BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dr. Phonez meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dr. Phonez include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dr. Phonez
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 05, 2012 Business started: 11/19/2008 Business started locally: 11/19/2008 Business incorporated: 11/19/2008 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Roger Phonez, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger Phonez, Owner
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Zivash Ventures LLC

Additional Locations

  • 7317 San Pedro Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (888) 377-8583

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 377-8583(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to Dr. Phonez to get my iPhone 5 fixed. The phone itself worked fine, except for the screen. I agreed to pay $80 total for the repair, and was told that if any changes were made to the agreed upon amount that I would be notified BEFORE anything was done to my phone. I was also told that I would be called when it was ready to be picked up within 24 hours. Well 24 hours passed by and I heard Absolutely NOTHING! So I had to go in and check on the phone myself, only to be told to come back later because the phone hadn't even been looked at! And to my surprise, the total was no longer the agreed upon $80, it was now over $100! I was NEVER notified of this change, and by the time I found out, the phone had already been treated and the only option was to pay the new amount, or to not have my phone fixed at all and not get the money I had already paid. So to avoid any conflict, I payed almost $120 and took my 'fixed' phone. Or so I thought... Because within a couple of hours, the phone was in worse condition than it was when I had originally dropped it off. (Proof of a bad installation) Now, instead only the screen not working, the entire phone was dead. By this point the store had closed for the night so I was forced to come in the following morning. This time, I was told that I would have to leave my phone for the entire WEEK, only to get a call that it was damaged beyond repair. My phone is now ruined, or in their words "Damaged beyond repair" All because of a poor installation by Dr. Phonez.

Desired Settlement: Honestly we should be given a new phone, Which would be valued at over $600 dollars. But all we're asking is for a refund, which is a fraction of that, because in all honesty, we paid for a service we didn't receive. And I don't think this business would like to be known for only fixing something for a few hours.

Business Response: This issue has been resolved with the customer.  
Thanks

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was looking to have two ipad 2 screens replaced because they were broken. My husband did some online research and found that ****** offers had a coupon from Dr. Phonez for 15% off of an ipad screen repair. I took both ipads in and when I asked about the coupon, the lady working the front desk said she didn't know anything about it and would have to contact the owner (****) to see if she could accept the coupon or not. I proceeded to go ahead and have both ipads screens repaired at the cost of $129.95 each. When the repairs were complete, the lady working the front desk said she finally heard back from the owner and she said that she had no idea why the coupon was listed on ****** offers and she would not honor it. The coupon is STILL listed on the ****** offer page (I have a screen shot of the coupon. It doesn't expire until mid-October). The day after I had the ipads repaired, one of the screens had already started lifting on one of the corners and a large crack appeared on the screen. I contacted Dr. Phonez informing them of what had happened and the lady (same one I had dealt with before) said to bring it in and they would see what they could do. I took the ipad back to the store and she proceeded to tell me that there is no way that would have happened by itself and started asking if it had been dropped or hit (which it had not). I then pointed out to her a small dent on the edge and told her my husband said that even a small dent could make the glass raise up from the edge. She then told me that the person who did the actual repair tried to bend out the dent and that she had previously mentioned to me that a dent such as that one would cause the glass to not lie flush and the glass would most likely break eventually. She NEVER mentioned this to me previously. She then said that she had also told me that the only way to prevent the glass from cracking again would be to replace the entire back, which would set me back another $200. I told her that if I were going to spend $200, I would just go to the ***** store and have the entire ipad replaced for the same amount. I told her that I just wanted them to repair the screen and she once again said she would have to contact her owner and then call me back and let me know. When she called me back, she said the owner would replace the screen at their refix price of $70.33. Basically, they did a shoddy job on replacing the glass on my ipad and want me to pay to fix their mistake. I asked them not to do anything to the ipad and I went and picked it up.

Desired Settlement: I want my money returned to me from the original repair. If they would have told me that there was high probability that the glass would break again, there would have been no way I would have paid for the repair. I would have ponied up an extra $70 and bought a brand new ipad.

Business Response: The issues is resolved with the customer and the customer is happy. 
Thanks

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 3/13/13 I called Dr. Phonez at **** ***** ***** ***** *** ******** ** ***** Phone: ###-###-#### Email: ******************. I spoke with a salesperson on the phone who quoted me $155 to replace the screen on my ******* Galaxy S4, she also mentioned that if the phone screen needed replacement that it would be 50% off the next time around. I took my phone in for repair on 3/13/13, and I made it a point to ask again if the next repair would be half off, the salesperson assured me that it would be definitely. At that point I agreed to use their service and was not happy about the price but was confident that the business they conducted was honest and truthful. I took my phone back on 6/11/13 to get the screen repaired with my receipt and the confidence knowing that my repair would not be so expensive this time. When I went in a different salesperson was there and I told her that I had my receipt and needed to get my screen fixed again for the 50% off that I was promised "before" I ever did business with them the first time. She already had an attitude and quickly told me that she would have to call the owner to see if she could honor the verbal agreement that was made between me and the previous salesperson before I became a customer. She spoke on the phone with the owner for a approximately ten seconds and he said no. I pleaded with the salesperson that I would of never used their service if this guarantee had not been made the previous transaction. I also noted the large sign below the counter which read "50% off your next phone repair". I told both the salesperson and the repairman that this is blatant fraud. You can not make a verbal agreement with a customer about business and then not honor that said price. I asked the salesperson to get the owner back on the phone so I could explain the situation and not have to go the legal route. She denied my request and kept giving me attitude and saying that she didn't quote this price and she had no manager available to change it. I told her that this was a textbook case of fraud. By the business not having a accountable manager there to deal with issues like this. I told her that I will be filing a complaint with the BBB and possibly taking them to civil court over the issue.

Desired Settlement: Dr. Phonez clearly committed fraud against me. I deserve a full refund of $155, because the promise was made prior to using their service. And they should be forced to take down any signs stating the "50% off the next repair" that aren't clearly marked with the phones that are covered. I would also like BBB to deny accreditation to this business from this point on.

Business Response: Dr. Phonez is probably the only cell phone repair company that offers Re-Fix - 50% off on same repair on the same device for certain devices.  Re-Fix is our way of saying Thank You to our customers for their loyalty.  However, there are certain devices that are just not feasible for us to provide Re-Fix service on - and the Galaxy phones are one of them. All our customer service reps are aware that we do not offer Re-Fix for Galaxy phones, and it seems the customer is mistaken.
I did reach out to the customer and offered a discount on the second repair that he needed, since I could not offer 50% discount.  He however wants a complete refund on the first repair which is completely baseless.  Dr. Phonez has made an attempt to work this out with the customer, but he is not budging from his claim for a complete refund.

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

     The business owner called me, and said that none of his employees had told me that the next repair would be 50% off. His cumstomer service was atrocious, he was very rude and started to agrue with me in a combative manner. I told him that if my money wasn't refunded that I would continue with the BBB process. Even though I explained that his salesperson had promised me the 50% off the next fix before I authorized the service he said that his employee didn't and that I was a liar. He actually got very angry on the phone and I hung up. 

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: Nowhere on the invoice or the marketing materials we have in our stores does it say that we offer 50% off on Galaxy repairs. The customer is adamant that he wants a 100% refund for the repair, and that is unacceptable.
We were will to offer him a 50% on his repair to keep him happy, but that was also rejected by him.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/6/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went over to Get my iPhone 5 repaired and the replaced the screen for 320 US dollars just days after I noticed changes to my phone phone not it over Heating and not working properly! All of this was a cause of a bad installation from Dr. Phonez!!!!! Now MY PHONE NO LONGER WORKS AND I WANT THAM TO PAY FOR MY PHONE 650 US dollars BECAUSE OF THEM MY PHONE NO LONGER WORKS!!!!!!!

Desired Settlement: MAKE DR PHONEZ or the INSURANCE of dr phonez PAY FOR MY PHONE 650 dollars!!!!!!!

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service