Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Amy Urban DMD, P.A.

Phone: (512) 440-5900 Fax: (512) 440-5901 3801 S Congress Ave Ste 106, Austin, TX 78704 View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amy Urban DMD, P.A. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amy Urban DMD, P.A.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 2012 Business started: 08/02/2002 in TX Business started locally: 08/02/2002 Business incorporated 08/02/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
333 Guadalupe St # 3-800, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 821-3205

Type of Entity


Business Management
Dr. Amy Urban, Owner Ms. Maureen Alizzi , Office Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Maureen Alizzi , Office Manager
Principal: Dr. Amy Urban, Owner
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Periodontist Dentist - Dental Implants Teeth Whitening Services

Alternate Business Names
Urban Dentistry

Additional Locations


    3801 S Congress Ave Ste 106

    Austin, TX 78704 (512) 440-5900


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/7/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a tooth cleaning in 1/4/12. I gave out all of my correct billing/contact information. In 5/25/12 I moved to south korea due to military. During that time i had not received a letter/phone call that the dental office was having issues with my dental insurance(concordia) in march 2013 i went on leave and thats when i received a letter from urban dentistry dated in June 2012 that my insurance had denied the claim and that i needed to pay 200ish$ for the cleaning. the reason my insurance denied that claim was because urban dentistry misspelled my name and had my husband social security wrong. keep in mind that it had been over a year in that time frame and i had only received 1 letter. So i contacted urban dentistry and explained the situation and at first they were telling me i had to pay out of pocket and explained how insurance claims cant be refile when it has been over a year since my cleaning. when i spoke to Concordia turned out that my insurance change to metlife in may 2012, they also told me they had NO insurance claims filled for urban dentistry and that urban dentistry had contacted them jan 2013. Not only did urban dentistry lie to me telling me that they were contacting me through phone/mail and email they lied about how they were contacting Concordia. im not only complaining about this whole situation but im complaining on how they 'helped' me with this. they were in NO effort to settle this. i was the only one contacting them. they have my email and they still didnt email me back a response on how to settle my bill.

Desired Settlement: Not paying for this service.

Business Response:

Dear *********:

I'm responding to your letter dated May13, 2013 regarding our patient named above, lam the new office
manager at Urban Dentistry and became aware of the situation when I started
April 4th, **** ****** was the previous office manager and is no longer working
for Urban Dentistry. She gave me the following account of what happened with
******** after Ms. **** called the office that week.

According to *****
******** is correct in her statement that we filed her claim with her insurance

company using an incorrect
spelling and ss#. Her claim was denied and according to **** she did refile it.
Unfortunately, when she did file it the, patient's insurance company had
changed. She also waited too long to refile and the insurance company would not
pay because the date of service was past one year.

I believe this is when Ms. **** became very frustrated with **** and our practice. I agree we could have
done abetter job. The personnel involved no longer work here and these types of
issues have not occurred since.

I spoke with Mr. **** during the first week Of my employment here. I listened to her complaint, talked
to **** about it and decided that the fair thing to do was to write off the
insurance portion of the patient bill, since that was our error. I proposed to
Ms. **** that she pay only her portion -$50. She seemed happy with that
solution and gave me her overseas address to send a statement.

Ms. **** continued to call the office asking for **** — she did not want to speak with me. Whatever, we
tried was not going to make her happy. Finally, I told **** that we would just write off the entire balance
because it was not worth aggravating the patient over $50. **** told me she got Ms ****'s email address
and sent her an email to that 'regard. That was the last I heard from Ms. ****.

We take responsibility for not correcting the patient information in a timely manner, but there are other
factors that occurred that were out of our control. First we had no idea that
the patient was living overseas and we had no way to contact her. The
statements sent to here address were never returned for an incorrect address,
The patient did not tell us her insurance had changed, we found this out after
refilling the claim that was then denied. We made multiple calls to both
insurance companies to get this resolved,

Also, this office has never
received an email or written correspondence form Ms.****. . A great deal of
time was spent trying to resolve this with the insurance company. Most other
practices would just bill the patient the total amount because they were not
informed of a change in insurance. I only asked her to pay $50, which was
actually less that her portion,

I'm not sure why she would say we lied to her. I will say that it was very difficult to understand Ms.
**** due to the fact that she was calling from overseas and she also has an
accent that was difficult to understand, I recall asking her several times to
repeat her overseas address to me. This was very annoying to her, but I wanted
to make sure it was correct.

In her final call to ****,
she may have told her she didn't receive the statement for $50. **** didn't
share that with rile, I just guessing from her comments in Our letter. That's
when I instructed **** to email her and tell her we were writing off her

I hope this gives you an
understanding of what happened and we always regret making anyone unhappy, To
my knowledge, no one has ever made a report to the BBB in regards to our
business practices. We are not perfect, but we always try to correct our
mistakes. If you need any other information, please let me know,

Maureen *. *****i

****** ******* ***** ** ********
*** *****, ***