Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Five Star Cleaners

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 699-0799 Fax: (210) 699-9741 9802 Huebner Rd, San Antonio, TX 78240 http://www.myfivestarcleaners.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Five Star Cleaners include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Five Star Cleaners
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1981 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 08/14/1983 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Sharlene Thum, Member Mr. Richard Thum, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sharlene Thum, Member
Business Category

Dry Cleaners Drapery & Curtain Cleaners Fire Damage Restoration Laundries Leather Cleaning Cleaning Services Pressing Machines - Clothes Tailors Wedding Supplies & Services Alterations - Clothing

Alternate Business Names
SA 5 Star Cleaners, LLC

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Five Star Cleaners has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    13403 Carlton Oaks

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 496-5188

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2950 Thousand Oaks Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78247 (210) 494-0227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4329 Vance Jackson Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 341-1978

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4421 Fredericksburg Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (210) 734-3327

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5015 De Zavala Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 691-0164

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6363 Prue Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78249 (210) 699-3222

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7627 Culebra Rd Ste 101

    San Antonio, TX 78251 (210) 647-7162

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8126 Fredericksburg Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78229 (210) 614-2553

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    9802 Huebner Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78240 (210) 699-0799

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dry cleaner ruined (melted, blew up)inserts made of synthetic leather on my Laundry by Shelli Segal dress. Then refused to give me an email or phone number for the corporate office. They said they couldn't call her then and there either because she was "out of town." There is also no email on their website although it says you can email them. I have also had a silk Michael Kors blouse ruined (destroyed elastic)and they offered to repair it rather than pay for it, I accepted this resolution, but then they took out too much fabric so now it is too short to wear and cannot be repaired any more. There have also been 2 blouses which came back with small holes and they have repaired them successfully. There have been several pants which came back with the hem (sewing) damaged or gone. With the previous manager, *****, these things never happened and he was very reasonable and courteous and knowledgeable. They did not offer to do anything except not charge me for the dress; but this is a valuable dress and I want compensation for its value. They suggested I call the manufacturer since they say they followed the label. That was their only solution. This dress says that it can be washed and dried, but on low and it says for best results, dry clean, so it must be some defect in their dry cleaning. It also says the fabric that was ruined is polyester, so it should not be easily damaged. I believe these outcomes are due to incompetence or carelessness and there is no accountability on the part of the owner nor reasonable way to contact them to send them pictures or anything.

Desired Settlement: Compensation for the value of the ruined Michael Kors blouse and the Shelli Segal dress.

Business Response: I called several times to talk about her dress. I left messages each time . I have been waiting to here if she wanted us to see iif we could find a similar fabric , or she could find one that she liked and we could replace the fabric that did not 
hold up to dry cleaning even though the care label says it would be the best way to clean. I also suggested she take it back tto where she purchased the dress. 
I will have a check for 20.26 as per her request on Monday evening at the store or we can mail it.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I have already received payment from the manager for the value of the dress; I don't need a refund for the dry cleaning of the other items.  I chose not to have them repair it because the last item they repaired came back too short and was unwearable.  
The owner calls and leaves messages because I am in school and do not have service where I am.  Then she does not give me a call back number but says that I have to call the manager instead.  I do not feel this convenient nor professional way to do business with customers that already have a complaint.  It leads to more confusion and frustration.  However, I do appreciate the manager making it right by giving me what I paid for the dress in cash when I went to pick up the dress.
Regards,

******* **************

5/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 13th, I dropped off a blouse with two skirts at Five Star Cleaners. I picked up my items on Monday April 15th and paid $20.5 for the dry cleaning. After I got home, I noticed my blouse had snags all over and two huge damage on the back. My blouse is from *** ****** and costs about $100. I went back to the store the next day and the manager refunded me the amount for my dry cleaning. However, she refused to pay for the damage. Later, she agreed to let the store owner take a look at it to decide on the damage cost. On April 22nd, I receieved a phone call from the owner of the store. She said my shirt was damaged when I dropped it off and accused me of removing a tag says "damaged item". That was completely untrue. My shirt was NOT damaged when I dropped it off and there was NEVER a tag attached to my shirt when I picked it up. This dry cleaner caused the damages to my blouse but didn't want to take onwership of the mistake. She was very unreasonable and rude to me and said she would not do anything besides the $20.5.

Desired Settlement: The owner of this business has a reponsibility to be courteous and honest with its customers, appologize for the damages they caused and provided compensation for the damages.

Business Response:

 The damage was already present at the time of drop off.Our counter staff put a damaged ticket on
the blouse and ** **** told my staff and myself that there were snags on the her blouse when she brought it in
but she say there were more.
Five Star reimbursed ** **** for all three of her garments cleaning even though five star did not
create the damage on her blouse.
Five star did not damage ms blouse but we reimbursed her 20.50 for her whole order

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

What the ower said was a complete lie. First of all, there was NO damaged ticket on my blouse when I picked it up. NOTHIGN! There was not even an itemlized receipt. Secondly, I never said there were already snags when I dropped off my blouse at this dry cleaner because there were none! They damaged my shirt then blamed it on me. Not to mention how rude and disrespectful when this owner talked me on the phone.

I cannot believe how dishonest this business is and they should be shamed of the way they treat their customers! I will post my experience on all reviewing sites if this matter is not resolved.

Regards,

**** ****