BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

This Business is not BBB accredited

Michael Angelo's Gourmet Foods

Phone: (512) 218-3500 200 Michael Angelo Way, Austin, TX 78728 http://www.michaelangelos.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Michael Angelo's Gourmet Foods include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 26, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1981 Business started locally: 09/01/1981 Business incorporated: 01/09/1997 in DE
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St, Austin TX 78756
www.dshs.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (888) 463-6332

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Dale, CFO Mr. Michael Renner, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Dale, CFO
Business Category

Food Manufacturers, Wholesalers, Distributors

Alternate Business Names
Bottom Line Food Processors, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 Michael Angelo Way

    Austin, TX 78728 (512) 218-3500

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: -----Original Message----- From: ***** ********** (mailto:*****_**********@*******************.edu) Sent: Tuesday, October 29, 2013 11:12 AM To: ***** ****** Cc: *******@**************.com; Info Subject: bizarre insistence only one defective product is replaceable--rest are my fault?! My mailing address is PO Box ** ******* ** ***** Ms. ******, I fail to understand how my complaint qualifies as "dissatisfaction" worthy of a single replacement as I'm repeatedly trying to inform your company of two quality control issues: improperly prepared eggplant and lasagnes that lack much of the cheese they're supposed to have. To confirm: Michael Angelo's policy is that if I'm foolish enough to buy more than one defective product, you're only responsible for replacing the first of them? ***** ****** <*******@michaelangelos.com> writes: >Good Morning, >I am sorry you was unhappy with the service. Michael Angelo's offers a >one time, one item replacement for the dissatisfaction of a product. >If you send me your address I will mail you a coupon to replace one product. > >-------------------------------------------- >***** ****** >Customer Service Representative Michael Angelo's Gourmet Foods, Inc. >*******@michaelangelos.com o ************ * ************ >-------------------------------------------- >J*** *** ****** *****@ www.michaelangelos.com twitter facebook >youtube family table Find us online for offers, videos, recipes, and >company updates! >-------------------------------------------- >-----Original Message----- >From: ***** ********** >(mailto:*****_**********@*******************.edu) >Sent: Tuesday, October 29, 2013 10:12 AM >To: ***** ****** >Cc: *******@**************.com >Subject: intrusive, inappropriate contact Following up on yesterday and this morning's troubling events. I purchased four Michael Angelo's frozen dinners at MNFC: 3 4-cheese lasagnes and one egglplant parm. The eggplant was not edible. None of the flesh, none of the skin. The lasagnes were lacking cheese. One had only small pads of cheese on top. The other two had cheese on top and on the next layer, but none on the layer below that. I phoned the customer service number last night and made explicitly clear in a voicemail I wished to be contacted back by email. This morning AT THE NUMBER I PHONED FROM LAST NIGHT, which I had not offered for callback in the message, the owner of Michael Angelo's phoned, asking for me by my first name (also the first name of the person whose phone it belonged to!). I was immediately suspicious. When I insisted I'd not asked to be phoned, she blithely replied, "Well, we have caller ID!" I again asked for an email reply and hung up. So far none has been forthcoming. I spoke to ***** at MNFC who said she'd consult with Tom there about how the coop will proceeed about these products and vendor. ***** **********</*******@michaelangelos.com>

Desired Settlement: Unspecified

Business Response:

Good Morning  

I have now had an opportunity to review this case in detail and here is what I have found out.

We are never pleased when a customer has a less than favorable experience with our products. As such we try and rectify all of those cases in an effort to stand behind the "quality" of our products. 

This gentleman reached out to our customer service desk to report issues with every product he purchased from MNFC Grocery. That in itself is extremely strange as we have a very low complaint rate around our products. Our customer service person as part of protocol asked for any information he had in regards to Quality Issues, but this gentleman didn't have anything other than the fact that he did not like the products. It is a company standard for this desk to respond to these types of complaints with our "one product" replacement policy and that what she did. Unfortunately, this consumer does not see that as fair retribution to his unpleasant experience with our products. Also, there was dialogue with the Grocer that went and pulled the product that the complaint was made on and the product was deemed by the grocer as being satisfactory. 

However as COO of the company, I never want to see a dissatisfied customer, and I am willing to personally mail this customer 5 VIP Coupons, in an effort to win him back as a consumer and the hope that he will go out and buy our products to enjoy the experience that the Michael Angelo's family intends for all who eat our products.

Thank you, 

***** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

My complaint, reiterated on multiple occasions, is 100% misrepresented here. I made repeatedly clear I had two specific complaints regarding (1) inconsistent quantities of cheese in the lasagne (including one with ZERO cheese other than that on top), and eggplant that was in one instance impossible to masticate to the point of swallowing though I made several full attempts.

The company never expressed any interest in the specifics of my complaint, and the CEO here continues to insist complaints are irrelevant to him because he never gets enough to take seriously. In other words: why listen to complaints, when the company policy is to ignore them?

I was reporting production problems, possibly involving food safety (the eggplant!) and the company never even asked me for a lot number.

I ask for a response to my actual complaints of inconsistent quanities, faulty food preparation, and insulting customer-response tactics including very unnervingly phoning me at a number they did not have permission to use, gleaned electronically, when I'd made explicitly clear I wished only to be responded to by email and had spelled out a very short reply address (* * * *** ** ******* * *** ** ******* * * * * * * * *) twice.

*****  **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

3/30/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/1/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1