Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Advanced Smile Care, LLP

Phone: (210) 366-3606 Fax: (210) 366-0052 View Additional Phone Numbers 3829 Lockhill Selma Rd, San Antonio, TX 78230 http://www.advancedsmilecare.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advanced Smile Care, LLP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advanced Smile Care, LLP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advanced Smile Care, LLP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 01/01/1982 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1982 Business incorporated 12/22/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
333 Guadalupe St # 3-800, Austin TX 78701
www.tsbde.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 821-3205

Type of Entity

Limited Partnership (LP)

Business Management
Mr. Jos Selig, Manager Dr. Gerald W. Crouch, DDS Fran DuBose, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jos Selig, Manager
Business Category

Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Dental Implants Dentist - Sedation Dentist - Orthodontist Dentistry - Cosmetic Dental Hygienists

Alternate Business Names
Advanced Smile Care

Additional Locations

  • 3829 Lockhill Selma Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230 (210) 782-8355 (210) 366-3606

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was scheduled to receive dental care and I was required to post a $400 dollar deposit for the procedure. I worked on a rotation work schedule and I was not able to meet the original scheduled date. I rescheduled the procedure and then came down with the flu. I texted the first time and called the second time to cancel. I moved in April and requested a refund of mu deposit. I called on 4/25/2014 and was told that I would receive a refund, but it did not come. I called again on 5/12/2014 and was told that I would get a refund via check and I agreed to that and updated my current address. I received a call from Fran the accounting person and she left a message saying that I would get a credit to my credit card. She called 10 minutes later and told me that they were keeping my deposit because i did not cancel my appointments, so i am being charged for the Dr's Time with no service rendered.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund. I want an appoligy. I want this complaint to be reflected in the BBB database. I will also disput this with my bank.

Business Response: Mr. **** was presented with our office guidelines  regarding missed appointments on his first visit which he acknowledged with his signature (See attachment "******_Guidelines").  Mr. **** was presented with some treatment options on 12/3/13.  On 12/30 Mr. **** called to schedule treatment on one tooth (see notes and Financial Agreement) and made a $400 down payment to reserve time with the Dr. on 1/13/14.  Mr. **** texted and called the same day of the appointment (1/13/14) to state that he could not make the appointment due to illness.  We understand that these things happen and we would not charge him for a cancelled appointment within the 48 hrs we ask as notice.  Mr **** was rescheduled for 1/20/13 to complete his dental work.  On 1/20/13 Mr. **** did not show up for his appointment nor did he call with an explanation for missing his appointment. (see notes).  Mr **** called requesting a refund for his down payment.  All of our accounts go through an audit process prior to any refunds being processed.  After auditing the account our financial team concluded that Mr. **** did not cancel 2 separate appointments with at least 48 hrs notice per our office guidelines.  Because of the late cancellation and not showing up for the second appointments the office lost at least 3 hours of treatment time that we could have offered to other patients.

We are sorry that there was confusion regarding processing the refund, but we feel that our guidelines are clear for cancelling appointments and not showing up for appointments.  If Mr. **** wishes to complete his treatment here, as a courtesy, we would apply the $400 to the cost of treatment.

Consumer Response: Complaint:********

I am rejecting this response because:

I feel that from the first appointment I was late approx 15min due to traffic. I was told that the time slot was filled by another appointment. I rescheduled then I came down with the flu. Why is it that if I'm late my time slot was given away, but when canceled I'm being charged for the Drs time. They can not double standard people. What's right is right. A deposit was for services to be performed. No service, then I should not be charged. Their policy's are one sided. I waited in their waiting room 20 minutes on my first visit. My time is valuable to my family and job. I did not charge them for my time.  


Regards,

**** ****

12/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues