Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Genco Fence & Construction

Phone: (210) 734-7344 1501 N Colorado St, San Antonio, TX 78207


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Genco Fence & Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Genco Fence & Construction include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Genco Fence & Construction
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 07/01/1999 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Oscar Alonzo, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Oscar Alonzo, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Fences - Vinyl Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Concrete Contractors Iron Work Mason Contractors Stair Builders

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Genco Fence & Construction has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1501 N Colorado St

    San Antonio, TX 78207 (210) 734-7344

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/1/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On March 26 I contracted Genco Fence to put a fence around my property with certain specification. I expressed the urgency on having this fence put in due to a pool that was built on my property. He said he can have it finished in three weeks. Need less to say this is week 7 and the fence is no where near finish. He sent his guys out on week two to set post every single post that was set was put into the ground 9"-10" and was not spaced apart evenly. I called him up and confronted him about this the post need to be set 18"-2' for a proper install. He told me that it's fine they can put more cement around the outside to give it more stability. I told him no that was not acceptable. After giving me the run around and not answering my calls he finally got back to me saying the the panels are in and he will be out the following week to put them in. I told him no I will be out of town and the post still needs to be addressed he told me not to worry that he will take care of it. I came back from out of town a week and a half after to find none of the post were fixed and he mount panels on them. I tried calling him and he did not answer like usual. When he finally responded I let him know of the dissatisfaction and his response was I did the best I can. My post are not set in the proper Dept my gate entry are not spaced as agreed and my panels were put stair stepped when we spoke I specifically told him I want my panel to go with the curve of the land. I demanded at that point that he fix this mess up and he told me he will not. He told me I am hard to please and I told him he was wrong I am easy to please if the job is done right.

Desired Settlement: To refund the deposit that was made

Business Response:

On March 16, 12016 I had the pleasure of meeting w/ Mr. & Mrs. ******* after sending them pics of work I had previously done and that was similar to what he was interested in. After 2 meetings and some price negotiations with him (Mr. *******), I was awarded the job. I told them the fence would be 6' tall with 3 rails, powder coated in black with spears on each point. At first, he was interested in a pre-fabricated fence that would be rackable to follow terrains. I stated to him that I do not use that particular product, however we could stair-step the panels to get them as close to the terrain as possible as shown in the pictures I had sent him. After 5 1/2 wks of rainy weather and some delays on material we started to install fence panels on May 12 & 13. On the 14th we were rained out. On May 15th at 10:31 am he left me a msg sounding upset in regards to progress on the fence. I returned his call that Monday morning but didn't reach him until later that day. He sent me a text with this initial statement "FYI before I speak to my lawyer I'm giving you notice"  I reminded him that in the pics I had initially sent before we signed the contract it clearly showed how the fence was going to be installed. He mentioned that some of the posts on the rear fence line weren't set properly and I assured him I would address the issue when we got to that part of the job. He sent another text letting me know that he had another fence company go by and they laughed at my work. At this point I realized his mind was made to have another company finish the work. My response was " at this point I think you would be impossible to please but if you don't mind id like to finish out 100% the work we installed on 5-12 & 13. He responded by letting me know that some of the fence was suppose to be curve which I still dont know what he means.He sent another saying "I was giving you a break trying to work with you but when I see that stair-stepping fence that is when I realize that this is crap work." My response " I'm going to reset the rear posts, keep in mind the back line is fill, finish 2 walk gates, paint and put spears. At that time you can look for someone else to complete the job since its apparent that is the plan. He said he wasn't going to allow anything else to get done until everything is fixed. I replied that the am ount of work ive done covers the draw he gave. He said " ill see you in courtand he would be demanding a full refund plus lawyers fees. I responded: My intention was always to keep you satisfied with our work sir, Were their hiccups sure however I was willing to address them within reason. God Bless You Mr.*******. I've been in business since 1996 and have lived in Texas all my life and what ive learned is you keep your word and your beliefs. You try and work out the small issues w/your fellow man before they become unnegotiable confrontations. I'm willing to work with Mr. ******* and will be on stand-by if he wants to walk the job and figure out the issues with the fence.

5/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ******'s (Genco) crew constructed a rod iron / King-ranch styled fence for our back yard. He finished the construction the end of December. A final inspection was not able to be done prior to him receiving complete payment due to travel and weather. Upon our arrival back home the beginning of January, we found that several posts were not set in cement, only in the mud. This section includes the back gate. Understandably, this section of the fence is barely standing up. Caps are missing from several posts. There are areas of the fence that are rusting already. We were told by ***** ****** that we have a 10 year warranty, however, we never received a written warranty. I spoke to ***** the end of January and he mentioned that he was backed up in work. I told him to call me at his convenience. However, by March, we thought he'd at least contact us with some information as to when he would be coming by. In March we wrote him a registered letter, stating that the workmanship problems needed to be addressed by March 20, and a completion date of April 11. We never heard from him. I called and texted him the end of March and have not heard a word from him.

Desired Settlement: We would like to have him come back and finish the job or if we need to get another fence contractor to finish the job, we want him to pay for the work that needs to be done.

Consumer Response:

RE:  Genco Fence & Construction Inc.  

Right after you initiated contact with *****, he finally called us to set up a time to get the work finished.  We met on April 28, 2015 and let him know what needed to be done.  He called his crew in and within a couple of hours had everything done to our satisfaction.  I just don't understand why it had to take 4 months to get the work done and his inability to follow-up or answer his phone.  My husband and I personally would not recommend him to anyone else due to his inability to communicate or follow-up with people.  

We are most grateful for your help in this matter.  I don't think we would have resolved this issue without your help. 

Thanks so very much! 

******* * ******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Genco Fence & Construction
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart