Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of All About Fence & Repair?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

All About Fence & Repair

Phone: (210) 650-3358 Fax: (210) 650-3358 6738 Pear Tree, San Antonio, TX 78218

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that All About Fence & Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for All About Fence & Repair include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for All About Fence & Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on All About Fence & Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1999 Business started: 05/01/1999 in 0 Business started locally: 05/01/1999
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Joe Dedo, Owner Ms. Jennifer Dedo, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Dedo, Owner
Business Category

Fence Contractors Fence Staining Fence Posts & Fittings Fence Material Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors Fences - Vinyl Fences - Wood Pet Fencing & Containment Systems Chain Link Fence Sales, Service & Contractors Patio & Deck Builders Deck - Repair Deck Builder Patio Cover

Method(s) of Payment
Cash & Check
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

All About Fence & Repair has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 6738 Pear Tree

    San Antonio, TX 78218 (210) 650-3358

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted with All About Fence to build a 4 ft tall fence around the back of my home to contain my dog. **. **** cam out and gave me an estimate to do the job on 8-14-14, the original estimate was for $2360, but he reduced the price to $2000. The original estimate was for 82 feet of fence with 2 gates and smooth (peeled) Cedar posts with no climb fence. I told **. **** that I could not commit to a start date at that time as I needed to arrange for the funds and to get approval from my HOA to build the fence. I called **. **** later that day and told him it was a go and asked when he could start, he told me that he would come out on Monday (8-18-14) to start. He come out Monday, but only to get me to sign the contract, which had reverted to the original price of $2,366. I told him that we had agreed on the price of $2,000, he tried to tell me that that was valid only on the previous day that he came out. We did finally agree on $2,000 for the contract and I gave him a $1,000 deposit. After several delays due to not being able to get a rock drill, **. **** finally showed up on 8-22-14 to drill the holes, and I noticed that the Cedar posts had not been peeled, **. **** stated that that was not part of the deal, he had left that part out of the final proposal. I told him that was not acceptable to me and if he didn't want to do that, to just give me a refund and call it quits. He stated that he had already spent all my deposit on the posts. I them showed him where on the original proposal that it clearly stated "Smooth" posts. He told me he couldn't do that for the price, I reluctantly agreed to split the difference in the original quote with him. On 8-25-14, **. **** showed back up with a helper to set the posts and install the fence. At this time, **. **** asked me for the balance of the contract due, because he was out of money in his checking account, against my better judgement I gave him the balance of $1,183. **. **** left the job site, leaving his worker to finish the install. The workman ship of the job was terrible. The posts were put in concrete, buut were not allowed too properly set before having the fence fabric installed and were all being pulled over, the fabric was not straight or tight, and generally a mess. I called **. **** about the condition and told him I was not going to accept the work that was done, he told me that he would be out the next morning to inspect the job. When **. **** saw the work (on 8-26-14) that was accomplished, he agreed with my assessment and agreed to rework the fence to an acceptable standard. He began the work that day, and left a couple of hours later and said he would return in the morning with help to do more work the next morning. He did not show, but called stating he had truck problems and would be there the next day (8-27-14). He did show up the next morning with a helper and removed most of the fence material and reset the posts that needed to be redone. I have not heard from him or seen him since that time. It should also be noted that the gates he was going to use appeared to be old material pieced together, I told him not to use those gates, and I went to Tractor Supply and purchased 2 new gates like he should have originally done (the gates were at NO cost to **. ****) The workmanship is still in poor condition, some posts are installed small end down, there is no corner bracing as should be installed for the style of fence.

Desired Settlement: I feel that in the present condition that what of the fence is installed, less that 50%, it will almost be a complete re-do for another contractor to complete the job. If **. **** is willing to finish the job in a manner and time frame that is acceptable to me, I would be willing to accept that as a resolution also. This would include installation of corner bracing of all end and gate posts using the standard method of bracing for this type of fence. If **. **** is not willing to comply with these terms, I will seek other legal remedies.

Business Response: As per the customers request, the owner did return, take down the fence, reset the posts, and had reinstalled most of the fence. There was one section and a gate that still needed to be installed. The customer refused to let the owner return to complete the installation. Customer requested a full refund. The owner offered to give a refund for the amount of the cost to install the one section and gate. Customer would not agree to this amount.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
1. There was never an offer to refund any money
2. They offered to come back to complete the job 2 weeks after I told them I was done with them.
3. I had given the owners multiple notices that the workmanship was not satisfactory and they ignored the complaints.
4. I gave them notice that I was not happy with their work and the way the fence was installed and had previously requested a refund.
5. Before they started work there were issues and I requested a refund and they stated they couldn't because they had already spent the money.
6. The work that was complted was not done to the norm for this type of fence, short posts, no corner bracing, no fence post bracing, they refused to address all of these items.
7.I have filed a small claims suit against them, and they are currently dodging the process server.

 

Regards,

****** *******

Business Response: When a contract is signed we also require 50% down. The 50% down covers the majority of the cost of the materials. The remaining balance is due upon completion of the work. When the customer notified the owner that he was not satisfied with the fence, the owner personally returned and completely rebuilt the entire fence. There was one section and a gate that were uncompleted. The customer did not want the owner to return to complete the work. The customer did not request a full refund until after the materials had been bought and the fence had been built.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The job was supposed to be completed in approx 1 weeks time frame, whe I told them not to bother returning, it was only after the job had been in work for over 3 weeks. They were supposed to come on Saturday 9-13-14, but they were a no show, they then told me they would return on Monday 9-15 in the morning, once again they were a no show, I call they office and they told me they would be there that afternoon, I told them that the job needed to be completed to my satisfaction and all the items that I wanted to be corrected, it was NOT just a matter of installing one gate (that I had to purchase due to the poor quality used gate they wanted to install), if they could not accomplish this I wanted a refund, as I would have to get someone else to complete the job in a satisfactory manner. On Monday evening, they once again contacted me to tell me they would not be there, it was at that time I told them not to bother, I would get someone else to complete or redo the job.

On Tuesday 9-16-14 I had another fence contractor come out to inspect the fence to determine what could be done with it, he basically stated that the entire fence would need to be removed and to start from scratch. During the process of removing the fence, he determined that the fence posts were loose because the were not in the ground deep enough, and the reason the fence material was higher than the posts in several areas was due to the posts not being long enough.

I did make an offer to the company to make a settlement with them if they wanted all the fence material and posts back as they are no use to me, I never heard back from them on that subject.

2 weeks after I told them not to bother coming back, I received a call on Monday 9-29-14, from their office wanting to know if they could come out to finish the job, I told them that I had hired another contractor to remove the old fence and to re-install the fence correctly, and again told them that I wanted a refund and that they could have the fence material back.

I will resolve this in small claims court if they are not willing to negotiate a refund.

Also, the workmanship and installation from the new contractor is what I expected from a Cedar Post Ranch fence.

Regards,

****** *******

11/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: in Oct. 2013 I had fencing installed by ( All About Fences) at the time of installation the company installed one extra gate and widen an existing gate , 12 months later both gates fell out of alignment . I during the month of Oct. 2014 I called Mr. *** **** (owner of all about fences) and asked him if he could come by and take a look the condition of of my gates .He (Mr. ****) came to my home on the 28th. of Oct. 2014 at that time he checked both gates and promised that he would personally come the following day, Oct. 29th needless to say he did not show or call that day. I have called his place of business several times and talked with someone who said that they would give him the message . I have tried to contact him on his cell phone , but he has never returned my calls. I have had the gates repaired and wish not to do business with this company again.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for labor materials spent for both gates.

Business Response:

All About Fence & Repair has contacted Mr. ******. A refund in the amount of $100 was issued to Mr. ****** as per his request to resolve this misunderstanding. Customer satisfaction is a top priority with the All About Fence & Repair family.

5/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid $825 for some minor fence repairs and to have a 120 feet of iron fence primed and painted. No primer was applied and the paint job did not cover all the surfaces of the fence.

Desired Settlement: Paint the fence properly.

Business Response: The work was started on Sunday 5-4-14. The paint that was used has the primer in the paint. The crew returned on Monday 5-5-14 to complete the job. All work on the contract was done to the customers satisfaction.

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because: The paint job and work on the metal fence was poor quality but obviously the best this contractor is capable of.  I want no further contact with this contractor or his crew.

Regards,

******* ****

10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On August 26th, My fencing was done extremely poorly with nails half way out on each board piece on both sides of the fence with 4 to 5 nails on each end of boards instead of 2-3 nails on each end; the post that needed to cemented is still leaning down into neighbor yard; gate latch for exiting inside the fence was not mounted; boards were not cut to fit the existing posts just nailed and overlap onto existing wood; and short my count of 15 not being replaced. My wife paid Mr. **** not knowing of how bad the fencing repair was done she trusted Mr. **** on his good faith of business. The second day of service Mr. **** called my wife indicating additional 14 boards were needed with additional cost beside the 15 boards that I was short to be done; we responded no on the additional 14 boards my wife asked him " why was not the estimate not done correctly on the second estimate" Mr. **** made no comments, we would have considered the total price. Third day no phone call of the job being completed, but the check was cashed, I called several times asking about the leaning post no reply. Mr. **** company was our third estimate with a second estimate from him to make sure of the cost and what needed to be done.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting 40% back from the total cost. I do have photo graphs to support my evidence with supporting documentation on each estimate from Mr. ****. Thank you.

Business Response: All work was completed as per contract. Customer satisfaction and quality work is our companies priority.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Will accept the business responses believing that is their best quality work they can offer. 

Regards,

****** ******