BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Amplify Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Amplify Federal Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Amplify Federal Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: March 14, 2005 Business started: 09/01/1967 in 0 Business started locally: 09/01/1967 Business incorporated: 09/29/2011 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

National Credit Union Administration
4807 Spicewood Springs Rd # 5100, Austin TX 78759
Phone Number: (512) 231-7900
AMACinquiries@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Paul Trylko, President
Contact Information
Principal: Paul Trylko, President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
IBM Texas Employees Federal Credit Union

Additional Locations

  • 115 Sundance Pkwy

    Round Rock, TX 78681

  • 13050 Pond Springs Rd

    Austin, TX 78729

  • 202 Walton Way

    Cedar Park, TX 78613

  • 2608 Brockton Dr

    Austin, TX 78758

  • 3600 W Parmer Ln

    Austin, TX 78727

  • 4500 E Palm Valley Blvd Ste 136

    Round Rock, TX 78665

  • 607 Congress Ave

    Austin, TX 78701

  • PO Box 85300

    Austin, TX 78708 (512) 836-5901

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I recently purchased a vehicle at ***** ** ****** which secured financing through Amplify Credit Union. This purchase was completed on September 23, 2013. It is now October 30, 2013 and I have yet to be able to get Amplify Credit Union to validate I have an account or set up online access to my account. I have called them 4 times and get nothing but lip service telling me that I do not have an account. As the consumer/customer they asked ME to go to ***** to ask ***** send in paperwork regarding my financing with Amplify Credit Union. Now who is paying interest - me! So why am I required to do their job? Yet I will be the one to have bad credit reporting if I do not pay car payment to Amplify to credit account to which they refuse to set up or provide access. I called yet again to speak to someone on 10/29 who set up Account # and password yet when I go online to access it again asks me for 'access code' which has never been provided to me.

Desired Settlement: I also want a written statement that alleviates me from all responsibility if my car payment is late due to the incompetence of Amplify Credit Union in my numerous attempts to set up online account access to pay my obligation.

Business Response: 11/8/2013

Amplify Federal Credit Union
PO Box 85300
Austin, TX 78709

Reference ID: *******

Dear BBB,

Amplify Credit Union established member's account on 10/19/2013. The first payment due date for her vehicle was 11/05/2013 and payment was received on 11/01/2013. The member's account is in good standing and has not been reported past due to the credit bureaus. We apologize for the delay in establishing this account. There are instances when we have to get additional information from a dealership to be able to create an account, which is why an account sometimes isn't established the day they purchase their vehicle. This is in no way our members' fault, and we ensure it doesn't negatively affect them. It isn't the responsibility of our members to contact a dealership
in cases such as this. We apologize that the member was advised to contact the dealer and appreciate it was brought to our attention. I have left a message for the member to contact me directly, so I may address any other outstanding issues or concerns.

Best Regards,

******** *******
AVP Remote Delivery

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Obtained a vehicle loan with Amplify. Paid the loan as agreed. As the lien holder Amplify was to deliver the title when loan was satisfied. Amplify has failed to deliver a valid title for the vehicle. An altered title was mailed to me. I contacted ****** in the title section at Amplify. She has admitted that they or their title holding company altered the title making it invalid. She refuses to take responsibilty the altered title. She has refused to take corrective actions to obtain a correct title. She has refused to elevate the problem to management to ensure this mistake is corrected and measures taken to ensure it doesn't happen to other consumers. At this point I paid off the loan and Amplify hasn't released a valid title for the vehicle. Spoke to ****** again today, June 20th, and she basically said she will not do anything to fix the mistake and it is now my problem. I need a valid title for this vehicle. There is an obvious problem in the title section at Amplify when they knowingly alter a title making it invalid, and then sending an invalid vehicle title to the owner. This needs upper level management involvement to resolve and the parties involved need to be held accountable.

Desired Settlement: Amplify needs to uphold their end of this transaction. I paid the loan off as agrred upon in the contract. They need to take ownership of the mistakes they've made and do what is necessary to obtain a valid title and deliver to me.

Business Response: Amplify spoke to our member on June 27, 2013 and worked with the member on a resolution to his issue. In speaking with the member, the member Informed us that the original title that he received had a sticker with a document number on it.

If removed, it could invalidate the title as the county may view it as altered. The member requested that Amplify resend him a new original title. Amplify was not able to accommodate this request as titles are supplied by  the county at the time the title work Is processed. Amplify explained to the member that he would be alale to go to the county to remove Amplify from the title as Amplify no longer had a Hen on the motorcycle. Once this process takes place, the member would be administered an original title in his name only. The member was given $33.00 by Amplify to cover the cost. The member was advised that Amplify now does our titling  lectronically, and this issue has been corrected. Going forward, if we identify this issue with any of Amplify's other members where we still hold a paper title, Amplify will resolve the matter as was done for this member. Amplify appreciates the member bringing this to our attention and working with us to find a resolution.

Best Regards,

******** *******
AVP Remote Delivery
Amplify Federal Credit Union

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

Just to clarify , the title did not have a document number on the sticker as stated.  The title was invalid with the sticker regardless of it being removed or not. 

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

7/9/2013 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: It started when I was not getting my paper bank statements back Nov 2012 up to Present. That’s twice I had to call Amplify Credit Union regarding why I wasn’t getting my bank statements in the mail that I did not do the accepted automatic online monthly statement, as I hardly do online banking due to having a dial up and if it goes too long, it will expire and the printing cost, as well. The last time I called Amplify CU, I spoke to Shannon, the supervisor, on Jun 10, 2013. She said when I had originally enrolled in free checking, someone enrolled me online without me knowing it or without my authorization. She did resolve this issue so that this won’t happen again which suppose to happen first time I called when this happened. When I received my backdated bank statements from Shannon, Jun 13, 2013, I later realized going over the statements, as I only asked for April and May 2013 this time, which she sent me Jan through May 2013 statements, which confused me more when I already had them prior. Besides that, I noticed a charge that was done April 6, 2013, as I was missing one of the bank statements as should got it 2-3 weeks after this charge and I didn’t but I got it around 2 months later. So what happened was when I questioned this charge I didn’t recognized of $59.16 when I honestly only thought I was charged $9.86 and their small print in fine line that I missed they said is where they catch people without them realizing they were charging more which some companies do this. I called up the company of that charge for $59.16 and they said if I called them earlier as soon as I received my bank statement of that month , April 2013, like I should have, they would have refunded more than they are refunding me of $29.58, instead of $49.30. Now I am getting half the price refunded to me when I can’t use their service as I don’t have long distance to use anymore off their service. Had Amplify Credit Union monitor their customers’ account appropriately to make sure they are receiving their monthly bank statements by mail, as the customer did not accept to do the online monthly bank statements, this would have not happened. Again, this is twice they have done this to me missed out few months of mailed bank statements and now the timing is too late to get most of my refund or to do any resolution transaction of their faulty mistake.

Desired Settlement: Since it maybe a little too late to do the Bank Cardholder Dispute Form as I did not receive my mailed monthly bank statement on time from Amplify CU, the company who charged me $59.16 on April 6, 2013 would only refund me $29.58 and not the $49.30, I would like Amplify Credit Union to refund me the remaining of $19.72 to the difference of the loss, even though they have a policy stating they can't do the dispute or refund unless charge is $50 and over. It wouldn't be fair to me when they are the ones admitted to me that someone enrolled me to online monthly bank statements without my authorization, why my statements were late coming to me now, inquiring where my mailed monthly bank statements.

Business Response: We contacted our member and issued the credit she requested. We apologized for the error and assured member the issued has been resolved. She will be receiving her statements monthly by mail going forward. In speaking with member, she advised she didn't reach out to us first to see if credit could be given as she believed we wouldn't per our dispute guidelines. We informed member while we do have guidelines for disputes, we always review them when a member requests it, and give credit if warranted.

Consumer Response:

[To assist us in bringing this matter to a close, you must give us a reason why you are rejecting the response. If no reason is received your complaint will be closed Administratively Resolved]

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I am waiting for the physical statement in the mail to make this transaction they said they did has indeed happened before I can 'resolved' or 'not resolved.' I should get their statement by July 2013 then I'll let you know. Thankyou!

Regards,

****** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/10/2011 Advertising/Sales Issues
9/23/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1