Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex

Phone: (512) 371-3004 Fax: (512) 371-3804 6801 N Lamar Blvd, Austin, TX 78752 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.furnituredude.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 19, 2004 Business started: 04/11/2003 in TX Business started locally: 04/11/2003 Business incorporated 12/08/2004 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Alex Navarro, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Alex Navarro, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Muebleria Alex, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6801 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752 (512) 371-3004

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Pasted below is the review I've recently posted on yelp which explains my dissatisfaction with this company and their lack of disclosure related to their 'no return or exchange policy.' Upon closer look, I did see the 'all sales final' note on the receipt but I also saw that they do offer store credit so I assumed that exchanges within a reasonable time frame. I was wrong and when I returned to the store to inquire about exchanging my mattress they unapologetically referenced the note on the receipt and stated they could note offer an exchange because they were a small business. Their next comment was 'didn't you try it on the store'? I did lay on a plastic wrapped version of the mattress for 30 seconds but I cannot understand how they would expect this to be sufficient in determining the comfort of a mattress. I'm also posting this to BBB on behalf of the other poor reviews I found on yelp & Facebook. Clearly I'm not the only one whose been disappointed in the service this business provides. Here is my review with more detail: BEWARE: This business has a NO return or exchange policy. I purchased a mattress set 3 weeks ago, and after actually sleeping in it have realized it's not right for me. I made the mistake of purchasing a memory foam mattress thinking it would be basically the same as the last mattress I owned. My mistake. I should've done my research before shelling out over $600 for the set & delivery. However, the salesmen didn't offer ANY help in this department OR did he mention that they have a no return or exchange policy. I am very disappointed in this business, their no-return or exchange policy, and they're lack of communicating any details related to the difference between memory foam mattresses outside of price. My recommendation: go online, order a 5.3lb density mattress with a 60-90 day return policy avoid the hassle of wasting money at a place that couldn't care less about customer satisfaction.

Desired Settlement: Due to their failure to clearly disclose their rigid a'll sales final' policy or offer details related to the differences to consider when purchasing memory foam, I would like them to accept the merchandise and give me a full refund of the mattress & box spring. As a consolation, I will cover the $65 delivery charge that was paid separately in cash. Please note, this purchase was made just under 3 weeks ago on September 30th, 2014. Total cost that I would like refunded upon return of the mattress & box is $563.00.

Business Response: Customer came into our store and tried to get her money back because she did not like the comfort level of her mattress set after having it for a few weeks.  She was told that we do not take back mattress sets because she does not like it.  She became angry and threatened to post a negative review online.  She then wrote a review on our Facebook page stating that we do not care about our customers and she was unaware of our store policy.  Customer signed and initialed her invoice (attached image) of agreeing to our store policy.  We also have 2 very visible signs stating this policy when the customer signed the sales agreement.  We do not take back mattress sets because a customer does not like a mattress set.  Most of our customers spend a good amount of time trying out all of mattress sets to make sure that they get a good feel for the mattress before making a purchase. The customer chose (in her words stated above) to lay on a mattress for 30 seconds and then make her mattress purchase.  Since we have opened our business 11 years ago, we have always had our store policy of ALL SALES FINAL and we have sold thousands of mattress sets AND have kept an A+ accredited rating with the Better Business Bureau.  We do not take back any mattress sets for a customer not liking them. Whether a mattress set is purchased from a big company or a small, locally owned business like ours, mattress manufacturers/companies DO NOT take back mattress sets because a customer does not like a mattress set. Companies that offer the "comfort guarantee" or "don't like it, bring it back" do not send these mattresses back to the mattress manufacturer/company. They are most often re-sold to another customer. Who wants to have a mattress set with a previous history? This is why we DO care about our customers and only sell 100% new mattress sets and do not offer to take back any mattress sets. Not too long ago in Austin a very large mattress store was fined by the Texas Department of Health for taking back mattress sets because of their "comfort guarantee" policy and reselling them to customers. We ask all of our customers to initial and sign that they have read and agreed to our store policies on all of our receipts. Again, the photo of the customer's receipt is attached.  We stand by our store policy that all sales are final and we will not take back a mattress set because the customer does not like it.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I absolutely reject this response as it, in no way, addresses the issue which is that this unethically sells their expensive products to consumers. The only reason they've maintained their A+ rating is because unhappy customers go to yelp & Facebook to voice their concerns, instead of the BBB, and this is evident by their sub-standard review of ~2.5stars.

Also, their reflection of what I requested when I returned to the store is incorrect. I returned to the store, in good spirits, expecting to receive store credit, not expecting to receive a full refund. 'Store Credit Only' IS reflected on the sales receipt below the statement of 'All sales final' which is what set my expectation that an exchange would be possible. My tone did change when I was informed that store credit would not be honored. 

I am not an unreasonable consumer, but I was taken advantage of by this business, and based on the other public reviews, I'm not the only one and won't be the last.

My request for a full refund stands, and, I hope as a result, this business will more effectively publicize their strict policy and genuinely help customers make an informed decision before purchase. 



Regards, ****** ******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Discount Furniture Muebleria Alex
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart