BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cook-Walden Funeral Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cook-Walden Funeral Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: September 15, 1978 Business started: 01/01/1911 Business started locally: 01/01/1911 Business incorporated: 12/30/1999 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Funeral Service Commission
333 Guadalupe St # 2-110, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tfsc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 667-4881
Fax Number: (512) 479-5064
info@tfsc.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Lorana "Loni" Dodd-Woodall, Vice President and Funeral Home Manager Mr. Kyle McFather, Manager Mr. Timothy Vigee, Sr. Vice President and Funeral Home Manager Mr. Charles Walden, President Emeritas & Founder
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Lorana "Loni" Dodd-Woodall, Vice President and Funeral Home Manager
Business Category

Funeral Related Services Funeral Homes Cremation Services Funeral Directors

Alternate Business Names
Cook-Walden Capital Parks Cook-Walden Chapel of the Hills Cook-Walden Davis Cook-Walden Forest Oaks SCI Texas Funeral Services, Inc

Additional Locations

  • 14619 N IH 35

    Pflugerville, TX 78660 (512) 251-4118

  • 2900 Williams Dr

    Georgetown, TX 78628 (512) 863-2564

  • 6100 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78752

  • 6300 W William Cannon

    Austin, TX 78749 (512) 892-1172

  • 9700 Anderson Mill Rd

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 335-1155

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 863-0424 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My nephew ***** **** passed away on June 3 2012 and is buried in Cook Walden Memorial Hills Cemetary. The entire funeral, burial and grave marker was paid for in cash at the time. The initial, temporary marker stated his correct date of birth and death. His birth date is ******** ** 1974. When the permanent marker was installed, it read and still reads birthdate of **** ** 1974. The correct information should read ******** ** 1974 - June 3 2012. I have brought this to their attention 3 different times. Each time they commisserate with me and agree that it should and will be corrected. Each time I am assured all will be corrected immediately and every time I give them at least 2 months to fix their mistake but today I went to see the marker on his grave. And I found that... The marker is the same as it was still reading the....WRONG BIRTHDATE!!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: Cook Walden will correct and replace *****'s marker with the correct information and the same emblems on the same style marker which was paid for in June 2012. If this problem is not resolved immediately, I will turn this over to the Attorney General of Texas. Cook Walden will also issue an apology to our family, especially to *****'s Mother, ****** ****. This is not the first time our family has been through this horror with this company. I had to fight to get them to honor my Mother's wishes for her own marker and her service and burial was prepaid by her prior to her death!!! This company's incompetence ends now.

Business Response: I am the General Manager of Cook-Walden Memorial Hill Cemetery and I will have this marker re manufactured with correct dates and information.  I would like for the family to reach out to me directly at ************ so we can work through this quickly.  I appologize for all of the delay, but I have not been made aware of this issue prior to this complaint, but will work with them personnally to expedite this matter. 

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

****** **********




















BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1