Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 467-8080 8303 N Mopac Expy Ste A105, Austin, TX 78759 http://www.ufcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 7
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on University Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated 09/27/2000 in TX
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Sopchak, Executive Assistant Ms. Sheila Jo Wojcik PhD, SVP Communication & Corporate Affairs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Sopchak, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Credit Unions Financing Mortgage Lender Financial Services Credit Cards & Plans

Alternate Business Names
UFCU UFCU Financial Services, LLC
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

University Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 120 W Palm Valley Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • 1213 Ranch Road 620 S

    Lakeway, TX 78734

  • 130 E Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704

  • 13860 N Us Highway 183

    Austin, TX 78750

  • 1500 W Parmer Lane

    Austin, TX 78727

  • 15116 Fm 1825

    Pflugerville, TX 78660

  • 2244 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • 3200 E Whitestone Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • 3305 Steck Ave

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 4611 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78751

  • 5033 W Highway 290

    Austin, TX 78735

  • 571 University Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • 701 S Capital Of Texas Hwy Ste J

    West Lake Hills, TX 78746

  • 702 Colorado St

    Austin, TX 78701

  • 8303 N Mopac Expy Ste A105

    Austin, TX 78759

  • 9925 Brodie Ln

    Austin, TX 78748

  • PO Box 9350

    Austin, TX 78766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UFCU has stated that I missed a payment for my car loan and when I asked for an explanation as I had proof that I made the payment, they transferred me to ******* ***** in Collections. Ms. ***** did not answer and the call went to voicemail. I left a message requesting that she tell me why UFCU said I missed a payment, why is there a late charge. that I do have proof that it was paid, and asked why I was now having problems depositing money into the accounts that needed payment. Ms. ***** never returned my call. I called a week later after getting her extension from a UFCU operator - ************ ext ***** and Ms. *****'s voicemail was all I got. I left another message, but still received no call back and still was having trouble depositing money into the accounts that needed payment. Today, April 18, 2015, the bank teller said that she could not deposit any money into the account because the department she needed to contact was closed. She gave me my deposit slip back with ******* *****'s number and ext *****. I need to be able to pay my bills and ******* ***** is not being very communicative nor does it seem she is even trying to help me pay my bills.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like the information of when I missed the payment and be given the opportunity to prove otherwise. 2. I would like ******* ***** to return my calls when asked. 3. I would like Ms. ***** and UFCU to let me deposit my money so that my bills get paid and the late fees stop getting charged because of the bank tellers telling me that they cannot deposit my money due to Ms. ***** not being in the office.

Business Response: The Credit Union apologizes for any miscommunication or lack of communication that have may occurred.  We have talked directly with Ms. ********** and have resolved her concerns. 

3/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a credit card from UFCU in 2012 that I had never used. UFCU allowed charges on the unused account that were clearly fraud. Those fraudulent charges wiped out my account. They did not notify me until after they applied several additional charges to my account for fees. I went to the office in January 2013, and I turned in my unused card and told them to clear up their errors. The employees told me they would remove all fraudulent charges and the fees wrongly applied. I reported the fraud to the Austin Police and Travis County Sheriff. Last year, 2014, I again noticed there appeared to be errors remaining from the fraud incident, and I called UFCU. I was again assured the errors would be corrected. Early this year, I again was checking my account because I received an inactivity fee notice. I was not using the UFCU account because I do not trust them, but I kept it open in the event I needed to transfer money to my daughter's account at UFCU. They have again applied fees not authorized on February 5, 2015.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem permanently so this error does not occur again. Remove all the fees. Written apology from entity director for not fixing their error the first three times I complained.

Business Response:

A Senior Manager contacted the consumer personally.  All fees have been refunded to the consumer. The consumer has asked that a written explanation be emailed to him.  The Senior Manager is emailing an explanation, per the consumer's request.
We believe this should satisfy the consumer's complaint issues and consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The use of my UFCU debit/credit card was declined on Feb. 7 at ****'s in Houston for a transaction of 873.90, even though **** ******, who works in card member services at UFCU, assured me in November me that both my credit and debit limits were well above that--$1005 for debit transactions and $5000 for credit transactions. I was never informed by UFCU that these limits had changed for any reason. When I called customer service to sort out the discrepancy and the problem, I was told that no one could help me because the relevant office had closed. I would have been unable to make my purchase--which was time-sensitive--if the ****'s sales agent had not thought of splitting the transaction into two. But this should not have been necessary. UFCU has declined to tell me in advance what kinds of transactions would trigger fraud prevention blocks on my account, in addition to the limits Ms. ****** described. Apparently there was someone available in the area of fraud prevention services I could have spoken with, because I received a phone call on the morning of Feb. 8 asking questions about my transactions. Did those limits change when I was issued the card with a number ending in 5815? If so, I believe I should have been informed. If not, it appears that I will need to screen merchants before I use them, and that there are some items and services I simply will not be able to buy even though I have the money for them. This is not acceptable. UTFCU needs to have staff available 24 hours a day to help with these transactions. My bank's verification of my identity might have helped me today. Can you please help me understand the problem? Is it going to be necessary for me to ask every merchant what its credit and debit limits are if I do not want to risk the embarrassment and inconvenience of a decline? Please let me know how I can avoid this problem in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like very detailed information, in writing, about what ALL the limits on my account are, INCLUDING INFORMATION ABOUT WHAT WOULD TRIGGER A FRAUD PREVENTION BLOCK SO THAT I CAN AVOID PUTTING SUCH TRIGGERS IN PLAC.E. I would like to have staff available 24 hours WHO COULD HELP ME OVER THE PHONE, WHILE I AM WORKING WITH A MERCHANT, TO VERIFY MY IDENTITY IN THE MOMENT SO THAT I CAN AVOID A DECLINE OF A TRANSACTION THAT I MUST MAKE OUTSIDE UFCU'S NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS.

Business Response:

One of our Card Services Fraud Mitigation Specialists tried to contact Ms. ******* by phone on 02/10/15 and left a voicemail message.  She also sent the following email to the member. 
We hope this will satisfy the desired settlement requested by Ms. *******.

From: **** ********
Sent: Tuesday, February 10, 2015 3:12 PM
To: '***************@gmail.com'
Subject: Macy's Debit Card Declines

 

Hi Ms ******* –

 

I am following up with regard to a voicemail I left you earlier today.  My apologies that you experienced a negative experience with your debit card.  Please be assured, both of your declines at Macy’s for 499.00 and 873.90 respectively were not declined due to any limit to your daily access different than what you and Ms **** ****** had already discussed. 

 

The two Macy’s charges were declined because they were (incorrectly in this case) a very high red flag indicator for fraud – the geographic location of Houston combined with the merchant of Macy’s and the high dollar amount is unfortunately exactly what UFCU has been experiencing in large dollar losses that has resulted in a notable negative affect to our membership as a co-operative.  The good news is, we can easily exclude your card from any rule you would like so said rule will not cause any further declines.  This is exactly what I have done.

 

I’d like to welcome you to personally contact myself with any questions you may have.  Although we are not available 24 hours, should this ever occur again, you will be able to use your PIN successfully; I see that is exactly what you did in order to get these charges approved.

 

Thank you for your membership Ms ******* – we appreciate you very much!

 

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A lower credit limit has been placed on the new debit and credit card I received from University Federal Credit Union to replace the old card that had been compromised by the Home Depot security breach. I would like the credit limit restored to what it was before the breach happened, since I have a new card that has not been compromised. I would also like to be certain that the Credit Union will inform me, in advance, whenever my credit limit changes in any way. I am not certain that the organization did so, in this case.

Desired Settlement: Please see the complaint above.

Business Response: The manager of our ATM/Debit Card Department has been in contact with the consumer and everything has been resolved to her liking. This complaint was resolved on 11/24/15, which is the date we received this complaint from BBB.  Thank you.

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've lost my job. I've called ***, UFCU Loan Account officer, and repeatedly told him that I've lost my job and that I simply need a "Skip a Payment" honored for me to catch up on my bills and continue paying UFCU on my car loan, starting a month later. I've been denied by *** and UFCU. I truly understand that I've asked for a Skip a Payment last December. But it has been over 10 months, and less than 6 weeks, to make a year. In which another Skip a Payment is allowed. But I've lost my job Now and need the Skip a Payment option honored Now. I have just started working again and I have ALL intentions of continuing my UFCU car payments by October 30, 2014. PLEASE ASSIST. ******* ** ****** UFCU member #********* ***** ********

Desired Settlement: I've Lost my job and the only way to "catch up" on my bills would be for University Federal Credit Union to allow me another Skip a Payment. T-Mobile and Progressive car insurance companies have assisted me. Why can't the University Federal Credit Union do the same?

Business Response: According to our Collections Officer, Mr. ****** did receive a Skip-a-Pay in December 2013 and has since made 8 loan payments.  Mr. ****** was informed in detail that he will not be eligible for another Skip-a-Pay until 12 loan payments have been made since his last request.  He also asked for a Skip-a-Pay in July 2014 and we agreed to change the loan due date to the end of the month, per Mr. ******'s request.  We feel that we have attempted to help Mr. ****** as much as possible.  While we may not be able to offer the specific assistance Mr.  ****** is currently requesting, if he contacts the Collection Department, they will be glad to work with him to the best of their ability.

10/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: University Federal Credit Union sent me an email in early September indicating that it was re-issuing credit and debit cards to customers, including myself, who had used the card at Home Depot during a period in which the security of card numbers was compromised at Home Depot. This act was very commendable. I was informed by phone and through electronic communications that the cards would be mailed by Sep. 17 and should arrive by Sep. 25. My current card is scheduled to be deactivated by University Federal Credit Union on Sep. 30, so I would need to activate my new card by then in order to have continuous access to my account. However, the new card has not arrived by mail, in spite of the fact that University Federal Credit Union has my correct mailing address on file. In addition, I have not received a letter through the mail explaining the card replacement process--which University Federal Credit Union assures me was sent--so communication by paper mail between the Credit Union and myself does not appear to be working right now.

Desired Settlement: I ask that 1. The card that is on its way to me, via mail, be deactivated immediately, since it may have somehow gone to the wrong address, and 2) that my current card's deactivation date be extended by at least 14 days, to Oct. 14, to allow time for a new card to mailed to me and for me to activate it, and 3) that the new card be sent to me via certified mail, which would require me to sign upon receipt and acknowledge to the credit union that I have received the card.

Business Response:  Ms.  *******,

      The Debit Card in question was mailed on Sept 19  to the address on file which is **** ******* ** *** **  Houston, Tx **********.  We would be happy to FedEx a new card to this address and provide you with the tracking number if necessary.  Please give us a call and let us know how to proceed.

**** ******
ATM/Debit Card Manager
University Federal Credit Union
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I cannot accept FedEx delivery because I work during the day and would not want the envelope left outside my door when I am not at home.  I am not in a position to take time to contact FedEx to arrange for the envelope to be held for me for pickup. If UTFCU can arrange this on my behalf, then this plan is acceptable--but only in the event that my current card can remain active through Oct. 14. I simply cannot guarantee that I can go to a FedEx location before Oct. 6, which I am told is the current cutoff date. That is the best I am able to do.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The consumer has been in contact with our ATM Debit Card Manager via email and telephone.  We are in receipt of an email from the consumer indicating that she did receive the original debit card in question on October 1, 2014.  The last correspondence between the consumer and the Deabit Card Manager was on October 2, 2014 and according to the email, everything has been resolved.  Unless the consumer has other questions, we will consider this complaint to be closed.

8/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/31/2013, I bought a 2012 grey ***** ***** at ***** ***** ***** after obtaining a car loan from University Federal Credit Union in ******, *****. The above account number is partial as I do not have any written documentation of this account and the number that I did provide came from my credit file. I would like for you to look into this further for me as I have contacted UFCU several times to no avail. Unfortunately, after obtaining the financing University Federal Credit Union seized vehicle due to loan acceleration, pre-empting a default was made on the loan. I was improperly notified that the vehicle was ever in question or needed to be returned to UFCU. I was only made aware via phone after my funds and accounts were frozen. I contacted customer service and was told verbally that my funds were held and although I was not notified prior, as collateral for the vehicle they wanted to retrieve the funds would be applied to the selling of the vehicle. I asked for further information and was told that I “”fell through the cracks” and should not have obtained the loan originally. Citing the reasons: • My husband co-signed for the vehicle and he himself had a repossession less than a month prior to co-signing for this vehicle thus leaving an outstanding debt. (Which as another course of action from UFCU invalidated an agreement that entered into to repay his sole repossession) • I, the original applicant, am not a licensed driver. I did not provide an erroneous identification however the loan officer told me in order to receive financing I would need to get a co-applicant with a drivers license, thus insert my husband. Because of the reasons listed above UFCU recognized they did issue the loan but decided that they no longer wanted to finance it and wanted the vehicle back to sell it, thus ending the agreement. I was devastated, because it was never disclosed clearly that my husband being a co-signer on the vehicle would have any adverse reactions as we were approved. UFCU misrepresented the contract/terms and automatically accelerated the loan without allowing me to cure the loan in an adequate time frame. I also never received the funds that were frozen on my account as to my understanding they were applied to this erroneous loan, which is an improper use of cross-collaterization. There can be no default if the underlying obligation is extinguished by UFCU. The contract is voided under the laws of ***** due to the requirements to secure the loan initially was not met due to interpreted illegal consultation from the UFCU loan officer. Per the law before a lender can repossess a car I must have defaulted on a loan. I never failed to make a monthly installment payment due to the vehicle being retrieved voluntarily (I contacted the tow service myself and released it, although UFCU is improperly reporting on my credit report that it is an “involuntary repossession”.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this problem, I would appreciate a wiping of my credit report with all three bureaus of reporting an involuntary repossession immediately.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This matter has been resolved with a resolution that is acceptable to me. I no longer wish to pursue any further contact regarding this complaint.

Regards,

**** *******

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined UCFU on the 26th of November, 2012 , a day after I came into thos country to start a new job at UTMB and applied for a credit card. I didn't have a social security number at that time.. I was told to updte my bank with that information when it became available. This I did by January 2013. Unknown to me, my credit card information was not linked to my SSN and I have no credit history. I have been unable to get a mobile phone contract, car loan, store rewards cards, bill me later account.... Just to mention a few. I noticced this error in Feburary 2014 and brought it to the notice of the bank. I have been told on two occasions that it has been corrected but that is not true. I have made countless visits and phone calls to the bank but still nothing has been done. This problem has not only consumed my time but has prevented me from getting several servucws and has ultimately made here in the US difficult for me I will appreciate it if this pronlem is solved.

Desired Settlement: I need my credit history to be corrected. I want the good credit history that I have earned. The reporting companies should be updated with my credit information from January 2013

Business Response:

According to our records, we updated the member's credit history back in February, 2014.  Her credit card information was sent to all three credit bureaus (Experian, Equifax and TransUnion); however, it appears that only Experian followed through with the update.  We have sent another update to the other two credit bureaus today, 05/14/14, which should rectify the problem.  Once we report the credit information to a credit bureau, it could take up to 60 days for the member’s history to update and show up on a credit report.   We apologize for the delay in the member's credit history being updated.  If there is anything else we can do, we hope the member will not hesitate to contact us personally to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible. 
Thank you.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a Motorcycle with UFCU and I was verbally told that my loan was considered a recreational vehicle and that I just needed to have Liability Insurance on it. The recreational loan pitch made me believe this. It came to be that I in fact DO need full coverage and that made my insurance go from $40 to $169. I was also told that UFCU would not even check to see if I had insurance. The insurance was a major deciding factor in the purchase of this sports bike because I had gotten quotes and I knew they were high for sport bikes. Had I known this, I may not have gotten the bike or I would have got a cruiser that is not considered a performance bike. When I spoke with someone from UFCU in the insurance department they told me it didn't matter because it was in the paperwork that I signed electronically. If that is the case I guess you can not trust what the employees say because they are only interested in making a sale and closing the loan. They knew that I was at the end of my days to buy the bike or lose the $250 deposit. They used that knowledge and verbally incorrect information to get me to sign and return the documents. I am a current homeowner who has bought and owned vehicles and knew about paying full coverage for vehicles that have a lein holder. Like I said the "recreational loan" got me and I think they need to spend money to get their employees trained better. I do have the email of the person that was sending me the electronic documents and who I asked about the insurance coverage requirements. My wife is my witness as she is on the loan also and we both wanted to make sure the bike was insured properly and she was there with me throughout the process.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what can be done because if I had received accurate information I might not have gotten the bike and this would not have happened. They are in the business of making money and I don't think they will take the bike back and cancel the loan with no negative financial repercussions. If that can not happen then I need to be honored from what was said verbally and only pay for liability insurance.

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint #*******, received 02/05/2014

 

 

Our Consumer Lending Manager contacted the member on 02/12/14, acknowledged receipt of his complaint and thanked him for taking time to provide feedback. The Consumer Lending Manager explained that our regular procedure includes verbally reviewing the Loan Closing Summary document with the borrower prior to obtaining their signature and closing/funding any loan. The Loan Closing Summary clearly details the requirement for comprehensive and collision insurance prior to closing the loan.  If necessary, we can provide a copy of the signed Loan Closing Summary.

The member stated he was given bad information and suggested that we spend more time training our staff.  The Consumer Lending Manager thanked him for his feedback and assured him that she would share his concerns accordingly.

 

The member’s desired settlement requests that we waive full coverage insurance and only require him to carry liability insurance on this loan. We feel that we provided sufficient notification of our insurance requirements prior to closing/funding this loan. Since the motorcycle that was financed is the collateral for the loan, we are not willing to waive the necessity for the member to carry full coverage (comprehensive and collision) insurance.

 

We trust the member accepts these terms and is willing to close his complaint.
Thank you.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went into bank on 7/9 to closed old account and open a new one since apt claimed my rent check was lost ..i did not want to pay a stop check fee so i closed account .. on 8/12 i get a notice from my apt that they found 7/3 check and ran it for 8/3 rent and i came back unpaid so i was charged 30 dollars by bank and 50 by apt....back refunded the 30 dollars but i need them to pay the 50 my apt is charging since the account was never closed like it was suppose to have been by agent **** from pflugerville tx location

Desired Settlement: i need 50 dollars to pay return check fee charged by apartment since the account was not closed on 8/9 as agreed by sales rep ****

Business Response: I have forwarded a copy of this complaint to the Branch Manager at our Pflugerville Branch.  The employee who assisted Ms. ******** has contacted her, asking for proof of the $50 returned check fee charged by her apartment.  Once we have documentation of this charge, Ms. ******** will be given credit for the disputed amount of $50.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and the apartment called me back and apologized and did not charged the me the insufficient 50 fee .. so thanks for your willingness to resolve.
******* ********

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off two cars and they treat me like a criminal when I pay two or three days later. They also charge this $40 nsf fee which is way out of line to other credit unions and I sometimes get a fee from auto draft and they need to lower that fee. The interest rate on my vehicles was suppose to go down as well but has not

Desired Settlement: Please lower interest rates as it has been 6 months and I have paid two cars off already and stop charging these $40 fees. They are almost double that of ***** or *****

Business Response: Upon researching Mr. ****** accounts, our lending department could not locate a loan rate reduction request from him.  UFCU does not "automatically" lower rates without a request from the member.  UFCU is accepting this BBB Complaint as Mr. ****** formal request for a loan rate reduction.  We allow a one-time rate reduction and based on the ****** most recent portfolio score, they are eligible for a rate reduction on both vehicle loans. A service request has been submitted to our Loan Servicing group for action.  We hope this will be satisfactory to Mr. ****. 

Regarding Mr. ****** disapproval of our $40 Courtesy Pay fee, this is not considered an NSF fee.  Courtesy Pay is a service to pay checks that would normally be returned as "NSF" (non-sufficient funds). Courtesy Pay saves UFCU members merchant NSF fees and the embarrassment and inconvenience associated with returned checks.
UFCU performs a competitive market analysis of checking fees for comparison. We apologize if Mr. **** feels our fee is too high. Courtesy Pay is system-activated on all checking accounts; however, a member may choose to opt out of Courtesy Pay by informing a UFCU representative either verbally or in writing. If opted out of Courtesy Pay, if funds are not available in the checking account when an item is presented for payment, the item is returned and the member is charged a $30 NSF fee. I hope I have satisfactorily addressed all of Mr. ****** concerns. 

4/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
3/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
11/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service