Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Buzz County Wide Fence Service

Phone: (210) 545-0012 Fax: (210) 545-5849 13415 Barnsbury Sq, San Antonio, TX 78232 http://www.buzzcountywidefence.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Buzz County Wide Fence Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Buzz County Wide Fence Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Buzz County Wide Fence Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 1999 Business started: 07/01/1999 in TX Business started locally: 07/01/1999 Business incorporated 11/25/1997 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Larry Thomas, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Larry Thomas, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Gates Iron Work Mason Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Larry Thomas, Inc.
Additional Information

Larry Thomas, Inc. DBA Buzz County Wide Fence Service operating in San Antonio is owned and operated by William Larry Thomas. Buzz County Wide Fence Service operating in Houston, TX is owned and operated by Drew Aaron Thomas. While the two share a website, the two entities are separate and consumers should ensure they are referencing the appropriate BBB Business Review. 

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Buzz County Wide Fence Service has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 13415 Barnsbury Sq

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 545-0012

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/18/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I hired Buzz County Wide Fending to repair a gate on my property. ******* showed up, said it would be a quick fix, and called me when it was done to get payment. I went home and tested the gate and it seemed to work just fine but the next day it stopped working so my wife couldn't get out of the driveway. I called and ******* said he would go back out to look at it. A few weeks later I called ******* to find out if he inspected the gate and he said that he had and someone was supposed to call me to let me know a pin was broken and the battery needed changed. I told him to wait a few weeks before coming back out to repair it because there was construction getting done. I called a few weeks later to let him know that I needed more information about the pin and battery and to ask that he come quote building a fence for me. I never heard back. I called the office, ******* and ***** and never heard back. I emailed ***** a few times over a period of weeks and never heard back. I called the office and she said that ***** and ******* were available and didn't know why they weren't responding. I called everyone again and never heard back. I suspect that the first fix didn't really "fix" anything and now I am out a few hundred dollars and can't get any response from the company that took my money.

Desired Settlement: I don't really trust that the problem will get fixed now that I have had to file a complaint to get a response so I would prefer a refund and I will hire someone else to fix the gate and bid out the other work.

Business Response: Tell us why here...This person did call us around the first of June with a gate problem. ******* went out made a few adjustments and charged the man a $95.00 service call. I attemped to run the credit card number he gave ******* for $95.00 it card was rejected.. We have tried on several occasions to call him and have him verify the card where we could re run it.. We have never been paid for the service call ******* did tell him he needed a battery but he wanted to wait until some work was finished first. As of today the only charge we have given him is the $95.00 which as stated earlier has not been paid because the card was rejected. As for as a refund he owes me money I have never charged him 150.00 he ask for he will need to show me his paying me 150.00 which he has not.

*****

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

As long as I didn't have to pay anything I am fine with the resolution. I wasn't sure what credit card I gave ******* and I couldn't find the exact charge on my usual credit card statements so *****'s explanation makes sense about why that is the case. However, not once did anyone from this company call me to check the card or get a different credit card, nor did they return emails or phone calls, but that doesn't mean that ***** didn't delegate that responsibility to someone who failed to do as he asked. As ******* said when I followed up with him, someone else was supposed to call me to let me know what the fix would be and that never happened either.  

Regards,
******* *******

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted to have a iron hand rail put in at an investment property and we verbally agreed to have the work done within 3 weeks. This was right before Thanksgiving 2014. After several attempts to get it installed they finally showed up with no notice to install and it was incomplete. They had not taken the railing to the top of the stairs (wouldn't even meet code). So, I asked them to re-do this and to talk to me about how they could do it correctly. Unfortunately they came out almost a month later after no communication and spot welded some pieces on. When I met the owners daughter at the site we both agreed that it was poor craftsmanship and there was already rust showing. She stated they would come back out and fix the problem. I received a call from my tenants a week later stating some guys are here to fix the railing and they do not know what they are supposed to do. I received a text from the owners daughter saying they are done and to submit payment. I stated I would go look at the work and let them know if it was acceptable. I did fail to respond back timely due to travel but earlier today told them I was disappointed in the remedy as all they did was paint over the rust and get overspray (spray paint) on the stucco and stonework of the house. My concern is that the spots welding will simply re-rust and need repair in short order.

Desired Settlement: I would normally ask for them to extend their warranty but based on the level of service rendered to date I know I would not be able to get them to perform repairs. I feel like a 15% reduction in the bill is more than equitable given the quality and untimeliness of the installation. I would like to pay the reduced amount and move on.

Business Response: I sent him an e mail yesterday evening. We have repeated attempted to collect from him and I stated in my e mail either pay the 1125.00 or we file a lein on the property..I went out personally and checked the work and it is fine. There is no warranty on a railing that is outside exposed to sun and rain.
*****

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Feb 24th I accepted Buzz's proposal to install two areas of fence replacing an existing wood fence with an iron fence in one area & replacing a wood fence with wood in the second area. Two weeks elapsed with no contact from Buzz. I called their office & was told my contract had ":slipped through the cracks" & I would be moved to the top of their priority list for installation & would be notified in a few days. Failing to receive an answer, I called their office again a week later only to get an answering machine. Leaving a message to contact me, I received no return call. I waited a week & called again with the same result. On March 16th a field rep showed up unannounced & was joined by a crew a few minutes later. They spent a few minutes confirming the original plan & stated they needed to build the iron portion of the fence. No further contact. Today (March 29th) I called again & got the answering service & no return call. I made a 50% deposit, which was cashed in late February. I assume there must be some important reason they don't return my calls, but I can't accept that. Either they issue a complete refund of my down payment immediately or hasten to install the fence. Over five weeks has passed with no action!

Desired Settlement: Either immediate response & job completion or a refund!

Business Response: We explained to the customer, because of the rains for the past few weeks that we were running behind. That for the past couple of weeks we can only work a couple of days. The Customer said they didn't care about the rain so we are returning their deposit and will allow them to have someone else do their job. Check mailed back to them today.
*****
******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I never indicated I didn't care about the rain causing their delay. I don't believe the rain caused the five-week delay as my rain gauge only recorded an inch collectively over that period.  However I will be satisfied assuming they did send a refund as they indicated in their response.

Regards,

*** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Buzz County Wide Fence Service
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart