Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

Southwest 66 Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (432) 363-6600 Fax: (432) 367-0611 View Additional Phone Numbers 4041 E 52nd St, Odessa, TX 79762 http://www.southwest66.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Southwest 66 Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Southwest 66 Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 05, 1984 Business started: 05/01/1949 in TX Business started locally: 05/01/1949
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Sean Cahill, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sean Cahill, CEO
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1315 W University Blvd

    Odessa, TX 79764 (432) 368-4239

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    4041 E 52nd St

    Odessa, TX 79762 (432) 363-6600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 12010

    Odessa, TX 79768

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to make a deposit into my account consisting of both cash and checks. They required my ID to complete the transaction (I did NOT ask for cash back), I refused to provide my ID and my deposit was refused. I promptly went inside to close the account (stood in line for 20 minutes...with only 2 people ahead of me) I explained what happened. She said "so, you want to close the account?" My response, "yes!" She promptly did so and NEVER once asked for my ID! Really? I just left with my $740 deposit and my $4,700 + balance all without showing my ID one time! My call to management has yet to be returned!

Desired Settlement: I want an explanation! Why was the ID required to make a deposit and. NOT required to withdrawal the entire balance?

Business Response: It is our Company Policy to ask for ID in the drive and in the lobby no matter what type of transaction the member is making. This is a safety procedure not only for our members but also for our credit union. I am sorry that the teller did not ask you for your ID when closing the account she should have asked for your ID to verify your account. When coming through the drive thru the tellers always ask for an ID to verify that the person making the deposit or withdrawel is the account holder.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is unacceptable. The fact that I cannot make a deposit without a drivers license, but I can withdraw the entire balance without one is just unacceptable, especially on an account that I have held for 20+ years. I have yet to receive a phone call regarding this situation. Maybe NCUA or the Board might be of assistance!

Regards,

****** *****

Business Response: I left a message today 3/19/15 for Mrs. ****** ***** to contact me regarding the complaint she had regarding closing her account and the teller not asking for her ID. PLease contact me at 432-*********

Thank You,
**** *****
******** ** ***** *********
(432)********

12/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a loan over 5 weeks ago. Still no response. I have spoken to Branch manager **** who wouldn't return calls until I showed up in person. For some reason when they pull my credit report nothing shows up on their end. **** requested copies of where it shows my credit score. I sent her my credit card statement and I also went to experian a website and purchases my own report to show her. Their new and improved phone system is the worst. Every time I call I have to wait at least 15 minutes for someone to answer it's just a recorded message playing the whole time. I finally get through and ask to be transferred to her and I just get her voicemail. I gave left 4 voice messages since Friday and emailed her about 4 times. She doesn't respond. I want to speak to whoever is above her because she won't give me that information either, so that I can complain. I want other people that try to use this credit union to know how bad the customer service is their. Their Facebook page also has complaints listed.

Desired Settlement: I want**** ****** boss to call me.

Business Response:

October 29, 2014

The member called and dispute the decision to decline a loan when we explained she was not eligible for a loan at this time. We had helped her just a short time earlier with helping reestablish credit by providing her and her husband a credit card with the credit union and it was simply too early to issue a new loan. The member was not happy with this response and started coming in demanding while being very rude to speak to someone in charge. She spoke with our VP of Operations to complain. Our VP of operations explained once again why she was not eligible for a loan. We attempted to pull a newer report, even though we weren't in any way suppose to pull a new one just to see if something had changed. The more inquiries one has, the greater impact it is on the score. The member had placed a freeze on her report and we were unable to obtain a score. She demanded we use her credit report she pulled for herself. We. Explained we cannot use her Bureau but we have our own and she needed to see why her score was frozen. Nevertheless, it would not change our decision as again based on our current information and recently granting credit, she was not eligible. Even after this discussion, she came back in several days later and then wanted to see someone higher, so the EVP/COO contacted her and explained everything again and that we are here to help and in the Business of granting loans. We are working hard with her to place her in the position where we can help her. We have given her and her husband a credit card even though it was outside of our guidelines. It seems unreasonable to demand more when we have already done more than our underwriting standards will allow.

The member was accepting and understood the outcome after speaking with the EVP /COO over her concerns.

The member went online to our Facebook page, our COO EVP learned and slandered the credit union badly along with several other people she knew. To the Point we had to temporarily shut down our Facebook page.

 

Consumer Response:

My whole reason for filing the dispute for credit union was because no one was returning my calls, messages or emails prior to speaking to the VP of operations. Every time I called about the loan application I had processed they would tell me the girl that processed my application was on the other line and would call me back. She would never call back A week passed and I called again and they said she was out sick. I asked to speak to a manager and they transferred me to **** ****** voice mail.I Left a voice mail. The next day I went by credit union and asked to speak to **** because she never returned my call. The receptionist told me she was not available.  I then kindly asked the receptionist if she could give me contact information for someone above **** ***** since she wasn't even returning my call.  She asked me to hold on went to back and came back with ****.

I then went with **** to her office and explained to her what was going. on. She apologized for not returning my calls.  She said she did receive them but she hadn't been able to call me back.  She said "We keep having these stupid meetings and so I get so backed up with work"  Then she apologized for saying that and said she didn't mean to say it like that and shouldn't have said that in front of me.  I told her it was ok.  She said as soon as meeting was over she would check on status of loan and call me back.  She called me and said they  showed no history of credit on my credit file.  I advised her my credit score was around the 620s and that i had several credit accounts. She then asked me if I could provide her with a copy of my report that i had so she could show it to underwriters and that she would get back to me.  I even have an email from **** asking me to email her my report, which I will forward to you.  The problem started again when I never heard from **** again.  I sent her my report and then I let a day pass to give her time to receive it since I know she is busy. I then emailed her to see if she received it.  She never responded another day passed and since she had given me her direct line I called her no answer so left her a voicemail  another day passed and she never called me back so the next morning I called and left another voicemail.  Right before closing I went into the credit union and asked to speak to her since she still hadn't returned my call.  She was gone for the day so the loan officer that was there asked if she could help with anything I explained to her what was going on and expressed to her that I was upset becuase I still did not have an answer from ****,  this is like a whole month after I had requested the loan originally.  She told me to hold on and went to back and came back and gave me a phone number for VP of operations and told me to call her.  By this time I had already filed complaint with BBB before I went to credit union.  Their facebook page had a rating button on there and I went on there and gave them a 1 star out of 5 and commented that the credit union  was really bad about getting back to people about loans.  None of my friends went on to post anything.  I Did see a previous post that a mutual friend had posted but that was a couple of months before I did and she was having the same issue.  A lot of other people gave the credit union bad reviews for same issues as well as not answering phones but I did not know those people.  

Any how I finally spoke to the VP who finally spoke to me and gave me an answer. After I spoke to the VP  is when Erika finally called me and explained everything to me.  So it took me calling the VP to finally get someone from the credit union to call me back and get me an answer on my loan status.  That is all I wanted even if it was sorry we cant approve your loan at this time.  My complaint was not because I did not get approved for a loan.  My complaint was filed because no one would call me back.  I never spoke to anyone about the loan until after I spoke to VP so their response is inaccurate saying I came back because I was denied.  NO one ever told me I was denied Jayne only told me they couldnt see anything on my credit file.  I wish the VP would call me back to get these comments by credit union straightened out because they are inaccurate.  I an forwarding ****s email right after I send this.  

Business Response: I am sorry that the complaintant had not received a phone call back from ****. We are currently in the process of correcting our procedures so that this type of incident does not happen again. We have a VP of Operations that now makes sure all phone calls and emails are answered in a timely manner and the Centralized lending department is also calling members back in a timely manner. Again I am sorry for all that the consumer has gone through and I hope that we can resolve the issue. Please contact me with any further questions.

Thank You,
**** *****
Director of Human Resources


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Southwest 66 Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)