This business is not BBB accredited.

Texas Document Solutions

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 835-1000 Fax: (512) 835-7055 View Additional Phone Numbers 2600 Longhorn Blvd Ste 102, Austin, TX 78758 http://www.davidsondocumentsolutions.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Texas Document Solutions include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Texas Document Solutions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 12/11/2000 in TX Business started locally: 12/11/2000 Business incorporated 12/11/2000 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Randall E. Davidson, Founder/President Mr. Michael Bodis, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Michael Bodis, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Randall E. Davidson, Founder/President
Business Category

Document Imaging & Scanning Service Printers Printer & Printer Supplies- Manufacturer Computer Printers Sales & Service Computer Software Publishers & Developers Copiers & Copier Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Davidson Document Solutions, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2600 Longhorn Blvd Ste 102

    Austin, TX 78758 (512) 835-1000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    620 W Sunset Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 822-3500

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6700 Woodway Dr

    Waco, TX 76712 (254) 881-7500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/4/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We purchased two Konica Minolta Bizhub25E on December 26th 2014. When we placed the order there was no mention that those printers were special order and we will not be able to return these printers. These printers have a specific design limitation that will not allow it work with our system. We have been in contact with the company since January 2015 that the printers are not working with our system. Texas Document Solutions suggested other alternative printers. We tried all the alternatives Texas Document Solutions suggested and worked with them for more than 2 months to resolve the issue. We spent a lot of time trying alternatives and working with the company. When none of the alternatives worked, we asked to return these printers and get refund. Texas Document Solutions has refused to talk to us about return. They have not returned our emails for getting this issue resolved after that.

Desired Settlement: We would like to return these two printers and get refund.

Business Response: In order to address this formal complaint, it is important that we start from the beginning.
On December 24, 2014 we received a phone call from ****** ****** with Frames
Direct. ****** explained that while he worked in *******, he wanted to place a
very specific printer order for his ****** and *** **** branch locations.

Philip mentioned that they had antiquated Konica Minolta (KM) printers which no longer
worked and were not in production any longer. Through his extensive independent
research online, ****** found the replacement KM model and called us to place
the order. The conversation I, (******* *****) had with ******, was while we do
not stock any of the larger KM copiers, we certainly did not stock inventory
for smaller specialty KM printers. Since ******’s request was very specific and
we had never heard of the product, never sold the product and didn’t even know
the price of the product, I had asked if he had ever seen the product or demoed
the product to insure it would work in his environment. His answer was “no” but
that the brochure was marketing the printer so it could perform Frames Direct’s
unique print job.

It is important to know, that before our company sells any product, we have a long
list of questions we ask to make sure the proper machine is being placed in the
proper environment. When the question was asked about whether or not Frames
Direct needed 11” x 17” capability, we were informed that they did not and that
the only requirement was the need for A5 capability. A5 is a European measurement
and has never been requested in my 8 years of selling office equipment. A5
paper would be like taking a standard letter-sized document, (8.5” x 11”) and
folding it in half.

After consulting with our KM manufacturer’s representative, I came to find out that
while our KM rep covered the entire state of Texas, he had never had any of
his copier dealers sell one of the specialty printers. With that being said
I conveyed to ****** how special this product was and recommended that he demo
the product first to insure it fit in his environment with their very unique
method of printing. My advice was not taken as apparently time was of the
essence and he “had” to have these machines as soon as possible because his original
machines were not working. ****** was applying pressure on us to order the
equipment as fast as possible. We conveyed that this is not typical of how we
conduct business and we urged him to view the product in action before placing
his order. To compound the pressure, the order was being placed during on
Christmas and while the U.S. was undergoing a severe blizzard throughout half
of the country, thus affecting logistics.

Needless to say Frames Direct placed an order for two units. One for their ****** location
and one for their *** **** location. When the topic of delivery and
installation was brought up, ****** did not want to pay the addition delivery
fees for the *** **** machine and requested that we just deliver both machines
to the ****** location and they would take care of delivering the machine on
their own.

After the ****** machine was delivered and installed, ***** said the machine was not compatible
with their internal software. Texas Document Solutions has always had an
unconditional guarantee that if a machine does not work out, we will replace
that unit with a similar unit with similar capabilities. We stood behind our
commitment and brought out a Sharp MX-B402SC demo unit. Immediately, ******
(who keep in mind is located in *******) said the machine would not fit. I
personally went out to the ****** facility to see what kind of room we had to
work with and found out that Frames Direct were using plastic collapsible
card-tables that could be placed anywhere in the room and that space was not a
limitation whatsoever. The people using the machines even mentioned that all
they needed to do was move the table slightly to accommodate the machine.

After some time had passed, I placed a follow up call to see how the Sharp machine was performing
and I received a warm response that while it worked, the machine was simply too
large and was asked if we could we find an alternate “smaller desktop” solution…at
roughly the same price as the previous KM machines. After an extensive amount
or research, (on my part, our service manager’s part and our IT department’s
part) we landed on a desktop Kyocera unit. The Kyocera fit the “space”
requirement, price requirement and A5 print requirement.

At this point we were all relieved. After this third option was delivered and
installed, ****** mentioned that while the machine was able to print on A5 paper;
the machine was pulling the A5 paper from the wrong paper drawer. We spoke to
Kyocera and Kyocera’s response was that this was an issue on the customer’s end
as the machine performed flawlessly and all that needed to be done was to have
the customer reconfigure their software to have the printer driver pull from
one drawer over another. When we explained the process to *****, it he said
they were not going to make the adjustment and that we should order yet “another”
specialty product manufactured by HP.

This simply was not an option. We were not going to order “another” specialty product
without the customer having demoed the product. It was at this point where
Frames Direct was asking for a refund. Since the KM machines were and are a specialty
item, that most dealers do not sell let alone carry, we reached out to Konica
Minolta to see if they would accommodate some sort of return with a “restocking”
fee. Our request was denied because the product was too specialized. To best
illustrate this entire situation, imagine the following takes place:

A patient needs to upgrade or enhance their tri-focal glasses. Should the
patient visit his local optometrist’s office and request a new set of eye ware
and frames,  and imagine the doctor would not provide them,  without
first a complete eye examination and careful review and personal comparison of
the selected frames.  That is very similar of our approach of the placement
of ANY copier/printer, and again it is a “Fail Safe Method.”  Please imagine
if you will another patient coming to that same office and saying that he does
NOT have time for the eye exam or review of the frames but he knows exactly
what he wants and insists on the optometrist “special order of an expensive
and unusual frames at a cost of $1,500.00?  Upon delivery, the patient decides
that the frames are not appealing to him and will need some additional research
and adjustments to fit his needs.  Unfortunately the optometrist’s special
frame order “Can NOT” be returned or resold.

This is example is similar to what we have faced. Frames Direct conducted their own internal
research and determined that they needed a product in which they did not want
to demo or try out and when the product was found out to not perform as
desired, our company provided two additional options with last option being a perfect
solution that DID WORK and fit the price and space requirement. All that was
needed was for Frames Direct to configure their software to pull from one paper
drawer over another and all would be saved.

In conclusion this situation had been escalated to the highest level thus reaching
our president’s office.  Our president has attempted, through no avail, to reach out to the author of this complaint, Rinku
Shah for a requested conference call with no contact ever made to discuss the
viable solution of keeping the Kyocera machine in place and having the customer
adjust their software settings to pull the paper from the correct paper drawer.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I would like to reiterate the fact that FramesDirect was never told that these printers were non-refundable. If FramesDirect had known that then FramesDirect would not have placed the order.

I sent an email to president of Texas Document Solutions on May 7th and asked to find out what the next step was. I have not heard back from him.


Regards,

***** ****

Business Response: I spoke directly to ****** ****** on Christmas Eve 2014 about the specific and specialty order he wanted to make. It was mentioned that not only did we not carry the machine in stock, but we did not have the specific accessories in stock as well. ****** was informed that our company had an unconditional guarantee that should the equipment not perform as desired, we would replace that equipment with similar equipment SO AS LONG AS THE CUSTOMER HAS BEEN CONTINUOUSLY COVERED UNDER OUR STANDARD MAINTENANCE/SUPPLY USER AGREEMENT. ****** DID NOT WANT SERVICE INCLUDED which was discouraged on my part when the order was placed. Further more when the order was placed, the credit card given to us was denied.
We have stood behind our product and service commitment even when we were not required to do so. Our company has spent countless number of hours, of what should be billable hours at $150.00/hr., all in good faith making sure we came up with a solution that worked. We did find a solution that worked with the Kyocera product. Frames Direct simply did not want to change a driver setting. An electronic setting at that.
In conclusion, I have never dealt with or heard of a Mr. or Mrs. ***** **** (and I do apologize as I have never spoken to this individual) until the BBB complaint was issued. We have reached out to Konica Minolta directly to see if we could simply reduce the cost of the equipment and simply issue a "re-stocking fee" and they came back and said no.
We are MORE THAN HAPPY to bring back the Kyocera equipment, that does work, issue a similar model for the *** **** location and move forward but we cannot issue a refund on a specialty product.
Sincerely,
*******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

****** ****** is a Systems Administrator at FramesDirect. He has been handling hardware purchase / configuration and installation for computers, printers and phones for a few years. He has not received any communication from Texas Document Solutions acknowledging that these printers were special orders. His time is extremely valuable for FramesDirect and he has patiently spent a lot of time trying to figure out other options with Texas Document Solutions.
****** and I would like to deny the claim that FramesDirect is not willing to make a "small electronic driver setting" modification that would make the Kyocera printer work. We are not aware of any electronic driver setting for Kyocera printers that will resolve the issue we are facing and make that product usable with our system. 
Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Texas Document Solutions
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)