Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Firstmark Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Firstmark Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Firstmark Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1974 Business started: 12/07/1932 Business started locally: 12/07/1932
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe St, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdi.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 252-3439

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Adrian Rivera, VP Ms. Michelle Akers, AVP Executive Office Manager Mr. Leon Ewing, President/CEO Ms. Linda Sue Rodriguez, AVP Member Contact Center
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Rivera, VP
Business Category

Credit Unions Insurance - Auto Insurance - Homeowners Insurance - Life Loans Financial Services

Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Additional Locations

  • 10610 Potranco Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78251

  • 10730 Gulfdale St

    San Antonio, TX 78216

  • 10911 Culebra Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78253

  • 11530 N Ih 35

    San Antonio, TX 78233

  • 122 Donaldson Ave

    San Antonio, TX 78201

  • 12822 IH-10 West

    San Antonio, TX 78249

  • 1440 SE Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78214

  • 2023 Gold Canyon Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78232 (210) 342-8484

  • 2600 N 1604 W

    San Antonio, TX 78248

  • 3401 SW Military Dr

    San Antonio, TX 78211

  • 6927 S Zarzamora St

    San Antonio, TX 78224

  • 7200 Culebra Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78251

  • 8826 Bandera Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78250

  • 8960 Huebner Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78240

  • PO Box 701650

    San Antonio, TX 78270 (210) 442-0100 (800) 683-1211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/13/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid off my balance on my automobile loan, but have not been given the title to my car. When I called to find out why, a representative- ****** ***** said that she is holding it because I am behind on a payment on my overdraft account of $50.00. She arrogantly told me to file all the complaints I wanted to because she would hold the title on my car until she felt like releasing it.

Desired Settlement: i want the title to my car. That loan is paid off and this credit union is bullying me unethically.

Business Response: Re:  Complaint Letter dated February 9, 2015 
  
 
Firstmark Credit Union received notification on February 9, 2015, regarding a recent member complaint filed with the Better Business Bureau.  We welcome the opportunity to address our member’s concerns and thank you for bringing this complaint to our attention.
 
After researching the circumstances surrounding the complaint, it is our understanding the credit union’s response to the issues presented in the complaint letter have already been reviewed, addressed, and communicated to the member.  
 
1)      The member questions why Firstmark Credit Union continues to hold auto title when the auto loan has been paid in full as of January 9, 2015?   
 
Credit Union Response:  The credit union does not dispute the auto loan in question was paid in full on January 9, 2015.   However, the member has two additional loans with us, including a credit card loan and an overdraft loan, both of which, unfortunately, are currently in “unsatisfactory” status.  Until these loans are brought current, the credit union will not release the title due to the contractual obligation of the member explained below:
 
As is typical for the credit union industry, we require what is known as cross collateralization across multiple loan products, as it protects the credit union from unnecessary losses. This information is shared with and agreed to by the member at the time of signing through a “cross collateral” clause within the loan documentation, which reads as follows:  
 
“By signing below you agree to be bound by the terms of the Agreement.  You also agree to the following cross collateral clause:  The Security interest secures the Loan and any extensions, renewals, or refinancing of the loan.  It also secures any other loans, including any credit card loan; you have now or receive in the future, except any loan secured by your principal residence.”         
 
2)      The member states that a Firstmark Credit Union employee “said that she is holding [title] because I am behind on a payment on my overdraft account of $50.00.”  
 
Credit Union’s Response:  The employee in question shared that the member’s overdraft and credit card account remain in an “unsatisfactory” status due to the following delinquencies: 
 
§  As of today, the overdraft loan has been delinquent since July 1, 2014. Total of $354.66 with a per diem of $.09 per day. 


§  As of today, the credit card loan is $221.00 over 122 days delinquent and $244.25 over the available credit line limit of $2,000, bringing the total amount due to the credit union to $445.25.
 
3)      The member further claimed that our employee “arrogantly told me to file all the complaints I wanted to because she would hold the title on my car until she felt like releasing it.” 
 
Credit Union’s Response:  The credit union has the capability to listen to all recorded calls with members, two of which were identified to be with this member this year.  In neither conversation was the member’s claim substantiated. Furthermore, neither call involved the employee she names in her complaint, but rather were held with two entirely different representatives.   
 
4)      The member states her desired settlement would be to gain the title to her car as “[the] loan is paid off and this credit union is bullying me unethically.”  
 
Credit Union’s Response:   Although we are more than happy to do everything feasible to resolve this member’s complaint, including working with her on her outstanding balances, we also carry an obligation to safeguard the financial health of all of our members through sound lending practices. 
 
As we do for any member in this identical situation, it is the credit union’s practice to adhere to our legal obligations to release the title or any collateral securing consumer loans. Thus, once the member brings both her overdraft and credit card loans current, we will not hesitate to release the title immediately.
 
At Firstmark Credit Union, we strive to preserve a relationship of trust and confidence with our members and desire above all to improve their financial well-being.  Once again, thank you for bringing this issue to our attention as we appreciate the opportunity to respond to any concerns our members may have.
 
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:The credit union is aware that I am working with an agency to rectify the financial issues with them. They are aware that I had several medical problems last summer( Cardiac arrest, and Renal failure) that caused me to become delinquent. I am in stage 4 Renal failure and am on Dialysis. If you cannot assist in correcting their behavior, someone will. Thank you for your assistance. I will continue to file complaints until someone listens.

Regards,

**** *******

12/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 10 2014, I went to speedy cash store location at **** ************* **** to pay for my paydayloan. Upon arrival at the store loaction, one of the staff there asked me to give her my ID and then to swipe my Firstmark credit union debit card . I pulled out my out my wallet from the back pocket of my pants and reached out to pull out my firstmark debit out of my wallet and then discovered that my debit card was missing. I had two couples who gave me a ride to the speedy cash store ********* and ****** who gave me a ride to the speedy cash store quickly drove me to firstmart credit union. I met with ***** one of firstmark credit union staff and reported the incident to him that my card was missing and for him to see any one had turn in my card to thier office. He stated no and then went ahead to see if my card had been used and any transaction had occured in my bank accout with Firstmark credit union. ***** informed me that my debit card had been used and showed me a list of transactions which to dispute or agree. I disputed some of the transactions on the dispute form and i agreed on some that i did before my card was missing. He informed me of the total transaction that was made on the card and he gave me a dispute form to fill out which i did fill out and signed. He sated to me that that the company will carry out its own investigation and will report to me in ten business days. furthermore, he stated that the firstmark credit union through their investigative department will watch security cameras on Atms and make calls to the store where the card was used. I asked him if I was to report the matter to the police or waite untill they finished their investigation. He stated they will report to me in ten business day. He stated he will not issue me a new Atm card. I made several calls to their customer service on the phone and went to the bank personaly but they did not made any effort to resolve the issue I waited ten business days and the only thing I heared from them was that I have to bring my account to balance. On 9/25/14/, I called and spoke to one of the customer service representative of firstmark credit union about the conclusion of their investigation but was only told that there is nothing they can do about it and it was then they ask me to report the incident to the police. I spoke with Officer ******* batch # **** of San Antonio Police Department case #******** who told me over the phone that I have the right to be reimbursed of my funds and be issued a new atm card. I called the customer service on the phone again and informed them of officer ******* statment over the phone with me. i will seek legal litigation on this matter because am sadded how they treated me in this manner and I have been their loyal customer for more two years now and this it had impose unbearable economic hardship on me .

Business Response: ******** *******-BBB Complaint Response  #*********
 
We thank you for your patience in allowing us time to review the case referenced above. After carefully reviewing the concerns, the facts of this case are as follows:
 
·         Records indicate the total amount of the alleged unauthorized transactions was $342.55; $289.00 in ATM transactions and $53.55 in debit card transactions. 
·         The account holder stated that the PIN (personal identification number) was not given to anyone nor had it been written anywhere.   
·         The access device continued to be used in the vicinity of the account holder’s historical area. 
·         The account holder was provided recent transaction history, which showed all transactions within the time frame disputed. The account holder did not dispute a transaction which was initiated during the same time frame of the alleged unauthorized transactions.
·         The case was denied for the following reasons: ATM transactions were conducted on the first attempt; debit card transactions were denied for prior authorization.
 
We regret that the account holder’s experience may not have been pleasant. For more than 80 years, the mission of Firstmark Credit Union is to meet the financial needs of its members and to be a responsible corporate citizen in the community.
 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I filled a dispute form on 09/10/14 in the presence of First mark credit Union staff by name ***** ******** Teller ID #**** and the couple that gave me a ride that day whose name are ********* and ******  I could have have scanned it and and attached it to this response letter but my scanner malfunctioned. However, I will fax it with a fax number you can provide to me or mail it to your office. All the advance search by ***** ******** on first mark computer white paper  ********** at their branch #*** that showed where those transactions occured with my stolen/ missing debit card  is still in my possession and file.

Regards,

******** *******

9/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the letter I sent to customer service rep: This is ******* ***** I am the one that posted on the Firstmark page yesterday expressing my huge disappointment & dissatisfaction with the company. Let me give you a little insight on myself, I have banked here for well over a year as I worked for many years at ********* *********** ****** ******** and found it convenient since the ATM’s are located in the lobby on central office where I worked as an IT tech. I am also a sole proprietor small business owner family owned and operated. I needed to open up an additional account for customer check writing convenience and tax purposes so I figured why not there. I did so. My business was/is rapidly growing and I was wanting a change in life so I left my job and decided I’ll work full-time for myself. I linked my paypal account with my business banking as well as other accounts. I struggled as most SBO do in the beginning and I was often negative in my personal account BUT I never once failed to bring my account back to the positive in a timely manner. I make roughly $5000.00 deposits a month (some months less) in both accounts combined as I have a lot of payments that are automatically withdrawn thus is even more of a reason to never stay negative for too long. Ok so the story goes…..On 8/9/13 I received a check from a client wanting to purchase a granite table I had for sale on my web page, we spoke quite a few times and he said he will send me the money and then I can send him the product. I told him we were going out of town to spend family time together as my daughter joined the National Guards to serve our country. When I got back I called him and he sent a check for $2,128.21, I got it and deposited in my personal account as it was made out to me instead of my business. No big deal clients do this all of the time. I also deposited another check from a client in the amount of $998.30, I was told (as I expected) the checks would go on hold for a few days and fund would be available by 8/13/13. As soon as I made the deposit the client that mailed the check in question begins to call and text me repeatedly for the product. I told him I can’t send it until the money clears. He seemed really annoyed by that and was rather persistent. That drew red flags in my head. I called the bank at approximately 7pm that SAME day I made the deposits. I explained to the representative the situation and my client’s now odd behavior. I asked him to note my account that I had called and expressed concerns with the check. I asked him not to release any funds to me until that particular check clears 100% because again this guy was being very pushy for my product. He assured my repeatedly that the funds do not get released until they clear this is why the hold is put on them. I again asked him to note my account regardless, he agreed. I felt a bit more comfortable and went on with my weekend all while dodging calls for this client. Come now Tuesday and the funds are all in my account, I felt silly for doubting my pushy client and withdrew ONLY $1,700.00 out of the $3,098.00+ to pay the shipper and pay expenses for my business, like the $975.00 a month rent. I then packaged up the stone and sent it with our personal shipper and again went about my day. I later received a text message alert for the bank stating I was negative $1, 28.02. I was flabbergasted and immediately called the client who stated the check will clear not to panic. So I waited a few days all while still making deposits into my business account as it’s the law these two account remain separate. Now my product in now in this client’s hands and I still have no money from him and beginning to think the bank failed me once again and I got burned on both ends. Now I am having to quickly get my account back to the positive before my business insurance payments hit the account as well as my web site payments. I have a huge job today and was planning on putting the funds from my profit into my personal account and take the loss and lessoned learned. I was also planning on closing the account once my mortgage payment was pulled out of the personal account on the 1st due to the dishonestly of the representative and lack of security with the bank. Well come Friday (yesterday) and I am getting ready to buy material needed for our job and pay my crew for the week. I try to make a purchase on my business debit card and was horribly embarrassed when I couldn’t. I thought nothing of it because I can just go pull MY money out. Failed again and again and again. I call the bank to find out what the deal is and I am rudely told the business account has been frozen due to my personal account. I said it’s only been negative a little over a week and I always bring my account up to date in a timely manner. She just kept saying until I bring my personal account back to positive my business one will stay frozen. I pleaded with her that I have a job and I will not be able to meet my obligation to my client or my crew if I don’t have any funds. I told her I will pay it in full by the weekend and she didn’t even budge a bit. I was so upset I became emotional and told her if the bank was going to highjack my account and basically take my business money from me then she can just transfer the funds to my personal account and close out the business because I was 100% done at this point. She said ok she would transfer $463.00 but could close out the account. She also added if I don’t bring my personal account up to positive in 10 days I was going to be sent to the Attorney Generals Office. I was at a loss of words at this point, if I had 10 day then why was my business account being frozen and why the threats I have been a loyal member for years and this is how I am treated as if I am some sort of criminal!!??? I told her that I called and red flagged this check to avoid this situation and she very blatantly told me if I doubted the checks authenticity than I should have waited longer! Are you kidding me?! Is this for real?? Well needless to say I had to move my job back 2 weeks until I can pay my crew and until I can find a way to make money to bring this account back up or I’ll go to jail!! This is why the absolutely disgust with the bank itself and the service. I was treated utterly terrible. I now have bills that will soon hit my account and I have no money to put into it due to this and I am just going to sit here and accumulate charges for NOT having funds so the hemorrhaging will continue. I am beside myself with how you guys can do this. I didn’t get ONE phone call, ONE email or ONE text message and if a letter was sent to the listed address we are always out of town and check that box but once a week! What I did get was robbed not once, not twice but three times! Once form the crook that sent the check and twice by you guys. I was humiliated, mistreated, lied to, forced to cancel my job which provides for me and my family which include 3 children all while making my small business look extremely flaky to the clients and now put in a very serious situation as I hope not to be sued by my clients for failing to meet the deadline I agreed to on our contract. I also went to my personal account this morning to see if the funds the bank have stolen from me have been put into that account and they have not, so the useless to me money still sits in an account I can’t touch. What a great way to start off the weekend. I can’t see how this is legal in anyway. That money in my business account is also used to pay state and federal taxes, quarterly and yearly! To top all of this off as if it’s not bad enough I now have to go spend my time looking for another bank I can trust and build a relationship all over with! PS: There was also funds taken out of my account by some random on-line store for $4.19 that I didn’t authorize, it also caused a negative fee of $28.00 (nice hu?) I called the bank for assistance and was told to contact the merchant direct because it would be easier and quicker for me to dispute it that way and if they refund me the money back you guys would reverse that NSF fee. Did it happen? What do you think? That is a negative!

Desired Settlement: I want an apology, I want them to take some kind of responsibility for their failed customer service, I want them to not freeze my accounts when there is an issue CALL ME! I want account adjustments and a letter of apology written to myself and to a client that I failed to service due to this banks outlandish actions!

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: This doesn't justify the way this whole situation was handled everything they wrote was the exact same thing I have already stated except they conveniently left out the fact that I called the same day to express my concern about this check and was told more than once no funds will be released unless the check was 100% clear!! I was not only lied to but treated as thief and no responsibility was or is being taken by the bank.  Its ridiculous how the bank can basically do whatever they want when it comes to our money and completely turn someones (their members) wold upside down and provide a snobbish "we have been in the business XX amount of years" comment!  I trusted them with my accounts, my business reputation and this is what I get in return?! They are completely unphased by this as if it happens quite often. I am appalled by their lack of responsibility! Plus I have a $500.00 overdraft protection that I have used many many times and paid back without threats or account restrictions. The nonchalant reply is an insult to injury response and far from satisfies me. 

Regards,
******* *****

9/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted for a transfer of funds online. The funds weren't available and because they weren't the automated system sends the request two times. There were two separate transfers I initiated and because of the funds not being available the attempt to get the funds was made 4 times. This resulted in 4 overdraft fees of $28 each. Then when an additional small charge came in since the 4 over drafts had brought me negative an additional $28 was charged for a total of 5 over draft fees at $28 each equalling $140. I spoke with a representative and they refused to refund the money even though it is an error to attempt to draw money two times which results in 2 over draft fees rather than one.

Desired Settlement: I expect to either get a refund to my account or I will never bank with Firstmark again and will let everyone I know hear about this experience.

Business Response: We thank you for your patience in allowing us time to review the case referenced above. After carefully reviewing the concerns, the facts of this case are as follows:
 
·         Records indicate, the account reflects multiple ACH withdrawal payments on July 23rd and July 24th payable to ****. 
·         The withdrawals submitted on these dates did clear and pay from the member’s account.   
·         On the July 25th  and July 26th there were additional attempts made for ACH withdrawals, however these were returned due to insufficient funds and fees were assessed to the account. 
·         Further clarification is needed to understand the actual withdrawals by our member via the **** online access; to best determine if any errors occurred in posting by Firstmark Credit Union. 
 
Any fees associated with a transaction submitted and possibly duplicated by ****, would not be the responsibility of Firstmark Credit Union.  We have made attempts to reach the member by telephone along with an email to the address listed in this report dated August 15, 2013. We have been unsuccessful and have not had the opportunity to discuss the matter with the account holder.


***** *** *********
*** ****** ******* ******

6/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into the branch on 6/17/13 at approximately 12:00 PM and asked the account specialist ******* to please close my account and open a new one and they refuse to do so.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to please open a new account.

Business Response:

We thank you for your patience in allowing us time to review the case referenced above. After carefully reviewing the concerns, the facts of this case are as follows:

·        Records indicate that the account holder requested closure of her existing checking to open a new checking account.

·        Upon further discussion, the account holder confirmed that the purpose for the account closure was due to payday loan obligation.

·        The account holder was advised that Firstmark Credit Union would not assist in deception or dishonesty against another institution or business; considering that the account holder had agreed contractually by providing the account number to pay back the loan.

·        Account holder was advised that we were willing to re-open checking account to allow her direct deposit to post, however the account holder refused due to the payday loan debt.
 
The mission of Firstmark Credit Union is to meet the financial needs of its members, and being a responsible corporate citizen in the community for more than 80 years. Unfortunately, there are times when we are unable to achieve this goal. 

Consumer Response: [To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** *****

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Called to make a payment using my checking account only to find out two business days later the payment was not processed.

Business Response: A member of management has attempted to reach Mr. ****** on three different occasions to discuss his account. Our records indicate that his account was credited with his payment at 12:32 PM on May 17, 2013. It is not clear to us where the discrepancy is and we welcome any further contact from Mr. ****** with the hopes of ensuring confidence and trust in Firstmark Credit Union. Please contact ***** *********, Assistant Vice President, Member Contact Center at ************, ext. *****.

**** ******
Vice President-Branch Administration

2/25/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues