Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dominion Fences & Decks meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Dominion Fences & Decks include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

5 Customer Reviews on Dominion Fences & Decks
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 5

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 05, 2003 Business started: 05/25/2001 in TX Business started locally: 05/25/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Dennis Rampersaud, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Dennis Rampersaud, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Contractors - Retaining Wall Gazebos Mason Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Walkway Design Hardscapes Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dominion Fences & Decks has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8927 Peaceful Grove

    San Antonio, TX 78250 (210) 777-7700 (210) 328-4418

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/6/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We hired Dominion Fences and Decks to build a 6ft cedar fence around our backyard. I sent them a picture of the exact fence that we wanted before hiring them, and they assured me that it would be no problem. We signed a contract which included 240ft of fence, a single gate in front, double gate in back, removal and clean up of original chain link for $6800 with half due up front and the rest to be paid on completion (july 8th). ****, one of the owners, assured me that they would finish the project in a week, if not sooner. The work progressed slowly until July 7. I came home that day and most of the fence was in place. Immediately I called to notify them that the fence we had, was not the fence we had asked for. It looked nothing like the picture my husband had sent them. I asked them to stop where they where, because it needed to be fixed. The next day, **** shows up and I explain to him my concerns, and of course he is unhappy. He tells me they will have to redo almost everything, but eventually he assures me that he will get it done, even if money had to come from his own pocket. The only thing he asks is for the other half of full amount of fence. I was very reluctant to pay the remainder before completion, but **** convinced us that he was a man of his word who cared about the reputation of his company and he would make this right. Unfortunately, I wrote him a check for the remainder. This is where the trouble really began. Almost immediately after making the payment, ****'s father and partner, ****** calls and tries to convince us that the fence will dry out and look how I want it to. We go back and forth the rest of the day and finally, **** again agrees to fix the issue. He assures me it will be corrected and I'll be happy. The very next day **** calls and says he'll need more money to fix the issue, and doesn't think he should have to pay for his mistake. I was ****ant that he would get no more money from me, and finally, again, he said it would be done. Another couple of days have passed with no work being done on the fence and me speaking almost exclusively with ******. **** told me that ****** had taken over the project and to speak with him from now on. So ****** sends over a couple of guys to "fix" their mistake. The pickets were supposed to be 1in apart, but they had placed them flush. So the solution ****** came up with was to have their guys go picket by picket cutting off 1/2in from each side. From a distance it looked pretty good, but upon closer inspection you could see they had cut grooves into every fence post, so it looks sloppy. They did that for a few panels and left. After that, nobody shows up for days. I call and text **** to ask what was going on, and he says to talk to ******. I ask ******, and he says he has done his part, and to call ****! Finally, **** says he'll send some guys over to finish. Later that night he texts, and says he needs another $300 to finish the job. We argue back and forth and nothing is done the next day. At this point I tell **** that I am going to file a police report so I have record of the issues. This gets him to relent, and he tells us "of course I'm going to finish no matter what, I care about my company". We go out of town for 4 days, he guarantees it will be done before we get back. He tells my husband that he will personally send him pictures and updates while we are gone. Needless to say, nothing was touched and nobody was answering calls or texts. **** responds immediately after I text him that I believe they are in breach of contract. He argues a bit, but guys come the next day and finish most of the fence. We argued back and forth for them to come and put in the gates, due to other projects he says his guys will come when they can. This whole time my yard was left open to the alleyway and the front yard. My husband walked the perimeter of the fence and noticed some issues, such as nails sticking through pickets not secured to anything, and warped 2x4's. He let **** know by text, and he responds that the warped boards "are not my problem", and he'll take care of the nails "haha". They come and finish most of the front gate, and my husband happened to see **** that evening. **** told him specifically, "my guy's will be back in the morning to finish up the gates, and we'll be done with this". The guy's do come back the next day, and they finish the front gate. The space that was left open for the double back gate had been closed off! So he decided not to put the gate in at all, with no prior correspondence with us. He also left large gaps along the bottom, which he had assured me would be taken care of. The fence is extremely flimsy, throughout the process we asked if there were going to be supports placed to strengthen the pickets. He said that the vertical picket placed along the front between panels would be enough. They aren't. His crew left trash in my yard, not to mention piles of dirt and cement along with pieces of the old chain link strewn about! This was a direct breach of the contract that was written up by him and signed by me. He told me that he would add the gate, if we gave him another $650! Dominion Fences and Decks refuses to finish the job, and at this point we do not want or trust them back on our property. We have contacted another reputable fence company and asked them to estimate the cost of adding the double gate, strengthening the panels, fixing the warped materials that they used, and closing the gaps. They provided us with an estimate, which assumes that everything can be fixed without damaging the pickets, of $1500.

Desired Settlement: Dominion Fences and Decks should pay the $1500 cost for repair and addition of double gate.

Business Response: Customer ******* ******** hired Dominion fences and decks for an Horizontal fence. At the start of the project the customer didn't have the funds right away, I worked with him and decided to take my time on the project since the funds wouldn't be acceptable after July 8. Customer wanted my insight for the fence and said that he picture he sent was what he wanted but, Mr. ******** asked me of my opinion. I told him that the fence would be better off without gaps, since in time the boards would dry out and shrink causing spacing in between boards. Fence project was complete except that Mr. ******** wife ******** ******* wasn't happy about the fence. Never spoken to ******** until after I had finished the project. Long story short, I had to redo the entire fence cutting each board and inch from one another in order to make it look like it had gaps. Process took several days and $680.00 in labor cost. I stated to both customer that they violated their contract with us since it wasn't Dominion responsibility to redo their mistake of miscommunication. I have proof of communication stating that there was no need for gaps in fence, and contract stating that gaps aren't in the contract. Customer didn't pay me the $680.00 of extra labor to meet ******** expectations. Instead I didn't build a double gate which was free from start of job, since it costs 650.00 to build custom wooden double gate. Again, customer violated their contract when I had to redo their mistake.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the gates are absolutely in the contract.  His argument that "gaps" are not in the contract, the only thing in the contract was 274' fence, single front gate, double rear gate, and cleanup. I didn't get rear gate, he didn't clean up,  the fence wasn't going to turn out to look like the picture I initially sent, the fence itself was incomplete, the workmanship was shoddy. I had to hire another contract to come in to add the gate, and to reinforce the fence. Before the new contractor did the repairs you couldn't lean on the fence without breaking through it.  If the fence would have been built correctly, I wouldn't have had to pay someone an additional $1500.  I tried to work with this company, and wanted to trust them, they didn't hold up their end.  I will be filing a lawsuit in small claims court and I am confident that I will win that case.
Regards,

******** *******

Business Response: Customer ******* ******** hired Dominion fences and decks for an Horizontal fence. At the start of the project the customer didn't have the funds right away, I worked with him and decided to take my time on the project since the funds wouldn't be acceptable after July 8. Customer wanted my insight for the fence and said that he picture he sent was what he wanted but, Mr. ******** asked me of my opinion. I told him that the fence would be better off without gaps, since in time the boards would dry out and shrink causing spacing in between boards. Fence project was complete except that Mr. ******** wife ******** ******* wasn't happy about the fence. Never spoken to ******** until after I had finished the project. Long story short, I had to redo the entire fence cutting each board and inch from one another in order to make it look like it had gaps. Process took several days and $680.00 in labor cost. I stated to both customer that they violated their contract with us since it wasn't Dominion responsibility to redo their mistake of miscommunication. I have proof of communication stating that there was no need for gaps in fence, and contract stating that gaps aren't in the contract. Customer didn't pay me the $680.00 of extra labor to meet ******** expectations. Instead I didn't build a double gate which was free from start of job, since it costs 650.00 to build custom wooden double gate. Again, customer violated their contract when I had to redo their mistake. After job was completed, Dominion clean up any excess material or trash which was included in the contract.

1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

1/5/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

Ms ******,

I contacted the customer to let her know that I had an emergency in the family and had to travel and that I would take care of it as soon as I could. She was very inpatient and we made a couple of appts, but it rained those day so I couldn't take care of it those times. I was very nice with her and even put in metal posts without charging her extra as metal posts are more expensive. I will be happy to fix the problem when it is convenient for both of us.

Thank you,

****** **********
Dominion Fences and Decks
************


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: (Please see attached)

Regards,

**** *** *********

1/14/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dominion Fence installed a new fence in the wrong position (not on our property line). They corrected their mistake, but did not remove the concrete from the incorrect posts. Also, the gate does not close properly and has to be manipulated to close. I made several phone calls/voicemails with no response. Finally heard back from Dominion Fence and set up an appt. for them to come out. I waited at the house and Dominion never came or called. Again, I made several calls/voicemails and no response. After about a week or two Dominion Fence finally texted me (no phone call) and said they were very busy and would get to it when they could (this was 3 weeks ago). I texted them back and they do not receive texts and continue to not answer my phone calls.

Desired Settlement: Dig up and remove the incorrect post concrete and make the gate work correctly.

Business Response:

I was unable to finish the project due to the fact that ***** **** locked the gates, even when I called several times to notify her obwas coming. 

I erroneously stated ***** **** for my customer. I apologize for that mistake. 

Business Response: Customer called me to let me know that he's having some problem opening his gate ..I advised him to please removed any lock on the gate and I will come over to fixed at a convenient time as I'm very busy with angie's list special offers to customers. He said okay and he called again to remind me and I told him he's on the list ..However he got inpatient and made comments on bbb and angie's list .. We also installed his fence at his desired area and removed all debris, as customer requested which we always do.

Consumer Response:

From: Bert Glenn [mailto:***********************]
Sent: Saturday, November 22, 2014 12:03 PM
To: info
Subject: Re: BBB - You have a New Message from BBB Regarding Complaint #********

 

I've read the letter (email) that you forwarded to me on Nov. 20th.  I would like to respond and let you know that it took several calls before I got a call back about the original problems I've mentioned.  The Dominion Fence Co. told me to leave the lock off the gate and that they would be by to repair the problems within two days, but would call me before coming out.  After approx. 5 days, I never heard from Dominion Fence Company and problems were not fixed.  As discussed in my original complaint to the BBB,  the company never answers their phone or returns phone calls.  Also as discussed in our complaint was that the original fence was installed in the wrong location.  When the location was corrected, Dominion Fence Co. left all the old concrete from the incorrect posts exposed and still in our yard instead of removing them as discussed.  The company said that I was impatient, but has still NEVER tried to contact me to resolve any of the outstanding problems/issues.  This is an indication that the Dominion Fence company is only concerned with getting paid on the initial work and not taking care of any additional problems or that arise from their work.

 

Thank you.

Business Response: Next week Tuesday @*** ****


Sent from my Cricket smartphone


-------- Original message --------
From: **** **** 
Date:01/07/2015 9:38 AM (GMT-06:00) 
To: ************************ 
Cc:***** **** 
Subject: RE: Intent to Suspend BBB Accreditation - case ******** regarding *** **** ***** 
Good morning ******, 
 
Thank you for your reply.  Are there dates/times you when you can schedule the workmanship that we can forward to *** ***** along with your response below?
 
 
Thank you, 
 
**** ***** ******* ********** ********** *** ******* ******** ******** ********* ***** *** *** ******* ***** **** ** ****** ***** ******* ***** *****  
p: ************
f: ************
******************** 
bbb.org Start With Trust®
 
                  
 
From: ***** **** 
Sent: Wednesday, January 07, 2015 9:25 AM
To: **** ****
Subject: FW: Intent to Suspend BBB Accreditation - case ******** regarding *** **** *****  
 
 
 
From: Dominionfences [mailto:************************] 
Sent: Wednesday, January 07, 2015 9:20 AM
To: ***** ****
Subject: RE: Intent to Suspend BBB Accreditation - case ******** regarding *** **** *****
 
To whom it may concern, I ****** ********** is very willing to complete the project for costumer *** **** *****. I have tried several attempts to reach *** *****, but to no avial. I finally was able to contact *** ***** to schedule a date and time to start workmanship needed on *** ***** gate. I arrived at ******** house to start the project, but I was unable to complete any form of workmanship due to the fact he had a padlock on the gate. I contacted ******** several times afyer the fact but, he wasn't returning any of SMS or Calls. Therefore I cannot go inside his property without his consent. *** ***** still hasn't called me back to this day.
 
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

5 Customer Reviews on Dominion Fences & Decks
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart