This business is not BBB accredited.

San Antonio Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (210) 258-1414 Fax: (210) 258-1780 View Additional Phone Numbers 6061 W Ih 10, San Antonio, TX 78201 http://www.sacu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for San Antonio Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 10
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on San Antonio Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1986 Business started: 03/07/1935 Business started locally: 03/07/1935 Business incorporated 10/06/1999 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Laura Johnston, Senior V P Ms. Jennifer Kuhlmeier, NCCO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Laura Johnston, Senior V P
Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Kuhlmeier, NCCO
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
SACU San Antonio Credit Union

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

San Antonio Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1003 Bandera Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12921 Nacogdoches Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14570 Huebner Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78221

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3006 General Hudnell Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78226

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6050 Fm 3009

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6061 W Ih 10

    San Antonio, TX 78201 (800) 234-7228

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6171 NW Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78238

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    722 Rayburn Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78221

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8047 Midcrown Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78218

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8403 Wurzbach Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8889 Bandera Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78250

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    901 NE Loop 410

    San Antonio, TX 78209

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 1356

    San Antonio, TX 78295

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/20/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 5-22-2015 i made a deposit of $1,700 into an account to pay for my car. I was already behind on my payments. According to the website and my account i owed a balance of $1,617.17. I was sent an email asking for February and March payments to stop the repo. On 5-25-2015 my car was repoed from my property in my assigned parking space in an open garage late around 10pm. On 5-27-2015 SACU accepted the $1,617.17 as per agreed. They refused to return the vehicle to me and stated that they FELT this would be an on going problem and the loan was to new to take a chance on and decided to sell the vehicle. I have called several times with no return calls. They refuse to work with me. I make my living with my car so i have not worked sonce my car has been stolen by the bank after i made an effort to catch up and bring the account current. I have pictures of the account showing the balance owed and the balance paid. I have had an attorney contact SACU and they will not return their call either. I want to make my account current and get my car back so i can work and go to school and pay my other bills. I feel as if the cheated me from my car. I gave them $1,700 and they took my car then my money and refuse to take any payments so i can get my car back. All i want is my car back. They already sold the warranties on my vehicel in the ammount of $5,432.36 all I was behind was the past due ammount of $1,617.17.

Desired Settlement: I hope SACU is will to let me catch up all payments so they may return my vehicle back to me.

Business Response:

As a financial institution, SACU is unable to share or discuss member account or loan information.  Due to the confidential nature of this compliant, SACU will correspond with our member directly. 

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A vehicle was purchased and financed through SACU. This vehicle was awarded to my former spouse during our divorce. The vehicle was repossessed by SACU. I have advised SACU I am not responsible for the vehicle and have offered to send them the final decree. SACU has provided incorrect information regarding the repossession, (delinquencies and date of repossession) to the three major credit reporting bureaus further showing an involuntary repossession which is false. There are as well late payments reported after the vehicle was repossessed and I further show and existing balance for the vehicle in which I have been deemed not financially responsible for.

Desired Settlement: I would like SACU to remove the entries and correct their reporting on my credit reports. Further I want to be contacted so the debt can be collected or pursued from the correct party.

Business Response: Dear BBB,

In response to Mr. ******’s complaint on February 11, 2015, SACU has performed a review of Mr. ******’s concerns.

As a financial institution, SACU is prohibited from sharing private information about our members without their consent.  Due to the confidential nature of this complaint, SACU is attempting to work with Mr.
****** directly and we invite him to contact our loan department toll free at 1-800-********.

Please let me know if you have questions.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is not satisfactory to me however I will accept the response as they appear at this time to be willing to work within the limits of the issue. Thanks to all parties for their prompt response and attention to this matter.

Regards,

******* ******

11/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have sent several letters to the credit union, nobody has responded to me. I finally talked to a lady named ***** *******, she told me they sent court documents to my house which I never received, they filed a lawsuit in court and I was never there. I sent her all the police reports to show her it was not me but someone else and they refuse to take it off, they answer back saying they verify it was me. They won’t provide me with the information. She claims the statute of limitations has run out. I just want to clear my name with this company.

Desired Settlement: For them to contact me and look at my paperwork and to be corrected and the lien to be removed from my name, or prove to me that I did it.

Business Response: As a financial institution, we are required to protect the nonpublic information of our members.  Due to the confidential nature of this complaint, SACU will contact Mr. ********* directly regarding his concerns.

Thank you.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: we are working thru process still not resoved

Regards,

******* *********

Business Response:

As a financial institution, SACU is required to protect the nonpublic information of our members.  Due to the confidential nature of this complaint, SACU has contacted Mr. ********* directly and are working with him regarding his concern. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *********

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a payment over the phone, the account information I use every month was used however it was returned for the 2nd time with an account not found. I call in and get transferred all over the place and no one understands the outcome needed and they try to collect my payment that is due instead of correcting last months payment.

Desired Settlement: Correctly apply last months payment and fix any credit bureau reporting if reported late.

Business Response: SACU has made multiple attempts to contact *** **** to rectify her payment issues; however, *** **** has not responded to any of the attempts.  An individual aware of *** ****’s concerns will continue to try to contact her to resolve her issue and address her online banking concerns.  We ask that *** **** contact the SACU representative via the direct line provided to her in the voice mails.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


I contacted SACU last week and resolved my payment issue, they admitted error in their part. Service us terrible obviously as you are trying to resolve an issue a week after I called again and resolved with you! And not even a waiving of the pay by phone fee for my inconvenience.

Regards,

Brandi Diaz

Business Response: As stated in our initial response, SACU has made multiple attempts attempted to contact *** **** to resolve her payment difficulties and left messages which provided a direct phone number to *** **** to reach a representative familiar with her situation to assist her in the future.  As stated in our fee disclosure, there is a fee to make a loan payment via the telephone.  Alternative payment options without a fee are available to *** **** and have been previously discussed with her.  

SACU asks that *** **** contact the representative who has been trying to get in touch with her to discuss payment options in an effort to avoid future payment difficulties.

9/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I opened a complaint with the BBB regarding a billing issue with SACU after making phone calls and being unable to have the issue resolved. Now SACU has RESTRICTED my access to my account online and I am unable to view my account without calling in. I travel for work and am unable to call in during business hours as I have mentioned to them last week when i requested my issue be resolved. Now I cant access my account online and I still have a payment issue and they are reporting me late. Horrible customer service and practices by SACU.

Desired Settlement: 1. My account needs to be fixed and my payment applied appropriately. 2. Credit reporting fixed 3. My online account access restored

Business Response: SACU has made multiple attempts to contact **. ****/ ******** to rectify her payment issues; however, **. ****/ ******** has not responded to any of the attempts.  An individual aware of **. ****’s (********'s) concerns will continue to try to contact her to resolve her issue and address her online banking concerns.  We ask that **. ****/******** contact the SACU representative via the direct line provided to her in the voice mails.

9/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a payment over the phone, the account information I use every month was used however it was returned for the 2nd time with an account not found. I call in and get transferred all over the place and no one understands the outcome needed and they try to collect my payment that is due instead of correcting last months payment.

Desired Settlement: Correctly apply last months payment and fix any credit bureau reporting if reported late.

Business Response: SACU has made multiple attempts to contact *** **** to rectify her payment issues; however, *** **** has not responded to any of the attempts.  An individual aware of *** ****’s concerns will continue to try to contact her to resolve her issue and address her online banking concerns.  We ask that *** **** contact the SACU representative via the direct line provided to her in the voice mails.

7/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid my auto loan off more than 30 days ago and I am not trying to purchase a home and they have not sent in proof it has been paid for.

Desired Settlement: I need the information to be updated

Business Response:

As indicated in his complaint, Mr. ****** has paid off his auto loan with SACU; however, it has not been 30 days since the payoff occurred.  SACU is not able to release financial information without the consent of our members; however, Mr. ****** is welcome to contact SACU directly to request a proof of payoff. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

6/30/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Vehicle 2008 Ford Expedition financed through SACU and loan matured and Now being charged 18,000 for insurance. I have called and emailed them to give me a detailed summary of why I owe this much money with no apparent result( get the run around). Single parent vehicled got reposed due to no payment apparently but, loan matured so did not understand. I am an agreement that after my review with insurance for some reason( 1 yr.) vehicle only had liability insurance but, to over charge is just simply taking advantage. SACU was offering to refinance vehicle to finish paying off vehicle then apparenlty got denied. I just want some answers. Thanks

Desired Settlement: To have my paid vehicle back.

Business Response: A letter was sent to Ms. ********* on two separate occasions requesting proof of insurance. On 8/31/2009 the collector spoke to Ms. ********* in reference to the 2 insurance policies.  She stated she was aware of the situation.
 
On 2/12/2014  Ms. ********* was in contact with the collector and was provided the following information:  loan term, number of payments made, delinquency history and insurance balance. At the time she responded that she was unaware of the situation.  In March of 2014 Ms. ********* was offered a refinance on the loan. The information and documents that were needed to process the refinance were not received.  At that time several messages were left for Ms. *********. 
 
On April 30,2014 Ms. *********  was advised that we needed proof of insurance to refund the insurance premium.  We did not receive this information.
 
The vehicle has been repossessed.  SACU is unable to release member account information without our member’s consent.  If Ms. ********* will provide a letter of release authorizing SACU to release account information, additional information can be provided.  Please let me know if additional information is necessary.
 
Thank you.
 

1/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SACU will arbitrarily change overdraft payment agreement. I have on several occasions requested, in an attempt to avoid overdraft fees, that if there are insufficient funds in my checking account, that payment not be allowed to avoid overdraft fees. In order to collect on overdraft fees SACU will figure a way to change this agreement so to assess and collect excessive fees at members expense.

Desired Settlement: Refund excessive fees.

Business Response:
Dear Mr. ***,

In response to case # 9864038 dated January 6, 2014; SACU’s Risk Advisory Services Division has performed an independent review of Mr. ************ concerns.  Mr. ********** stated in his complaint that “SACU
will arbitrarily change overdraft payment agreement… In order to collect on overdraft fees SACU will figure out a way to change this agreement so to assess and collect excessive fees at members expense.” 

SACU does not arbitrarily change the overdraft payment agreement and will notify members of any changes prior to those changes being implemented.  As required by Regulation DD- Truth in Savings: A depository institution shall give advance notice to affected consumers of any change in a term, if the change may… adversely affect the consumer. The notice shall be mailed or delivered at least 30 calendar days before
the effective date of the change.

In SACU’s account disclosures which are provided at account opening and upon request, the Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) fee is $25.00 per item.  The copy of SACU’s disclosure reflecting this fee has been attached for your review.
 
Mr. ************ account has been reviewed.   As stated in his complaint, SACU has complied with Mr. ************ request that payment not be allowed if there are insufficient funds in his account; however, this does result in a Non-Sufficient Funds fee of $25.00 for each item. 

As indicated above in SACU’s service fee disclosure, additional overdraft protection options may be available to Mr. ********** that would not impose the $25.00 per item insufficient funds fee.

Please let us know if you have additional questions or need additional information.

12/17/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: SACU charged me four $25.00 over draft charges for an unauthorized charge that tried to post to my account on four separate times, totaling $100.00. I called them and informed them that it was an unauthorized charge, and the customer service representative REFUSED to credit back the over draft fees, stating that they don't reverse fees unless it was "bank error." She stated that it wasn't her fault that someone tried to post unauthorized charges, and thus it was not bank error and that she would not reverse the fees.

Desired Settlement: I would like a little bit of customer service, and to have the $100 in fees credited back to my account!

Business Response:
**** *** ****

In response to case # ******* dated December 2, 2013; SACU’s Risk Advisory Services Division has performed an independent review of Mr. ******’ concerns.
 
As indicated in his complaint, Mr. ****** contacted SACU on December 2, 2013 regarding four overdraft fees that had been charged to his SACU account.  Upon reviewing the account history, it was noted that Mr. ****** had previously authorized the vendor to debit his account via Automated Clearing House (ACH).  Mr. ****** was told by the representative that SACU will reverse overdraft fees if a credit union error had occurred and in this case, he would need to contact the vendor to request reimbursement.

On December 4, 2013, Mr. ****** contacted SACU again regarding the overdraft fees and the reversal policy was again explained to him. Mr. ****** indicated that he had authorized the charges with the vendor; however, had requested that an alternate account be debited. As a one-time courtesy, Mr. ****** was refunded two of the overdraft fees.

Based on our independent review of the Mr. ******’ complaint, SACU has already addressed Mr. ******’ complaint and as a courtesy refunded a portion of the fees.

Please let us know if you have additional questions or need additional information.

12/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have had a loan/credit card payment with SACU since November of 2012. I have always made my payments on time. In June of 2013, I moved to Harlingen TX due my husband job moving him here. He is a Veteran. I have repeatedly checked the box on my payment slip of new address change, to which the company has still not changed. This has total 5 requests. I called the customer service number on the payment slip and get a robot computer asking for my account number which is not on my statement, and because its a loan payment, not an actual credit card, I do not have the account number just what is on my payment slip, which is a bunch of pound signs then 4 numbers at the end. I had to search the internet for the main customer service number for SACU. I called them on November 14, 2013 and notified them that I have repeatedly put an address change, my bill is still going to my old address, to which my mom has to then mail to me, costing her $15 to do each time and shes elderly on a fix income, and that because their company has not change my address its costing me late payment fees of $25 each month, which is not my fault, but the company's. I spoke with a representative ******* who stated he spoke with his manager and that I was not the only person that this has happen to. They are aware that their co-partner in Florida is not changing the addresses upon customers request. I informed him this not good practice, and poor customer service. He stated to me that the only way I could change my address was not to check the box on my payment slip indicating an address change, but mail a request to the main office in San Antonio! I am really upset, because they are aware this is happening and charging customers $25 late fees on PURPOSE! This also hurts the customers credit . They are purposely not changing addresses upon customers request and this matter needs to be investigated at once. If I do not here back from the BBB, I will go to the Trouble Shooters on Eyewitness news to make this matter public. SACU is Fraudulently charging customers late fees by not changing their customer addresses when first requested thus making customers make their payments late. When speaking to *******, SACU did not offer any resolution or offer to back pay those late fees they charge me after my 5 address change requests.

Desired Settlement: 1. When a customer puts on the slip of an address change, they need to make that change. 2. Back pay late fees due to their mistake of not changing a customers address at customers request. 3. Make the public aware that this occurring.

Business Response: In response to Ms. *****’s complaint, SACU’s Risk Advisory Services Division has performed an independent review of Ms. *****’s concerns. 

As indicated in her complaint, on Thursday November 14, 2013 Ms. ***** contacted SACU to change her address. It was explained to Ms. ***** that currently, address changes on SACU’s Small Ticket Sales Finance Loans cannot be processed over the telephone. A SACU fax number was provided for her to use to expedite her request.  When her fax was still not received by Monday morning, two follow-up calls were placed to Ms. *****.  Upon receiving her fax Monday afternoon, Ms. *****’s address was changed for her loan. Additionally, the address change was forwarded to the statement processing unit which has confirmed that her change of address has been processed.

Upon consummation of the loan, Ms. ***** received loan disclosures with her fixed monthly payment amount due on the monthly due date along with SACU’s contact information. As a courtesy, SACU has reversed the two late payment fees that were charged to Ms. *****.

Ms. ***** indicated in her complaint that SACU is knowingly aware of an issue regarding our statement processor’s failure to process address changes and is using this delay to charge late fees.  Based on our independent review, this is not the case.  SACU has contacted our statement provider to ensure that address changes submitted by our members are processed timely.   

Please let us know if you have additional questions or need additional information.

8/2/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received an auto loan from SACU and setup a transfer from my checking account at another institiution to the savings account I setup at SACU for my auto loan. Encountered 2 months worth of issues in setting this up (each bank pointed at the other) After the 1st month of this issue I made the payment by phone, the next month still no transfer and after multiple calls and getting pointed to several different parties I told them it needed to be fixed so I could make my payment. They finally got it fixed in August but it was after my due date. They claimed I would have no negative reporting on my credit however it was not changed a month later and I called and a rep told me I needed to send in documentation. I was very upset they made a promise to me and didnt inform me I needed to provide anything and demanded it be fixed immediately as it was now already reporting. I received my credit report today and I see they are still reporting me. I do want this fixed as this was a problem on SACU's end and they did state they would adjust this and didnt fulfill their obligations to their consumer. Thanks, ****** ****

Desired Settlement: Please correct my credit report for August to show this was not 30 days late as I was trying to make my payment but couldnt due to SACU's service.

Business Response:
SACU made every attempt to handle Mrs. ****’s payment issues.  Mrs. **** auto loan was funded in June 2012.  Her first payment was to begin July 30, 2012.  Mrs. **** informed SACU that she was
having issues with setting up her home banking bill payment through ** ****** *****.   It was brought to Mrs. ****’s attention that bill payments
could take up to 3-4 business days to be received by SACU.  In addition to that, an error was notated that ** ****** ***** was trying to debit the account
instead of crediting the account.   A collector for SACU informed Mrs. **** that he would try to waive a mark on her credit report. However, due to the **** **** ********** *** he was informed that the member
would have to provide documentation to SACU showing it was an error on our part before it could be removed.  In December 2012, the member was informed of
the requested information by the collector but documentation was never received and the case was closed.  Six out of ten payments received my Mrs. ****
have a thirty to fifty-nine day delinquency.   




Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: sacu was aware of the regulations when they promised to remove it from my credit. Sacu has all the documentation on file  as I told the rep they can look at their system. I have been late (>30 days) twice both due to issues on sacu system and customer service. 

***** protects the consumers, this is not an error on my part and I will continue to fight it including a lawyer for impacting my credit if necessary.

Regards,
****** 

3/11/2013 Billing/Collection Issues