Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Avco Construction & Foundation Company

Phone: (210) 737-3826 Fax: (210) 737-3859 1023 W Hildebrand Ave, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://www.avcofoundationrepair.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Avco Construction & Foundation Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Avco Construction & Foundation Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Avco Construction & Foundation Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1957 Business started locally: 01/01/1957
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Lawrence Villarreal, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lawrence Villarreal, Owner
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Foundation Inspection Foundation Repair & House Leveling Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair Concrete Contractors Concrete Repair/Leveling Concrete - Custom Drainage Contractors Floors - Garage

Alternate Business Names
Avco Enterprises
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1023 W Hildebrand Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 737-3826

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/1/15, I entered into a legal and binding contract regarding repairs to be make to the foundation of my home. workmanship was fair. The representative, who is also the owner stated that small shift will occur and he should be contacted immediately and he would return to make small adjustments. After repeated phone calls over a 6 month period and numerous voicemails left. The business owner finally made contact, set a time, but did not honor that time commitment. I have not received formal or non formal communications since then. I am very dissatisfied with the way this individual conducts his business. When I was able to get an actual person on the phone they did not at first remember doing the work on our home after telling him the address it jogged his memory saying" Oh yeah I remember". In my opinion extreme caution should be used when contracting this business in general.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate at the very least a home visit, and be given a two hour window when and where he will return to my home to inspect and adjust the appropriate beams related to my homes foundation. I will consider this a act of good faith in honoring the word of this contractor.

Business Response:

We went to the referenced complaint this morning not knowing that Mr. ****** had filed a complaint.

Our apologies to Mr. ******. We did mistake his job with another two streets over and I expressed this to Mr. ******. We inspected our work and noted that the problem was unrelated to anything we performed. Our first impression was that the front door and metal guard door were improperly installed and still hold to that opinion. It was a small job and we were negligent in not following through more thoroughly. For this we apologized to Mr. ******. He seemed to be satisfied with our attention to his problem as he asked for an estimate for more work.

Cordially,

******** **********

AVCO

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. I hereby withdrawal my complaint and request immediate removal of said complaint

Regards,

****** ******

 

 

2/4/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have tried numerous times to have AVCO come out and warranty work on my home. He never returns my calls and only when I get a hold of him he makes an appointment and does not show up. I have a warranty that is ending Feb 1 2015 and back in May of 2014 I had the owner of AVCO come out and asked for my warranty paper work. When I bought the house only the Warranty paper came with the house. When he came out he said he could not locate the paper work on the house and was confident only perimeter repair had been done. That was not correct as there are patches in the garage, living room and bedrooms. When he came out to inspect the owner said he can see sinking in the front, living room and kitchen. Recently due to shifting the main sewer line has broken and costed me $2500.00. I left a VM again and got no call back. It is obvious the owner will not make good on his warranty as it is about to expire. Also due to sinking in the front when it rains it collects at the front door and runs in the living room which has ruined my wood laminate flooring.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to honor the warranty and adjust/repair the work.

Business Response: I believe our record shows that we have very few complaints as we earnestly try to please all of our customers. My records indicate that I responded to an appointment that was made for Friday, Dec. 12, 2014 at 3:30 pm. I was there and left a business card with my Cell # and note to reschedule. I remember this clearly as it was my Birthday. 
In checking our phone records we have no record of anyone calling concerning the Green Apple address on January 11th. I cannot remember every detail of every job we have done and that is why it is important to have the plans and records. In my initial visit I asked the homeowner to provide any records he had so that I could evaluate his foundation. I brought the records I have on Dec. 12, 2014 and was ready to begin the evaluation. I can understand customer frustration and the tendency to embellish, but I have not changed my intent to address this matter.
Now that I have the information needed I am happy to work to bring this matter to an amicable solution.

Cordially,

******** **********
AVCO 
?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Avco Construction & Foundation Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)