Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that MitchCo Foundation Repair & Contracting Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for MitchCo Foundation Repair & Contracting Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on MitchCo Foundation Repair & Contracting Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 2006 Business started: 06/12/1997 Business started locally: 06/12/1997
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Edward Mitchell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Edward Mitchell, Owner
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Painting Contractors Roofing Contractors Tunneling Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Asphalt Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Excavating Contractors

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

MitchCo Foundation Repair & Contracting Services has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 18866 Stone Oak Pkwy Ste 103-8

    San Antonio, TX 78258 (830) 256-0566 (210) 635-7577


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mitcho provided the foundation & plumbing on my house. Yearly contract indicated check ups, to refix anything that they failed to do right the first time. I contact** *itcho and obtained the level readings for prior years, prior to visit with Owner. He failed to see the foundation moving, I showed him the level readings from his office - he claimed it was not correctly documented. He gave me a price quote of $3300.00 I asked for time to SEE the damage. Then I asked him questions regarding the work of before and what he was quoting me and he refused to give me any type of paper work for the new work. I pleaded with him, he refused then requested ALL the MONEY upfront without paper work. I refused, we got into a respectable agruement. He indicat** *y contract was closed, till this date 01/21/2015 I have NEVER received noticed. Mitchco has UNFINISHED Foundation work on my house and refuses to be professional. I have written text/email/photo documentation and a witness to PROVE my claims. I sincerely need help with this contractor or legal action are needed.

Desired Settlement: According to the first contract, MitchCo was to do ALL preventive work on the work they have already done. (didnt happen) As a paying customer, all quotes and work should be a guarantee (didnt happen) Where is the ethical part, where I must forfill my side of the contract yet MitchCo does not? Professional review on contract, work standards and practices of MitchCo need to reviewed prior to license being approved. My foundation is shifting and it was suppose to be reviewed and corrected.

Business Response: MitchCo appreciates all client feedback. We are sorry to hear of any client feedback less than satisfactory. MitchCo strives to exceed client satisfaction with our friendly and professional customer service as well as quality of work and timely
completion. We do apologize for any miscommunication and look forward to continued service through MitchCo’s annual warranty inspection. MitchCo can provide all dates where contact has been made with the client.  All previous work has been done satisfying all state and municipal protocol with mandated state certified structural engineer inspection/report and city’s mandated final inspection upon completion in 2011. Scope of work satisfied original individual on the contract. All work provided by MitchCo is warranted. MitchCo still honors the warranty, but has suggested for complaining party to install additional piers in area of concern. These piers were originally suggested to individual on the contract, but were declined due to budget. MitchCo can only make adjustments to a superstructure in areas of settlement where piers are installed. If there are no piers in area of concern, there is no way to adjust piers that do not exist in order make elevation corrections. This is why the additional piers were recommended to be installed even before original contract, and have been recommended to complaining party. MitchCo has copies of email/attachment of proposed work that was received by complaining party. MitchCo can also provide all dates in which MitchCo technicians and owner has had correspondence via email and text and physical appearances on real property to address any concerns/questions. Please see 2 attachments of work recommended to correct elevation differentials of un-piered areas, which is the area of influence in question that must be addressed to stop future settlement. It must be duly noted that suggested piers should in fact be installed by either MitchCo or another foundation repair company as quickly as possible before piered areas become undermined and MitchCo’s warranty becomes void. MitchCo will still honor proposed agreement for additional piers, which included discounted pier pricing and discounted tunneling pricing as a courtesy to complaining party; however a payment plan is not an option as previous offered. Please call the owner, ****** ********, to discuss in further detail. MitchCo awaits a prompt resolution to this matter considering our quality of work and customer service as reflected in our A+ rating is of utmost importance.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because, its redoing the exact work MitchCo did the first time back in 2011. This is a copy  proposal sent to me back in March 2014.  The structure of the house was not the issue this time around, it is the master bedroom as my friend and I explained in detail to Mr **.  The master bedroom was not attached to the house foundation, within time the room has shown significant structure shift.  After MitchCo dug up the holes, he had verbally proposed a deal of $3,000 to add piles on the outside of the master bedroom (pushing towards the house) to prevent further movement.  I asked to be given time, to SEE what the issue when I got home.  During this time, I asked several questions via email and the complaint started.  The proposed offer of $3,000 for the master bedroom versus the now $14060.00 for the entire house is a dollar amount that is significantly high.  The proposal isnt for the master bedroom as needed. The house levels, notes I obtained from the MitchCo were brought to his attention.  The entire house structure is not the current issue, the master bedroom is the issue.  I requested the offer in writing and started to ask normal customer questions where Mr ** became upset and refused.    The offer that is presented by MitchCo is not fair, payment in full.  Mr ** is well aware of my situation being a single income parent and my form of payment would be coming from my earned Income Taxes.  I have supplied some of the documentation I have before me, I also have pictures to show the concerns.


**** ******

Business Response: As per corresponding emails from complaining party 3/10/14 indicated something was left off/out of the repair process, client requested from me, ****** ********, to indicate to her what was left off or what has/needs to be
done. This was provided to complaining party in a proposal 2/4/14 via email attachment, and has already been previously attached by both parties during this case. The master bedroom in question is the area of influence where master
bedroom and existing superstructure meet, which does not have piers under the master bedroom. These piers were suggested to original individual on the contract, and he was informed verbally there would be a cost to install these piers. The suggestion was dismissed by him. MitchCo cannot install pies if the to original individual on the contract does not wish to pay. As in complaining party’s emails, she was not concerned with overall superstructure-but rather just the master bedroom, but it must be duly noted
that here are once again at a cross road where MitchCo suggests a method of repair to alleviate settling throughout house, which may or may not undermine piers already installed by MitchCo. Complaining party has indicated her financial situation limits her ability to have this project of all additional piers installed as suggested. Against our recommendations but to help satisfy complaining party’s concern of the master bedroom, MitchCo can implement some of the original proposed piers to help support the slab and help aid against further settlement of just the master bedroom considering it is not a monolithic pour to the superstructure and not attached, which will require 2 exterior piers and 7 interior piers as indicated in prior diagram attachment.
This is a suggested alternative proposal for a total price of $4,500.00 utilizing a hybrid pier system. This project does not qualify for a payment plan (MitchCo reserves the right to offer a payment plan as budget allows); this proposal will require $2,250.00 down and $2,250.00 upon completion of the project. The complaining party has indicated to MitchCo verbal price was given to her to repair the master bedroom only, but MitchCo has no record on paper for that said quote. Beyond the scope of this
recent proposal offering, there is nothing else MitchCo can do with the pier system in place that was contracted with original individual on the contract. As for most recent elevations, all piers MitchCo implemented are sustaining the superstructure
in areas underpinned, contracted, and shown in all diagrams per engineer and elevation surveys. Moral, ethical, and contracted obligations have been fulfilled. To expect a different result at this time would require a new pier plan (1 of the 2 suggested
by MitchCo) at an additional cost to homeowner. As previously emailed to complaining party and also attached by complaining party “this is ultimately your decision as the homeowner”.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The initial cost and repairs to the foundation included
the plumbing on the entire house that includes the house property and master bed
room.  The contract included piers around
the house and inside the master bed room. 
The question was brought to MitchCo’s attention, WHY did they do half
by lifting the master bed room and not properly latch it onto the house? 

The only thing that was not considered in the initial 2011
contract was the two major beams on the original house structure, due to having
to break thru the entire flooring.  After
one year, level readings indicated no significant structure changes on the
original house only in the master bed room. 

By March of 2014, significant level changes are visual
in the master bed room and this is a concern to me.  My witness and I asked ** *. questions
regarding the work already done and asked WHY. 
The responses received, were – the level measurements were not properly
documented by his employee.   

After the piers were dug up in the master bed room, I
had a phone conversation with ** *. a verbal price of $3,000 was
indicated.  I asked for time to review
the structure, and my budget where the situation intensified.  The questions of incomplete work on the initial
contract were questioned and ** *. had presented me with the basic ultimatum of
“Do we do the work or not, answer must be given today”.  As a customer, it is fair to ask for a
proposal before agreeing to pay.  Therefore,
I never received this proposal, just the ultimatum of paying on the day of

I was willing to pay for the work to the master bed
room that should have been covered on the initial contract.  After further discussion, the issue still
remained.  Why should I pay before
receiving the proposal?  Why am I going
to redo the work & repay for something that should have been taken care of
on the initial contract.

Services done by MitchCo, the master bed room has piers
inside and outside (lifting) the structure, yet the master bed room was not attached
to the house which is now causing the master bed room structure to pull away
from the entire house. I strongly believe as a customer, MitchCo should fulfill
the contract and properly fix was paid for in the initial agreement. 


**** ******