This business is not BBB accredited.

Austin Cosmetic Dentistry

Phone: (512) 382-5888 Fax: (512) 382-5826 View Additional Phone Numbers 2700 Barton Creek Blvd Ste 130, Austin, TX 78735 http://thecosmeticdentistsofaustin.com/ ! There is an alert on Austin Cosmetic Dentistry !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Austin Cosmetic Dentistry
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2003 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 06/25/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
333 Guadalupe St # 3-800, Austin TX 78701
www.tsbde.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 821-3205

Type of Entity

Association

Business Management
Dr. John Christian Schiro, DDS, FAGD Dr. Arturo Garcia, DMD Mr. Kent McLeod, Director of Marketing
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. John Christian Schiro, DDS, FAGD
Business Category

Dentistry - Cosmetic Dentists Dentist - Dental Surgery Dentist - Dental Implants

Alternate Business Names
Dr. Arturo Garcia, DMD Dr. John Christian Schiro, P.A.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2700 Barton Creek Blvd Ste 130

    Austin, TX 78735 (512) 351-9277 (512) 382-5888

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/13/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are numerous "primary nature of complaint" choices I could have chosen. Basically this thriving, flourishing practice sold me a cosmetic dental service in February 2014 making a very big deal out of their "last time you pay" policy, insisting that once I pay the $16,000 I will never need to bring my wallet again, and this cost included two dental cleanings a year as well as any repairs that my teeth would require for the rest of my life. There was no reason to think they were about to lock their doors with no forwarding information, but that is exactly what they did in August of 2014. Now one of the two dentists who worked there has opened a similar clinic right down the road (Austin Cosmetic Dentistry Center - Dr. ****** ******) offering the same services and last time you pay policy, but not honoring the agreement with his patients from Austin Cosmetic Dentistry. He is denying all responsibility saying he was just an employee at the other place and Dr. ****** (the other dentist) was the owner, and Dr. ****** chose to sold the practice to Xenith Practices (**** ***** **** Street, ********** ** *****). Dr. ****** has left no forwarding information nor has he opened another practice in Austin as best I can tell. They had me sign all kinds of agreements but did not give me copies of them (they discouraged it by charging $30 for a copy and stating I could get them anytime I needed them). When I look back I see that they were gearing up for locking the doors and now I have no access to the agreement. They all knew they were leaving when they sold me this defunct service.

Desired Settlement: I was able to justify the expense of the procedure by calculating that two dental cleanings a year for 30+ more years as well as the insurance of knowing that any future problems would be taken care was easily worth $16,000. For the service I have received I would only have paid half of that ($8000 - which is what I would have paid elsewhere without this last time you pay policy). I would like a reimbursement of 50%, or $8000.

11/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This practice entered into a deceptive contract with me for crowns and veneers. I was made to pay the total amount of $31,800 up front, which I did by check. I was told the job would be completed (and in my mouth within two weeks. It took more than 2 months and I still do not have the product I was promised. They were way behind and rushed getting my porcelain made and in doing so the quality is extremely poor. The front teeth are not the same size; the top and bottom left teeth are much longer than the right; I can't chew on right side. They are rough and are beneath the gum line. I have exposed nerves everywhere. The dentist drilled a hole in my back tooth but didn't fill it. I cant use my CPAP machine because I have expose raw teeth. Because of these errors, the *** told me he would refund half of my money ($15,900) and remake all the teeth if I wasn't satisfied. Suddenly without warning, they fired the staff and shut down the practice. The took tens of thousands of dollars from several people and left us all lost not knowing what to do. I have a mouth full of poor quality and very painful teeth. My health is suffering as I cant use my CPAP machine. I have no more money to fix my teeth. They are still advertising under Dr. **** Shiro's name. The staff told after they took my money that he sold the practice. They failed to tell me that *** ******* license is under 4 year suspension/probation.Deception and deceptive trade practices every where you look. The fraud committed by Austin Cosmetic Dentistry has made the headline news!The dentist who performed work on me, Dr. ****** *** ******** and the ******** ********* ***, ****** ******* both signed a document on *** **** ********** behalf stating they were to remake my porcelain and give me a refund of $15,900. I can trust no one in that office.

Desired Settlement: This practice entered into a deceptive contract with me for crowns and veneers. I was made to pay the total amount of $31,800 up front, which I did by check. I was told the job would be completed (and in my mouth within two weeks. It took more than 2 months and I still do not have the product I was promised. They were way behind and rushed getting my porcelain made and in doing so the quality is extremely poor. The front teeth are not the same size; the top and bottom left teeth are much longer than the right; I can't chew on right side. They are rough and are beneath the gum line. I have exposed nerves everywhere. The dentist drilled a hole in my back tooth but didn't fill it. I cant use my CPAP machine because I have expose raw teeth. Because of these errors, the *** told me he would refund half of my money ($15,900) and remake all the teeth if I wasn't satisfied. Suddenly without warning, they fired the staff and shut down the practice. The took tens of thousands of doll


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Austin Cosmetic Dentistry
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart