Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

J&M Floor Installation Inc.

Phone: (210) 308-0400 Fax: (210) 308-0406 View Additional Phone Numbers 1951 NW Loop 410 Ste E1, San Antonio, TX 78213


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that J&M Floor Installation Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for J&M Floor Installation Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on J&M Floor Installation Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 29, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2002 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/2002 Business incorporated 05/28/2003 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Reuben A Moncivais, President Ms. Denise Moncivais, Director
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Reuben A Moncivais, President
Business Category

Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers Construction & Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Floor Materials - Retail Floors - Hardwood Fire & Water Damage Restoration Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Carpet Layers

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1951 NW Loop 410 Ste E1

    San Antonio, TX 78213 (210) 857-7333 (210) 308-0400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ****** *******, purchased flooring product from ****** *********** on 1/29/2013 in San Antonio, Texas and they have a network of sub-contractors that complete installation for their products. ****** ********* of J&M Floor Installation was contacted via ****** *********** and came to my house to give me a quote. His quote was the most reasonably priced so I went forward with having him install the flooring in my house. Just prior to starting the work in February 2013 he mentioned that if I paid him directly as opposed to financing through ****** *********** he could discount the total price from $2,370.00 to $1,800.00. I appreciated his offer and thanked him. His crew showed up and completed all the work within the described timelines and I paid him in full on 2/28/2013. However within approximately two weeks of the installation the flooring began to separate and gaps opened between the planks ranging from a few millimeters up to 1/2"; it was in both high traffic areas such as the living room and in no traffic areas such as under cribs and in closets. I notified ****** with J&M Floor Installation of the issue and he stated that he had another customer that had the same product experiencing a similar issue and offered to come back to my house with a "100lb Roller" to attempt to smash the adhesive planks down. After "rolling" the planks the gaps still were visible everywhere so he used brown caulk to mask the bare concrete sub-flooring that was showing in between the vinyl planks. This resulted in a sticky residue throughout my entire home and did not solve the separation issue. I then contacted ****** *********** ******** **** Department only to be told that they had no record of an approved contractor ever being used to install my floors. ****** of J&M Floor Installation was contacted by ****** *********** and lied about installing my floors. He then contacted me to let me know that I should not tell ****** *********** that he installed my floors he said "Tell them it was a different ****** and you were mistaken" since he bypassed them (he should have paid a fee to ****** ***********) and he could lose his contract with ****** *********** and that he would personally take care of my floors to include complete replacement of a different product if need be. From March 2013 until July 2013 I contacted ****** multiple times and followed his advice of not contacting ****** *********** since I was assured J&M Floor Installation would handle this issue. But in July 2013 I was tasked to deploy, I attended deployment training in July/August 2013, returned to Texas in for the month of September and departed the United States at the beginning of October 2013. I informed ****** in September 2013 that I would be gone for roughly 6 months and that I would contact him upon my return to resolve my flooring issues. He told me he appreciated my service in the military and would make this issue right when I got home. I returned in February 2014 only to have him tell me there was nothing he could do and that I needed to contact ****** *********** for any further issues. I did just that and explained that J&M Floor Installation was sent to me from ****** *********** and they disputed it and claimed that "due to diverse environments in which the floor is installed and varied installation techniques used to install the flooring" they would not be able to replace or repair my floors. So ****** *********** is stating that the installation was not done properly and ****** of J&M Floor Installation is claiming that the product is faulty, leaving me, the consumer with nearly $3,000 in expenses and floors that are completely ruined.

Desired Settlement: I would like ****** ********* of J&M Floor Installation to refund all $1,840.00 paid to him for services that voided the product warranty.

Business Response: I have been in contact with ********** and have gone out on 2 separate occasions to try to correct his issues.   One time I personally replaced 15 planks.   Another time I sent my crew and actually replaced approximately 60 planks.  After each time the floor had no issues.   But problems resurfaced. When he contacted me this last time I told him that I could not do any more for him as this was a product issue.   The installation was done in accordance within according to specification.   I further informed him that he should contact ****** *********** since this was a product issue and I had one other customer who had a similar issue and ****** *********** replaced their floor entirely. 
Whether *** ******* paid me directly for a better deal or paid ****** *********** as a third party,  I cannot nor will I replace his floor when it is a product issue and not an installation issue .

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

*** ********* did in fact make an effort to resolve this issue. However, his first attempt he replaced approximately 15 planks due to his own crew scratching the flooring during the installation. The second attempt was a few months after the installation but nothing of substance was completed. The floors still had large gaps throughout the home and the brown caulk used to mask the exposed concrete sub-flooring was not effective, it was more of a Band-Aid fix. I agree with *** ********* that this is a product issue, however due to *** ********* circumventing the channels ****** *********** has in place (i.e. taking cash from a customer at a discounted cost without financing through ****** *********** directly) makes him liable for compensation of installation costs. ****** *********** stated that the installation costs are not covered under their warranty since we did not pay them for installation services. ****** *********** has offered to cover the product itself in the amount of $938.00 for materials but will not offer any compensation for installation since *** ********* voided the installation warranty. If *** ********* had not suggested and accepted direct payment I would not be contacting him regarding the $1,840.00 in installation costs, instead I would be able to take this claim up with the The **** ******* ****** **** (***). As a result of his acceptance of payment in the amount of $1,840.00 for installing the flooring at my residence he assumed responsibility for any issues arising from the installation.

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: Since *** ******* states that ****** *********** is willing to give him the money that he spent on the floor, he should take that amount and apply it to another type of flooring.   If *** ******* is wanting to go over his existing floor with a floating floor, eg laminate or other type of floating floor that does not require adhesion; a floor that does not require the removal of the floor that is down, he should purchase that floor and the accompanying transitions and underlayment and I will provide the labor at no additional charge to install it. 
This offer would also apply to carpet if he so chooses to go that route. 
No refund will be given because again, this is a product issue and nothing was done outside of normal installation practices.  Filler is a normal part of any installation.  In *** *******'s case, filler was used to try to mitigate the gaps caused by the shrinking floor.  The floor was installed properly. Who *** ******* used to install the floor is irrelevant and those costs should be given back to him by ****** *********** and not by the installation company.  ****** *********** acknowledges that the product is bad, is willing to refund his money for the purchase and therefore should also reimburse him accordingly for all charges that he incurred.        
 
 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This offer is acceptable since I agree this is not an installation issue and if *** ********* is willing to install all flooring throughout approx. 1000 square feet (same as original installation) we can move forward. I will purchase the 4 pieces of transition materials, 2 new toilet gaskets and cover the purchase price of the laminate flooring with the credit ****** *********** is offering. No other materials should be required for installation since the laminate flooring being purchased has the padding/"under lay" attached. Also, I will need at least 60 days to purchase the new flooring from ****** *********** and the installation date should be as soon as possible after that as long as both parties are available. If all of these conditions are agreeable then this claim will be considered settled and *** ********* will be contacted directly for further installation details.

Regards,
****** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on J&M Floor Installation Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)