BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that CJ House Leveling, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for CJ House Leveling, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CJ House Leveling, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 01, 1996 Business started: 01/01/1991 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1991 Business incorporated: 09/05/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jesus Cuellar, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesus Cuellar, President
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Repair & House Leveling Concrete Contractors

Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • ----

    San Antonio, TX 78244 (210) 734-9865

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ** ******* was hired to do a house leveling job at the residence indicated however the job performed was very, very, very, poor and has not repaired the issues, we have not needing to take action via mediation in my county based on his contract need to follow that procedure, unfortunately the house is in worse condition then when we started the repair, it is also unfortunate that my daughter refferred him to a neighbor down the street and they too are extremely very, very, very dissatisfied with his work and also made a mess there.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have a full refund of the fees paid to him becasuse I will need to locate and hire someone else who is going to do the job correctly. The amount paid was $12,044.16 i may be off a few dollars since I dont have the contract in front of me while filling out this form but it is not that much off.

Business Response: In response to **** ********* *********’s complaint: 
     There has been no speci?c complaint to this date. We’ve been out to her residence to do two warranty adjustments in the past 2 yrs 7months largely due to the fact that they have not installed proper drainage, as stated in the warranty agreement. They have been advised repeatedly since the work was completed to install a guttering system to deter water away from their foundation.  However, our advice was ignored,  even to this day they have refused to install gutters and although this negligence is grounds for warranty nullification, we’ve honored the warranty agreement, their neglect in this matter has caused some unnecessary movement. C J House Leveling Inc. has been very patient with **** ********* and her family. We have  done everything we possibly can to help them, however, they have refused to install gutters per the warranty agreement.
      On 4-24-14, this past week **** ******* ******, *** **** *********, and *** ******* *********,  children of **** ********* brought this matter before a Judicial Court  in the City of San Antonio and the Judge Dismissed their case. We regret that they are not able to articulate, communicate and resolve problems amicably but we will not be intimidated by their bullying tactics. We cannot continue to allow *** ********z and her children to continue to falsely discredit our company.
If *********** *********, *** **** ********* and *** ******* ********* continue,  I have been advised by counsel today that the next step will be to ?le a lawsuit against these aforementioned people for Frivolous Lawsuit/Claim and Libel Defamation of Character for creating false claims and falsely writing about our company. In which we will seek for fines and litigation cost and reimbursement for monetary damages for harm caused to our compnay.


*** ***** ******** ********* ** CJ House Leveling Inc.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Our argument is not that the gutters need to be installed to avoid the settling of the foudation but that fact that picture of contract he provide is now what the comany did regardling the quality of job and piers installed. ** ******* stated to me that he could not go under the house himself to see the work because he had back issues. He also said would come to try and makre repairs at no charge and now, we receive 2 bills?  Our dispute is that we wanted him to do the job as on the contract he provide and he didn, and yes the court dismissed the case because according to his contrac he has a clause where we have to go thru Mediation first in our county and that is the next step I have done as o April 29,2014 we filedthat process.**** ** ******** by nomeans ar "bullying him as he stated tey are just speaking up for me becaus I  am 84years old and no cant express myself in English and myu daughter ******* ****** who has power of attorney is filing this response and original complaint.
 
Regards,
********* *********

Business Response:                            From the desk of
cj house leveling inc.


                                                  
LETTER OF NULLIFICATION
May 1, 2014
************* *********
c/o **** ******* ******,  POWER OF ATTORNEY
HOMEOWNER
**** ******** *** ******** ***** *****
Dear **** *********,
This letter is will serve as official notice. Since August 15, 2011 when the work commenced you were advised to install a guttering system to minimize future movement as was agreed in our contract. **** ******* ******, *** ******* ********* and *** **** ********* your sons and daughter were also advised since they were overseeing the work for you. **** ******* ******, and *** ******* ********* were present when you signed the contract and these stipulations were explained. It was mentioned that they would  install the guttering system and deep skirting. The skirting was installed but appears to be very shallow. During these past 2 years and seven months we have gone out to your residence to do two adjustments to the piers, once on 6/20/12, and once on 2/3/13. Each time it was noticed by our company that gutters had not been installed and you were advised again.  All our advisement  concerning the guttering system has been categorically ignored. On our last visit to your home on 7/18/13, *** ******* ********* said and i quote “ having gutters is not going to affect your foundation....its for landscaping”. It is now 4/28/14 nearly 2 years and 7 months since the work was performed and to this day no gutters have been installed. Blake Engineering, the firm that inspected the work also went out to your residence  twice and on 7/18/13, and concurs with the lack of proper drainage that was evident.
In the warranty agreement is states:
“The following events, upon occurrence thereof, will render this Warranty NULL and VOID: 1. The structure suffers fire, flood, mold, signs of mold, or storm damage; 2.  The foundation is undermined (i.e., plumbing leaks or tunneling resulting in damage to piers, tunneling backfill such as flowable fill(concrete) that may pull plumbing downward and hence the slab with it, mold, signs of mold, soil slumping, no gutters or drainage system failure, erosion, excavation, creek beds, negligence of termite preventative measures by Client will result in warranty being null and void [Foundation should be regularly checked once a year and addressed for termite activity, and records kept by client, of termite inspections. etc,)  3.  The structure is altered or modified to any major structural degree, or if additions are made to it without a prior written approval by Contractor. To which approval will not be unreasonably withheld.”
We regret that you and your family refuse to follow the guidelines stipulated in our Warranty agreement. We have been patient and reasonable. We provided a service where extensive labor, material, time and money was spent. We cannot continue to do adjustments when there is lack of cooperation to help reduce movement. In addition, the warranty agreement also states concerning warranty adjustments:
“The C. J. HOUSE LEVELING INC. CONCRETE pier has a TEN year warranty. The TREATED PIER HAS A 5 YEAR WARRANTY. These adjustments shall be billed at a rate of $175.per service call with $15.00 charge per pier adjusted.”
Enclosed you will find an invoice for the two adjustments performed.
Sincerely yours,
*** ***** ******** ********* of CJ House Leveling Inc.
Ps. We regret that in 21 years of doing business this is the first letter of nullification we’ve sent out. In addition, I have NEVER refrained from going under the house for back problems.  It is sad that although they claim to be  people of Faith  they have resorted to flat out lying.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted CJ House Leveling on two occassions; August 5, 1995 in the amount of $1200 and June 13, 1997 in the amount of $6995. The contract has an Unlimited Lifetime Warranty. I have contacted ***** on over 10 occasions beginning last year in order to have him come out to re-level our home. He advised my husband that we would be charged an additional $1200 because the center beam of the home is now cracked. He stated that in the previous contracts, he never touched that beam. I have not gone under my home to confirm his statement. I have left several voice mails and text messages to have him come back to my home. I do not feel that we need to pay an additional $1200 since I have already paid $8195 which was a lot of money 16 years ago. It still is a lot of money for them to not have done the work correctly. I had to have him and **** *** come out several times within 6 months of the second contract to re-level because my front door would not close correctly.

Desired Settlement: I want ***** to re-level my home free of charge and to pay all city fees, engineering fees and disposal associated with it.

Business Response:

 i had spoken to Mrs. ********* over the phone a few months ago because, and these are her words" i was calling about getting the work started for the foundation repair" which was in the amount of $1,200.00. She was not complaining to us. She was simply wanting to get the work started. This is truthfully her statement.   She emailed me the document that i had left at the property the last time we had gone by to do an adjustment for them. However, this was the first time i had spoken to her. When we did the adjustment a few years ago, honoring the warranty, i had explained to Mr. ********* that the scope of area where we perfomed our work did not encompass the entire house. The house was being undermined by bad drainage, poor guttering system, and termite or wood rot under load bearing beams. In addition, the house had an addition built without our company being notified. This is very important because whenever the original structure has some addition added or is modified in any way, it may affect the future performance of the foundation that is present at the time. During our adjustment at that time, the elevations of that addition, which is attached to the main house, had shifted significantly. Please note that this addition was not built by our company. Also pointed out to Mr. ********* at the time of our adjustment ,  was that our leveling was  limited because of this.  For example, you cannot level a structure to a level position if it is attached to a fixed addition that itself is unlevel.  I also informed Mr. ********* of the existence of rotten or termite damaged beams under the house,   pictures were taken of the rotten beams and shown to Mr. *********(the beams were crushed because of the rot or termite damage). It was further explained that it is not common practice to level a foundation with rotten beams, that it is advisable that he have those beams replaced, so that the foundation will not be undermined. The *********'s have a warranty with our company but it does not include termite treatment or drainage maintenance. This is the responsibility of any homeowner.  Back to Mrs. *********, when we last spoke i explained to her that the City of *** ******* now is requiring that a licensed Engineer provide a letter of assumption for any work done concerning foundation repair and that these rules were enacted recently and that her best course of action was to locate an engineer and proceed from there. She agreed reluctantly and i received no further contact form her, although she may have called asking for a referral to an Engineer, i faintly recall.

Finally, CJ House Leveling Inc. has been around for over 20 years and we have an excellent reputation.

so when Mrs. ********* says we did not do the work correctly  and she shouldn't have to pay---- it seems she did not explain herself Honestly and clearly.  There are a lot of details she forgot to mention. It is very disheartening to see the lengths some people will go to avoid the responsibilities that it takes to own a home. That said, i would have gladly explained these things to Mrs. ********* had she called but she did not. The only time we heard from her was recently through your bbb compalint.

To end, I would like to inform Mrs. ********* that we can and we will do any adjustments necessary to honor our warranty and within the parameters of the warranty. However, the termite and rotten wood issues need to be addressed before we can do any adjustment. All that she has to do is notify us in writing so that we can put her on the schedule once all the rotten damaged wood is replaced.

 

sincerely,

 

 

***** *******, owner  

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved