This Business is not BBB accredited

Planet Fitness

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 282-0003 Fax: (512) 280-0310 1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A, Austin, TX 78741 http://www.planetfitness.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Planet Fitness include:

  • 19 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Planet Fitness include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 13
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Planet Fitness
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 04, 2009 Business started: 12/10/2007 Business started locally: 12/10/2007 Business incorporated: 06/02/2011 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager Mr. Greg Attwood, Owner Mr. Scott Attwood, Owner Ms. Virginia Attwood, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Turner, General Manager
Business Category

Gymnasiums Health & Fitness Program Consultants Health & Wellness Health Clubs Training Programs Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs

Alternate Business Names
Excel Fitness Management, LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1100 W Anderson Ln

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 282-0003

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1807 Slaughter Ln

    Austin, TX 78748

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1819 S Pleasant Valley Rd Ste A

    Austin, TX 78741

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 W Palm Valley Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7100 W US Highway 290 Ste A

    Austin, TX 78736

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Unacceptable experience at the gym and was provided unacceptable customer service by **** *******. Also gym unsafe and tripped and unable to workout as usual because of knee injury. No sign posted and area uneven. One high and one low. I am requesting a refund for the month I was unable to work out as usual. Thanks

Desired Settlement: $100.00 for payment for January/February,

Business Response:

Ms. *****, signed up for a membership with Planet Fitness on 02/08/15. She signed up for a Black Card Membership, which is $19.99 per month (plus tax) with a 12 month minimum term. She signed in person and according to the agreement, has authorized Planet Fitness to bill her account or credit card for her monthly dues. Your account will be billed on or around the 17th of each month for the amount of $19.99 (plus tax). As seen on account holders check in history, she has been checked in multiple times during the duration of her membership.  Members of Planet Fitness do have an option to freeze their accounts due to medical reasons.  All we ask of the members is to provide a doctor’s note so that we can scan into the members profile.   To date, we have not received any form of notice from her doctors so that we can freeze her account. If Ms. ***** is able to provide a doctor’s note from during the time period of February and March, we will be more than happy to issue her a refund for that time.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

 

Regards,

 

James Cain

Planet Fitness Regional Manager

Austin, Pflugerville, Round Rock, Killeen, and Waco

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

******** *****

1/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First a little backstory: I signed up for Planet Fitness at the end of December, 2013 and was not provided a tour of the facility. We signed up under the assumption that PF, like all other gyms, would have free weights. My boyfriend discovered this was not true on his first gym visit, and we immediately canceled our memberships. The rep at the desk, and the attending manager, agreed to cancel both of our memberships under the common understanding that we had not used the facilities and the facility's capabilities were not clearly described to us. We signed the terminating paperwork, returned our fobs/pens/tshirts and left. This month, my credit statement reported that the Planet Fitness in the *** **** neighborhood of ******, ** was still charging me a membership fee--a full 10 months after my membership was cancelled. Upon reviewing my credit card statements from 2014, more discrepancies came to light: December, 2013: $6.85 charge January, 2014: $10.83 charge February, 2014: $10.83 charge March, 2014: $10.83 charge April, 2014: No charge May, 2014: $10.83 charge June, 2014: $10.83 charge July, 2014: $10.83 charge August, 2014: $10.83 charge September, 2014: $10.83 charge October, 2014: $31.39 charge ----- TOTAL: $124.88 I called the *** **** location and spoke to ***, the ******* *******, who informed me that she had no information for cancellation on my file. However, my boyfriend's cancellation was on file. I ask you how it was possible for an employee of Planet Fitness to cancel my boyfriend's membership, but not mine, when both cancellations were filed the same day and placed in the same stack of paperwork? Why am I being charge $124.88 for the incompetence of the employees at the *** **** location? *** can tell me that I have never once used a membership fob to enter or use a Planet Fitness facility, as I do not have one. She told me that she would be happy to cancel my membership but will not refund me the $124.88 that was charged to my account incorrectly over the past several months. I contacted ****** next the ******** *******, whom has given me false evidence that I was "supposedly" using the gym. First the photograph he sent me, I am almost 6ft tall with a very small chest, this woman is most defiantly not me in the photo. Secondly, my "schedule of visits" sent to me by ****** the regional manager show me to be in the gym when I have proof that I was working at my job in a local Emergency Department. Thirdly, what is the likelihood that my FOB when returned on date of my cancellation was re-assigned to another member who according to this data scantly uses the gym compared to my 3-6 days a week. I realize that my request is made more difficult that I do not have cancellation paperwork in my possession, but I know for a fact that keeping a document for six months should prove sufficient. Keeping it for 10 months ( as long as this has been going on) not very likely. Along with this "evidence" ****** has provided me, he has "suddenly cancelled my membership with no buyout fee. But again as what *** has told me at the location I originally signed up from, I have received no refund of incorrect charges. My request is very simple: please speak to the appropriate parties to authorize a $124.88 refund to the credit card I have on file and fulfill the termination request I filed over 10 months ago. I have made an attempt to contact the CEO via email with no response over 2 weeks and have told the local manager, the regional manager and the CEO in email that I would contact the BBB to file a complaint, hence my complaint today.

Desired Settlement: I would like a billing adjustment in the amount of $124.88. I have already changed my credit card and had to file dispute on my credit card for these charges. For which I will only recieve my latest charge of the $31.39 back without the cancellation paperwork for the credit card company. I'd also like my complaint formally published so people are aware of the poor employee follow through and representation of higher ups in the company whom have failed to correct this mistake and instead have shown false evidence.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 

The following email was sent to Ms. ****** on 10/29/2014;

 

“Hi *******,

 

I sincerely apologize about the situation that you ran into at our *** **** location.  By chance do you have a copy of your cancellation form?  Our records indicate that there was no cancellation filled out at the location. If you have a copy I would be more than happy to issue you a refund.

 

On another note, I ran a usage report and it shows that you have checked into the gym a few different times since last December (See Attached.)

 

As of today your membership looks to be cancelled without a buyout fee.  Unfortunately due to the circumstances we c***ot provide a refund unless proof of a cancellation is provided. Please let us know if you have any other questions.  Have a great day!

 

Regards,”

 

Ms. ****** has yet to provide proof of cancellation, therefore we are unable to issue a refund for her membership.  On a side note, we did cancel her membership free of charge without a $58 early termination fee to appease the situation.  Again, if she can show proof that she cancelled, than I would be more than happy to refund her membership, otherwise, records indicate that she was indeed using the gym after she “cancelled.”  Please let me know if you need anything else from us.  Have a great day!

 

****** ******

******** ******* * ****** ******* ******* **** ***** ******** ***** ******* ****** *******

pf-email

*********************

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 
1) Falsification of records, without a gym fob, I have not used the gym as indicated. Photographic evidence and my work schedule clearly show that I was not the female using this gym membership. FOB was returned with cancellation of membership.  I am extremely frustrated that someone whom failed to do their job and most likely gave my FOB after returning to someone else causes me charges.  However, I can see as indicated by the manager that they will stop at nothing to keep their charged fees.  Therefore, I am rejecting this statement, however know that PF will never repay me for their wrong doing, and should be posted on your website with complaint at their inaccurate book keeping and charges. 


Regards,

******* ******

10/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I sent Planet Fitness a cancellation letter with all of my pertinent account information during the first week of August 2014, following the instructions in the member contract. They received this letter later that week but still billed me for the month of August. I called and spoke to an employee, who told me that the cancellation was not processed until the 17th (the last day that it could be processed before I was billed for another month). The employee told me that I needed to cancel before the 10th. I had done so and requested a refund for the August charge. The employee told me to contact the manager via e-mail. I did so, and when she requested "proof of the double charges," I sent her a copy of my bank statement with the July and August charges highlighted. I have yet to receive any more information from Planet Fitness and they have not yet refunded my money for the extra August account charge.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded for the erroneous August membership charge of $16.24 because I followed the directions in the member contract for cancellation. All paperwork was received by Planet Fitness before the 10th and I was only charged due to a delay in their processing of my cancellation.

9/15/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a disabled veteran with a left leg amputation. I have no transportation and need to travel by cab. I joined Planet Fitness in March of 2013 to augment my physical therapy. At that time I was living in ***** **** so membership with them made sense. However, I moved to ******* in an apartment community that has a fitness center so Planet Fitness became redundant and unnecessary. I contacted Planet Fitness first in early March notifying them that I no longer required the services of their gym and requested they cancel my membership. They never got back to me. Instead they sent me an email stating that I owed them for my ***ual renewal. I contacted them via email and asked them why I had to pay for a renewal when I requested they cancel my membership. They contacted me and stated I needed to cancel my membership by either coming to the gym in person or via a letter to them. Since I had no transportation, I sent them the letter of cancellation. They sent an email to me stating they would cancel my membership if I paid them for the renewal fee and for four months from March through July, I told them I wasn't responsible for their billing and accounting practices and that the membership should have been cancelled in March when I made my initial request. We are now at an impasse and they are still charging me for the membership.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to adjust my account to a zero balance and to cancel my membership.

Business Response:

Hi ***,

 

We have actually been in constant contact with Mr. ****** on the issues he is having with his account.  Mr. ****** signed up on 4/24/13 for a 12 month agreement which then went month to month until he cancelled. As a courtesy we put Mr. ****** on a 3 month freeze over the phone because he moved and stated he was moving and would be back in February (Attached.) When a membership is put on freeze it then extends the contract for the amount of months the freeze was for (3 months.) Mr. ******s contract is now not

eligible to cancel until 7/24/13.   Mr. ****** states that he sent a letter

to cancel, we have no record of his cancellation nor did he send a "certified letter" to insure a receipt of delivery for both parties. IF Mr.

****** did send a letter in March like he states, then he would have cancelled his membership pre-maturely before his 12 month contract was up, which would have resulted in an early termination fee of $58+tax.  His agreement states that there are two ways to cancel, either person or by certified mail, which wasn’t done.  To this day Mr. ****** is cancelled in our system, but remains to have a balance of $147.32.  I have attached a copy of his agreement and also his check-in icon that states his balance. 

 

In order for Mr. ****** to stay cancelled in good standing, he would have to pay his past due balance.  We would be more than happy to waive $40 off of this balance which would take him to $107.32 owed.  Please let me know if you have any questions and have a great day!

 

****** ******

******** ***** *******  |  Planet Fitness ******, ***, ****, ******, *****, ******* www.planetfitness.com

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Again, Planet Fitness is unethical, frauds, cheats, and liars.  They never informed me to cancel membership via a certified letter.  When I began to speak with them on the phone, prior to March 2014, I made it clear that I needed to cancel my membership because I no longer live in the area and it made no sense to pay for a membership if it wasn't being used.  The Manager at the ***** ****, ** facility informed me I had to either come to the facility and cancel in person, or write a letter and cancel my membership.  I am a disabled veteran with a left leg amputation and in a wheelchair.  I have no transportation so I had to write a letter to cancel the membership.  I am NOT going to pay them money because of their incompetence and unethical behavior regarding settlement of this account.

They have 6 days to resolve this issue, or I am going to escalate this matter and file formal complaints for their unfair business practice with both the Texas State Attorney Generals Office - Consumer Fraud Division, and the Federal Trade Commission.  Frauds, and Thieves that Planet Fitness appear to be should not be permitted to operate facilities in the State of Texas.   

Regards,

******* ******

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I cancelled my planet fitness membership months ago, I IN-STORE as requested as I tried to do it on he phone first. I have been receiving calls and emails requesting that I update my payment information as well as pay an outstanding balance (all this after I cancelled). I finally got someone on the phone from the 888 number that keeps calling me and went through the information with him and he said he couldn't find the cancellation notice. I informed him that I apologize he was unable to locate it but I don't frequent their gym anymore and am no longer interested in their services. he said ok he would deal with it on his end. I still get calls once a week and text messages once a week saying I have an outstanding balance etc... It is very frustrating and at the point where it is almost harassing. I have a fantastic credit rating and pay all of my obligations but am starting to feel like I am a bill collectors weekly call list.

Desired Settlement: I just want an email from planet fitness confirming that I am no longer a member and do not have any financial obligation with them.

Business Response:

Good Morning ***,

 

Cardholder, **** ******, signed up in person for a membership with Planet Fitness on 1/17/11. He signed up for a Black Card Membership, which is $19.99 per month (plus tax) with a 12 month minimum term and will continue month to month once the membership exceeds 12 months.  The cardholder agreed in person and according to the agreement, has authorized the club to bill his account or credit card for his monthly dues. His account will be billed on or around the 17th of each month for the amount of $19.99 (plus tax).  Also stated on the membership agreement, “In order to cancel the membership billing for day 17 of the month the club requires notification in writing by day 10 of the month by certified mail.”    We also accept in person cancellation on or before the 10th.  To date, we have not received any form of cancellation for Mr. ******’s membership with Planet Fitness.  Therefore, will be continued billing of his membership until he cancels in accordance to our policies. If he can provide the carbon copy of his cancellation that was filled out at our location, then we will cease all calls, waive his past due balance and cancel his membership.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions. Thanks and have a great weekend!

 

Regards,

 

****** ******

8/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to this location to cancel my membership in May of this year. The gentleman at the front desk (*******) got a "Freeze Form" out. I asked him about it and he stated that I needed to freeze my account first. He stated that he would put it in the system for 30 days and that it would stop billing and then it would automatically cancel out my membership. I asked him at the time if I needed to come back in to cancel the membership, but he stated that no everything was taken care of and I was set. So, I left the store. About a month later, I was thinking that perhaps I needed to go back by the store to confirm that everything was taken care of, but I'm working on this thing about trusting people to do what they said they would do. After 30 days had passed and I didn't receive a bill for June I felt that he had completed what he said he would do and I felt assured that it was handled. This morning I check my bank account and discovered that I was charged for a monthly fee. I called the gym to ask that they reverse the charge and to make sure that it was handled and wouldn't be a future issue. The young man that I spoke with first asked me was it the monthly fee or the fee plus the administrative fee. I told him that it was only the $16.24 charge. He asked if I remembered who I spoke with and I told him that I didn't. I asked if they didn't have the notes in their system and an ID of who input the information. He looked at the info and stated that it had to have been 1 of 2 people and so he asked me to describe who I was talking about and I did. He placed me on hold for about 3 minutes while he went to find the gentleman and explain what I was calling about. ******* got on the phone and I explained my situation again to him. He stated that he couldn't remember back that far but he knows that he always tells people to come back in, but he didn't want to call me a liar, so he asked if I wanted to talk to the manager and I said yes. Again I was placed on hold and after about 5 minutes the manager came on the line and asked how she could help. I went through my situation again and she was silent the entire time. After I finished explaining she stated, "Well, ma'am, I have the form in front of me that you signed. It was a 30 day freeze and then if you did not come back in then it reverted back to your contract and your contract states that you must come in to cancel. Unfortunately there's nothing I can do about the charge." I informed her that I didn't even know anything about a "Freeze". He was the one who told me to do that. She said, "Well, yes, they're told to offer a freeze to members who may not be sure or may have just needed some time to decide if they wanted to cancel". I told her that when I came in in May, my intention was to cancel and I didn't think it was fair that they would impose a "freeze" on me that I didn't ask for or know anything about. And for me to specifically ask if I needed to come back in and be told no it felt like a scam and now I have to go through another process to cancel my membership. Her reply was, "Well, yes, ma'am, if you don't want to be charged again you will need to come back in." I informed her that I would be filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and she said, "Ok".

Desired Settlement: My desired outcome would be to receive a Credit Card refund and that they would change their policy of offering a "freeze" to members when members are requesting to cancel. For those of us who take time out of our days to go to the location specifically to cancel it's a hassle and seems unfair to have a practice where they offer something different than what you ask for. And in my case, for me to ask if I needed to come back in and to be told no, it just feels like a scam like when businesses offer a trial and hope you forget. Once you realize that you've been duped then they say that they can't do anything about the charge you've gotten but if you don't want it to happen again, then you need to go back in.

6/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: As of last year I went in to Planet Fitness multiple times once to move the account over to this branch and then after to request that the account be cancelled. The account still has not been cancelled and proceeds to be billed. This has caused numerous issue with my bank. I am sick of this that the cancellation process is not taken into account and not acknowledged. I have since joined another gym that allows me to cancel online and offers various methods of cancellation unlike Planet Fitness.

Desired Settlement: The cost of this over a period of a year has been 21.64 per month for a period of over 14 months. That totals out to $302.96, I am not requiring them to pay me the full amount but would like at least 75% of this to recover in all of the bank fees I have had to pay for this. The total I am asking for is $227.22

Business Response:

    I apologize for any inconvenience that our member has encountered due to this issue. All of are members are valued participants within our team. As of today the member is still within a commitment with us and as it states in his agreement, "If your membership has a minimum commitment, and you wish to cancel your membership early a $58 (plus tax) Buy Out fee is required with your cancellation." Also stated in the signed agreement, " Your account below will be billed on or around the 17th of each month beginning on Sept 17th 2013 for $21.70 per month or until you cancel in accordance with this agreement." Currently the membership is still active and in good standing. We strive to provide our members and potential members with very honest and upfront pricing and policies. In the agreement also is our cancellation policy, " To cancel your monthly membership and stop the monthly billing on the 17th of the month, the club requires written notification  by the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferably via certified mail." To date the requirements have not been met for us to cancel the membership being the reason for his continued charges. Attached is Mr. ********' membership agreement. Feel free to contact me for any other info. 

4/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After two months of being a member, I decided to cancel my membership with Planet Fitness. They advertise a "no contract" membership and I was told over the phone that the necessary steps would be taken to cancel my monthly charges. Since I have received several confusing texts, phone calls at all hours of the day from different phone numbers and emails. "Planet Fitness wants to welcome you back for only $1 and $99 for a year PIF. Hurry this offer expires tomorrow." "Our records indicate a past due balance. Visit our website to settle the matter" Why would they offer a special deal, if I cancelled my membership and owed past due amount? It doesn't make sense. I've been called and called, sometimes as early as 5:30am and as late as 11:00pm. Maybe they are open 24/7, but I am not. Every month since I cancelled, they have tried to draft my bank account, of which I have placed a block on the company, but can still see it happening.

Desired Settlement: I desire that Planet Fitness stop trying to contact me. If any statement has damaged my credit, I wish this to be reversed as well. I don't owe them any money and paid, in full, for the months I believe I was a member.

11/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to terminate my contract with Planet Fitness because the facilities and service of the staff did not meet my expectations. I was instructed by the branch manager to contact the regional manager, ****** ****, with my concerns. I emailed her 3 times and have called numerous times, leaving multiple voice-mails, but she will not respond to my messages. I have been trying to get my situation resolved since August and meanwhile, I keep getting charged monthly fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get refunded for the amounts that have been deducted form my account, my contract terminated without penalty, and my membership cancelled.

Business Response: Mr. *****,

Per our email conversations that started back in September, this situation has been handled and a refund has been given.  Feel free to contact me with any further questions.

Warmly,

****** ****
******** ********
**************************

8/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was driving up to the Planet Fitness (the one located at 1100 West Anderson Lane Austin TX) and I was pulling into one of the rows for parking. I was going the correct way that the yellow directional arrow shows. A lady in a Red SUV (Licence Plate- *** ****) was driving in the wrong direction. She tried to go around me and the stopped next to me because she couldn't maneuver any further. So we were both at a standstill. Then a male (18-22) came out and cracked open the door to the woman's vehicle. He told me to move my car and tried to open my passenger door multiple times but it was locked. I asked him if I would hit the passenger door but he would not answer and then slammed his passenger door into the side of my car. I told him I would call the police, which I did, and he drove off. I went inside and asked to call 911. I called 911 and was told a police officer would be on their way. As I was waiting ***** ****, the General Manager, went over the security video with me, which plainly showed the altercation. When the police officer showed up we spoke and I showed him my car. At the time, I thought I only saw a nick but when I got home I saw several more markings. ***** **** then spoke with me and I told him I wanted my membership voided or I would contact the BBB. I told him that I don't find it to be a safe environment for myself anymore. He then turned it around on me and said this was partially my fault. I asked him how and he said that I could have just continued moving forward. I asked "What if I would have hit her car? Then I would be at fault, right?" He said that "I wouldn't have." I repeated my question and he repeated his answer so it went around in circles from there. I reiterated that I did not feel safe going to this gym and he said I could contact ****** **** (the District manager). I called her and left her a message. I do not feel safe going to this gym anymore

Desired Settlement: I want the rest of my membership to be voided and I want to be refunded for the remaining 7 months. I had paid for this membership in full. So I would like the remaining 7 months to be refunded to me. I do not feel safe going to this Planet Fitness anymore and this is the only one close to me. I stated this to the manager ***** **** and he acted as if this altercation was no big deal. He said that Planet Fitness can not refund me because I have already paid in full.

Business Response: Below are the emails that have went back and forth from Mr. ******* and me.  We have found a solution without the involvement of the BBB.  Thank you for your time.


Hello Mr. *******,

I am aware of the situation that occurred at the facility.  I viewed the camera
footage and was able to get feedback from the officer that was dispatched and
it is evident that neither party was a threat, nor should feel
threatened.  As you have had ongoing issues with our facility, I have
decided that it is time to part ways.  This may not be the type of
facility for you.  I am sorry that it came to this as I have personally
taken time to speak to you to resolve any issues that you had with Planet
Fitness policies and proceudres.  I have also decided to give you a refund
for the unused portion of your membership.  You have used roughly 12
months of your 18 month membership, so your refund will be $71.81 with tax
included.  I will need a credit card or debit card to process the refund
on since we do not have billing on file for you.  You are more than
welcome to email me that information and I will make sure the cancellation and
refund takes place in a timely manner. 

 

Feel
free to contact me with any further questions.

 

Best
Regards,

 

******
*. ****

******** *******

Planet
Fitness Austin/DFW, TX

Planet
Fitness Corporate Office

2700
West Pecan St., Suite 475

Pflugerville,
TX  78660

Tel: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

******.****@pfaustintx.com



 

From: *** *******
[mailto****************@gmail.com]


Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 8:31 PM

To: ****** ****

Subject: Re: BBB Complaint/Planet Fitness Altercation

 

Additionally,
my main concern is safety. As a result of this altercation started, caused, and
ended by a Planet Fitness member I do not feel safe. I don't want to end up on
the Austin news as an assault victim. I have seen these scenarios play out both
in real life and in TV shows where a victim is reassured that no additional
retaliation will occur and then it does nonetheless. I am a mature adult as I would
assume you are, being of your employment stature, and I would hope we can come
to some sort of agreement. 

 

***
*******

 

On
Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 8:01 PM, *** ******* <***************@gmail.com>
wrote:

If
we can come to a resolution via email then I can contact the BBB and have them
cancel it. Ideally, I would like this resolved sooner rather than later. I paid
$215.42 for 18 months in full on 9/18/2012. I have 7 months remaining. Each
month is approximately $12. I would like to void my membership and be refunded
$84. If you will agree to that then I will send the BBB an email stating that
the issue has been resolved.

 

*** *******

 

On
Mon, Aug 19, 2013 at 7:18 PM, ****** **** <******.****@pfaustintx.com>
wrote:

Hello Mr. *******,

 

I
wish you would had contacted me prior to sending off a BBB complaint. 
Since you have done that all correspondence regarding the complaint will be
done via the BBB website.  As soon as I receive it, I will respond.

 

Have
a great evening!

 

Regards,

 

******
*. ****

******** *******

Planet
Fitness Austin/DFW, TX

Planet
Fitness Corporate Office

2700
West Pecan St., Suite 475

Pflugerville,
TX  78660

Tel: ###-###-####

Fax: ###-###-####

******.****@pfaustintx.com



 

From: *** *******
[mailto****************@gmail.com]


Sent: Monday, August 19, 2013 6:29 PM

To: ****** ****

Subject: BBB Complaint/Planet Fitness Altercation

 

Hi
******,

 

I
am copying the complaint ID from the Better Business Bureau which I filled out
moments ago. It is: *******.

 My
phone number is 5*********. Please
give me a call back so that we can reach a resoulution on this.

 

***
*******

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

I am still waiting on my refund to be deposited into my bank account. Once I see my refund I will be more than happy to accept the business response.

Regards,

*** *******

8/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a month to month agreement with Planet Fitness when I was living in Austin, TX. In July 2011 I relocated to Los Angeles, CA. Before I left I inquired about cancelling my membership. The agent I spoke to informed me that I would be billed for 3 more months and then my "contract" would end. I had been under the impression that I was month to month, but he informed me I had to pay the initial period, then it would switch to month to month only if I authorized it. I made him completely aware that I would be moving to a place where none of there clubs had locations. He assured me that after the three months I would no longer be billed. Several months later I realized that I was still being billed. I looked on their website and it told me to write a letter to the club asking for them to cancel my membership. I wrote the letter thinking that would resolve it, yet nothing happened. It has been over two years now. I am living in OK currently and they are still billing me $21.70 per month. I called the number listed on the website for the club and it went to voice mail. I have left messages and no one has ever returned a single phone call. This is highly unethical to take advantage of someone this way. They have debited $520.80 in total from my account over the past two years for a membership I cannot use. I have no contract with them that I am even aware of. Even if I was inaccurate and did have a contract they make it impossible to get in touch with anyone to cancel it or resolve any issues. I live out of state, so its not like I can go down there in person.

Desired Settlement: I want Planet Fitness to stop billing my account every month and to refund the money they have fraudulently debited from my account.

Business Response: Hello Ms. ******,

I looked into your account and pulled your initial membership agreement.  When you enrolled on February 9th, 2011 you signed up the Black Card Membership.  That membership has always had a 12 month minimum commitment.  If you go back and read your agreement, it states that it is indeed a 12 month commitment and the cancellation is as follows, "In order to cancel the billing of your monthly membership, the club requires written notification on or before the 10th of the month delivered to the club in person or preferable via certified mail.  If your membership has a month minimum and you have not completed the term, a $58 (plus tax) buyout fee is required at the time of cancellation."  You stated that you sent a letter, but unfortunately we have not ever received a letter from you.  We also never received a payment for the buyout of your membership since you attempted to cancel prior to the end of the 12 month term. 

I have went through your payment history, and totaled up every payment that occurred after your first year (12 month term) was complete and it came to $225.82.  Since that was the amount that was charged after the 12 month commitment was complete when your membership was month to month, I am willing to refund that amount.  If you could please email me at ***********@**********.com I would be more than happy to help get that refund processed.  

I look forward to rectifying this situation.  

Thank you,

****** ****
******** *******
 

7/10/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never been a customer of this company (Planet Fitness in Austin, TX). I don't even live in Austin where the Fitness Club is located. However, they somehow mistakenly have my company-owned cell phone number (which I use for business) associated with a Planet Fitness account that has a past-due balance. They have been sending me automated text messages and phone messages for about six weeks now (the phone calls come every 3 days) trying to collect this past due balance. I have called multiple times and talked to staff who said they would take care of the issue, but they have not. I have called and emailed the Regional Manager (her name is ****** ****), but she does not return calls or emails. I don't appreciate having collection notices appear on my company-owned device, and would really appreciate getting them stopped.

Desired Settlement: I need these automated messages to stop, as they are not intended for me.

Business Response:

Hello,

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that the phone calls and texts have caused you.  Unfortunately a previous member had your phone number when they joined and never updated us when they received a new phone and number.  I have personally looked up and removed your number and can assure you that it will not happen again. 

Thank you,
****** ****

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My cell phone number was given erroneously by a member who fails to pay their bills. However, it's my cell that keeps getting called and texted about late payments. I am NOT a member of Planet Fitness and called three times asking them to correct this problem. It is now a year since these calls and texts have started and it's obvious PF can't or won't fix the issue. I have never been a member nor will I ever be now.

Desired Settlement: I would like my cell phone number removed immediately. I wish to never receive a call or text from them ever again in my life.

Business Response: Hello,

I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience that the phone calls and texts have caused you.  I looked up your phone number and personally removed it.  When a member signed up, they had your telephone number and did not update it when they received a phone with a new number, so unfortunately when you received that phone number we had that number on file for that members membership.  Again, I have personally removed the number and I apologize for the inconvenience.

Have a great day!

11/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/3/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/2/2012 Problems with Product/Service