BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Planet Fitness

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 282-0003 Fax: (512) 280-0310 1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A, Austin, TX 78741 http://www.planetfitness.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Planet Fitness include:

  • 14 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Planet Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 12/10/2007 Business started locally: 12/10/2007 Business incorporated: 06/02/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager Mr. Greg Attwood, Owner Mr. Scott Attwood, Owner Ms. Virginia Attwood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager
Business Category

Gymnasiums Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Health Clubs Training Programs Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Alternate Business Names
Excel Fitness Management, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 W Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 282-0003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1807 Slaughter Ln

    Austin, TX 78748

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A

    Austin, TX 78741

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 W Palm Valley Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7100 W US Highway 290 Ste A

    Austin, TX 78736

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of last year I went in to Planet Fitness multiple times once to move the account over to this branch and then after to request that the account be cancelled. The account still has not been cancelled and proceeds to be billed. This has caused numerous issue with my bank. I am sick of this that the cancellation process is not taken into account and not acknowledged. I have since joined another gym that allows me to cancel online and offers various methods of cancellation unlike Planet Fitness.

Desired Settlement: The cost of this over a period of a year has been 21.64 per month for a period of over 14 months. That totals out to $302.96, I am not requiring them to pay me the full amount but would like at least 75% of this to recover in all of the bank fees I have had to pay for this. The total I am asking for is $227.22

Business Response:

    I apologize for any inconvenience that our member has encountered due to this issue. All of are members are valued participants within our team. As of today the member is still within a commitment with us and as it states in his agreement, "If your membership has a minimum commitment, and you wish to cancel your membership early a $58 (plus tax) Buy Out fee is required with your cancellation." Also stated in the signed agreement, " Your account below will be billed on or around the 17th of each month beginning on Sept 17th 2013 for $21.70 per month or until you cancel in accordance with this agreement." Currently the membership is still active and in good standing. We strive to provide our members and potential members with very honest and upfront pricing and policies. In the agreement also is our cancellation policy, " To cancel your monthly membership and stop the monthly billing on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notification  by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferably via certified mail." To date the requirements have not been met for us to cancel the membership being the reason for his continued charges. Attached is Mr. ********' membership agreement. Feel free to contact me for any other info. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After two months of being a member, I decided to cancel my membership with Planet Fitness. They advertise a "no contract" membership and I was told over the phone that the necessary steps would be taken to cancel my monthly charges. Since I have received several confusing texts, phone calls at all hours of the day from different phone numbers and emails. "Planet Fitness wants to welcome you back for only $1 and $99 for a year PIF. Hurry this offer expires tomorrow." "Our records indicate a past due balance. Visit our website to settle the matter" Why would they offer a special deal, if I cancelled my membership and owed past due amount? It doesn't make sense. I've been called and called, sometimes as early as 5:30am and as late as 11:00pm. Maybe they are open 24/7, but I am not. Every month since I cancelled, they have tried to draft my bank account, of which I have placed a block on the company, but can still see it happening.

Desired Settlement: I desire that Planet Fitness stop trying to contact me. If any statement has damaged my credit, I wish this to be reversed as well. I don't owe them any money and paid, in full, for the months I believe I was a member.

BBB's Final Determination: Business failed to respond to the BBB to resolve or address the complaint issues.

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to terminate my contract with Planet Fitness because the facilities and service of the staff did not meet my expectations. I was instructed by the branch manager to contact the regional manager, ****** ****, with my concerns. I emailed her 3 times and have called numerous times, leaving multiple voice-mails, but she will not respond to my messages. I have been trying to get my situation resolved since August and meanwhile, I keep getting charged monthly fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get refunded for the amounts that have been deducted form my account, my contract terminated without penalty, and my membership cancelled.

Business Response: Mr. *****,

Per our email conversations that started back in September, this situation has been handled and a refund has been given.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

Warmly,

****** ****
******** ********
**************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was driving up to the Planet Fitness (the one located at 1100 West Anderson Lane Austin TX) and I was pulling into one of the rows for parking. I was going the correct way that the yellow directional arrow shows. A lady in a Red SUV (Licence Plate- *** ****) was driving in the wrong direction. She tried to go around me and the stopped next to me because she couldn't maneuver any further. So we were both at a standstill. Then a male (18-22) came out and cracked open the door to the woman's vehicle. He told me to move my car and tried to open my passenger door multiple times but it was locked. I asked him if I would hit the passenger door but he would not answer and then slammed his passenger door into the side of my car. I told him I would call the police, which I did, and he drove off. I went inside and asked to call 911. I called 911 and was told a police officer would be on their way. As I was waiting ***** ****, the General Manager, went over the security video with me, which plainly showed the altercation. When the police officer showed up we spoke and I showed him my car. At the time, I thought I only saw a nick but when I got home I saw several more markings. ***** **** then spoke with me and I told him I wanted my membership voided or I would contact the BBB. I told him that I don't find it to be a safe environment for myself anymore. He then turned it around on me and said this was partially my fault. I asked him how and he said that I could have just continued moving forward. I asked "What if I would have hit her car? Then I would be at fault, right?" He said that "I wouldn't have." I repeated my question and he repeated his answer so it went around in circles from there. I reiterated that I did not feel safe going to this gym and he said I could contact ****** **** (the District manager). I called her and left her a message. I do not feel safe going to this gym anymore

Desired Settlement: I want the rest of my membership to be voided and I want to be refunded for the remaining 7 months. I had paid for this membership in full. So I would like the remaining 7 months to be refunded to me. I do not feel safe going to this Planet Fitness anymore and this is the only one close to me. I stated this to the manager ***** **** and he acted as if this altercation was no big deal. He said that Planet Fitness can not refund me because I have already paid in full.

Business Response: Below are the emails that have went back and forth from Mr. ******* and me.  We have found a solution without the involvement of the BBB.  Thank you for your time.


Hello Mr. *******,

I am aware of the situation that occurred at the facility.  I viewed the camera
footage and was able to get feedback from the officer that was dispatched and
it is evident that neither party was a threat, nor should feel
threatened.  As you have had ongoing issues with our facility, I have
decided that it is time to part ways.  This may not be the type of
facility for you.  I am sorry that it came to this as I have personally
taken time to speak to you to resolve any issues that you had with Planet
Fitness policies and proceudres.  I have also decided to give you a refund
for the unused portion of your membership.  You have used roughly 12
months of your 18 month membership, so your refund will be $71.81 with tax
included.  I will need a credit card or debit card to process the refund
on since we do not have billing on file for you.  You are more than
welcome to email me that information and I will make sure the cancellation and
refund takes place in a timely manner. 

 

Feel
free to contact me with any further questions.

 

Best
Regards,

 

******
*. ****

******** *******

Planet
Fitness Austin/DFW, TX

Planet
Fitness Corporate Office

2700
West Pecan St., Suite 475

Pflugerville,
TX  78660

Tel: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

******.****@pfaustintx.com



 

From: *** *******
[mailto****************@gmail.com]


Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 8:31 PM

To: ****** ****

Subject: Re: BBB Complaint/Planet Fitness Altercation

 

Additionally,
my main concern is safety. As a result of this altercation started, caused, and
ended by a Planet Fitness member I do not feel safe. I don't want to end up on
the Austin news as an assault victim. I have seen these scenarios play out both
in real life and in TV shows where a victim is reassured that no additional
retaliation will occur and then it does nonetheless. I am a mature adult as I would
assume you are, being of your employment stature, and I would hope we can come
to some sort of agreement. 

 

***
*******

 

On
Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 8:01 PM, *** ******* <***************@gmail.com>
wrote:

If
we can come to a resolution via email then I can contact the BBB and have them
cancel it. Ideally, I would like this resolved sooner rather than later. I paid
$215.42 for 18 months in full on 9/18/2012. I have 7 months remaining. Each
month is approximately $12. I would like to void my membership and be refunded
$84. If you will agree to that then I will send the BBB an email stating that
the issue has been resolved.

 

*** *******

 

On
Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 7:18 PM, ****** **** <******.****@pfaustintx.com>
wrote:

Hello Mr. *******,

 

I
wish you would had contacted me prior to sending off a BBB complaint. 
Since you have done that all correspondence regarding the complaint will be
done via the BBB website.  As soon as I receive it, I will respond.

 

Have
a great evening!

 

Regards,

 

******
*. ****

******** *******

Planet
Fitness Austin/DFW, TX

Planet
Fitness Corporate Office

2700
West Pecan St., Suite 475

Pflugerville,
TX  78660

Tel: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

******.****@pfaustintx.com



 

From: *** *******
[mailto****************@gmail.com]


Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 6:29 PM

To: ****** ****

Subject: BBB Complaint/Planet Fitness Altercation

 

Hi
******,

 

I
am copying the complaint ID from the Better Business Bureau which I filled out
moments ago. It is: *******.

 My
phone number is 5*********. Please
give me a call back so that we can reach a resoulution on this.

 

***
*******

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am still waiting on my refund to be deposited into my bank account. Once I see my refund I will be more than happy to accept the business response.

Regards,

*** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

8/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a month to month agreement with Planet Fitness when I was living in Austin, TX. In July 2011 I relocated to Los Angeles, CA. Before I left I inquired about cancelling my membership. The agent I spoke to informed me that I would be billed for 3 more months and then my "contract" would end. I had been under the impression that I was month to month, but he informed me I had to pay the initial period, then it would switch to month to month only if I authorized it. I made him completely aware that I would be moving to a place where none of there clubs had locations. He assured me that after the three months I would no longer be billed. Several months later I realized that I was still being billed. I looked on their website and it told me to write a letter to the club asking for them to cancel my membership. I wrote the letter thinking that would resolve it, yet nothing happened. It has been over two years now. I am living in OK currently and they are still billing me $21.70 per month. I called the number listed on the website for the club and it went to voice mail. I have left messages and no one has ever returned a single phone call. This is highly unethical to take advantage of someone this way. They have debited $520.80 in total from my account over the past two years for a membership I cannot use. I have no contract with them that I am even aware of. Even if I was inaccurate and did have a contract they make it impossible to get in touch with anyone to cancel it or resolve any issues. I live out of state, so its not like I can go down there in person.

Desired Settlement: I want Planet Fitness to stop billing my account every month and to refund the money they have fraudulently debited from my account.

Business Response: Hello Ms. ******,

I looked into your account and pulled your initial membership agreement.  When you enrolled on February 9th, 2011 you signed up the Black Card Membership.  That membership has always had a 12 month minimum commitment.  If you go back and read your agreement, it states that it is indeed a 12 month commitment and the cancellation is as follows, "In order to cancel the billing of your monthly membership, the club requires written notification on or before the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferable via certified mail.  If your membership has a month minimum and you have not completed the term, a $58 (plus tax) buyout fee is required at the time of cancellation."  You stated that you sent a letter, but unfortunately we have not ever received a letter from you.  We also never received a payment for the buyout of your membership since you attempted to cancel prior to the end of the 12 month term. 

I have went through your payment history, and totaled up every payment that occurred after your first year (12 month term) was complete and it came to $225.82.  Since that was the amount that was charged after the 12 month commitment was complete when your membership was month to month, I am willing to refund that amount.  If you could please email me at ***********@**********.com I would be more than happy to help get that refund processed.  

I look forward to rectifying this situation.  

Thank you,

****** ****
******** *******
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never been a customer of this company (Planet Fitness in Austin, TX). I don't even live in Austin where the Fitness Club is located. However, they somehow mistakenly have my company-owned cell phone number (which I use for business) associated with a Planet Fitness account that has a past-due balance. They have been sending me automated text messages and phone messages for about six weeks now (the phone calls come every 3 days) trying to collect this past due balance. I have called multiple times and talked to staff who said they would take care of the issue, but they have not. I have called and emailed the Regional Manager (her name is ****** ****), but she does not return calls or emails. I don't appreciate having collection notices appear on my company-owned device, and would really appreciate getting them stopped.

Desired Settlement: I need these automated messages to stop, as they are not intended for me.

Business Response:

Hello,

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that the phone calls and texts have caused you.  Unfortunately a previous member had your phone number when they joined and never updated us when they received a new phone and number.  I have personally looked up and removed your number and can assure you that it will not happen again. 

Thank you,
****** ****

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My cell phone number was given erroneously by a member who fails to pay their bills. However, it's my cell that keeps getting called and texted about late payments. I am NOT a member of Planet Fitness and called three times asking them to correct this problem. It is now a year since these calls and texts have started and it's obvious PF can't or won't fix the issue. I have never been a member nor will I ever be now.

Desired Settlement: I would like my cell phone number removed immediately. I wish to never receive a call or text from them ever again in my life.

Business Response: Hello,

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that the phone calls and texts have caused you.  I looked up your phone number and personally removed it.  When a member signed up, they had your telephone number and did not update it when they received a phone with a new number, so unfortunately when you received that phone number we had that number on file for that members membership.  Again, I have personally removed the number and I apologize for the inconvenience.

Have a great day!

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

11/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service
2/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1