Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Austin Telco Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Austin Telco Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Austin Telco Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 01, 1981 Business started: 06/01/1941 Business started locally: 06/01/1941
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. James Poplin Ms. Kathleen Miller
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kathleen Miller
Principal: Mr. James Poplin
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Loan Modification Loans - Small Business Real Estate Loans Banks

Alternate Business Names

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Austin Telco Federal Credit Union has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I borrow a auto loan of amount ~ $17,500 from Austin Telco and I have the liability and collisoion coverage. So I am supposed to submit a comprehensive insurance for my car. I submitted the required insurance 2.5 months later. Austin Telco bought a collaterral insurance with premium f $3,000/year . For 2.5 months, they charged me $916. If I bought the same insurance it will be $100/year. So they bought an insurance that is 30 times more expensive. I contacted them many times and they won't waive it or discount. I already paid the money in fear of they will charge me more.

Desired Settlement: Charge should be 200 or less

Business Response: Our member financed a vehicle with Austin Telco on February 2, 2015. Despite the notification, and his signed agreement of the requirement to provide full coverage insurance, Mr. **** did not obtain full coverage insurance until April 18, 2015. Collateral Protection Insurance (CPI) in the amount of $916 was added to the loan to cover the period from February 2, to April 18, 2015.

Austin Telco is aware of the high cost of this type of insurance product, and proactively sends multiple notifications to any effected members including this member. These notifications include both a reminder of the requirement to provide full coverage insurance and the cost and limitations of the CPI product. Because of the nature of this type of insurance product, it cannot be underwritten to a specific borrower's driving history, personal information, or credit history; thus making it very expensive. Austin Telco has no part in the setting of the rates, and does not have the option to selectively waive periods of coverage without severe consequences in the ability to protect the collateral in our loan portfolio.

Based on this information, Austin Telco is unable to grant this member's request to reduce or eliminate the charges for the insurance that was added to cover the period in question.


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The collateral insurance is issued on 4/10/2015. I can understand the charge from 4/10/2015 to 4/18/2015.  By 4/10/2015 my vehicle is in good condition and no damage. Any insurance policy can only cover the date it is issued to future.  This is the first time I heard an insurance policy to cover the time window in the past.  Why is Austin Telco different?


****** ****

Business Response: Collateral Protection Insurance covers the vehicle from the effective date of issuance (February 2, 2015) until such time that full coverage insurance is obtained (April 18, 2015). the date that the charge was applied to the loan balance in no way negates the coverage that was in effect from the date of the required insurance impairment. Had the vehicle been damaged or destroyed during the 2 1/2 month period, it would have been covered in accordance with the Collateral Protection Insurance policy provisions.

6/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I visited Austin Telco to request that my deceased father's IRA be transferred to my mother, the beneficiary, so that she can take regular distributions from the account. Austin Telco was presented with a certified death certificate for my father, as well as a power of attorney to act on behalf of my mother, which they would not honor. I later contacted Austin Telco by email to ask for a detailed written explanation about why the request was not honored, as well as an explanation as to what type of documentation they would accept. I have yet to receive a reply. My parents have a large account with Austin Telco. At the very least they could provide my mother with a written explanation on what needs to be done to facilitate the transfer of my deceased father's IRA to my mother.

Desired Settlement: My mother would like to be contacted by letter and/or email stating how this issue will be resolved.

Business Response:

When our member's son came in to Austin Telco, he was informed that we could not honor the power of attorney due to certain restrictions included in the Power of Attorney. At that time he was given a few options to present to his mother to have the account transferred as requested. In regards to his emails that were sent last week with no reply, the people to which they were presented were on vacation until Monday morning the 22nd. We are currently working on a response that will hopefully rectify the situation and will be contacting our member and her son soon.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

There is normally an option to set an "out of office" automatic response on an email or have someone acknowledge that a response will be forthcoming after the staff member returns. That's good customer service. I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution will be satisfactory once we receive the written response.


* *****

12/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife had a lien placed on our joint bank account on Friday November 14th. On Saturday November 15th my wife resolved the issue with the legal department of the lien holder. The lien on the bank account was scheduled to be removed by the lien holder with no assistance from the bank. The bank acquired an attorney, this person did nothing , was not involved with the settlement or the removal of the lien hold. This was all contracted through my wife abd the lien holder. The bank charged us 250.00 for legal fees for services not rendered and non agreed to.

Desired Settlement: This bank needs to refund in full $250.00 for legal fees that were not required or agreed to.

Business Response: Upon receipt of a Writ of Garnishment, a financial institution is required by regulation to promptly initiate certain procedures, including filing an answer to the court. Under ***** law, this answer must be made on behalf of the credit union by an attorney licensed to practice in the State of *****. In our member's case, the attorney received and reviewed the garnishment order, initiated correspondence with the opposing counsel, received and reviewed an agreed non-suit from the opposing counsel, and prepared correspondence to the credit union regarding this matter.

Austin Telco refunded fees related to items returned due to insufficient funds caused by the account hold required in the Writ. However, the direct expense of the attorney's fees was charged to our member in accordance with Section 21 of Austin Telco's Membership and Account Agreement.
       "21 LEGAL PROCESS - If any legal action is brought against your account, we may pay out funds according to the terms of the action or refuse any payout until the dispute is resolved. Any expenses or attorney fees we incur responding to legal process may be charged against your account without notice, unless prohibited by law. Any legal process against your account is subject to our lien and security interest."

Attached is a copy of Austin Telco's Membership and Account Agreement.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

You acted without my consent , the action was resolved before you even opened on Monday.
refund the 250.00

if not then I want :
I want the attorneys name.
logged hours and when he was engaged.
exactly what he did if anything in a detailed ledger justifying 250.00
then I will decide what to take public and seek legal actions.


***** ********

Business Response:

The attorney was engaged the day we received the writ of garnishment and a copy of the invoice from the attorney, including name, hours, and what he did, has been mailed to the member as requested.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

My wife has not worked in over 2 years, that is my money you stole not hers.
I want it back.
My wife has been a customer of your bank for almost 20 years, I have been a member for almost 10 years.
I am constantly having issues with your bank, Visa fraud, international bank transfers taking months. I had to open a new account at a real bank just to transfer money back and fourth to Canada.
if 250.00 dollars is worth bad media and loosing two long term customers then I guess that is what you want.


***** ********

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On April 30th, 2014, I called the customer service department at ************ and requested to speak to a representative regarding a hold placed on a pending direct deposit for the US Army DFAS. I explained the several representatives, explaining to them the importance o f releasing them funds, as I was leaving town and needed to pay my rent prior to my leaving as there where no branches located where I was travleing to. I told them I had alreay spoke to DFAS and they told me the funds were released on their end, as of April 25th. The representatives responded that they could not realse the money until May 1st.....that is was their policy to do so, even though they could see the funds coming in. they then said they would be able to post the deposit early at 8pm that night. I told them, that would not help as the branch would be closed at that time, so I would not be able to access the money to get the teller check anyway, and also reminded them I had to flight out of town before 8pm tonight. I asked if it was possible for them to allow me to get the teller check, since they were going to post the funds at 8pm anyway? They said that was not going to happen.......I asked what was the difference of 2 to 3 hours. I wasn't like I was asking them to give me a cash withdrawal. I asked the speak the a manager, they put me in touch with a male who stated he was the director of accounting. He was very rude on the phone and raised his voice to speak over and interupted me several times, to tell me it was not going to happen and that was the end of it. I told him he was bing very rude and that I was recording the conversation. He still continued to shout at me, I asked to speak to his manager and he told me that was not going to happen. I told him I was a member and that if I requested to speak to his manager, he is suppose to allow me to. He then proceeded to tell me his manager was out of town and would not be back until the following Monday. I then asked to speak to his manager's manager, he again said that he would not allow me to and that he would not provide me with their name and information. He demanded my phone number and said he would see if someone esle would call me back. I agin asked him if I could get the manager's information and he said no. I still have not received a call back, and will now have to pay late fees to my apartment, has I will not be able to pay my rent before I leave town.

Desired Settlement: I require an appology from the bank staff, for the way in which they handled me and my situation. They acted as if I was asking for money that did not belong to me. I have banked with this institution for several years, and have never felt so disrespected. I also want the to release my funds in time for me to make my rent payment. I also want those employees to be disciplined for their actions. I am now planning on taking my business elsewhere, has I no longer have confidence in this bank or their commiment to their members.

Business Response: This member made a request to have her direct deposit, with a settlement date of May 1, 2014, posted early at a time of day she selected.  As explained to the member by several staff members, Austin Telco FCU posts ACH files as dictated by the settlement date.  The settlement date is the same as the effective entry date by the originator.    We often choose to post the ACH files the evening before the settlement date but we are not obligated to do so.  We did inform the member that we did in fact intend to post the entire ACH file the evening of April 30th so that all of our members would be in receipt of their direct deposit prior to midnight.  The member demanded that we post her specific direct deposit amount at a time of her choosing.  We were not able to accommodate her request.  We post ACH deposits to all members’ accounts either on the day of the actual settlement date or the evening before after the close of regular business hours.  Unfortunately, the member was not accepting the answer that we would not post her pending direct deposit at the time she requested.  She wanted to escalate the request in hopes of a different answer which would not have occurred.  That is our policy and procedure for posting any ACH item and is within the regulations set by the ACH operating guidelines of NACHA.

3/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In November 11 2013 the Canadian government placed a hold on my bank account. During conversations with them, they removed the hold immediately releasing my funds available back to me. The bank released all but 150.00, the bank responded that any additional legal fees would be removed from that and the remaining would be released back to me. This is now March, the money has not been released back to me, the account has NSF charges now to automatic payments that were not diverted in time. 6 months is far long enough to resolve any legal fees even though there should be none since they sent the requests through by fax to hold and release my money. I am an insulin dependent diabetic, when I posted the complaint to the Canadian government they immediately released my account so I could acquire my insulin and maintain my insulin regiment. They have resolved the issues they had thought were outstanding and the Attorney Generals office upheld the decision of resolution.

Desired Settlement: I expect the hold to be removed from my account. All 150.00 be returned to me and the NSF fees be removed from my account. This has gone on long enough and needs to be resolved to my satisfaction immediately.

Business Response: We have contacted the attorney and have been informed there will be no additional legal fees. The $150 hold has been removed from the member's account along with any fees incurred as a result of the hold.

3/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: There was an unauthorized withdrawal on my checking account on December 4, 2013 for $33.00. I have complained to the bank, was given a number to call, and complained to that person, and have not had the charge fixed. I view this as THEFT.

Desired Settlement: The money needs to be returned to my checking account.

Business Response: We have reviewed Mr. *****'s complaint concerning the $33 that he states is an unauthorized debit from his account. Upon research we have determined that the debit was for Accidental, Death & Dismemberment (AD&D) Insurance that he originally signed up for in April of 1998 and then upgraded in October of 2013. The original sign up was for the free $1500 insurance offered to all Austin Telco members. You can purchase additional insurance at any time, which is what Mr. ***** did in October of last year. The $33 is the quarterly fee associated with the upgraded increase in insurance. We will be more than happy to provide a copy of both signed documents to Mr. ***** for his review. For security and privacy purposes for our member, I did not attach the documents to this response. Please let me know if any further information is needed.


******** ******
*** ************** ********
Austin Telco FCU

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have not signed up for any insurance with Austin Telco, they were already asked to provide me with proof of purchase before I filed this complaint and did not do so, likely unable to do so since it never happened. I will file a criminal complaint with the ***** attorney general and file a small claims action.



******* *****

Business Response: The documents the member signed for enrolling in AD&D insurance have been emailed to the member.  We have also provided him with the number to call should there be any questions regarding these forms.

8/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In 2011, I took out a personal loan of $1000 at Austin Telco Federal Credit Union, in the interest of a positive impact on my credit score. Through a variety of errors in billing, reconciliation and miscommunication that loan is now reporting as a charge off on my credit report. The account has been paid, in full and the errors in communication along with misdirected funds from the wrong accounts have caused serious damage to my credit scores. A review of their reporting to all three bureaus makes it clear that late fees and payments were compounded or misdirected. For example, their reports to all three bureaus show 14 late payments in less than 2 years. 9 of them are reported as 90 days late – that’s 18 months of late payments on that 90 day tally alone. This is a usurious, predatory lending practice. I have paid the full loan off but they still list the account as a charge off, making it look like I completely skipped out on my obligation. I made my payments at the drive-thru, always marking the deposit slip to show that I wanted the funds deposited to go toward my loan. After a few months, I began to get late notices in the mail. I called to ask why and was told I hadn't made my payments - any of them. But I had. They had been improperly deposited to my checking account, not applied to the loan. The only reason I had the checking account was to set up the loan payments. The bank did not "backfill" my payments with timely payment notices, meaning they continued to report them as late payments even though the payments had been made on time. They did move the funds over to go into the loan but it seems that the damage was already done. I thought from there that the issue was solved and each time I made my monthly payment over the next two months I would verbally confirm with the drive-thru teller that it was to be allocated to my loan payment, NOT the checking account. But then the letters started coming again. The same thing had happened. Frustrated, I called again and was told the same thing. They moved the money over to cover my loan but without my knowing continued to consider those payments as missed or now late payments. When it happened again, I became irritated. I was almost done paying the loan off but they were showing me as paying late repeatedly. In my frustration i sought a payoff and requested documentation to that effect. I was told on the phone that my loan had been paid in full. Then it was reported to the credit bureaus as a charge off. That is when I learned that they thought I still owed $300+ dollars - I have to assume from late fees associated with the misdirected payments. With great frustration and many letters, requests and phone calls I reluctantly paid the remaining amount in an effort to finally clear this issue up. But it continues to be reported and to give the impression that I do not pay my debts. I am making a formal offer, again through the bbb, to pay any fee that is needed to remove the late payments and negative information from my credit reports. I have paid in full and then some, but with all the mistakes and communication errors, I am willing again to reach out to solve this because the whole reason I took this loan out in the first place was to help boost my credit score but the opposite has happened. I now have a glaring charge off on all three reports that makes it look like I do not pay my bills or take care of my responsibilities. I am working with the bbb now in an effort to resolve the matter and my next stop will be the Texas Attorney General’s Office as the mistakes on this account, have damaged my reputation and my credit worthiness far worse than any help that could have come from a simple $1000 personal loan.

Desired Settlement: I would like all late fees and negative or derogatory information on this this account to be completely removed from all three credit bureaus immediately.

Business Response: ****,
This is the first I've seen the complaint and have already taken it to my charge off department to respond.  I do not show this ever being delivered to my email, but we will address it immediately

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because it isn't a response for acceptance or denial. I do anticipate that Austin Telco will come back with a full resopnse today. Telco Vice President, *** *****, has already addressed the issue with me directly - outside of the bbb complaint and I was satisfied with the resolution we came to. He told me that he went into the e-Oscar system and corrected my status from 09 (Failure to Pay or Collection) to 01 (Paid in Full). He also indicated that he would correct/delete the recent late payments that the account is reporting for me as they are not reporting accurately.

Account ********** is not a charge off. It should reflect the verbiage of STATUS 01 Paid in Full: and the recent late payments I pointed out to Mr. ***** that are in error, dated 03/13 - 04/13 and 07/13 should be deleted from the credit report. I very much appreciate that Austin Telco was willing and able to address the situation in a timely manner. I am unable to see the results of his changes in my credit report. (which he did predict, because of timing) The only reason I'm now circling back through the bbb process is to get documentation of this resolution in time to finance my mortgage. This error in reporting is making that process difficult, particularly the error showing a late pay as recently as last month.

I am attaching the line item from my credit report, provided two days ago by my broker, showing extremely recent late pays on the account, reported at a time when the account had long sense been paid in full. Also attaching one of my email exchanges with Mr. ***** showing a portion of our exchange - we also spoke on the phone and exchanged additional emails, but this segment shows our mutually agreed resolution. I'm not angry with Telco and going through the bbb seems negative, more negative than I feel about the situation. But I have to get this correction documented quickly in order to finalize my mortgage. Thank you for your assistance in this matter. 


***** *******

Business Response: Austin Telco F.C.U. is obligated to report exact payment history on all loans for all of our members to the credit bureaus. All information regarding this loan has been accurately reported to the credit reporting agencies.

Business Response:
My response was kept more basic for privacy reasons and we are not going to disclose any personal information including loan payments to a third party, the BBB.  The VP and I have given her the same solution, we have correctly reported to the credit bureaus that her account has been paid in full.  I cannot provide any more details than that. Our Sr. VP of Lending has sent ***** a detailed email this morning with everything spelled out and there is no other response that I can provide to you unless Miss *******  wants to put into writing that we can disclose this information to the BBB.

Hope this makes sense.

******** ******
AVP Administrative Services
***** ******** **** ****

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

The information reported to the credit bureaus is NOT correct. Austin Telco is currently reporting my accoun to aexperian with a status 09 Failure ti oay. It shoukd be status 01 paid in full. There are three very recent late payments reporting that are incorrect. Including a report for late payment as recent as last month. This is not acceptable. Further, I have had assurances from *** *****, VP of Lending at Austin Telco that he has already made the correction via the e-oscar system. I have already provided evidence of our mutual resolution to this matter. This response is not only unacceptable it is in direct conflict with what was already agreed upon. Unacceptable.


***** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
The information reported to the credit bureaus is NOT correct. Austin Telco is currently reporting my accoun to ********* with a status 09 Failure ti oay. It shoukd be status 01 paid in full. There are three very recent late payments reporting that are incorrect. Including a report for late payment as recent as last month. This is not acceptable. Further, I have had assurances from *** *****, VP of Lending at Austin Telco that he has already made the correction via the e-oscar system. I have already provided evidence of our mutual resolution to this matter. This response is not only unacceptable it is in direct conflict with what was already agreed upon. Unacceptable.


***** *******