Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Hi-Tech Gadgets

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 996-8999 9313 Anderson Mill Rd, Austin, TX 78729 http://www.htgaustin.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Hi-Tech Gadgets include:

  • 7 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Hi-Tech Gadgets include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hi-Tech Gadgets
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 02, 2000 Business started: 07/28/2009 Business started locally: 07/28/2009
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Sameera Nagahawatte, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sameera Nagahawatte, Owner
Business Category

Electronic Instruments Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair Computers - Dealers Computer Printers Sales & Service Computers - Supplies & Parts Computers - Used Video Games - Supplies & Parts Computers - Service & Repair Video Games - Service & Repair Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
High Tech Gadgets

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13401 Pond Springs Rd

    Austin, TX 78729

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9313 Anderson Mill Rd

    Austin, TX 78729

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/3/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 10th, I brought in my Nexus 4 for screen replacement because the glass on the upper half was cracked. The phone had always been used in a case so did not have any damage other than the glass and one small dent on the metal frame around the glass. Before taking it to this place, the phone never had been disassembled either nor any markings elsewhere on the phone. I was told that the phone would be ready for pick up on April 15th, but it was not ready until the 17th (with no communication from them). When I picked it up, the metal frame around the glass had several deformations from the tool they used to remove the screen from the frame around the screen. I noted this problem to them, and they refused any responsibility for those marks. They refuse to repair the physical damage they made to the phone unless I provide a picture of the phone from before the repair even though the type of damage done by them could only be done if the screen had been removed, and the damage is substantial enough that it would have been noted prior to repair of the screen. They made no indication in their notes that the phone had this damage before the repair.

Desired Settlement: Reduction in repair charge to account for the damage they added.

1/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On their website (I have a screenshot to prove if needed), they state they will beat ANY deal for a smart phone repair. All you have to do is bring your phone and the quote in. They do list a sale they have currently for screen replacements. But I found a local company in Austin where they quoted be $45 to fix my phone. The company is now refusing to match the quote, stating that is due to the fact they are offering their own sale going on. That has nothing to do with my quote from this other company. I don't care what sale they have, i have a quote on my phone stating $45 and their website clearly states they beat any quote given. So they are lying to consumers and trying to attempt a bait and switch by getting you in the store w/ your quote, then refusing to accept the quote. That is highly unethical.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to follow their stated claim where they will "beat any quote by 5%" and fix my phone for that.

Business Response: We do honor the deal as advertised as long as it is the gross price (before tax and discounts), additionally we have noted in our website that these deals are subject to change and customers need to contact us to confirm the deal(s).

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dropped off my IPad and a replacement battery that had been purchased online. Company had been recommended by an Apple repair shop in Austin. Advised I needed the battery replaced due to it not holding much charge anymore. I agreed in writing to have them replace the battery and if by accident the glass cover broke while they were attempting to remove; then I would pay for a replacement glass cover. Was told they could turn around in about 2 hours. Received a phone call from the tech at the store letting me know that I had purchased the wrong battery. Thought I had an IPad 1 and turned out to be an IPad 2. The tech rep. then told me the power button was not working. For the record, the power, sleep mode, volume & lock features had all been working fine before drop-off. A bit confused about this new failure, I was quoted verbal price to repair the internal piece that had failed. (~around $60-$70. Since the original battery issue had done a 360 degree turn, I asked them not to proceed with the new quoted repair, and that I would pickup my IPad and battery. The tech rep. assured me during the phone call update that they had not opened the IPad. Picked up the IPad and battery on way home from work the next day or two; being somewhat suspicious, I ran my finger along the glass plate seam to see if there were any rough spots indicating the glass plate had been opened; did feel a couple rough spots. A day or two later, I got a magnifier and checked the entire 4 seams on the glass. Sure enough I can clearly see where a tool was inserted above the "volume" piece that was now defective. I can see rough spots on the same seam and also on one other glass seam. For the record, the glass panel has never been removed during my ownership, nor had it ever had any repairs. I must keep the IPad plugged in to keep it charged, and still have a failed power button, volume control and lock feature. Have not called the store to let them know of my findings.

Desired Settlement: I want a free repair of the piece that is now faulty, parts and labor; and if the said company damages the glass panel, I request they replace and repair at no charge to me. I would like an apology.

Business Response: For this exact reason, our policy requires all technicians to take a video recording of the product demonstrating the original condition of the product prior to the repair/diagnostics. That being said; we do have a video showing the original state of the iPad with non-functioning power button (see attached). We have not done any work on this product as it had other issues that our technician identified that the customer did not mention. We also do have the entire video from the repair room for the time-frame that item was with Hi-Tech Gadgets, that we could provide to BBB if required.

There will be no free of charge or discounted services provided as a result of this complaint.

7/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used iPhone. It did not work properly, had a faulty battery, messaging unreliable. I returned the phone. He gave me another iPhone. It had similar problems in addition to screen flashing white. I return it again. I want my money back. because he doesn't have any more iPhones to trade me. he instead changes out the battery for another faulty battery. And there are still messaging issues. I just want my money back. It was a lot. They obviously don't check out the phones or batteries before sending them out the door.

Desired Settlement: I just want my money back. I no longer trust any iPhone he may try to trade with me, if he gets any in. Or that he may give me the first phone had for the second.

Business Response: We diagnosed both phones with the same symptoms as to having "apps running in the background", this consumes battery much more than it's supposed to, we have already exchanged a phone to another one and put a new battery and tested the phone again, and we did not find any issues with the battery life. Also, phones do not have txt messaging issues because of hardware problems, they are caused by conflicting software apps or service contracts (which is not covered under any warranty). However, knowing that we still chose to exchange a phone and put a new battery, and if you are still having txt messaging issues you will need to remove whatever the apps you have installed that's causing this problem. We noticed there were many games and 3rd party applications and background application running on the phone, this is most likely the issue and is not covered by any warranty programs.

We have honored the 30 day warranty and 7 day exchange policy down to the letter, and we do not offer refunds as it states in your receipt and as we've verbally explained, other than that there is not much we can do about this. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *********  Part of what he said is true about the return policy.  it's his word against mine about the battery being new or not.  we did all he asked, in regard to removing 3rd party apps to make the phone run better.  It did not.  It is a substandard phone, and there's nothing I can do about it.  Thank you for your time.  I'm stuck with this phone.

Regards,

**** ******

3/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service