BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 27 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

27 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 5
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 19
Total Closed Complaints 27

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Randolph-Brooks Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1976 Business started: 10/06/1952 Business started locally: 10/06/1952 Business incorporated: 05/04/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Lisa Mack, VP of Central Operations Theresa M Biava, AVP Central Operations
Contact Information
Principal: Lisa Mack, VP of Central Operations
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Banking Services


Additional Locations

  • 1 Randolph Brooks Pkwy

    San Antonio, TX 78233

  • 101 University Oaks

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • 10581 Potranco Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78251

  • 11432 W. Loop 1604 N And Bandera

    San Antonio, TX 78254

  • 1203 Thorpe Ln

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • 1210 Wonder World Dr

    San Marcos, TX 78666

  • 12307 Nacogdoches Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78217

  • 12415 Old Converse Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78233

  • 155 Bulverde Crossing Rd

    Bulverde, TX 78163

  • 156 US Hwy 181

    Floresville, TX 78114

  • 1600 E Court St

    Seguin, TX 78155

  • 1711 S Colorado St

    Lockhart, TX 78644

  • 1801 Sidney Baker St

    Kerrville, TX 78028

  • 1870 W State Highway 46

    New Braunfels, TX 78132

  • 201 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78221

  • 205 W Ben White Blvd

    Austin, TX 78704

  • 22015 IH 35 N

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • 2202 Semlinger Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78220

  • 3110 N Lamar Blvd

    Austin, TX 78705

  • 3181 Goliad Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78223

  • 4615 Walzem Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78218

  • 4980 Fm 3009

    Schertz, TX 78154

  • 5045 E Goforth

    Buda, TX 78610

  • 6475 Baywater Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78229

  • 701 Harmon Dr Bldg 290

    Randolph Afb, TX 78150

  • 7649 FM 78 At Walzem

    San Antonio, TX 78244

  • 8620 Burnet Rd

    Austin, TX 78757

  • 994 N Ih 35

    New Braunfels, TX 78130

  • PO Box 2097

    Universal City, TX 78148 18005803300 (512) 833-3300

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • 18005803300(Phone)
  • (512) 833-3300(Phone)
X

Additional Email Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the second time my RBFCU debit card has been fraudulently charged. Their customer service reps will spend ENDLESS time talking about policy and procedure but will NEVER do anything to protect the consumer or prevent PENDING fradulent charges. I believe by aiding companies that are known to place fraudulent charges that RBFCU is asking to be party to Class Action. I whole heartedly suggest canceling any RBFCU debit card card before you get scammed.

Desired Settlement: Refund Dedit Card Charges

Business Response: It appears the charges on the debit MasterCard are that of fees associated after a free trial. The terms and conditions for ********** (aka ***************) state that if the program is not cancelled within 14 days of the initial shipment of the trial period offer, the credit card will be charged for the shipment of the product and the charge will continue every 30 days after until the consumer cancels the order.

When speaking to our member on August 8, 2014, RBFCU informed him he would need to call the merchant and cancel the membership. He would also need to request a credit back as well. He did not agree to do this. RBFCU also offered to call the merchant on his behalf. An attempt was made to contact the merchant by RBFCU, but was unsuccessful and upon speaking with the member any future attempts by RBFCU to contact the merchant was denied by the member. When the terms and conditions to the agreement are not complied with, RBFCU does not have a charge back right.This was determined not to be a fraud case as the member willingly signed up for the membership, the terms and the conditions.

Since the BBB complaint was filled and upon further discussion with the member, the member has received a provisional credit to the account on 8/11/2014. The member has also provided documentation to show the attempts made in contacting ********** so that the dispute process could be initiated. Once the dispute process has been completed and is successful the provisional credit will become permanent on the members account.

Should our member have questions or concerns, he is urged to call RBFCU at 1-800-580-3300 and he will be assisted. We can help answer any credit card questions, issues or concerns when regarding internet subscriptions or programs.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a customer with RBFCU for sometime and decided to close my account as I was relocating to the DFW area. I closed the account prior to my departure and now after reviewing my credit report - I have a collection account for an "charged-off" RBFCU account. When I went to the branch in *** ****** to close my account - I was assured that there were no pending charges left on the account. I am frustrated because not only has the account negatively impacted my credit but I was never contacted to correct this situation. I never received a phone call, email, letter or any other communication stating there was an issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like for a letter to be issued to me saying that this matter was not my fault. I would like this letter so that I can put in my credit report file so that it can lighten the damage it has done to my credit. I would also like for RBFCU to contact the three major agencies to get this damaging untrue information off of my credit report. It is ruining my credit to have an account that I am not at fault for - in collection.

Business Response: We are needing additional information regarding this complaint. We have left a message with the account holder and are waiting for a return call.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 03/20 I had a debit go through in the amount of 130.23. My account had 130.21 in it. It also had an authorization for $2.60. This was a hold that ****** put on my account that is not going to go through. Similar to a gas station holding money on your debit card until the actual charge goes through. I got hit with a $24 courtesy fee as a result of being .02 overdrawn. I realize that technically they are correct, however I think it is bad business practice to charge someone so much money over .02. I have spoken to them before about the unethical practice of penalizing someone for a hold that is put on their account when the charge will not be going through. They don't care. That's my .02

Desired Settlement: My $24 should be refunded to my account.

Business Response: When an account is overdrawn, the system does not recognize
a specific dollar amount in which the overdraft charge is for. It only knows
there are not sufficient funds in the account when the transaction was
authorized.

Our member is correct in stating the $24 Courtesy Pay Fee
did result due to the account being overdrawn $.02. We do show record of refunding
previously charged fees and explained to the member on multiple occasions the
process in which fees can be assessed. RBFCU would only refund fees should it be
credit union error.  We will gladly
refund this last fee with the understanding any future requests will be denied
unless it is credit union error.

Should our member like to have the Courtesy Pay option
removed, she may do so by contacting the Member Service Center by phone, visiting
a branch or changing the option via NetBranch Online.




Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

3/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/**/2014 we accessed our mobile online banking around 6 pm to check our balance. At this time we had $6.80 in our account. There is a pending tab you can click on in the mobile app which lists pending transactions and future transactions to clear at a later date. One of these transactions was "******* ****** *********" for $184.95 with a pending date of 2/**/2014. On 2/**/2014 my wife’s pay check was going to go through and more than enough to cover this payment. We logged back in around 8pm to find the "******* ****** *********" payment had been sent through the account and denied on 2/**/2014 causing an "Insufficient Funds Fee". This has happened to me twice now, the first time (1/**/2014) I didn’t think to get specifics but both times the moving of the posting date was advantageous to RBFCU collecting Overdraft fees. Upon contacting customer service they showed nothing of what was being presented on RBFCU’s mobile app and giving that Ihad no proof (app will not let you take a screen shot) I was left with nothing. Lastly, I have also not seen this movement of posting dates except for when it was advantageous for the bank to collect such fees. In prior years RBFCU has had questionable OD practices, as at one point I went through two or three bankers, a bank manager and a bank accountant, none of which could explain to me how exactly I never had a “negative running balance”, never had a payment returned, yet was able to capture a number of Overdraft fees. All of which refused to refund these fees for no apparent reason. I presented an impenetrable argument that after much of my time (the point where I was losing more money in time then what I was being refunded) they finally agreed to return my Overdraft fees.

Desired Settlement: First I would like my Insufficient Funds Fee resulting from this issue refunded... they are those from 1/**/14 and the one from 2/**/14. Secondly I think they should review their practices, understand their software issues and educate their staff. I have multiple years banking experience, an MBA and am a professional accountant. I think I am qualified enough to understand RBFCU’s practices however cannot figure them out and neither can any of its staff.Had it not been for my particular experience and education in this area I wouldn’t have been able to see what they were doing was wrong, and very well would believe there weak yet convincing arguments. My concern is that they are taking advantage of others who perhaps their expertise is in another field; therefore they can’t argue these erroneous fees

Business Response:  
Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to respond to our member’s concerns.  We have reviewed the transactions on the member’s account. The confusion results from the timing of the items being presented for payment. The ******* ****** ********* request for payment was on February ****.  The member could see it was pending in the account the same day.   If ******* ****** ********* had a pay date of the **** then it would not have appeared on the account until the next day.  Direct Deposits are frequently sent several days in advance of the date the company instructs us to make the deposit and the day the funding will occur.  We can see a direct deposit pending prior to the actual posting date.  This is the sequence of events.  ******* ****** ********* requests their payment on 2/**, at that time funds are not available and a Non-Sufficient Funds fee is charged.  We have to make the decision to pay the item or return it as Non-Sufficient Funds.  We can see that a direct deposit is pending the next day, but funds have not been credited to the account.  As a courtesy to our member we elected to pay the item rather than return it.  Returning it could create hardships for the member and potential fees incurred from Liberty Mutual.  The fee is charged because the funds are not available.   By paying the item on the date of 2/** the account was taken negative until the deposit was credited the next day.  
There are some options available to avoid fees being charged if there aren’t funds available in an account
 
1.        We offer overdraft protection – either from savings or a line of credit      
2.        Structure the Liberty Mutual payment to correspond with the actual payroll date              
 
We would be happy to assist our member with setting up the overdraft protection options.  There
is no charge to transfer the money via overdraft protection.  For option #2, he would need to contact
his insurance company.  As a courtesy we have refunded the requested fees.  We appreciate the feedback and will evaluate our employee training.
 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into this branch only to be insulted and offended by having the employee, ***** *****, insist on viewing my ID, which I did not have with me, before allowing me to withdraw MY MONEY. I have several times over the amount that I was requesting, but was told that they were "not willing to lose that amount of money". The implications of her statement was beyond offensive. ***** ***** went further to say that this is requested of everyone. However, my cousin was with me, and my cousin let her know that is not the case as she is never required to show her ID when making withdrawals at that location. I have witnessed this myself as I am often with my cousin and have been with her in the drive through lane where she simply shows her bank ATM card and has no problems. I spoke with their VP, who sounded nice enough over the phone, however, the situation has only escalated. After speaking with the VP, my next visit to this branch was even worse. The Teller looked for several seconds at his computer screen prior to asking to view my ID and even stated, "yeah, I read the note and forgot to ask you for your ID". His statement not only indicated what I have said all along, which is they DO NOT ask this of everyone all of the time, and but for a note on my account, I would have received my money without showing my ID. Upon learning that I have been discriminated against and singled out with an internal note that they have placed on my account, I called the VP again to inquire what I have been marked as in their system. At the time of this writing, the VP never returned my call to respond to my inquiry. I have gone into the branch since then and I went into the branch again today. Each time I have gone in since the initial incident, the Tellers pause for several seconds to read what is on their computer screen on my account. Today the Teller asked to see my ID twice! This after watching several other union members not get asked for their ID.

Desired Settlement: First and foremost, I want any and all notes placed on my account removed. I want to be treated like all other credit union members. If they do not ask, then they do not ask for my ID. I should not have to be the only member who has a note stating to specifically ask for my ID when I have seen with my own eyes, on more than one occasion, and with more than one person, that they do not do this all of the time. They only do it with me simply because I went in once without my ID.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to address the consumers concerns, The information was forwarded to the appropriate department to review and respond to the complaint. We have tried to contact the consumer by telephone but were unable to reach her. An email has been sent to the consumer to apologize for any inconvenience and to explain that our procedures are to ask for a valid form of ID when certain types of transactions are completed. The notations on the account have been removed.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

After I sent in my initial complaint, yet another incident at this branch location occurred this past Saturday when I went in to make another withdrawal of my own money. 

Once again I had the displeasure of dealing with Teller ******.  She also requested to see my ID TWICE. She went even further and asked me to remove my driver's license from my wallet!! I informed ****** that I could give her whatever information she needed from it and proceeded to spell my name as shown on my account for her but she refused to listen and demanded to see my ID and proceeded to write down my personal and confidential information. This person went so far as to write down the expiration date of my driver's license! I have no idea what is wrong with those people. After my transaction was completed I asked to keep the paper in which she wrote down my personal and confidential information on so that I could destroy it myself. ****** refused. She asked me if I wanted a copy of it and I let her know that I most certainly did.

****** proceeded to walk to the back and when she came back with a copy of the paper, she had drawn a line through my driver's license expiration date that she had written. I am keeping that copy for my records. I'm sure she did this because she knew she had no business writing it down in the first place. Even though my driver's license is current and valid, what if it was not? What business is it of ******'s? Does she work for DPS? Even if my driver's license was expired, what is it to her? If I choose to drive on an expired driver's license, then that is between me and DPS, not me and ****** of RBFCU.

I see the lack of integrity of this location because I have not received any phone calls or attempted phone calls from these people. It is surprising in this technology driven day and age that they would say this with mobile phone capability to log every call and number. I did receive an insincere email from the VP who I spoke with over the phone early on about this when I tried to resolve it without having to resort to involving the BBB. Yet when I phoned him again and left a voice message, he did not return my call. I can't wait to hear that he never got that message.

However, he is correct in that the notes were unnecessary and never should have been placed on my account, because if they are doing their so called jobs by asking for everyone's ID, then there would be no need for a special note about checking mine to be on my account. But again, as I said from the very beginning, they do not do this. As recently as my last visit when I encountered ******, there were people in line ahead of me and I again witnessed with my own eyes other account holders not get asked to see their ID. And before they attempt to say they only do this for certain transactions, some of the people I have seen fall into the categories of transactions that would require ID according to their descriptions of the transactions that would require ID.

Since I have experienced their lack of integrity, I do not believe any changes have occurred and will easily know upon my next visit to the branch as it is so painfully obvious when I attempt to get some of my own money with the way they stop and stare for several seconds reading and then asking to view my ID again and moving slower and checking and rechecking my account and information. Let us not forget the big picture as well which is these people definitely know who I am now, simply because of the account notes, my complaint to the VP and now my complaint here. They know me without even needing to see my ID. Not only do I not accept their response, I do not accept their disingenuous apology. I am very thankful that my complaint will be posted on your site for the general public to see how they treat their customers and can send you a copy of the receipt that I received from ****** with my non required information on it that she wrote down.


Regards,

****** ********

Business Response: We apologize for any inconvenience the consumer has experienced. We will use the situations that were addressed in her correspondence as training tools for our staff.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union is claiming that I was over 30 days past due on my automobile loan payment. They have reported this derogatory information over a year ago to all three credit bureaus and it has not only negatively affected my fico scores but it has also resulted in me being denied credit. I have provided them with bank statements and have discussed this issue with them over the phone but I have not gotten a favorable response. I have disputed this with all three credit bureaus and have been unsuccessful in my attempts to remove this information.

Desired Settlement: I would like this derogatory information to be removed from my credit reports as soon as possible. I would also like an explanation from Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union as to why it took me reaching out to government organizations to get this matter resolved. If Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union is at fault then I would like them to be reprimanded with the hopes of them not doing this to future customers.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to research and respond to the consumers complaint. After reviewing the loan payment history, it was noted that the payment due on 6/**/2010 was not made until 7/**/2010. When a payment has not been made within 30 days from the due date, it is our policy to report this information to the credit bureaus.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: My payment plan on this loan is made bi-weekly.  Attached I have included proof of payments that were made to RBFCU for the month of June and July.  

Regards,

***** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: i dont know what partial payment rbfcu is referring to. my loan agreement that was previously attached stated that biweekly payments were to be made. in addition to that i provided bank statements from bank of america showing 4 payments made for june and july of 2011. rbfcu has grossly made an error.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: I have a correction to the reply that I submitted on the above referenced case on 9/**/13. The dates are as follows – The payment due on June **, 2011 was more than thirty days past due in July 2011. Part of the confusion may have been that although a partial payment was made on July **, 2011, the loan was still more than 30 days past due.  It was reported as late to the credit bureaus on August *, 2011.Sincerely,******* ** ******** ******* **********************  * ************ *****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  Again, I have attached bank statements which will contradict what you and your accounting department are reporting.  Attached you will find payments posted to my **** ** ******* account on 6/**, 6/**, 7/**, 7/**.  You claim that a payment was made on 7/**/11, however, I have proof that a payment was applied to my account on 7/**/11.  Please explain this discrepancy.  There is a 4 day gap on when the payment was posted.  It is your responsibility to post the payment the day it is received.   

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the information provided by all parties, BBB determined that the business handled the matter appropriately, and no further action was needed.

10/11/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was with RBFCU for 11 years I have had occasions where a paycheck and other charges went through at the same time and they have always put the charges through first so that they can over draw my account. I had some charges that were left in my pending which affected my "available" balance and the charge went through where a $200 cell phone payment looked like a $400 payment. If I had $400 I would have paid that to the cell phone company this has happened on multiple occasions. I thought that I had money in the account and my husband was making $1-2 transactions for lunch and they allowed the transaction and charged me an additional $20 instead of denying the charge so his $1 or $2 lunch because we were tight on money became $22 all the way up to I believe $140 1 week. I told them I wanted the courtesy pay turned off for DEBIT TRANSACTIONS I didn't want them to go through if there wasn't money in the account. I was NEVER told that my bills would be denied and that I would still be charged that fee which has caused additional problems because I was on a payment plan with CPS after my electricity was shut off and RBFCU denied it and then CPS wanted the entire past due amount and deposit compounding my problem even more.

Desired Settlement: I now have as of 9/**/13 a neg. balance of $83 I want it zeroed out and my account closed. I have had enough abuse over the 11 years and finally did what I have said many times that I was going to and moved to another bank.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the consumers complaint. Debit transactions require a preapproval that the funds are available before the transaction is completed. In between the time that the preapproval is given and the debit transaction clears the account, checks may clear or funds may be withdrawn. The transactions on the account clear in the order they are received. The only way to avoid being charged overdraft fees is to ensure there are enough funds in the account to cover the Debit transactions and any other transactions that may occur on the account.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am NOT a member of their bank but used the RBFCU ATM to withdraw $60, with a $3.00 fee (i agreeded to). RBFCU without any notice or warning charged my bank a fee for me using their ATM. That fee gets automaticly charged to the person withdrawing the money (me). There is NO NOTICE of and bank fee. I belive this is a deceptive and might be illegal. no where on the ATM does it state that a fee is charged to my bank or how much. can they charge $1,000 fee without notice and tag me with this?

Desired Settlement: Refund me my $2.00 and post a notice with the ATM $3.00 notice or stop

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to provide a response.  Any fee charged above the $3.00 that was agreed to at our ATM is being charged by the consumer’s financial institution.  If there are concerns with this fee the complaint needs to be lodged against his financial institution, a fee refund would come from them.  Our institution did not receive the proceeds from the $2.00 fee. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went online to renew my drivers license and went to the website tdps and linked me into my info when I typed my dl in,on my bank statement it shows *************** and deducted $14.71 on 8/5/13 I went into the branch off 1604 n Convers and location .they got me on the phone with card services,they said for me to handle my own business.well this is fraud on my acc and there not wanting to help me.what do I do?

Desired Settlement: $14.71

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the consumer's complaint
On August 21, 2013 the consumer contacted the Fraud section to claim fraud on the transaction from August 5, 2013  for  $14.71 from the website ****************. The consumer told the fraud specialist that he had provided his personal information and account number. He was informed that the transaction could not be considered fraud. Before the representative could tell the consumer that the transaction could be treated as a dispute, he left the office. The fraud manager attempted to contact the consumer by telephone on August 23, 2013 but was unable to leave a message. He sent an email to the email address on file to try and resolve the situation but has not gotten a reply. The fraud manager attempted to contact the consumer today, September 3, 2013, but was unable to speak with him; again there was not an option to leave a message.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/21/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: applied at nearest branch for an auto loan and we were told we needed to have an account so while opening the account was quite difficult and after the third round of rebuttals we went elsewhere and had our loan approved in 30 minutes which we could not get accomplished in over a week with RBFCU, nevertheless they took our money to open the two accounts. We did not receive correspondence but were told that our accounts did not have monthly service fees only to find out they drained both accounts and say that they are entitled since we did not keep our account active. This is robbery how can they say no monthly fees then take the money.

Desired Settlement: Reopen our accounts that took us such effort to establish and refund us the money they stole.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the consumers compliant. We have contacted the consumer and have resolved the issue in question.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
7/17/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RBFCU offers a service called e-deposit for its members. A member can scan check(s) and submit to be processed. I became a member of RBFCU June 2012 and was told at the time that I would not have e-deposit offered to me for a few months as a new member. I was approved to use e-deposit about a month after (July 2012) and I have been using the service without any incident or problems. When I tried to use service last week, it stated, “no account eligible for this service”. It is my understanding if a member’s account is negative, RBFCU will suspend service until said account is made positive or if they feel a member’s credit score is not satisfactory to be eligible for the service. My account was not negative and my credit is about the same, if not better than when RBFCU offered the service to me. When I called RBFCU, they gave vague explanation that they have the right to review a member’s credit and deem the member eligible or not eligible to the service. The representative also stated she would submit a request to have service reviewed again and RBFCU would contact me within 2 days. It has been more than 2 days and no specific explanation or contact from RBFCU about this issue has been made. Let me be very clear, I understand a credit union has the right to review whether or not a member is eligible per their policy for a specific service; whether or not I agree with the asinine way they come to a conclusion. However, when a service is denied for a member at the very least the credit union should be responsible for notifying the member and giving a specific reason why. RBFCU should also keep their word and contact the member within the time frame they stated.

Desired Settlement: I feel RBFCU should notify members of their decisions to deny service(s) to a member ahead of time and include a specific reason why as well as any action that can be taken by the member. RBFCU failed to do that in my case and continues to deny member of sufficient information. RBFCU are stewards of the members money, they have a direct obligation to notify the member of any changes to their account and/or services added or denied.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the consumers complaint. The complaint has been forwarded to the appropriate department for review and a response.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/4/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 2012 I purchased a used car that was finance through Randolph Brooks Federal Credit Union. It was also recommend that also purchase a used car warranty through ******** **** ****. The financing and warranty purchase was all completed via telephone. May 2013 I drove to *** ******* from *** *******, while in *** *******, the car started making a knocking sound when you start it. Out of concern, I took the car to the local ****** **********. on May 23. Provided the service manager my NAC warranty information. One week later the claims adjuster came and denied the claim because the car failed some type of test. If the car has been taken apart, then I can you test if for failure. The 2nd adjusted told the service manager that he (claims adjuster) could see the damage, but the piston or whatever the problem is with my car wasn't broken. I have not heard from the claims adjuster or NAC about my claim. My only source of information has been the ****** **********. I've made several attempts to contact RBFCU, talk so several people like ********* (lending department) with promises to get back with me. I called RBFCU again on Friday and spoke to ***** or ******* (**********), to get the contact information for the President of RBFCU, I was told by ***** or ******* that he couldn't provide me that information. He also stated that his manager would call, as of today Jun 18) I haven't received that promised phone call. I also expressed my concern that NAC has had several BBB complaints filed against them for refusing to honor their warranty. It appears that is a common practice with NAC to not pay a claim. This something that RBFCU should have known before they sold me this warranty. I purchased this warranty based on RBFCU recommendation, and I trust that recommendation. Had it not been for RBFCU i wouldn't have purchased a used car warranty at all. Now it appears that RBFCU has thrown me to the wolfs.

Desired Settlement: RFBCU should except the responsibility for selling me this worthless warranty (which I think they knew it was worthless) and pay for the repairs or force NAC pay for the repairs.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to the consumers complaints. The information has been forwarded to the our Lending Department for their review and response.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A charge of $48.00 was attempted on my checking account. The transaction was declined according to **** and ******. I was charged $20 for a non sufficient funds fee. I talked to the bank which told me multiple stories on why I was charged that fee. This is the third time I've been charged this fee. This $20 fee is a rip off. It should be simply a declined transaction end of story. There is no reason for charging me $20 on a declined tranasction. It never went through. No money exchanged hands. Why am I being charged this fee? They are simply ripping people off. The transaction never went through and they are charging me $40 because the merchant attempted it twice. I never authorized the second attempt and was charged the $20 again anyways. My account went into the negative due to the the fees put on my account.

Desired Settlement: I want these fees removed and my banking accounts closed.

Business Response: Thank you for giving us the opportunity to response. After reviewing the previous correspondence between the consumer and our representatives, we have decided to refund the fees and close out the account per the consumers request.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/1/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/4/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/16/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service