Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Apple Dental Center

Phone: (361) 993-9551 Fax: (361) 991-7887 1220 Airline Rd Ste 210, Corpus Christi, TX 78412 http://www.appledentalcenterinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Apple Dental Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Apple Dental Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Apple Dental Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 01, 1988 Business started: 05/01/1987 Business started locally: 05/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/21/1991 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
333 Guadalupe St # 3-800, Austin TX 78701
www.tsbde.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 821-3205

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cathy Cassels, Office Manager Dr. Britt Barwise, D.D.S.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cathy Cassels, Office Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Children Dentistry - Cosmetic


Additional Locations

  • 1220 Airline Rd Ste 210

    Corpus Christi, TX 78412 (361) 993-9551

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Apple Dental sent me a text and email message that I was due for my periodic dental cleaning. I have been using them for several years and their system had always been accurate previously. I call and schedule my appointment and then show up for the service, at no point does anyone mention that I am early for my cleaning that the alerts were a mistake. That is until after I have already had my cleaning and then they immediately tell me that their message was a mistake and that my insurance already covered two cleanings in 2015. Therefore I would be responsible for the charge. I feel that this is an inappropriate time to admit they had made an error and the result would cost me.

Desired Settlement: Apple Dental after admitting that the messages were sent early should be responsible for the charges. If they had made me aware of the situation at the time I scheduled the appointment or when I showed up for the appointment it would have been a non-issue but waiting until after the service to inform me is very poor business.

Business Response: We at no time admitted that a mistake was made in sending out a text or email.  These texts or emails are not generated by what a patient's insurance covers.  It is up to our patient's to know what their insurance covers and when.  We do our best to make this process easier on them but we are not responsible for what their insurance pays or when they pay or if they pay.  We have all of our patient's sign a form upon check-in so there is no misunderstanding as to who is responsible as far as their insurance.  Thank you for the opportunity to respond.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

****** ** ****

The receptionist DID admit that the message was a mistake and was sent early.  At no point prior to my appointment did they inform me of the charges, I went through the process as I have done several times at this location and every other previous trip this type of service was covered completely by my insurance.  

Business Response: Our receptionist remembers this situation clearly and the conversation with this patient.  Even if there was a computer glitch and patient received a text message, etc., patient scheduled his own appointment and it is up to him to check when he was here last and to know what his insurance covers.  We are not going to adjust off this balance as we are not responsible for what patient's insurance cover or don't cover.  It is patient's responsibility to know what his insurance covers.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Apple Dental Center
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)