Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Dr. Phonez

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 377-1010 Fax: (210) 377-1011 View Additional Phone Numbers 7317 San Pedro Ave, San Antonio, TX 78216 http://www.drphonez.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dr. Phonez meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Dr. Phonez include:

  • 8 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Dr. Phonez include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 3
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Dr. Phonez
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 05, 2012 Business started: 11/19/2008 Business started locally: 11/19/2008 Business incorporated 11/19/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Phonez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Phonez, Owner
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair Cell Phone & Tablet Equipment, Supplies & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Zivash Ventures LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Dr. Phonez has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 20935 Us Highway 281 N Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78258 (210) 403-3030

  • 7317 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (888) 377-8583 (210) 377-1010

  • 8211 Agora Pkwy Ste 102

    Schertz, TX 78154 (210) 566-2020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Took the cell phone into this place to fix the cracked screen and had them put a protector screen over the repaired glass and it cracked under the protected glass within hours of having paid to have this done. Said on the receipt it was guaranteed for 30 days. Not sure what was guaranteed since I returned to the place and asked them to correct the already again cracked screen. They refused saying we would have to pay another 100 for them to re repair it. Asked them to refund my money since they would not honor their work. Asked to speak to the manager, got nowhere, asked for the owner's name and was told he doesn't come around very often, they had not seen him in months. Said he was on vacation in Colorado, no way to reach him. I could not determine if their work was so shotty that refunding every displeased customer would bankrupt them or they just did not care.

Desired Settlement: I felt the company should have done one of two things, either repaired the phone without charging me or refunded my money. They were very short on customer service. Several customers behind us left when they heard the discussion. I felt it was probably good business relations to satisfy a customer while other potential customers were observing.

Business Response: Warranty does not include physical or liquid damage.  Thats be same policy that any carrier or phone company offers on new phones as well.  We offer 30 day warranty on our repairs if there is a manufacturers defect or if the repair wasn't conducted properly.  In this case, the screen is cracked and therefore that's considered physical damage and voids the warranty.  Also, we offer warranty and no one offers guaranty that screens wont crack.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the repair was not honored as stated in their policy. The repaired product did not last twenty four hours. It is a racket if they are using poor glass that seems guaranteed to break, hence the customer has to keep coming back. The phone was not dropped, the quality of the repair did not hold up and they should have honored their repair.  We even brought our own protective cover purchased from the *** store for $38. The screen cracked under the cover which indicates poor quality.  The low level manager should have had the ability to honor the repair. We asked for a higher level manager or the owner and were told it was not possible to contact him as he was on vacation in Colorado. They seemed at a loss at how to contact a responsible person who could make a decision. When we asked how they were able to get paid without ever seeing their boss they were at a loss. I felt customer service was not a priority, just ripping people off. I would recommend a deeper investigation into what business is really being done at that location. Again, we paid for a repair which did not hold up for even a day so their denial seems a technicality designed to protect poor quality work.

Regards,

**** *****

8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Dr. Phonez to get my iPhone 5 fixed. The phone itself worked fine, except for the screen. I agreed to pay $80 total for the repair, and was told that if any changes were made to the agreed upon amount that I would be notified BEFORE anything was done to my phone. I was also told that I would be called when it was ready to be picked up within 24 hours. Well 24 hours passed by and I heard Absolutely NOTHING! So I had to go in and check on the phone myself, only to be told to come back later because the phone hadn't even been looked at! And to my surprise, the total was no longer the agreed upon $80, it was now over $100! I was NEVER notified of this change, and by the time I found out, the phone had already been treated and the only option was to pay the new amount, or to not have my phone fixed at all and not get the money I had already paid. So to avoid any conflict, I payed almost $120 and took my 'fixed' phone. Or so I thought... Because within a couple of hours, the phone was in worse condition than it was when I had originally dropped it off. (Proof of a bad installation) Now, instead only the screen not working, the entire phone was dead. By this point the store had closed for the night so I was forced to come in the following morning. This time, I was told that I would have to leave my phone for the entire WEEK, only to get a call that it was damaged beyond repair. My phone is now ruined, or in their words "Damaged beyond repair" All because of a poor installation by Dr. Phonez.

Desired Settlement: Honestly we should be given a new phone, Which would be valued at over $600 dollars. But all we're asking is for a refund, which is a fraction of that, because in all honesty, we paid for a service we didn't receive. And I don't think this business would like to be known for only fixing something for a few hours.

Business Response: This issue has been resolved with the customer.  
Thanks

9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking to have two ipad 2 screens replaced because they were broken. My husband did some online research and found that ****** offers had a coupon from Dr. Phonez for 15% off of an ipad screen repair. I took both ipads in and when I asked about the coupon, the lady working the front desk said she didn't know anything about it and would have to contact the owner (****) to see if she could accept the coupon or not. I proceeded to go ahead and have both ipads screens repaired at the cost of $129.95 each. When the repairs were complete, the lady working the front desk said she finally heard back from the owner and she said that she had no idea why the coupon was listed on ****** offers and she would not honor it. The coupon is STILL listed on the ****** offer page (I have a screen shot of the coupon. It doesn't expire until mid-October). The day after I had the ipads repaired, one of the screens had already started lifting on one of the corners and a large crack appeared on the screen. I contacted Dr. Phonez informing them of what had happened and the lady (same one I had dealt with before) said to bring it in and they would see what they could do. I took the ipad back to the store and she proceeded to tell me that there is no way that would have happened by itself and started asking if it had been dropped or hit (which it had not). I then pointed out to her a small dent on the edge and told her my husband said that even a small dent could make the glass raise up from the edge. She then told me that the person who did the actual repair tried to bend out the dent and that she had previously mentioned to me that a dent such as that one would cause the glass to not lie flush and the glass would most likely break eventually. She NEVER mentioned this to me previously. She then said that she had also told me that the only way to prevent the glass from cracking again would be to replace the entire back, which would set me back another $200. I told her that if I were going to spend $200, I would just go to the ***** store and have the entire ipad replaced for the same amount. I told her that I just wanted them to repair the screen and she once again said she would have to contact her owner and then call me back and let me know. When she called me back, she said the owner would replace the screen at their refix price of $70.33. Basically, they did a shoddy job on replacing the glass on my ipad and want me to pay to fix their mistake. I asked them not to do anything to the ipad and I went and picked it up.

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned to me from the original repair. If they would have told me that there was high probability that the glass would break again, there would have been no way I would have paid for the repair. I would have ponied up an extra $70 and bought a brand new ipad.

Business Response: The issues is resolved with the customer and the customer is happy. 
Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/13/13 I called Dr. Phonez at **** ***** ***** ***** *** ******** ** ***** Phone: ###-###-#### Email: ******************. I spoke with a salesperson on the phone who quoted me $155 to replace the screen on my ******* Galaxy S4, she also mentioned that if the phone screen needed replacement that it would be 50% off the next time around. I took my phone in for repair on 3/13/13, and I made it a point to ask again if the next repair would be half off, the salesperson assured me that it would be definitely. At that point I agreed to use their service and was not happy about the price but was confident that the business they conducted was honest and truthful. I took my phone back on 6/11/13 to get the screen repaired with my receipt and the confidence knowing that my repair would not be so expensive this time. When I went in a different salesperson was there and I told her that I had my receipt and needed to get my screen fixed again for the 50% off that I was promised "before" I ever did business with them the first time. She already had an attitude and quickly told me that she would have to call the owner to see if she could honor the verbal agreement that was made between me and the previous salesperson before I became a customer. She spoke on the phone with the owner for a approximately ten seconds and he said no. I pleaded with the salesperson that I would of never used their service if this guarantee had not been made the previous transaction. I also noted the large sign below the counter which read "50% off your next phone repair". I told both the salesperson and the repairman that this is blatant fraud. You can not make a verbal agreement with a customer about business and then not honor that said price. I asked the salesperson to get the owner back on the phone so I could explain the situation and not have to go the legal route. She denied my request and kept giving me attitude and saying that she didn't quote this price and she had no manager available to change it. I told her that this was a textbook case of fraud. By the business not having a accountable manager there to deal with issues like this. I told her that I will be filing a complaint with the BBB and possibly taking them to civil court over the issue.

Desired Settlement: Dr. Phonez clearly committed fraud against me. I deserve a full refund of $155, because the promise was made prior to using their service. And they should be forced to take down any signs stating the "50% off the next repair" that aren't clearly marked with the phones that are covered. I would also like BBB to deny accreditation to this business from this point on.

Business Response: Dr. Phonez is probably the only cell phone repair company that offers Re-Fix - 50% off on same repair on the same device for certain devices.  Re-Fix is our way of saying Thank You to our customers for their loyalty.  However, there are certain devices that are just not feasible for us to provide Re-Fix service on - and the Galaxy phones are one of them. All our customer service reps are aware that we do not offer Re-Fix for Galaxy phones, and it seems the customer is mistaken.
I did reach out to the customer and offered a discount on the second repair that he needed, since I could not offer 50% discount.  He however wants a complete refund on the first repair which is completely baseless.  Dr. Phonez has made an attempt to work this out with the customer, but he is not budging from his claim for a complete refund.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

     The business owner called me, and said that none of his employees had told me that the next repair would be 50% off. His cumstomer service was atrocious, he was very rude and started to agrue with me in a combative manner. I told him that if my money wasn't refunded that I would continue with the BBB process. Even though I explained that his salesperson had promised me the 50% off the next fix before I authorized the service he said that his employee didn't and that I was a liar. He actually got very angry on the phone and I hung up. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Nowhere on the invoice or the marketing materials we have in our stores does it say that we offer 50% off on Galaxy repairs. The customer is adamant that he wants a 100% refund for the repair, and that is unacceptable.
We were will to offer him a 50% on his repair to keep him happy, but that was also rejected by him.

6/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went over to Get my iPhone 5 repaired and the replaced the screen for 320 US dollars just days after I noticed changes to my phone phone not it over Heating and not working properly! All of this was a cause of a bad installation from Dr. Phonez!!!!! Now MY PHONE NO LONGER WORKS AND I WANT THAM TO PAY FOR MY PHONE 650 US dollars BECAUSE OF THEM MY PHONE NO LONGER WORKS!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: MAKE DR PHONEZ or the INSURANCE of dr phonez PAY FOR MY PHONE 650 dollars!!!!!!!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service