Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Cornerstone Financial Education meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Cornerstone Financial Education include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Cornerstone Financial Education
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 23, 2007 Business started: 01/01/2003 in FL Business started locally: 01/01/2003 Business incorporated 02/14/2003 in FL
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Seth Mason, Education Director Mr. Joseph F. Barrero, CEO Mr. John C. Daetwyler J.D., Counsel
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Seth Mason, Education Director
Business Category

Credit Services Credit & Debt Counseling

Hours of Operation
M: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
T: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
W: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Th: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
F: 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
S: Closed
Su: Closed
Alternate Business Names
iPayDebt Financial Services, Inc
Industry Tips
Credit Repair Tips Credit Solicitations

Additional Locations

  • 2806 Flintrock Trace Ste 101

    Austin, TX 78738 (512) 263-0532 (800) 336-1245

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They send out notices that look like collection notices and I have previously contacted them on two separate occasions to remove me from their services and they refuse to adhere to the complaint. They represent themselves like a government agency until you open the notice and in tiny letters at the bottom you see the disclaimer.

Desired Settlement: I want them to leave me alone. This is at the point where I find it to be harassment.

Business Response: Unfortunately, we have no record of ***** ****** as a client on our files. It is likely that *** ****** is referencing a marketing agency that we have used and she will need to contact that agency directly to be removed from their marketing list. Since ***** is not a client, if she is calling us and complaining but not leaving her address or other information with our counselors, we cannot keep a record of that and have no information to send to the marketing company. Since that information was included in this complaint, we will forward it for *** ****** and notify them of her request. 

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In June of 2013 my wife and I decided to consolidate our bills. We decided to seek the help of a man named Austin with US Education Financial Solutions. Austin obtained all of our debit information as well as creditor information. Austin referred us to Cornerstone Financial (the institution that was supposed to disperse payment to our creditors). To get the program started we had to make sure that all of our bills we were consolidating were up to date and that we were in good standing with all creditors involved with the consolidation. All of our bills were paid up and our bank account was stable as well. We have already started to pay Cornerstone their monthly service fee of $859.00. Fast forward to present day 07 September 2013 and NONE OF OUR BILLS HAVE BEEN PAID. Letters were supposed to be sent to our creditors. We have received calls and letters from EVERY financial institution they were supposed to send proposals to. NONE OF THEM HAVE RECEIVED ANYTHING. Now our credit is being effected by the late notices and we are up in arms as to how to make this right with all we owe in back payment to the creditors. Cornerstone has not fulfilled even a fraction of what their company is supposed to provide and promised us. THIS IS COMPLETELY UNEXCEPTIONABLE!!!

Desired Settlement: We want Cornerstone to pay ALL of our late fees and bring our bills to good standing to date.

Business Response: Hi ****,

After reviewing the client's account, it looks like we were contacted by ******* ****** (************ wife and primary on the account with us) yesterday and spoke with her regarding this same issue. As of the 7th of September (when the BBB complaint was filed), the client's accounts had already had one payment made on them, disbursed on the 27th of August. This is in accordance with the scheduled payments as noted in the family's original agreement, and our records show that all creditors noted on his agreement were sent and responded to proposals before the time of his complaint. It's possible that ********** is speaking only about two accounts he complained to us directly about on the 9th - two accounts he stated never received paperwork or payment, and those were two accounts that neither he nor his wife provided any knowledge of to us, so they they were not included in the debt management plan. 

As mentioned, we spoke with ******* ****** yesterday and explained this to her, she noted she understood what was happening now, and she will be sending us information on the two accounts that were not given to us originally. We have also explained that the $859 monthly withdrawal is not a "service fee" as noted in the complaint, but the payments for her creditors. 

If you need any further info, please let me know.

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Cornerstone Financial Education
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)