-Oct-2014 16:50:16
USD (47.00)

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because as of 10/15/2014 no refund has been issued.
Seven days is ample time for a refund, words are only as good as actions.
Sorry to beat this horse to death, but I am only trying to protect my rights.
--------------------------------------------------------------------\
Message: 

Please close my complaint, refund business has posted to my credit card. 

Thank you for resolving this matter

****** *****

 

10/20/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I accepted an internet offer for a FREE book + shipping charges ($5.95) but the website would not process the order without adding other items. After I placed my order I checked to see if the unwanted items were on my order and they were, so I called their 800# and the representative acknowledged that they were there and said that he would remove all items except the book. However, when the shipment arrived it included the ordered book and 2 Unordered items. I checked my credit card account to find 2 charges: $5.95 for the book and $53.04 for the items. I called 800# again and was told that they would email a return label so the unwanted items could be returned. Never received. I reported this issue to them. FRAUD: All items were listed on the invoice received, but nowhere was there any listing of an individual price or $53.04. It wasn't until I checked my credit card account that I knew anything about charges for the unordered items.

Desired Settlement: 1. When offering a FREE book + shipping, the process should be completed without other hidden charges/offers. 2. All invoices should have itemized charges plus a statement that the total has been charged to your credit card. 3. TRANSPARENCY 4. BBB rating of A+ is not accurate and should be lowered until rectified.

Business Response: ****** *****Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute apologize that the charge for $53.04 was not refunded earlier. We discovered that Ms. Price has 2 contact records with us and therefore the charge in question was not seen when we were first contacted. I have refunded that charge today however it should have been refunded when it was discovered by us. Ms Price do not have to return these items , they can simply be discarded.

Please keep in mind that all our additional offers can be declined by clicking on the No Thanks - I've included a picture. 

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Best Regards
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *****

10/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a Med. Infra-red heating pad for which my credit card was charged $272.92 on 06/03/2014. Since there is evidently no Quality Control at this company, I was sent a heating pad that did not work. No apology, no nothing from customer service but they said they would go ahead and send out another heating pad without waiting for the returned faulty pad. The new heating pad never came. Once they received the faulty pad, someone called me and asked if I wanted a refund????? WHAT?? Do they think I want them to keep my money?? this was unbelievable so I hung up on the ridiculous person and told them I would have nothing to do with their company. So 3 months later I am still checking my credit card statements for the refund of $272.92. I finally call the ridiculous people at customer service and ask where if my refund. By law they are required to issue a refund!!! I spoke to Alexus and then her supervisor to get my refund and was told that since I did not tell them I wanted a refund...they were simply going to keep my money. Are you kidding??? I said I wanted a refund on my credit card today and was told the checks are written "2 times per month and then it will take up to 21 days for me to receive a refund." GRRRRR!! I've already waited 3 months for my refund!!!!! This company needs to review and receive some serious customer service training. They certainly won't be & should not be in business very long by keeping people's money after a product is returned, and then giving some assinine reasons about why they can't reverse the charge!! I will do my best to spread the word that folks do NOT want to have anything to do with this company!! Wake up Healthy Back Institute!!!

Desired Settlement: I would like my refund administered today on my credit card ,and I would also like an apology for all the hassle and time I have had to spend just getting this issue resolved.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that there seems to have been some confusion in regards to replacing the faulty pad or refunding.

A refund check will be issued and mailed to the address included on this complaint.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** **********

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been in contact with them for over a month trying to sort out an unauthorized fraudulent credit card charge of $17. Every time i email the customer service center i get the same canned response :Hi, "Thank you for contacting us. I apologize, but I was unable to locate your account. Please reply with the first and last name on the account in question along with any nicknames or surnames the account may have been filed under. Please also reply with the email address used to sign up with us or that you receive any newsletters on. I look forward to hearing from you soon!" except for one time where they said : "Hope this email finds you well! Please be advised I was able to locate the account under the customer's name ( ****** *********) and we have processed the request for the refund please allow any where from 24 to 48 hours for the refund to process on our end and 3 - 5 business days for this to reflect in her account. Thank you for contacting us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with. ********" When i followed up because i never received the refund i got the same canned response.a

Desired Settlement: I want my $17 back and I want to make sure they are never authorized to charge my card again. I don't know where they got the credit card information from.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
Please apologize to Ms. *******.

A refund in the amount of $17.00 should have been processed however it was not. I have today processed refund back to the credit card.

Please allow the refund a few days to be posted back to the card.

If I can be of further help please let me know.

Best Regards,
*** *****

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ****** *******, Aug 17 14:12:I have contacted your company 4 times and have gotten NO assistance. This is VERY frustrating. Here is what I have told each person I have spoken to and what they said they would do for me.First call- I received the inversion table and I sent a cancel request the same day that I ordered the table. I received an email stating that the request had been forwarded. See copy of email below. The customer service rep told me that he would contact the sending delivery company to request a pick up. I waited and no one contacted me.Copy of emailTo review, comment and reopen the request, follow the link below:http://thehealthybackinstitute.zendesk.com/requests/*********** ******s, Jul 18 22:47:Hi ******,Hope this email finds you well!We have requested that this order be cancelled.Thank you for contacting us.Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with.*******Customer Loyalty Teamcustomerservice@losethebackpain.comOpen 24 Hours a day/7 days a weekPhone: ###-###-#### option 2Fax: ###-###-####****** *******, Jul 17 22:02:Seated InLine Inversion System - USDescription: 1$399.00I would like to cancel this order. My money is too tight right now. Maybe at a later time!Second phone call- I spoke with ****** (if that is really her name) I explained again what happened and what the previous rep told me. ****** informed me that the only way the package could be returned (to get around the system) was because I didn't sign for the package. I was not home when the package came. She also wanted to know the name of the person I spoke with. I couldn't remember, then later in the conversation ****** told me that the person I spoke with was new and didn't know what he was talking about. HUM...how do you know if the person was new if you don't know who I talked to? Why was there nothing in the notes section????? ****** told me to look on the package to see which company sent the package and contact them and they will pick up the package. I informed her that there was not a company name on the package. ****** told me she would research this and contact me with the information. Again, I received nothing.Third phone call- I spoke to Adrianna ( who said she was a customer service manager) I again told her everything I put in this email. She told me that it was no problem to return the inversion table BECAUSE THERE WAS A MONEY BACK GUARANTEE, but the shipping department was closed for two weeks. She said she needed to put the request in but she assured me that she would CALL me to let me know what she was able to accomplish. She confirmed my phone number which was incorrect and she supposedly corrected the number. This number is ###-###-####. Again I got nothing.Fourth phone call- spoke to another rep and told her I needed to talk to whomever was in charge of the customer service department. I waited on the phone, but the supervisor was still busy. She told me that Adrianna did call me and I said that was impossible because I have an answering machine at home and my phone would have had a log of the phone call and a voice mail. This person while very nice, confirmed by phone number. Which was NEVER corrected, so she corrected the number. I was told I would receive a phone call the next day. I informed her that I am a teacher and am not available to take calls until after 3:30 pm. She told me that those notes would be recorded and that would not be a problem. So on Friday after school I waited for a phone call. I gave both my home number ###-###-#### and cell ************, but received NO phone call.This is getting absolutely ridiculous. If I can not get this corrected by Tuesday, August 19th I will be forced to call the BBB and post on facebook that this company is not trustworthy and do not back their guarantee. I will also contact my credit card and have the charges reversed. As a teacher, if I tell a student something and I don't follow through, there would be consequences. How can you run a business that treats people this way? You are supposedly in the helping field! I don't get why I am still dealing with this problem since the middle of July. I need the money credited back to my credit card immediately and if you want your inversion table then send someone to get it. Again I need this accomplished by August 19th. I would like an email confirmation that my credit card has been credited and when the table will be picked up!****** *************.******s@gmail.*******:###-###-####cell:###-###-####

Desired Settlement: ?Pick up the inversion chair and refund the 399.00.I sent you a copy of the email I sent above. Since today is Monday, the company told me to wait and they would contact me today. It is 10:25pm and I have not hear a thing.

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that the order that Ms. ******* cancelled did ship and that we did not resolve this in a more timely fashion.

Refund in the amount of $399.00 has been issued and we issued a call tag via *** to pick up the Inversion Table.

UPS will make a second attempt today September 2nd, 2014 to pick the table up.

The tracking number for the Inversion Table is:

******************


Please let us know if any questions or concerns.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** **************

Satisfactory not so much took way to long to get anyone to respond to me.

8/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a 150 dollar product plus 90 dollars express international shipping in February. Instead, I received a different product. Beyond that, I also had to pay customs fees to receive said wrong product. The vendor demanded that I send the wrong product back on my dime (i.e. pay international shipping once more) before they'd even begin to correct the mistake, leave alone the time and money spent on the wrong product. They refused to send the correct product I had ordered and paid for. I contacted the vendor numerous times, 43 emails were exchanged about the incident, it is now almost July and they still refuse to concede. The BBB is my last resort. Product_Or_Service: Back *** and ******* Back

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I have requested a charge back on my credit card, though I still have not been reimbursed for shipping and customs, leave alone my time.

Business Response:

Yes we will refund for the above mentioned $150 and $90 however my system does not allow me to refund back to credit card after 90 days from the original purchase date. I will be more than happy to send money for the refund via PayPal however I can only do that if ****** *** have a PayPal account. If ****** *** have a PayPal account or a friend / co-worker family member etc may I please have the PayPal email address to send the refund to? 

Thanks and looking forward hearing back from you! 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

The complaint (ID ********) has not been resolved. Despite what the business said about refund, the money isn't back on the credit card yet. It's been three weeks since they claimed that they refunded it. They're insisting to check with the credit card issuer (which was already done) but naturally, the credit card issuer can't investigate it. How can they check something they haven't received?? The business should check it with their own bank, shouldn't they? They're not being helpful about this and has been giving runarounds. 

Let me know what we need to do to get this sorted out. 

Thank you for your time.

Regards, 

*********

 

Business Response:

Hi ******,   The refund has been processed in the amount of of $240.00 via PayPal.   Please let me know if you have any questions or concerns.

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

Hello ********** ***,  

I have received the message on the BBB portal. My paypal address is ********@gmail.com, expecting immediate refund after this second BBB complaint about the same case.  

Thanks, ******

 

Business Response:

Hi *********,

Please have ****** *** forward me his PayPal email address and I will issue refund in the amount if $240.00.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have received the payment now, after 6 1/2 months, nearly 70 emails and 2 BBB complaints. 

Thanks ********** 

******

 

8/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I order a inversion chair from them on August 11th for 399.00 and have an email from them stating it would ship 1-2 days and receive it 7-10 days, today is already 9 days and I have called them and email them numerous times to see when it was shipped or was it shipped and no one can give me an answer when I threaten them to go to better business bureau a few days or more ago they gave me a tracking number which is a wrong/bogus number and I been emailing them about and since that day which is a few days ago and no one answers my emails so I called them a couple of days ago I believe it was yesterday or the day before and they said it was a wrong tracking number but couldn't find that it was shipped and he said he would get someone to get back to me with a tracking number that is correct and long behold I haven't heard from them. I told them in advance that I was leaving the last week of August and if I couldn't get it by then I wouldn't order it but they said I would I will paste the email from her, I email her also and said it wasn't correct but no response and here today is the 20th and I have no idea if it was ship or not or being rip off. here is the email. http://thehealthybackinstitute.zendesk.com/requests/46244 they have already been paid for it since 8-11-14 for I have an invoice that it was approve and it came out of my credit card. I think this is so unprofessional and rude to not answer my emails or give me any info. below is my receipt BILLING INFORMATION Payment Information Visa xxxxxxxxxxxx**** ***** ***** ****** **** ** ***** ****** **** ******** ** ***** United States P:***** ******** SHIPPING INFORMATION Shipping Address ***** ***** ****** **** ** ***** ****** **** ******** ** ***** United States P:***** ******** Standard ($0.00) Shipped via UPS Ground or USPS First Class Mail ORDER SUMMARY Order Items Seated InLine Inversion System - US Description: 1 $399.00 Sub Total: $399.00 Order Total: $399.00 Payment Summary Amount Today $399.00 Items Date Description Total 08/11/2014 Seated InLine Inversion System - US - $399.00 - $399.00 08/11/2014 Standard - $0.00 - Shipped via UPS Ground or USPS First Class Mail - Payments made Date Description Total 08/11/2014 APPROVED $399.00 Total Payments: $399.00 Balance Due Invoice Total: $399.00 Balance Due Now: ****** *******, Aug 15 22:20: Hi *****, Hope this email finds you well! Orders are typically shipped 1-2 business days after the purchase date and can take from 7-10 business days to arrive. You should receive your package in time. Thank you for contacting us. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with. Clayton Customer Loyalty Team customerservice@losethebackpain.com Open 24 Hours a day/7 days a week Phone: 800.216.4908 option 2 Fax: 866.843.4319 Bpg*****, Aug 15 10:11: do you know when my order will be shipped ******* I ordered it on Aug 11th, I be leaving in a week and need it to take it with me to New York. please inform asap. thanks ***** *****

Desired Settlement: that it be sent to me asap overnight or at least two days priority mail so I can get it in a few days unless it has been sent already and it should had been ship the 12th or 13th said I would receive it no later than 7-10 days and it is already nine days

Business Response: Hi BBB,
The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this has caused Mr. *****. This is not the experience we want our customers to have. 
We will review the internal process we have when dealing with vendors that ship some of our products.

We called Mr. ***** earlier today and provided the correct tracking numbers from UPS for the Seated Inversion Table.

Here is the correct tracking number:

******************

The Seated Inversion Table is scheduled to be delivered today.

Scheduled Delivery Updated To:Thursday, 08/21/2014Last Location:******** **, United States, Thursday, 08/21/2014

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *****

6/24/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: You sent back 6 bottles, but 2 were opened. As such, only 4 were able to be returned to stock and restocked. As such, we issued you a prorated refund based on the 4 bottles. Please let us know if there is anything else we can help with.***** Customer Loyalty Teamcustomerservice@losethebackpain.comOpen 24 Hours a day/7 days a weekPhone: ###-###-#### option 2Fax: ###-###-####THIS IS THEIR AD GUARANTEE !~!You Wont Find this Exclusive Formula ANYWHERE ELSE!100% Satisfaction Guaranteed! My Personal 90-Day Risk-Free...100% Empty Bottle Joint Pain-Free GuaranteeLivingwell Nutraceuticals is honored to be the exclusive distributor of this all-natural pain relief breakthrough Super Joint Support.As a customer of the Healthy Back Institute, you will be one of the very first to experience the EXTRA-STRENGTH pain relieving power of Super Joint Support!Heres our 100% Money-Back Guarantee of Satisfaction: I want you to put Super Joint Support to a true test. Thats why you have a full 90 days to decide whether this powerful pain-relieving formula is making a difference in your life.If for any reason Super Joint Support does not live up to your expectations simply send back the unused portion and youll get a FULL refund of the purchase price. No ifs ands... or buts about it!This guarantee is good anytime within 90 days from the date of purchase.If you don't feel significant improvement after trying it for at least 2 weeks, simply let us know and we'll gladly refund your purchase price (excluding shipping). Plus, your free BONUS GIFTS are yours to keep no matter what you decide!You risk absolutely NOTHING on this LIMITED-TIME OFFER! Reserve your supply today!Sincerely,***** ********* *******, Healthy Back Institute

Desired Settlement: $284 - $199.32 = $84.68 That is still owed to me!!! ****** *******, May 26 02:37: Hi ******, Hope this email finds you well!Thank you for contacting us. Our records indicate the shipment was confirmed returned. A prorated refund for the unopened bottles was processed in the amount of $199.32 for you on 05/18/14. Since this order was paid for by Paypal, we send paypal refunds every 2 weeks. Once sent to Paypal, they then finish the processing on the refund. This process can take up to 3-4 weeks. Date Invoice # Due Date May 18, 2014 2311102 02/18/2014 TO: SHIP TO: ****** ******* *** ***** ***** ********, Alabama ***** United States ****** ******* *** **** ****** ********, AL *****United States Qty Description Unit Price Total 1Super Joint Support - 6 Bottles - $299.00 - Eliminate Nagging Joint Pain Naturally $299.00$299.001New Customer Thank You Special - -$15.00 - $15 OFF Your Order!-$15.00-$15.001Standard - $0.00 - Shipped via UPS Ground or USPS First Class Mail$0.00$0.00Tota

Business Response: Hi BBB,
Please be advised that $84.68 will be sent via PayPal to Mr. ******* on June 24,2014.

Best Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** *******

3/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On January 4th or 5th 2014 I ordered a product called thin mist from the healthy back institute. I wrote them right after the order that this needs to be shipped via USPS. They confirmed this in an E-mail Sunday 5th of January. I never received the package. I contacted them again multiple times via E-mail and only got answers like wait longer and today a false shipping number which cannot be tracked via USPS online. Today a customer service representative wrote that they can take me off the mailing list too (??). So- they are obviously trying to "solve" the problem by deleting me??

Desired Settlement: Product $59.00 + S&H $16.00 = $75

Business Response: The Healthy Back Institute sincerely apologize that the order Ms. ******* did not arrive and that refund has not been processed in a more timely fashion.

Our records show that the order shipped on January 16,2014 to Ecuador however orders outside US do not ship with any tracking numbers. Ms. *******'s order shipped via USPS First Class INT.

A refund in the amount of $75 has been processed today back to Visa ending in 8611.

Again, we sincerely apologize.

Please let me know if I can be of further help.

Regards,
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 9951961, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've contacted by email three times in the last 3 days to have my order for the month of November cancelled. They never responded to any of the 3 emails. Today I was notified that my order shipped. Three days after I requested it be stopped. I phone customer service twice and he insisted that it shipped on the 3rd. After reading him the tracking number on the shipping confirmation he then said it shipped on the 5th. The tracking number indicated it shipped on the 6th. I cancelled any further shipments and asked that he send an email confirming this and he said we don't send those emails out. I looked up the previous month and the product shipped on the 8th. WOW terrible service.

Desired Settlement: I indicated to Customer Service that the product was good and I would remain a customer if they credited me because this was due to their error. He said because they did nothing wrong they would do nothing until they received the product back.

Business Response:

                   Nov 26 13                                                                                                                                                                                

 

Please apologize to Mr. *******. The November charge of $49 will be refunded and there will be no further shipments of Heal-n-Soothe as the membership has been inactivated.If in the future Mr. ******* would like to resume shipment of Heal-n-Soothe please contact our Customer Service at ************.
Regards, 
*** *****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on The Healthy Back Institute
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart