Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Sunbelt Electric Contractors

Phone: (210) 670-6017 View Additional Phone Numbers ----, San Antonio, TX 78229 http://www.sunbeltelectricsa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sunbelt Electric Contractors meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sunbelt Electric Contractors include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Sunbelt Electric Contractors
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 12, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1986 in TX Business started locally: 12/05/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Gary Rosenstiel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gary Rosenstiel, Owner
Business Category

Electricians - Commercial Lighting Consultants Landscape Lighting Electricians

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • ----

    San Antonio, TX 78229 (210) 485-7690 (210) 670-6017

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/7/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this company to install a circuit for a new spa that was being delivered, I specified that the required wiring was 6 AWG in order to satisfy the warranty on the spa. The company installed the circuit but when the spa was deliveried it was discovered that the company had used 8 AWG wiring instead of what was agreed upon. I have contacted the company several times and when they actually do reply to me they tell me they can replace the wiring but will have to charge extra. They originally agreed to the price and knew exactly what I needed but still refuse to complete the job as agreed.

Desired Settlement: I would just like this company to come and fix the circuit as agreed upon with the correct gauge wiring, but since they keep dragging this out I need to have someone else come out and do the job so I guess I need a refund instead.

Business Response: When the order was taken over the phone, there was no mention of any special requirements in wiring type or size. The customer claims to have told the tech after we were on the job site. When the tech called in for materials, again there was no mention of any special requirments on the wiring size or type. The office put together a normal wiring package for a 50A spa. This package included necessary conduit, a 50A spa disconnect, and the footage required of #8 THHN copper wire. This wire has an amperage rating of 55Amps and is the size we normally use for this type of installation. A peice of equipment never pulls more than 80% of the amp rating called for. In other words, equipment rated for 50A will never pull more than 40 Amps of power, or the breaker will keep tripping. All of the work performed was installed in accordance with  NEC  (National Electrical Code) requirments. 

When the customer called back, he said that the spa people would not connect the spa because of warranty issues with the spa manufacture. This was the first time that we were made aware of this situation at our office. I assured the customer that the wiring used was more than adequate to operate his 50A spa. His issue was the warranty with the spa mfg. as I can understand. I told the customer that we would change out the wiring, and only charge the difference in the wire cost. At this point the customer started with the threats of a law suite, and that my offering to change the wire was my admission of guilt. This was where I backed away from the issue, cause he mentioned he had someone else do the replacement. By no means was I admitting that the materials we used was inferrior or incorrect, I was offering to help satisfy a customer. We have been in business since 1986 without a single complaint like this, as we strive to satisfy every customer 100%.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I did specify exactly what I needed when I scheduled this job.  In addition when the tech arrived not only did I verbally specify what was needed, I had him read the documentation from the Spa Company that specifically called for 6 AWG wiring.  After reading the documentation the tech proceeded to quote me a price that was close to $400 dollars over an estimate that I had received from another electrician.  When he gave me this price I told him that I did not want him to complete the job and I would just go with the other company, but he offered to lower the cost to meet the other estimate, so I told him to go ahead with the job.  From that point the tech had to go to get the supplies needed to do the job because oviously no one had told him what the requirements were for the job even though I had also told them on the phone.  Once the job was done my hot tub was delivered and it was discovered that they had not used the correct wiring to maintain the warranty requirements so the equipment was not hooked up.  When I contacted the buisiness they did offer to come and fix it but it was going to cost me close to $300 extra just for the supplies.  I had a different electrician come and fix the wiring for me for $200 for parts and labor.

So in conclusion I waited for over 1 month to try and get this problem fixed with this company.  The offer they made me to fix it was unacceptable because they agreed to do the job with the correct wiring in the first place and didn't do it.  So now my only choice does seem to be to pursue action with the BBB and if that makes no difference to pursue this in small claims court.

Regards,

** *******