Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Cal Com Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (361) 552-7476 Fax: (361) 552-7476 View Additional Phone Numbers 1401 N Virginia St, Port Lavaca, TX 77979 http://www.calcomfcu.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cal Com Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cal Com Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cal Com Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 26, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1971 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1971
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jessie Rodriguez, President Ms. Joleah Boyd, Customer Contact Ms. Connie Hermes, Customer Contact
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jessie Rodriguez, President
Business Category

Credit Unions


Additional Locations

  • 1401 N Virginia St

    Port Lavaca, TX 77979 (361) 572-3369 (361) 552-7476

  • PO Box 1005

    Port Lavaca, TX 77979

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 12/18/2015 at approximately 1:00PM, I visited the **** Stockbauer location about 2 unauthorized ACH fees that were submitted to my account by Walmart and Telecheck. They were for NSF fees, but the checks cleared. I have had this happen to me before at a different credit union, Navy Federal, and they reversed the fees without any issue. Cal Com wants to CHARGE ME to reverse these unauthorized fees, which is unacceptable. Telecheck tries to do this and it is a sneaky way for them to increase revenue. They are not supposed to submit these fees if the check clears. I spoke with ***** ******** and ****** ****** and they both insisted that I be charged $30 to correct this matter.

Desired Settlement: I want the fees charged to my account on 12/18/2015 (2x 32.48) to be reversed by the credit union without charging me a $30 fee.

Business Response:

December 29, 2015
ID #********
The member was charged two returned check fees from Walmart
on 12/18/2015 each in the amount of $32.48. These fees were due
to the fact the member had two checks returned NSF on
11/30/2015. Wal-Mart reran the checks on 12/04/2015 and at this
time both checks cleared.
The member would like Cal-Corn to refund her the fees that Wal-
Mart charged her account on 12/18/2015 from the returned checks
on 11/30/2015. We explained that since these were not fees that
Cal-Corn charged we would have to place an ACH Stop on each of
these items. We then told the member that there would be a
$30.00 fee to place an ACH Stop on the two charges. The member
was upset with our response and preceded by contacting your
agency.

Thank You,


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: Walmart charged me a NSF fee twice in the amount of $32.48 each time and they should NOT have because the items were paid.  I did not give them permission to assess these fees if the item was paid.  They are not supposed to do this.  These fees need to be reversed as I DID NOT GIVE THEM PERMISSION TO ASSESS THESE FEES IF THE ITEM WAS PAID.  And charging me $30 to fill out an unauthorized ACH form is unethical.  These two fees need to be reversed without charging me $30.  No other financial institution charges this.  We are a military family and chose this bank to have a banking institution near where we live.  Never in a million years did I think we would be treated this way.

Regards,

***** *******

Business Response:

Dear Ms. ******,

 

As stated in my earlier reply dated January 5, 2016, the member was charged the two fees of $32.48 each by Wal-Mart and not by Cal-Com Federal Credit Union.  The fees appear to have been charged by Wal-Mart as a result of two checks written by the member to Wal-Mart being returned unpaid due to non-sufficient funds at the time the checks were presented for payment on November 30, 2015.  The checks were paid, as the member stated, the second time the checks were ran.  The member states that she did not give Wal-Mart permission to charge her the fees if the item was paid.  I don’t believe Wal-Mart would have charged her the fees if the checks had been paid upon the first presentment for payment.  To reiterate, Cal-Com did not charge nor receive the two $32.48 fees charged to the member.

 

However, as a courtesy to the member and to make the member whole, Cal-Com will reverse the two fees of $32.48 each today.

 

Please let me know if you have any further questions or need any additional information.

 

Thank you.

 

 

 

****** *********

President

Cal-Com Federal Credit Union

************


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cal Com Federal Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)