Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

University Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (512) 467-8080 8303 N Mopac Expy Ste A105, Austin, TX 78759 http://www.ufcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that University Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for University Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 20 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

20 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 20

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on University Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 01, 1973 Business started: 01/01/1936 Business started locally: 01/01/1936 Business incorporated 09/27/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Lisa Sopchak, Executive Assistant Ms. Sheila Jo Wojcik PhD, SVP Communication & Corporate Affairs
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Sopchak, Executive Assistant
Business Category

Credit Unions Financing Mortgage Lender Financial Services Credit Cards & Plans

Alternate Business Names
UFCU UFCU Financial Services LLC
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner Mortgage Choices Risks with reverse mortgages

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

University Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 120 W Palm Valley Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78664

  • 1213 Ranch Road 620 S

    Lakeway, TX 78734

  • 130 E Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704

  • 13860 N US Hwy 183

    Austin, TX 78750

  • 1500 W Parmer Lane

    Austin, TX 78727

  • 15116 FM 1825

    Pflugerville, TX 78660

  • 2244 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78705

  • 3200 E Whitestone Blvd

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • 3305 Steck Ave

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 4611 Guadalupe St

    Austin, TX 78751

  • 5033 W Hwy 290

    Austin, TX 78735

  • 571 University Blvd

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • 701 S Capital of Texas Hwy Ste J

    West Lake Hills, TX 78746

  • 702 Colorado St

    Austin, TX 78701

  • 8303 N Mopac Expy Ste A105

    Austin, TX 78759 (512) 467-8080

  • 9925 Brodie Ln

    Austin, TX 78748

  • PO Box 9350

    Austin, TX 78766

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/7/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had open a checking and a savings account once i took out an auto loan With UFCU, they had told me it was required and that i didn't have to be checking on the account unless there was deposits made or withdrawals made since it was a free account and it didn't have any fees on it. there was fraud on my account from florida and there was a charge for $133.70 and they withdrew and deposit right away, the bank in their end went ahead and assessed a fee for my account of $40. once i asked if the fee could be removed due to it being fraud, the banker told me that it had exceeded the time frame to dispute a transaction. i have been paying on my car loan and they have yet to advise me that i had a negative on my account. i would have taken care of it since i dont have a debit acrd or the account number for this account. i believe that the bank in the end could have submitted a claim for fraud and refunded me for the money i never used or was aware of.

Desired Settlement: fees taken off my account.

Business Response: The member should have been credited the $40.00 fee that was charged to his account and we overlooked it.  His account has now been credited.

3/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2008 my wife at the time and I, purchased a Recreational Vehicle. The original loan papers had her name as the primary signee and me as the secondary. Through divorce papers the Judge granted me the RV as my sole property. I have been trying to contact UFCU since 2010, with no avail, to obtain balance information and to refinance RV under my name to remove my ex-wife from this loan as per Final Decree. In 2011, I called wanting to know if I would be able to setup an online account for billing purposes. At that time I was told that my RV account was frozen due to the repossession of the other two vehicles. I asked how those two other vehicles ended up on my account. I was told they could not release any information since I was not the primary account holder. Apparently by the time the divorce was final, my ex-wife had purchased an RV and refinanced a truck for which I had no knowledge and did not consent to have these two vehicles placed on my RV account. Soon after she bought these vehicles, they were repossessed. After 3 years of calling and getting no answers and not being able to obtain the balance on my account, I sent them a copy of my Final Divorce Decree and with that finally I was able to get the balance owed at the time (2014). In December of 2015 I called to make my “final RV payment”, and at that time I was told I had accrued late fees in excess of $1,500. Never in 5 years of calling UFCU was I ever told that I had any type of late fees. In February 16, 2016, I made my last late fee payment. I asked the person who took my payment how long it would be for me to receive the title and was told that she had no idea and would refer me to someone who could help me. I was transferred to collections and spoke to ***** Henson regarding the title he said he would have to call me back that day or the next. ***** provided me his direct number. I waited two days and no call so I called ******* direct line multiple times and no answer. He would not return my voice messages or email. I then called UFCU direct number and was transferred to collections again and spoke with David. I ask again how long to receive my title, he told me he would have to research the account and put me on hold to obtain the information. Upon returning to the line, he provided no information other than becoming very rude, he said he could not release much information just that they would not release my title. I asked him why? He told me that this particular loan was in collections due to a repossession of two other vehicles which my ex-wife had bought in 2010. I told him that I had previously faxed and mailed a copy of the Final Decree of Divorce which showed that the RV was granted to me. He said that I had been incorrectly advised regarding “how the law in reality works” and that a Divorce Decree does not supersede any terms of a loan. David finally told me that “we, UFCU, welcome a lawsuit but we will not release your title” and hung up the phone.

Desired Settlement: Refund of all late fees charged and release of RV title

Business Response:

The account in question is a joint account (for the depository accounts) with ****** ****** being the primary account holder and Jose Ybarra being the joint owner.  There are multiple loan accounts under this account number.  Of which, only one loan is *** ****** actually and legally signed on as being jointly responsible for the debt/loan.  In accordance with the laws surrounding privacy the only loan *** ****** is legally able to obtain information about, without the express written permission from the primary ****** ******, is the one loan which he is signed on.  Divorce decrees do NOT override or otherwise change or alter laws pertaining to privacy.  Divorce decrees also do NOT override or change a legally binding contract or agreement.

At no time did UFCU withhold or refuse to offer any information to *** ****** in reference to the one loan he is legally obligated on.  Our records reflect there have been multiple conversations and exchanges of emails where UFCU provided specific information to *** ****** about the effect or impact (or lack thereof) of divorce decrees in this situation.  In addition there were also multiple conversations with *** ****** where UFCU explained what options where available to him in an attempt to assist him to resolve the issues/questions he had.

UFCU loan contracts do provide for what is commonly referred to as “cross collateralization”.  Put simply, this means that any piece of collateral that is pledged as security for one loan does and can be used to secure and act as collateral for any and all other obligations owed to the Credit Union.

We have attempted, on more than several occasions, to direct *** ****** to the primary account holder to obtain either written permission to discuss her financial specifics with UFCU with him or to ask her directly about any situation that might impact the loan he is responsible for.  If *** ****** would have opted to contact the primary account holder he may have been able to resolve any issues in reference to the information he was/is attempting to obtain.  These are still his only options to obtain any information pertaining to any of the loans under this account number which he is not directly signed on.

Our records reflect multiple contacts by phone and email over at least a three year period where UFCU offered specific information pertaining to the payoff of the loan in question, payments, due dates, cross collateralization, privacy issues/laws, divorce decrees as well as other specific information relating to the loan he is jointly responsible for. 

With the exception of having on line access to the loan *** ****** had and has full access to all information relating to the loan he is jointly responsible for.  As such any late fees accrued on the loan were not due to or impacted by any action the Credit Union did or did not take.  They were assessed as a direct result of payment(s) being made to the loan more than 7 days after the due date per our contract.  As such the Credit Union will not offer to refund any late fees at this time.

While I do understand this situation may be frustrating to *** ******.  UFCU has an obligation to operate under the laws and contracts that govern it.  As such we cannot provide the relief *** ****** is specifically requesting at this time.

Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

UFCU claims to have called and emailed me numerous times,  however,  fact is that UFCU has only called me once throughout the life of this loan.   Call was made in November 2015  to inform me that I had accrued late fees.  UFCU states that by law I am entitled to obtain loan information, with the exception of having on line access to the loan I have had and have full access to all information relating to the loan I’m jointly responsible for, yet UFCU has refused at all times, every single time I called UFCU, to provide me with account information.   UFCU has told me time and time again that no information could be released to me since I was not the primary account holder.  I was able to obtain loan balance information only when I provided UFCU with a copy of the final decree of divorce. 

I just learned by UFCU’s response that they “cross collaterization” my rv loan for the two other “depository” loans without my knowledge and like UFCU states “I am not signed on”.  UFCU never provided me with “privacy issues/laws” nor “other specific information relating to the loan I was jointly responsible for”.  Why did UFCU never inform me about this HUGE detail years ago?  Had that HUGE detail been disclosed to me I would have, at that time, handled this loan differently.

UFCU also states that a final decree does not override or change a legally binding contract or agreement.  I at no time was trying to change the loan granted to me during divorce.  As a matter of fact, I was only wanting to obtain information so that I could know status of my loan.  I’m sure records show that I made every single payment and then some last minute “late charges accrued”.

Lastly, UFCU, NEVER EVER tried to direct me to the primary account holder to obtain loan specifics regarding “her account”.  I have never been interested on the primary account holders loans, just my loan, which I was signed on and I PAID IN FULL.  UFCU’s loan agreement with the primary account holder has never been my concern.  I have never dealt with any entity where they publish a letter full of lies. I hope that UFCU truly understands my “frustration” since I fulfilled my obligation to the loan that I was signed on and agreed to.



Regards,

**** ******

12/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UFCU contacted me on 11/4/2015 stating that I owe them money from an account that was closed 10 years ago. At that time I did owe UFCU on a loan (few hundred dollars) which was sent to collections. It was a law firm that collected the money and I paid the money that was due in full. My account was also closed. After that, I did open an account with UFCU again a few years later with no issues. Fast forward to today (11/4/2015) - I was contacted by the collections department at UFCU stating that - I owe them money and that the law firm that collected my money back 10 years ago only collected the principle that was due and not the interest. UFCU representative stated the interest was not paid and that I am responsible to pay the interest on that loan from 10 years ago that was accrued till now (2015) which was 450 something dollars?. Really UFCU? When I asked the collection person how come they are contacting me with this matter years later. They just said we just found out about it now and we would like you to make the payment or else they will have to close my accounts. I asked them to send me a letter with the facts and they said they wouldn't. This is one of the most unprofessional thing I have encountered. UFCU is asking me to pay for their mistake that was not caught and I was under the assumption that I paid everything in full 10 years ago and was in good standing.

Desired Settlement: I want to be a member at UFCU and would like to continue my current account there. I want UFCU to cancel the collection charges against me which happened 10 years ago. UFCU is asking me to pay for their mistakes which was over looked by them. When i paid the collection agency (law firm) back 10 years ago, I was told i was in good standing. This practice is unacceptable and not fair.

Business Response: University Federal Credit Union is a cooperative, not- for- profit member owned financial organization.  As such we do not have customers we have members.  Members are expected to participate in a positive way for the financial wellbeing of all members.  Part of those expectations is for members to handle their accounts in a positive way and not place the financial burden of a loss on the membership at large.  As a result, the Board approved a policy that in part reads:

 “While the Credit Union makes every possible effort to work with our membership, if a member shows the intent or causes the Credit Union to incur a loss for any reason that member is no longer eligible for our services.  This includes but is not limited to future loans, checking account, debit/ATM card, wire transfers and money orders.” 

All members are treated equally.  UFCU is NOT attempting to collect any debt from Mr. Philp.  We are also following all pertinent laws as they may pertain to credit reporting and Mr. ******’ account. 

This is a choice for Mr. ****** to make as to whether he wishes to be a full service member or not.  If he cannot or does not wish to repay any loss that was incurred by the Credit Union that is his decision to make.  However, if he chooses not to repay the loss, he will not have access to any of the Credit Union’s services.  This is what we attempted to explain to him during our last contact with him.  Regardless of his decision, UFCU is NOT and will NOT pursue any collection action against him.

If Mr. ****** wishes to have an accounting for any funds owed, he is welcome to contact me directly and request such.  We will be glad to offer that to him.  However, it should be pointed out that an accounting for any funds owed has already been provided to him via account statements, loan documents and notices sent from third parties at the time any loss was incurred.  As a result there may be a nominal fee(s) associated with providing copies of these same statements and documents as well as for performing any necessary research.

Kevin Hute
UFCU
********** ******* ***** ******** ********* **************

11/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011 I purchased a vehicle for my ex-husband through UFCU- in our divorce, he was awarded the vehicle and not required to refinance as I had requested, but was ordered to hold me harmless. I made every payment on time, was never late once. In 2014 I was notified that my ex-husband had left the vehicle somewhere out of state and it was towed, and later sold without notifying me or UFCU (the lien holder). The vehicle was sold over a year prior to my finding out, and I had paid loan payments and full coverage insurance the entire time. I eventually defaulted on the loan, and began trying to settle with UFCU on this matter. I personally paid them $4,000, the amount they requested; the same day they requested it. Because I had defaulted, they had contracted an attorney to collect the payment. Before I paid their attorney, I called the collection department and spoke to an employee about the process and what to expect. I was told that once I paid the balance, my receipt would show UFCU, since they still owned the debt. So I talked with their attorney, paid them and got a receipt that did not show UFCU on it. In the process of closing a loan for my home, I needed proof that this was paid quickly, and I expressed that to every person I talked to. Once I got the receipt with the lawyer’s info on it, I talked to the attorney’s office who said they would write a letter/email to UFCU notifying them that I made my payment in full, and that the account was settled. They suggested I call UFCU and ask them for assistance in providing proof that this was settled after they sent over verification. I did exactly that and I was told I would not receive a letter no matter what, but that they would give a verbal if I filled out paperwork and signed it. So I did that same day, emailed it and got confirmation that it was received and uploaded to my file. I was charged $175 for a rapid-rescore with the credit bureaus after being told that they would give the verbal. The credit bureaus called, and UFCU told them that the debt was not settled. I called UFCU once I was notified (this is now 15 days after the payment had cleared my bank account) and was talked down to and told “they will not be doing me any special favors, regardless of what I am trying to do to speed up this process. It takes 45 days and I need to just wait.” The situation was incredibly unprofessional and a complete different story than when I was trying to pay them. I spent 30 minutes on the phone being told that they would not confirm that I paid since they didn’t have money in their hands, though it was in THEIR attorney’s hands, and the attorney had personally verified this with them. The situation was then escalated to a manager, who still refused to do anything but give a verbal to my mortgage company—it is not the mortgage company that needs the verbal. The credit bureau’s need the verbal verification. Today, it has been 22 days since I paid, 17 days since the money cleared my account, and I am experiencing great hardship because of their refusal to provide proof that this was settled.

Desired Settlement: I would like a letter on UFCU letterhead to be submitted to me immediately and promise of a verbal to be given when the credit bureau's call. This has gone on far too long, and there is no reason they can honestly say that it has not been settled as of today. Their attorney has had my funds since 10/5 cleared and all.

Business Response:

In response to Ms. ****** complaint, a thorough investigation was performed which included listening to all relevant phone calls and reviewing any information that may have been presented to Ms. ***** by UFCU or the third party collection agency involved with this transaction.  Following are our findings:

Ms. ***** was properly informed and instructed at all points during this entire transaction as to how the process would work and does work.  At no time did any employee of UFCU mislead or present confusing information to her in reference to the process surrounding settling her account with us.  While discussions about UFCU producing a letter for her on UFCU letterhead did happen on several occasions, at no time did any UFCU employee offer to provide this type of letter.  We did agree to speak directly with whatever businesses she gave us permission to speak to.  We also agreed to verify the settlement directly with any of those businesses.  Our records reflect we have never received a phone call or inquiry from any businesses regarding her account(s).  A physical receipt from UFCU cannot be produced until the funds are physically received by UFCU and physically posted to her account.  Once the funds are received a receipt will be produced.

UFCU employees did not at any time during phone calls act or treat Ms. ***** unprofessional or “talk down” to her.   Each call that was reviewed clearly reflects the efforts that each employee took in an attempt to provide answers and assist her in a respectful and professional manner.

To be clear UFCU does not employ or offer any type of “Rapid Rescoring” nor did we charge any amount for this type of service.  This is a comment about and a service Ms. ***** received from another business.  UFCU does not charge members for properly reporting or updating credit reporting information.

Ms. ***** did in fact receive evidence of her payment and evidence of the settlement via a letter provided to her by the third party collection agency.  This correspondence is dated October 9th and Ms. ***** indicated that she received it on or before October 13th during a conversation with one of our employees.   The correspondence clearly states that the third party agency was working on behalf of UFCU and that the accounts with UFCU have been settled as agreed.  This letter does and should serve as official notification that the funds were in fact received and that the accounts have been settled.  If requested we would be glad to submit the letter itself for review.

In addition, I, ***** ****, Collections Manager, spoke directly with Ms. ***** on October 28th.  I felt we came to a satisfactory agreement to resolve any issues in regard to her account or this complaint.  If I misunderstood this, Ms. ***** is welcome to contact me directly and I will be glad to attempt to assist her.

 In addition, as of October 26, 2015, UFCU has submitted an update to all three credit bureaus through eoscar for the specific purpose of updating these trade lines. 

9/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My sister has a foster child that I helped bail out of jail then for a week while things cooled down the foster person came to live with me to watch my son because I was hospitalized with Pneumonia, Bronchitis and later asthma. So that my UFCU car note would not be late I asked this foster if she could go to my capital one account and take $800 and move it to my UFCU account to pay my car note. What I didnt know was this person used my card to make purchased. UFCU called me to ask if the charges were mine and I immediately cancelled the card and begin to dispute. I am filling with BBB because after I filled the dispute I was told since this person is family we could not dispute. This person is not legally family but a foster of my sisters. I asked her to complete a one time transaction so that my car note wouldnt be late while I was ill. UFCU has declined sending the dispute to VISA stating she is family and she is not.

Desired Settlement: Please submit the dispute to VISA

Business Response: The cardholder’s request to send her dispute to VISA was not completed.  The cardholder gave her card and PIN to another individual, which violates VISA Rules.  UFCU has no liability to refund transactions conducted by the individual who was given the card and PIN. However, the cardholder was contacted by a UFCU executive.  There was discussion about the event surrounding use of the card, and disclosure of a PIN.    It also  became clear the cardholder had additional liabilities incurred by the third party and not related to UFCU. UFCU chose to refund approximately one half of the losses as a gesture of kindness.  At the time of the telephone call, the cardholder was satisfied with the refund.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:


Complaint was create BEFORE speaking with the best the second time. I appreciate the gesture courtesy credit
I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *********

8/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I had an account open with UFCU(ACCOUNT #*********) for 3 yrs they refinanced our vehicles it was a 2010 ********* ****** and a 2011 ******* *** at that time we opted to purchase the GAP coverage for both cars .Well recently my husband and I bought two new vehicles, Since UFCU would only finance one and not the other we decided to go ahead and close the account, at the time of closing the account I was at the Branch in ************ off of **** the young woman that helped me was really RUDE, when I asked her about my GAP coverage she said we would not get that money back. She had know other urge to help didnt ask why I was closing my account was just like and have a great day.. My main issues is GAP coverage , I need to know why I didnt get that money back on both my cars, If its owed back to me well give me my money..

Desired Settlement: The Refund both GAP from both cars!!!

Business Response: Our Consumer Lending Manager contacted the member on 08/19/15, acknowledged receipt of her complaint and thanked her for taking time to provide feedback. The Consumer Lending Manager assured the member that her concerns regarding the branch experience had been shared with the respective Branch Manager and explained the voluntary GAP waiver.  While investigating the complaint, we determined the member had elected the voluntary GAP waiver on several different auto loans from November of 2012 to December of 2013.  While the GAP waiver is not insurance, we explained it works similarly to insurance in that it provides a level of coverage against loss and is non-refundable after 60 days.  The member indicated she was not satisfied with the explanation so the Consumer Lending Manager provided a copy of her signed GAP waiver addendum via email. 

The member’s desired settlement requests that we refund the premium for two GAP waivers; however, the member had coverage on her vehicles and was protected against loss from December 5th, 2013, to July 24th, 2015,
on one loan and from December 7th, 2013, to July 8th, 2015, on the second vehicle.  Based on the signed disclosures provided to the member, the GAP waiver is voluntary and premiums are non-refundable after 60 days.       

We trust the member accepts this response and is willing to close her complaint.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Even though I received a call from ****** ******* from UFCU, I feel that Gap should be explained a little better in the beginning of conducting business . I am still not satisfied and I did let her know my other concerns.. 
Regards,

***** *******

6/17/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've contacted University Federal Credit Union multiple times since 2011 (via certified mail and phone) regarding two accounts on my credit report. One account is a credit card with a balance of $197 that was "closed" March 2008 but is being reported to the credit bureaus as OPEN. The second account is a repossessed car that was repossessed August 2009. Since 2011 I have contacted UFCU multiple times to settle the accounts, but they haven't provided me any of the paperwork, balance or anything to settle either of the accounts even after stating they would over the phone. They have NEVER responded to any of my letters requesting copies of the paperwork regarding the accounts. I have literally never received a response from them, despite my attempts to fix these accounts, and still no response! The worst part is that since these accounts are reflected as "open" on my credit, I continue to get a poor credit rating from these two accounts. Add salt to the wound, they placed a comment of "Creditor cannot locate individual" on my accounts in my credit report! This is ridiculous!!! I have proof of certified mail of all the times I've contacted them to remedy this situation, and STILL no response. I'm tired of their poor practice and want this issued remedied as it has adversely impacted my life financially.

Desired Settlement: Please update the accounts to closed, remove the comment that you cannot contact me because that is an utter lie, and contact me so that we can resolve these accounts.

Business Response: Our Manager of Collections, ***** ****, has reviewed Ms. ******’s account and her credit report and has found no inaccuracies in what is being reported.  If Ms. ****** would like to provide Mr. **** with a copy of whatever documentation it is she is referring to he will be glad to review it. We show no record of having any direct contact with or from Ms. ****** since July 2011.  Contrary to Ms. ******’s comments in the complaint and in her desired settlement, until this complaint was received we had no valid way of contacting her.  ***** **** will be contacting Ms. ****** and will work directly with her in an attempt to resolve any issues she may have.  However, we are obligated to report true and accurate information to credit bureaus.  As a result, I cannot guarantee that all of the issues she states can or will be resolved to her satisfaction.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I appreciate their response after 5 years of attempting to contact them with no response from UFCU until I filed a BBB complaint. I don't feel that it's acceptable that a business continues to lie about their customer. To state that they had no contact from me, yet UFCU acknowledged they received my letters and phone calls from me is the exact reason they deserve a poor rating. I have yet to receive any response from UFCU even after their response last week. I am tired of their lies, poor practice, and continued failure at customer service. They have continued to send incorrect data to the credit bureaus. I have been more than patient in attempting to resolve these matters over these years, I want these matters resolved ASAP.

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: UFCU has stated that I missed a payment for my car loan and when I asked for an explanation as I had proof that I made the payment, they transferred me to ******* ***** in Collections. Ms. ***** did not answer and the call went to voicemail. I left a message requesting that she tell me why UFCU said I missed a payment, why is there a late charge. that I do have proof that it was paid, and asked why I was now having problems depositing money into the accounts that needed payment. Ms. ***** never returned my call. I called a week later after getting her extension from a UFCU operator - ************ ext ***** and Ms. *****'s voicemail was all I got. I left another message, but still received no call back and still was having trouble depositing money into the accounts that needed payment. Today, April 18, 2015, the bank teller said that she could not deposit any money into the account because the department she needed to contact was closed. She gave me my deposit slip back with ******* *****'s number and ext *****. I need to be able to pay my bills and ******* ***** is not being very communicative nor does it seem she is even trying to help me pay my bills.

Desired Settlement: 1. I would like the information of when I missed the payment and be given the opportunity to prove otherwise. 2. I would like ******* ***** to return my calls when asked. 3. I would like Ms. ***** and UFCU to let me deposit my money so that my bills get paid and the late fees stop getting charged because of the bank tellers telling me that they cannot deposit my money due to Ms. ***** not being in the office.

Business Response: The Credit Union apologizes for any miscommunication or lack of communication that have may occurred.  We have talked directly with Ms. ********** and have resolved her concerns. 

3/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a credit card from UFCU in 2012 that I had never used. UFCU allowed charges on the unused account that were clearly fraud. Those fraudulent charges wiped out my account. They did not notify me until after they applied several additional charges to my account for fees. I went to the office in January 2013, and I turned in my unused card and told them to clear up their errors. The employees told me they would remove all fraudulent charges and the fees wrongly applied. I reported the fraud to the Austin Police and Travis County Sheriff. Last year, 2014, I again noticed there appeared to be errors remaining from the fraud incident, and I called UFCU. I was again assured the errors would be corrected. Early this year, I again was checking my account because I received an inactivity fee notice. I was not using the UFCU account because I do not trust them, but I kept it open in the event I needed to transfer money to my daughter's account at UFCU. They have again applied fees not authorized on February 5, 2015.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem permanently so this error does not occur again. Remove all the fees. Written apology from entity director for not fixing their error the first three times I complained.

Business Response:

A Senior Manager contacted the consumer personally.  All fees have been refunded to the consumer. The consumer has asked that a written explanation be emailed to him.  The Senior Manager is emailing an explanation, per the consumer's request.
We believe this should satisfy the consumer's complaint issues and consider the matter closed.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

**** ******

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The use of my UFCU debit/credit card was declined on Feb. 7 at ****'s in Houston for a transaction of 873.90, even though **** ******, who works in card member services at UFCU, assured me in November me that both my credit and debit limits were well above that--$1005 for debit transactions and $5000 for credit transactions. I was never informed by UFCU that these limits had changed for any reason. When I called customer service to sort out the discrepancy and the problem, I was told that no one could help me because the relevant office had closed. I would have been unable to make my purchase--which was time-sensitive--if the ****'s sales agent had not thought of splitting the transaction into two. But this should not have been necessary. UFCU has declined to tell me in advance what kinds of transactions would trigger fraud prevention blocks on my account, in addition to the limits Ms. ****** described. Apparently there was someone available in the area of fraud prevention services I could have spoken with, because I received a phone call on the morning of Feb. 8 asking questions about my transactions. Did those limits change when I was issued the card with a number ending in 5815? If so, I believe I should have been informed. If not, it appears that I will need to screen merchants before I use them, and that there are some items and services I simply will not be able to buy even though I have the money for them. This is not acceptable. UTFCU needs to have staff available 24 hours a day to help with these transactions. My bank's verification of my identity might have helped me today. Can you please help me understand the problem? Is it going to be necessary for me to ask every merchant what its credit and debit limits are if I do not want to risk the embarrassment and inconvenience of a decline? Please let me know how I can avoid this problem in the future.

Desired Settlement: I would like very detailed information, in writing, about what ALL the limits on my account are, INCLUDING INFORMATION ABOUT WHAT WOULD TRIGGER A FRAUD PREVENTION BLOCK SO THAT I CAN AVOID PUTTING SUCH TRIGGERS IN PLAC.E. I would like to have staff available 24 hours WHO COULD HELP ME OVER THE PHONE, WHILE I AM WORKING WITH A MERCHANT, TO VERIFY MY IDENTITY IN THE MOMENT SO THAT I CAN AVOID A DECLINE OF A TRANSACTION THAT I MUST MAKE OUTSIDE UFCU'S NORMAL BUSINESS HOURS.

Business Response:

One of our Card Services Fraud Mitigation Specialists tried to contact Ms. ******* by phone on 02/10/15 and left a voicemail message.  She also sent the following email to the member. 
We hope this will satisfy the desired settlement requested by Ms. *******.

From: **** ********
Sent: Tuesday, February 10, 2015 3:12 PM
To: '***************@gmail.com'
Subject: Macy's Debit Card Declines

 

Hi Ms ******* –

 

I am following up with regard to a voicemail I left you earlier today.  My apologies that you experienced a negative experience with your debit card.  Please be assured, both of your declines at Macy’s for 499.00 and 873.90 respectively were not declined due to any limit to your daily access different than what you and Ms **** ****** had already discussed. 

 

The two Macy’s charges were declined because they were (incorrectly in this case) a very high red flag indicator for fraud – the geographic location of Houston combined with the merchant of Macy’s and the high dollar amount is unfortunately exactly what UFCU has been experiencing in large dollar losses that has resulted in a notable negative affect to our membership as a co-operative.  The good news is, we can easily exclude your card from any rule you would like so said rule will not cause any further declines.  This is exactly what I have done.

 

I’d like to welcome you to personally contact myself with any questions you may have.  Although we are not available 24 hours, should this ever occur again, you will be able to use your PIN successfully; I see that is exactly what you did in order to get these charges approved.

 

Thank you for your membership Ms ******* – we appreciate you very much!

 

12/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A lower credit limit has been placed on the new debit and credit card I received from University Federal Credit Union to replace the old card that had been compromised by the Home Depot security breach. I would like the credit limit restored to what it was before the breach happened, since I have a new card that has not been compromised. I would also like to be certain that the Credit Union will inform me, in advance, whenever my credit limit changes in any way. I am not certain that the organization did so, in this case.

Desired Settlement: Please see the complaint above.

Business Response: The manager of our ATM/Debit Card Department has been in contact with the consumer and everything has been resolved to her liking. This complaint was resolved on 11/24/15, which is the date we received this complaint from BBB.  Thank you.

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I've lost my job. I've called ***, UFCU Loan Account officer, and repeatedly told him that I've lost my job and that I simply need a "Skip a Payment" honored for me to catch up on my bills and continue paying UFCU on my car loan, starting a month later. I've been denied by *** and UFCU. I truly understand that I've asked for a Skip a Payment last December. But it has been over 10 months, and less than 6 weeks, to make a year. In which another Skip a Payment is allowed. But I've lost my job Now and need the Skip a Payment option honored Now. I have just started working again and I have ALL intentions of continuing my UFCU car payments by October 30, 2014. PLEASE ASSIST. ******* ** ****** UFCU member #********* ***** ********

Desired Settlement: I've Lost my job and the only way to "catch up" on my bills would be for University Federal Credit Union to allow me another Skip a Payment. T-Mobile and Progressive car insurance companies have assisted me. Why can't the University Federal Credit Union do the same?

Business Response: According to our Collections Officer, Mr. ****** did receive a Skip-a-Pay in December 2013 and has since made 8 loan payments.  Mr. ****** was informed in detail that he will not be eligible for another Skip-a-Pay until 12 loan payments have been made since his last request.  He also asked for a Skip-a-Pay in July 2014 and we agreed to change the loan due date to the end of the month, per Mr. ******'s request.  We feel that we have attempted to help Mr. ****** as much as possible.  While we may not be able to offer the specific assistance Mr.  ****** is currently requesting, if he contacts the Collection Department, they will be glad to work with him to the best of their ability.

10/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: University Federal Credit Union sent me an email in early September indicating that it was re-issuing credit and debit cards to customers, including myself, who had used the card at Home Depot during a period in which the security of card numbers was compromised at Home Depot. This act was very commendable. I was informed by phone and through electronic communications that the cards would be mailed by Sep. 17 and should arrive by Sep. 25. My current card is scheduled to be deactivated by University Federal Credit Union on Sep. 30, so I would need to activate my new card by then in order to have continuous access to my account. However, the new card has not arrived by mail, in spite of the fact that University Federal Credit Union has my correct mailing address on file. In addition, I have not received a letter through the mail explaining the card replacement process--which University Federal Credit Union assures me was sent--so communication by paper mail between the Credit Union and myself does not appear to be working right now.

Desired Settlement: I ask that 1. The card that is on its way to me, via mail, be deactivated immediately, since it may have somehow gone to the wrong address, and 2) that my current card's deactivation date be extended by at least 14 days, to Oct. 14, to allow time for a new card to mailed to me and for me to activate it, and 3) that the new card be sent to me via certified mail, which would require me to sign upon receipt and acknowledge to the credit union that I have received the card.

Business Response:  Ms.  *******,

      The Debit Card in question was mailed on Sept 19  to the address on file which is **** ******* ** *** **  Houston, Tx **********.  We would be happy to FedEx a new card to this address and provide you with the tracking number if necessary.  Please give us a call and let us know how to proceed.

**** ******
ATM/Debit Card Manager
University Federal Credit Union
**************

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I cannot accept FedEx delivery because I work during the day and would not want the envelope left outside my door when I am not at home.  I am not in a position to take time to contact FedEx to arrange for the envelope to be held for me for pickup. If UTFCU can arrange this on my behalf, then this plan is acceptable--but only in the event that my current card can remain active through Oct. 14. I simply cannot guarantee that I can go to a FedEx location before Oct. 6, which I am told is the current cutoff date. That is the best I am able to do.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: The consumer has been in contact with our ATM Debit Card Manager via email and telephone.  We are in receipt of an email from the consumer indicating that she did receive the original debit card in question on October 1, 2014.  The last correspondence between the consumer and the Deabit Card Manager was on October 2, 2014 and according to the email, everything has been resolved.  Unless the consumer has other questions, we will consider this complaint to be closed.

8/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5/31/2013, I bought a 2012 grey ***** ***** at ***** ***** ***** after obtaining a car loan from University Federal Credit Union in ******, *****. The above account number is partial as I do not have any written documentation of this account and the number that I did provide came from my credit file. I would like for you to look into this further for me as I have contacted UFCU several times to no avail. Unfortunately, after obtaining the financing University Federal Credit Union seized vehicle due to loan acceleration, pre-empting a default was made on the loan. I was improperly notified that the vehicle was ever in question or needed to be returned to UFCU. I was only made aware via phone after my funds and accounts were frozen. I contacted customer service and was told verbally that my funds were held and although I was not notified prior, as collateral for the vehicle they wanted to retrieve the funds would be applied to the selling of the vehicle. I asked for further information and was told that I “”fell through the cracks” and should not have obtained the loan originally. Citing the reasons: • My husband co-signed for the vehicle and he himself had a repossession less than a month prior to co-signing for this vehicle thus leaving an outstanding debt. (Which as another course of action from UFCU invalidated an agreement that entered into to repay his sole repossession) • I, the original applicant, am not a licensed driver. I did not provide an erroneous identification however the loan officer told me in order to receive financing I would need to get a co-applicant with a drivers license, thus insert my husband. Because of the reasons listed above UFCU recognized they did issue the loan but decided that they no longer wanted to finance it and wanted the vehicle back to sell it, thus ending the agreement. I was devastated, because it was never disclosed clearly that my husband being a co-signer on the vehicle would have any adverse reactions as we were approved. UFCU misrepresented the contract/terms and automatically accelerated the loan without allowing me to cure the loan in an adequate time frame. I also never received the funds that were frozen on my account as to my understanding they were applied to this erroneous loan, which is an improper use of cross-collaterization. There can be no default if the underlying obligation is extinguished by UFCU. The contract is voided under the laws of ***** due to the requirements to secure the loan initially was not met due to interpreted illegal consultation from the UFCU loan officer. Per the law before a lender can repossess a car I must have defaulted on a loan. I never failed to make a monthly installment payment due to the vehicle being retrieved voluntarily (I contacted the tow service myself and released it, although UFCU is improperly reporting on my credit report that it is an “involuntary repossession”.

Desired Settlement: To resolve this problem, I would appreciate a wiping of my credit report with all three bureaus of reporting an involuntary repossession immediately.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

This matter has been resolved with a resolution that is acceptable to me. I no longer wish to pursue any further contact regarding this complaint.

Regards,

**** *******

5/28/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I joined UCFU on the 26th of November, 2012 , a day after I came into thos country to start a new job at UTMB and applied for a credit card. I didn't have a social security number at that time.. I was told to updte my bank with that information when it became available. This I did by January 2013. Unknown to me, my credit card information was not linked to my SSN and I have no credit history. I have been unable to get a mobile phone contract, car loan, store rewards cards, bill me later account.... Just to mention a few. I noticced this error in Feburary 2014 and brought it to the notice of the bank. I have been told on two occasions that it has been corrected but that is not true. I have made countless visits and phone calls to the bank but still nothing has been done. This problem has not only consumed my time but has prevented me from getting several servucws and has ultimately made here in the US difficult for me I will appreciate it if this pronlem is solved.

Desired Settlement: I need my credit history to be corrected. I want the good credit history that I have earned. The reporting companies should be updated with my credit information from January 2013

Business Response:

According to our records, we updated the member's credit history back in February, 2014.  Her credit card information was sent to all three credit bureaus (Experian, Equifax and TransUnion); however, it appears that only Experian followed through with the update.  We have sent another update to the other two credit bureaus today, 05/14/14, which should rectify the problem.  Once we report the credit information to a credit bureau, it could take up to 60 days for the member’s history to update and show up on a credit report.   We apologize for the delay in the member's credit history being updated.  If there is anything else we can do, we hope the member will not hesitate to contact us personally to get the problem resolved as quickly as possible. 
Thank you.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a Motorcycle with UFCU and I was verbally told that my loan was considered a recreational vehicle and that I just needed to have Liability Insurance on it. The recreational loan pitch made me believe this. It came to be that I in fact DO need full coverage and that made my insurance go from $40 to $169. I was also told that UFCU would not even check to see if I had insurance. The insurance was a major deciding factor in the purchase of this sports bike because I had gotten quotes and I knew they were high for sport bikes. Had I known this, I may not have gotten the bike or I would have got a cruiser that is not considered a performance bike. When I spoke with someone from UFCU in the insurance department they told me it didn't matter because it was in the paperwork that I signed electronically. If that is the case I guess you can not trust what the employees say because they are only interested in making a sale and closing the loan. They knew that I was at the end of my days to buy the bike or lose the $250 deposit. They used that knowledge and verbally incorrect information to get me to sign and return the documents. I am a current homeowner who has bought and owned vehicles and knew about paying full coverage for vehicles that have a lein holder. Like I said the "recreational loan" got me and I think they need to spend money to get their employees trained better. I do have the email of the person that was sending me the electronic documents and who I asked about the insurance coverage requirements. My wife is my witness as she is on the loan also and we both wanted to make sure the bike was insured properly and she was there with me throughout the process.

Desired Settlement: I am not sure what can be done because if I had received accurate information I might not have gotten the bike and this would not have happened. They are in the business of making money and I don't think they will take the bike back and cancel the loan with no negative financial repercussions. If that can not happen then I need to be honored from what was said verbally and only pay for liability insurance.

Business Response:

Response to BBB Complaint #*******, received 02/05/2014

 

 

Our Consumer Lending Manager contacted the member on 02/12/14, acknowledged receipt of his complaint and thanked him for taking time to provide feedback. The Consumer Lending Manager explained that our regular procedure includes verbally reviewing the Loan Closing Summary document with the borrower prior to obtaining their signature and closing/funding any loan. The Loan Closing Summary clearly details the requirement for comprehensive and collision insurance prior to closing the loan.  If necessary, we can provide a copy of the signed Loan Closing Summary.

The member stated he was given bad information and suggested that we spend more time training our staff.  The Consumer Lending Manager thanked him for his feedback and assured him that she would share his concerns accordingly.

 

The member’s desired settlement requests that we waive full coverage insurance and only require him to carry liability insurance on this loan. We feel that we provided sufficient notification of our insurance requirements prior to closing/funding this loan. Since the motorcycle that was financed is the collateral for the loan, we are not willing to waive the necessity for the member to carry full coverage (comprehensive and collision) insurance.

 

We trust the member accepts these terms and is willing to close his complaint.
Thank you.

2/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i went into bank on 7/9 to closed old account and open a new one since apt claimed my rent check was lost ..i did not want to pay a stop check fee so i closed account .. on 8/12 i get a notice from my apt that they found 7/3 check and ran it for 8/3 rent and i came back unpaid so i was charged 30 dollars by bank and 50 by apt....back refunded the 30 dollars but i need them to pay the 50 my apt is charging since the account was never closed like it was suppose to have been by agent **** from pflugerville tx location

Desired Settlement: i need 50 dollars to pay return check fee charged by apartment since the account was not closed on 8/9 as agreed by sales rep ****

Business Response: I have forwarded a copy of this complaint to the Branch Manager at our Pflugerville Branch.  The employee who assisted Ms. ******** has contacted her, asking for proof of the $50 returned check fee charged by her apartment.  Once we have documentation of this charge, Ms. ******** will be given credit for the disputed amount of $50.
Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and the apartment called me back and apologized and did not charged the me the insufficient 50 fee .. so thanks for your willingness to resolve.
******* ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on University Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart