Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Gage Furniture Company Inc

Phone: (512) 454-3613 View Additional Phone Numbers 7725 Burnet Rd, Austin, TX 78757

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company provides home furnishings, bedding and accessories.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Gage Furniture Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Gage Furniture Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Gage Furniture Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1941 Business started: 12/07/1941 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1941 Business incorporated 11/15/1955 in TX
Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Kyle Gage, Secretary Mr. Les Gage Mr. Tommy York
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Gage, Secretary
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses

Products & Services

Gage Furniture Company Inc sells the following brand(s): Corsicana, Flexsteel, Home Trends, Rowe, Signature Design, Vaughan-Bassett

Gage Furniture Company Inc offers the following product(s): Accents, Accessories, Bedrooms, Dining Rooms, Home Office, Living Rooms

Method(s) of Payment
This company accepts cash, checks, Mastercard, Visa and Discover.
Refund and Exchange Policy
This company offers a five day refund on stock merchandise. Custom orders are non-refundable.
Alternate Business Names
Gage Furniture Co

Additional Locations

  • 7725 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757 (512) 371-8880 (512) 454-3613


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently bought a bed through them, I was excited to buy their solid mango wood bed and was told it would last generations to come. The bed could only be delivered mon-sat 9-4ish, understandable... So I had my mother meet the delivery guys. Upon returning home I inspected my brand new bed and found 4 cracks. One of those cracks was at least 8 inches long and clearly coming from a bolt that was tightened too much during installation. Of course I called them immediately and told them my issues. The woman who answered the phone was very kind when explaining the process of having an inspector come out (weekday only 9-5) to determine who is at fault. After that they would deliver a new bed, another day, again during work hours. I politely asked to speak to a manager and explained that I had never even slept on the bed and would be willing to send pictures of the damage but could not take off work. The manager (_) agreed after telling him multiple times it was inconvenient for us to arrange to be at the house 3 times for their mistake. I sent pictures, and he replied as follows: Thanks for the pics. We will get theis taken care of asap. I will call no later than Tuesday to set up the time for exchange. (_) calls and says he will get us a new bed, because I have been burned before I asked for that in writing. See message below: The 5 day exchange rule does not apply in this case ****. We are getting another bed for the exchange. It will be a few days but we will call and work with you for the exchange. I apologize for this situation, but we will get you a bed asap. We set up a time on Saturday to have the bed delivered. The delivery guys attempt to just replace the headboard which has the large crack. We show the delivery guys the minor cracks on the other pieces and they agreed we needed the whole bed replaced. New bed comes in, we inspect it very closely and notice multiple staples in it from where a price tag has been. I step out and call gage furniture to find out that the floor model is out for delivery. Needless to say we are upset... We payed over $2000 for a new bed not a floor model. We look over the new bed and find a huge gouge in one of the pieces and have to use a piece from the original bed that has a small crack in it because it is the one in best condition. Since they have the same exact bed at furniture I called furniture in the raw and was informed that the bed has been discontinued and can no longer be ordered. My husband calls (_), tells him that he is not happy and wants a solution. ***** attempts to tell my husband that the bed is better because the floor model "is seasoned" and therefore should not crack. My husband asks why we were not told about it being the floor model and tells him that we feel very mislead. (_) is extremely disrespectful but says he will go talk to the owner. He comes back and offers $50 off, my husband gets extremely upset as we have just paid $2000+ for a new bed only to receive a floor model on the 2nd attempt! $50 is unacceptable! The guy says the owner told him max $100! We were blown away. That is less than 5%!!! My husband is not being extremely nice at this point and repeatedly asks to speak to the owner. Of course he refuses. My husband tells him that we will be letting everyone we know about this and the guy literally says "if you are going to threaten me it's about to go back down to $50." My husband says fine and says he wants the $100 in a check today. (_) refuses and says it must go back on the original card. We tell him the original card is closed and he still insists that is the only way to pay. My husband tells him that is unacceptable, he says he will talk to his accountant. My husband tells the guy that he doesn't trust him and asks for a email confirming we will be issued a messily $100 refund. We get an email, hang up, read it and it says it will be "issued back on the original card!" Are you joking! What a mess! We now have a $2000 cracked bed that has been discontinued! This places customer service is terrible to say the least! Do not shop here!

Desired Settlement: An additional $200 refund

Business Response: I apologize for the problems. We dropped the ball on several levels here. I would agree to the $300 compensation. If the card used to make the purchase is no longer active; we would be glad to issue the $300 in the form of a company check.

Please let me know if this is satisfactory and I will initiate the process immediately. 

Again I apologize for the poor performance on our part.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.
Is it possible to get this check mailed to us? If so please make the check out to:
**** ******* *** ****** ****** ***** ******** ** *****

Thank you for your change of heart on this matter. We truly do appreciate you working with us to get this resolved.


**** *******

1/12/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased 2 love seats and once delivered, noticed the backs were not sewn on correctly. We contacted the service department around October 26, 2014 and they sent out the repair guy on November 4, 2014, who advised he would be ordering new backs for both love seats. Finally over a month later, December 9, 2014, we got word that the pieces were in and they would have to pick up the love seats in order to fix them and there would be a week turn around. We scheduled the first pick up for 12/12 to be returned 12/19. When they returned the loveseat on the 19th, it was damaged worse than before, now it appears that the frame has been bent and the backs do not latch in. I was also advised that the delivery driver on the 19th was very rude to our neighbor who let them into the house. He also made comments about there being nothing wrong with the furniture and he couldn't believe we had them out here. The second loveseat was set to be picked up on 12/27. I was told by the warehouse people that the pick up guys would try to get the first loveseat's back to latch and pick up the second one for repair. When the truck arrived, one of the guys (Austin) kept arguing stating they were only there to pick up the other pieces and couldn't do any repairs. We finally got the second guy to try and get the backs on the first one to lock in, but he was not able to do so. Austin started to share his opinion very loudly and would not let us speak, we finally had to tell him to leave out house. Even when he was outside, I could still hear him mouthing off. **** was very helpful and finally got Austin to come into the house and help take the second piece out for repair. On 12/30, the repair guy came out again and determined that something probably happened during the delivery of the first that damaged the "mechanism" and possibly bent the frame of the first love seat. We were told that he could either order the "mechanism" or order us a new love seat and in the meantime we could keep the broken one so that we have a place to sit in our living room. A couple hours later, I got a phone call from ****** stating they wanted to pick up our loveseat for repair and wanted to schedule the pickup for tomorrow, 12/31. Since the other loveseat is still in the shop being repaired, this would leave us with no furniture in our living room. Both ****** and ***** didn't seem to care about that and kept insisting on picking up the furniture 12/31. . We came to the conclusion to just return the one love seat we have and get a refund for both pieces. However, they insisted on picking up the furniture tomorrow, new years eve!!! This issue has been going on for over 2 months, I do not understand why the pieces have to be picked up in less than 24 hours in order to get a refund (or repair for that matter). I do not understand why a new piece was not going to be ordered and why we could not keep the other piece so that we have furniture to sit on. They would not give us a couple of days to try and find some type of furniture to sit in. I am appalled by the service that we have received from **** and will never refer anyone to your company. Further, when I asked that Austin not be on the pickup truck, ***** refused and stated that he had to use whoever was available. I know you have more than two delivery people as we have seen at least 3 in the several times people have come to our house. I do not understand why he had to be so cold about this. I basically shows that **** could care less about the fact that their delivery people are disrespecting their customers in their own home.

Desired Settlement: Full refund for both loveseats. Give us more than 24 hours notice of pick-up. Further, we would like a discussion with Mr. **** because that is what Austin said we could do.

Business Response: We were regretfully were unable to repair Ms. ***** pieces to her satisfaction. We have picked up here merchandise and have refunded her credit card for the full purchase price.

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordereded and paid for a slipcovered couch in early October. Sales "sold" me on a quality product from ***** Delivery occurred on December 5th at which time it was noted that the slipcover did not fit properly and defective, wrong color stitching used, cushion stuffing lines showing, and quality of fabric not what I ordered, less weight and different weave. I have sent pictures and emails addressing situation and asking for a return and full refund of $1851 on product. **** rep visited and took more pictures and agreed that slipcover was bad. I have continued to ask for return and refund and told they have to go through channels with ***** Now they tell me **** will make a new slipcover. This is not acceptable as there is no trust or credibility and **** has experienced previous slipcover issues which I was not warned of at time of purchase. I believe there has been misrepresentation and **** needs to handle with **** and agree to a return and refund. I have not been able to use and enjoy what I purchased and paid for in October.

Desired Settlement: I have asked over and over for a return of bad product and full refund and this is what I request. It is not okay to be weeks down the road without resolution.

Business Response: **** offered to replace the slip cover for Ms. ******. That option was not what Ms. ****** wants, so we are going to pick up the sofa from Ms. ****** and refund her the full purchase price.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.


***** ******