BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Invest In Your Debt?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers debt elimination educational materials including books and seminars.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Invest In Your Debt meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Invest In Your Debt include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Invest In Your Debt
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 23, 2007 Business started: 10/01/1998 in 0 Business started locally: 10/01/1998 Business incorporated: 02/01/2005 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Dave Ireland, CEO Mr. Keith Phildius, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dave Ireland, CEO
Business Category

Financial Services Business Consultants Credit & Debt Counseling Educational Consultants Financing Consultants Financial Planning Consultants Financial Consultants - No License Required Mortgage Brokers Credit - Debt Consolidation Services

Alternate Business Names
IYD Inc
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 8005 Evadean Cir

    Austin, TX 78745 (888) 913-8786

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Invest in Your Debt refund policy regarding *** program states: "For any reason you are not satisfied with the ***® program, you may contact us to discuss the problems you are having with the program. If we can not resolve your concerns, we will refund any payments you have made to satisfy your ***® cost." The company's CEO has failed to honor this refund policy. I agreed to enroll in the ********* **** ****** (***) program on August 15, 2013, after a over the phone presentation and web display meeting about the *** program, my *** report, debt reducing information and to expect a TextBook. This presentation was provided by the company's CEO. I authorized a $756 debit from my credit card to pay for "Liabilities Under Management" for the *** program. Within in 24 hours I decided I did not want to stay enrolled in the *** program. I immediately emailed the CEO and his operations manager requesting they cancel my enrollment and to refund the $756. The company's operations manager replied to my email, stating she had me cancelled form the program and that the CEO would contact me to go over everything. I received a reply email from the company's CEO on August 17th. I replied to his email letting him know that I desire to cancel the program and receive a refund of $756. I did not hear from the CEO again until August 21, 2013 after I had to send him an email asking him to confirm my *** program cancellation and when I could expect a refund. The CEO responded to this email and confirmed my cancellation and he was working on my refund once he knew his costs, which I assumed were credit card processing and refund costs. I sent the CEO another email requesting an update on the refund status August 25, 2013. The CEO responded to my email on August 27, 2013 stating he would refund my credit card $367.62 and that his cost was $388.74m which he said was the difference between what I paid for the *** program, his cost and credit card processing cost. No itemized bill provided. I responded to his email on August 27.2013 stating that no true services were provided, I canceled the program within 24 hours and that most of the information he provided he disclosed in an over the phone presentation (which to my knowledge was a free presentation) and is available on his website. I requested that he refund the difference between the $756 and the cost of credit card processing. I have not received a response to date. I have returned the Text Book via mail, that was mailed to me as part of the *** program, and requested a signature upon receipt of return. I think its unethical to be charged $388.74 for a service I did not receive. The service being the CEO/Company and the *** program would debit monies from my bank account to pay my creditors. Of course this service could not be provided because I cancelled the program within 24 hours and the company had none of my creditors account information. Again, the information provided about the *** program, my *** report and ways to reduce my debt costs was explained over the phone and displayed in a web presentation/meeting, which to my knowledge was free of charge. After agreeing to the be enrolled in the *** program the same information was emailed to me anyways, so I do not know how I can be charged for this information which was shared freely initially. According to the refund policy posted on the Invest in Your Debt website consumers will be refunded any payments you have made to satisfy your *** costs. I expect the CEO to honor this refund policy.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be refunded the difference between the cost I paid for the *** program of $756 and the credit card processing cost.

Business Response:

See the attachment for my response. This was more a communications’ issue than a complaint. The issue is fully satisfied and the customer is delighted.

Let me know if I can clarify or be of any further help.

**** *******

President
IYD Inc


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sent: Monday, September 09, 2013 4:12 PM

To: BBB 

As we
discussed on the phone the complaint posted on 8/31/13 has been resolved. As
you told me the complaint cannot be removed, but I just wanted it to be clear
this was more of a communications issue and I have been refunded all my money.
Perhaps the complaint can be relabeled. The issue has been resolved
entirely. 

 

Thank
you, 

 
**** *****