Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Armadillo Foundations & Construction

Phone: (210) 520-3311 View Additional Phone Numbers 9118 Autumn Storm, San Antonio, TX 78254


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Armadillo Foundations & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Armadillo Foundations & Construction include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Armadillo Foundations & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Armadillo Foundations & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 15, 2006 Business started: 05/01/2005 Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 12/11/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Cesar Vela, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cesar Vela, Owner
Business Category

Foundation Contractors Siding Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Armadillo Foundations & Construction, LLC Homeowners Service Building & Financing
Industry Tips
Foundation repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 9118 Autumn Storm

    San Antonio, TX 78254

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/15/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Aug 2015, hired Armadillo Foundation & Construction to do some leveling in our home. We were told they would give % to disabled in which this is my husband, Mid Aug daughter ******** "******" went by our home to meet with us to see what needed to be done in our home and explain that they were license and bonded. Before they would start the work they would need to get a permit in which it was never purchased and started working on our home. Then ****** suggested to give her cash or check, which my husband and I told her to come on that following Monday to pick up a cashiers check. We waited for her till 6:30 pm I called her and she said she was in New Braunfels with her husband that she had forgotten about our meeting. That week three guys came to our home to work and only work 20 hours that week and by this time we gave ****** the cashiers check for $3,000, **** (supervisor) dropped off 2 other guys he left early that Friday and I got home from work after 4 pm and **** was not back yet to pickup other two workers. Two workers started walking home and left all their equipment in our front lawn. We took pictures and called ****** (send her pic) of their lazier and shovels and ***** thrown. My husband and I ended up picking up their stuff and moving them cause we were afraid someone would walk off with them and we would have to pay for their equipment. Saturday morning **** shows up with another worker and removes some of the ***** they were using to level the home. they stacked up 4 pieces of lumber on each side of the home and said they would be back that Monday. Nothing holding the corners of the house in which my home fell 8 inches and entry door got stuck and locking us out of the house and my husband had to fix door again. One week passed and no workers showed up. Husband and I decided to see a lawyer and they received letter 1 Sep 2015. Then they decided to call to schedule to come finish the house leveling. Their reason was their engineer passed away and they need to get someone else to purchase permits. Shouldn't permits be purchase first before you start a job that permits a permit? Due to the home off 8 inches my lower back gave out and had to get medical attention due to leveling of the home. My husbands had four back surgeries and unable to walk for couple weeks. Pictures are also available to see how our home was left.

Desired Settlement: We know they did start some of the work, but decided to come back and finish after receiving letter. What kind of outcome would come of this? All we want is our money back to pay off what we owe in a loan we got to fix our home.

Business Response:

Please look at the fax sent tonight because once I input the information your system kicked me out.

 

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am rejecting thier response!!

Responding to message there was no engineer invoice when signing contract. 

Contract was for another residence dated 2013. Also, lumber bought was not ever $100 dollars. We've also attached work schedule that did't work no more 20 hours. My husband never told their employee about getting someone else since we had already spoken to ****** and given her cashiers check #****** dated Aug 14,2015. I never got a call to sign no contract. 

** **** never showed up at job site only know him by phone. Contract was signed on 17 Aug 2015 ( receipt attached ) of cashiers check, 22 the workers pickup tools and removed bottle ***** from house (home fell 8 inches) They started working 18th and stopped 21st Aug, 22nd they picked up tools. We waited 2 weeks when ****** and ** **** called engineer passed away. 

Picture's 1. 4x6x20 bought 4 that was it. bottom is trash that was left-hired someone else to remove trash. 

2. Top picture trash/bottom side of house took ***** off-

3. Blocking on top of old posts. 

4. Blockings old poles/jacked up and put shims. 

5. New Beam cut put top of old poles. 

6. Old/New poles/cut around to fit post. 

    We spoke to attorney 22nd. 

Work was not even ever $1,000 worth. 

 

              ****** ********   **** ******** 

Regards,

**** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: 

In reference about my husband making a comment finding someone finishing the job for less, that's a total lie.  I was there Saturday morning when **** and his worker went to remove the ***** that were holding corners from front of the house.  I asked my husband why they were removing the jack, he asked **** and told him they would be back Monday morning.  Days after the removal of the ***** front part of house started popping.  At this time there was nothing to support the house but the small 4 pieces on each side of the house with boards.  No show, if anything they owe me money back, and another thing Mr ****** daughter and son-in-law are going by my house.  Because of all this my home having no support my home fell 8 inches.  About two weeks ago his son-in-law was parked between my house and neighbors for a while.  He saw me staring at him and he left.

Yes we had to pay someone else to fix my house or it would be cut in half in my front lawn, we also had to pay someone else to get all this stuff off my front yard.  If any money is owed they owe me money back.

Regards,

**** ********

Business Response: To get this settled we are willing to refund $1,500.00. We have done $2,000.00 of work to this property. In the photos the ******** submitted shows rotten lumber. This is the rotten lumber we replaced. As well In the photos it also shows the two beams we replaced. and the holes that where dug for the new post.  We understand the ********'s have stated the work we have done was not worth what she paid us but since she is not in the construction business we understand she is not aware of what it takes to employ workers to do the amount of work that we did on their house. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** * ****** ********

8/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** **** has changed his phone number and can be found at ###-###-####. I purchased a house nearly four months ago with a 20-year guarantee from him for the foundation work he did for the prior owner/realtor who had it transferred to me in good faith, as he (** *******) paid *** **** in full for services rendered. I'm attaching the photographs of the cracks in my ceilings and walls that, after only four months, indicate the foundation issues have not been resolved but simply sheet-rocked over. I've called *** **** twice and he indicated, much like the prior complaint, that he would "send someone out" to inspect it. That was two weeks ago and I haven't heard from him nor seen anyone. Because I work during the day, I am unable to drop everything and need to make an appointment with him. I shared that and he agreed. Still no returned phone call from him to schedule anything nor has anyone knocked at my door to inspect the problem.

Desired Settlement: He should come out and ensure the foundation is stabilized and is fully repaired. He has been paid in full and I hold a 20 year warranty for this work, granted to me by the seller and signed by *** **** himself.

Business Response:

BBB

                                         AUG. 18 ,2014
COMP. ID ********

I DID NOT CHANGE MY TELEPHONE # . I DID CHANGE FROM **** ****** TO **** ON JUNE 16TH. KEEPING MY SAME NUMBER / TO THIS DAY I STILL DO NOT HAVE MY SAME NUMBER. THEY HAVE HAD MY PHONE IN TERRIBLE SHAPE , ALWAYS PROMISING A COUPLE OF DAYS.

NOW *** ******** COMPLAINT: I GOT WORD OF IT THROUGH YOU AND

CHECKED IT OUT ON THE SAME DAY. WE FOUND SEVERAL WATER LEAKS UNDER THE HOUSE, WATER PUDDLES AND LOTS OF MUD.

PLUMBING LEAKS NORMALLY VOID THE GUARANTEE AS IS WRITTEN ON THE GUARANTEE HOWEVER BEING THE NICE GUY I AM, I TOLD *** ****** TO FIX THE LEAKS AND WE WOULD BE BACK IN TEN DAYS (DRYING TIME) AND FIX THE FOUNDATION.

WE WENT BACK WHEN IT WAS DRY AND LEVELED ALL THE HOUSE. *** ****** WAS VERY HAPPY AND THANKED ME SEVERAL TIMES FOR TAKING CARE OF THE PROBLEM.

ARMADILLO FOUNDATIONS

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response (for now) because *** **** is right that he came back to work on this foundation problem (note:  this complaint was filed before he sent his crew to work on my house), but he was the contractor who originally did this foundation work to begin with, for the prior owner, and transferred this warranty to me as the new owner of the house.  How could this not have been obvious the last time the work was done?

I've been in this house since May 15, 2014 (3 months).  That guest bathroom that was leaking has been used maybe 10 times since then so I find it hard to believe this wasn't like this before I bought the house.

As a result of the foundation work done last week (where the back part of my house was raised 2-3 inches), I am having a structural engineer look at the house because there was significant damage to the sheet rock, ceilings, and brick.  I want to be sure it's sound and completely resolved.

I can't believe this house would sink 2-3 inches in 3 months, due to bathroom leaks that was only used less than a dozen times.  I need an independent confirmation this is completed and will contact *** **** after I learn of these results.

Regards,

**** ******

3/21/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We have contacted the ***** several times over the months to come back out and fix our foundation, the house has reshifted in the same spot. He always tells me he will call me back to see when he can send someone out to take a look at it. On one occasion he did send a worker out and the worker said it did need repair again and that be would talk to ***** the ***** about when they can come out. But they never came back. This last time I called 2 & 1/2 weeks ago he said he would call me back he needed to see when he can send someone out to check the foundation out and again I haven't heard from him. He is alreadt telling me that I need other parts of the house lifted without him even seeing it. Because of the foundation messing up it has also done damage to the bedroom and the new walls we put in.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to come out and actually fix it and fix it right or just give me my money back so I can hire someone else and he wont have to hear from me again.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Today, 3/13/14, Armadillo came out and completed my foundation work.  As of today we are very happy with the way it has turned out.

Regards,
******* *******

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: this co. replaced my foundation about 3 years ago they have a 35 yr warrenty I called them about 6 weeks ago to get warrenty service the front of my house is cracking on one side and siding is bulking also I cannot open my front door it is locked shut, also one of my windows is cracked because of the foundation moving. I contacted the owner and he reassured me he would be thier that week, its been six weeks after numerous calls and still no show.

Desired Settlement: fix the problems

Business Response: BBB Corp. Office
1005 La Posada Dr. 
Austin, Tx. 78752

Dear **** *********,

This letter is in response to BBB Complaint ID: ******* {********}. Regarding Mr. ***** has been told that his house will be fixed. We have had 2 months of rain and flooding in the area. Bad weather.

have been in contact with Mr. *****. I informed Mr. ***** last week that his house would be fixed as soon as we get a dry weather break for a couple of days.

I have not neglected Mr. ***** as he has indicated. All we have asked of him is to be patient. And as soon as the weather clears up the problem will be fixed.

We have attempted to visit his house and fix the problems. On one occasion Mr. ***** requested we come after 5 p.m. witch we did and found the gate was locked. Mr. *****'s response to the rain delay was "Will it's dry under the house." It is unsafe for our contractors to work under a house while it is raining or while the ground is still wet.

I will call Mr. ***** and make a new appointment. Please be assured that Mr. *****'s problems, concerns will be resolved.

Thank you for your help in this matter. if you have any questions please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank You,

***** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards, said he was going to come by this saturday 11/9/2013 which he did not show up as usesual did not even  call to explain  which is typical, they do not need to dig as his worker told me just use shims to level the house and replace my broken window, I cannot wait for this man to show up when he pleases its hard for me to take off from work.
He needs  obligate his warrenty

****** *****

Business Response: Attn: **** *********
11/30/13

Mr ***** is trying to cash in on the opportunity. Windows are not broken by settling. If they did - the big foundation co's would be in the window business. 

***** ****


11/30/13

Work on foundation was done - house is level - window was broken by flying object. Window is double pane, only outer pane is broken.

***** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
I will never do bussines with this co again and will spread the word
Regards,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Armadillo Foundations & Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)