Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers credit reporting, debt collection and billing services including early out programs.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 13
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: January 01, 1970 Business started: 07/01/1965 Business started locally: 07/01/1965 Business incorporated: 04/16/1992 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Boyce Hornburg, President Ms. Pam Winslett, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Boyce Hornburg, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Pam Winslett, Vice President
Business Category

Credit Reporting Agencies Billing Service Collection Agencies

Alternate Business Names
Merchants and Professional Bureau, Inc. MPB MPB Credit Bureau MPB Medical Billing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 5508 Parkcrest Dr Ste 210

    Austin, TX 78731 (512) 346-4305

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Received a letter dated 12-17-2014 stating that I owed Scott and White HOSP-******* $489.36. I have not lived in ******* since 2009 and found this collection unexpected. I contacted the hospital billing department to verify the account prior to contacting M&PCB, Inc. and the hospital stated that they do not use this collection agency. I have tried contacting the agency several times to discuss the account, but have not been able to get anyone on the phone after several days of trying. The phone rings with no voicemail. The company stated that the account would report to the bureau if the account is not paid in full. Due to the hospital stating that this agency is not used for collections, I am very skeptical of this collection. Since I am unable to contact the company by phone, please consider this a formal request for validation of the debt to Scott and White HOSP-*******. The account number from your agency is 4019587 with an amount due of $489.36. My name is ******* * *****.

Desired Settlement: Please validate the account above with original documentation from the original creditor since the original creditor found no existence of debt owed. If found mail to me at ***** ****** *** ****** ***** *****. If not found, mail me correspondence stating that the debt is unvalidated and will stop pursuing an invalid collection.

Business Response: Our client, Scott & White Hospital, was previously known as Trinity Medical Center when Mr. ***** received treatment from them.  This is for a date of service of March 2, 2009. We will mail validation of the debt to Mr. *****’s address of 15820 Ramsey Rd, as he requested.

 

As stated on our letter, our office hours are 7:45 to 4:30, Monday through Friday but we were closed on December 24th and 25th for the holiday.

 

Mr. ***** can call us anytime during our regular business hours and he will reach a live person to speak with (we do not have voice mail). 

 

 

12/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from this company indicating that I owe BillCutterz LLC $67.80. I never heard of BillCutterz and consistently I never had business with this company. If Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau has a contract or bill from this company signed by me, please send it to me. Please DO NOT just send me a bill from this company without anything that does not show my signature. As I mentioned above, I never had business with this company and I am sure they do not have any legal document that shows I owe them money

Desired Settlement: Please stop contacting me. Contact the company to make sure you are contacting the right person because I am not going to pay money I do not owe.

Business Response: Since this debt was incurred as a result of an internet
transaction, our client is unable to provide a signature of the person who used
their services. Therefore, we are cancelling and returning this account back to
our client. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I want the business to send me a letter showing that this case is closed to keep for my record.


Regards,

***** ******

9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I requested validation of the the following debts accounts #******* & #******* (it is partial as I retrieved this from my credit report) on May 1st per Texas Finance Code Section 392.202 which requires a debt collection agency or credit bureau to provide the alleged debtor with specific information concerning their debt including but not limited to: For the purpose of validation your company was to provide me with: •The name and address of the original creditor •The original date of default or non-payment of the debt with original creditor •The date the debt was transferred from the original creditor to the third party debt collector •The original balance •The current balance •Any fees added by your agency. Sec. 392.303 (a)(2) •Texas Surety bond information as required by Sec. 392.101 Please note Transunion, Experian, and Equifax are bonded in the state of Texas and are required to comply with Texas Finance Code. Merchants and Professionals has failed to respond to my debt validation request, and has essentially admitted, per Texas Finance Code 392.202(b)(2), that the debt in question is inaccurate. Per this requirement Merchants and Professionals must delete this trade line since the company has had sufficient time to complete an investigation to validate this debt in 30 days according to Sec. 392.202 (d)(1) and failed to comply with the law.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the complete removal of this tradeline from all three major reporting agencies immediately and I request immediate notification by mail if this alleged debt is sold or transferred per Sec. 392.301 (a)(4).

Business Response: BBB- ***** ******* ******* ******* 8-28-14

We have not received a request for validation from Mr. ******* prior to today’s complaint
through the BBB. We will consider this as notification from him that he
requires validation of the two referenced accounts and will immediately contact
our clients for the documentation.


We always respond to validation requests.  We will either supply the requested
documentation or we will notify the person in writing that the account is being
cancelled because our client is unable to provide the necessary documents. 
Mr. ******* can expect one of the above two responses regarding the referenced accounts. 

 
Also, please note that we followed the law in notifying Mr. and Mrs. ******* of their right to
request validation of the accounts. Below is a brief history of both accounts. 
 

Account #******* was assigned to us July 23, 2012 in the
name of ***** *******. We mailed our required first notice on July 24, 2012. This
letter explains their right to request validation of the debt. Our letter was
not returned by the Post Office as undeliverable. We did not receive a response
from the *******’s. In our attempt to resolve the account we mailed several
more letters with no response to any of them. 
On August 23, 2012 we attempted to speak with them by phone. Mrs. **** *******
answered the phone, stated she was *****’s spouse but then refused to verify they
were the correct party by confirming their address.  She asked if this was for a debt collection;
we replied we need to verify we have the correct party.  She said she wouldn’t do that.  We
asked her to please have her husband call us back. He did not. We then sent more letters, to
which again, no response from the *******’s.

 
Account #******* was assigned to us March 6, 2013 in the
name of **** and ***** *******. We mailed our required first notice on March 8,
2013. Again, this letter explains their right to request validation of the
debt. Our letter was not returned as non-deliverable.  We sent several more letters and never
received a response from the *******’s. We made phone contact with **** ******* on April 5, 2013.
We gave her the required mini-miranda after she verified they were the correct party. Then we
told her we were calling about this account and she hung up without saying a
word. We sent several more letters with no response from the *******’s.

 

We gave them every opportunity to dispute these debts. We reiterate; we did not receive any letters
from the *******’s at any time. 
 

We will obtain the required validation from our clients and mail the documents to the address of
**** ****** ***** **** ****** ** ***** as soon as possible.

 

*** ********

********* **** *********

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** *******

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ********* ****** billed me on 3-24-14 for a work related accident. We contacted ***** ********* and told them they had billed wrong, they should have billed ********** *******.(as ****** ******* ******** had) I was not billed again & assumed they had corrected their mistake. I received a collections notice/threat from Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau dated 7-22-14. We made 2 calls to Merchants in an attempt to correct ***** *********'s mistake only receiving rhetoric & threats on our credit history. I will attempt to do ***** *********'s job and pass this bill from Merchants & Professional Credit Bureau on to my employer. I need to make sure this bill collector does not put this on my credit record. The total amount due was $31.00.

Desired Settlement: Letter of apology & proof this was not put on my credit history.

Business Response: BBB- ******* * ********* *******On August 7, 2014 Mrs. ****** ********* (*******’s wife) called our office and on August 11, 2014 ******* ********* called. They both stated this was a work related injury and that his employer should be billed. The problem is that we were told by them that his employer does not carry worker’s compensation insurance.  They wanted our client to send a bill to his employer.

Our client is prohibited from doing that since the employer doesn’t carry worker’s compensation insurance. It would be a violation of HIPAA and other privacy laws for our client to bill his employer. Our representatives tried to explain to both Mr. and Mrs. ********* that we could not contact his employer on his behalf and neither could our client. Our representatives tried to explain that he would need to present the bill to his employer and ask them to pay the bill.

Since our calls are recorded I listened to both phone calls. Mr. *********’s statement that they received “rhetoric & threats” from our representatives is an untrue statement. Our representative tried very hard to explain what needed to happen and why. Both of our representatives remained professional the entire phone calls with Mr. and Mrs. *********.  (The recording is available if anyone wishes to hear them.)

This account has not been placed on the credit file at this time.  If paid before the end of September it will never be placed on the credit file.  If the bill is not paid before the end of September it would be placed on the credit file, shortly thereafter, as an unpaid collection item.

If Mr. or Mrs. ********* would like to call me direct I will be happy to try and answer their questions. They can reach me at ###-###-####.

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have just had a second amputation on my right leg because the first doctor did a very poor job on it. I have home from the hospital five days and I get a letter form this credit bureau demanding I pay this bill in full. I called this bureau today and several times I was told if I yelled at them they would hang up. This was told to me before I did get upset. I tried to tell them I was making payments on this bill and that I should not have been reported to a collection agency. She tried to tell me that the sender could send to the credit bureau for collection anytime. I tried to tell her this was not right and she kept telling me it was the law. I tried to tell her I knew what the law was and they could not do this. I did keep getting louder and when I was asking her how a person that got only $1300 a month retirement could write checks for this amount of money, then she hung up on me. I then called the company who issued the bill to the credit agency and I think I got it resolved but this credit company defiantly does not need to be messing with peoples credit. I will lay odds that they have already done something to my credit. Please help solve this problem.Thank you ***** ********

Desired Settlement: Do to other reports from this agency that appear on my credit rating I expect my credit score to be improved greatly. They said they had two others on me but they or anyone else informed me I had an out standing debt.

Business Response: BBB- ***** ******** 3929498 7-23-14

 

 

Since we record our phone calls I listened to the call
between Mr. ******** and our representative. Our representative handled the
phone call professionally and was polite to Mr. ******** the entire call. She
did tell Mr. ******** that the client could assign an account with a remaining
balance at their discretion.  She did ask
Mr. ******** not to yell at her. She did disconnect the call after he got even
more upset and yelled even louder.

 

We contacted our client. They confirmed Mr. ******** contacted
them on July 21, 2014 and they agreed to let him make monthly payments. They
told us to not report his account to the credit file as long as he makes his
monthly payment.

 

This account has not been reported to any credit repository.

 

If any issues regarding his account arise in the future I
encourage Mr. ******** to contact me directly and I will assist him as best as
I can.

 

Thank you,

 

*** ********

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: They did not tell you the person wanted to argue with me instead of trying to solve the issue.  I was trying to let them know that I just had my right leg amputated for the 2nd time because the first doctor messed it up and that a person with my fixed income can not afford to write checks for the amount requested because other bills will suffer and then I will be reported to tem through someone else but I never got the chance because the lady hung up on me and did not care about my situation.  She made me stress level go up and since I am now diabetic she made my sugar level go extremely high.  If you know anything qbout diabetes then you know this is not good at a ll.

Regards,

***** ********

6/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This collection agency has refused to answer my demand for validation per State and Federal Collection and Reporting Laws. This debt collector placed marks on all my credit reports without proper notification, as I received no dunning notification per required by the FDCPA legislation. Improper collection activity Credit reporting is considered collection activity. I have previously sent a letter requesting validation of this debt, but they were unable to provide the requested information. I have disputed this account on my credit reports, the most recent disputed and the account was verified, to which I have no knowledge or documentation. I sent another letter to Merchants, requesting them to comply and provide validation of the debt allegedly owed, to which I again have not received a response. I checked my report today,06/11/2014 and I am still being burdened by the inaccurate reporting. I am requesting your office look into these allegations and help me procure a deletion from all credit reporting agencies until this company can successfully validate my debt as they are mandated by law to do. I am considering legal action against Merchants, however, I felt compelled to urge your office to help me in my crusade to remove Merchants and reestablish my name and credit. I am not sure if this debt is mine or not, however, their intentional act of misleading their reporting should be enough to sue them, and should be enough for your office to force their compliance in this issue. I hope you can help me out in this matter. Thank you very much for your time

Desired Settlement: remove what they are reporting on my credit report(s) immediately as they've failed to comply with the the law.

Business Response: BBB-*** *********** *******

 

Mr. *********** is mistaken in several of his comments.
Following are the facts of this account.

 

On July 11, 2012, as required by law, we sent our first
notice to Mr. ***********. This notice contained information on the account
along with information on his rights to dispute the accuracy of the account. It
also informed him that it may be reported to his credit file. Mr. ***********
did not respond to our letter and it was not returned by the Post Office.

 

We sent two more letters and again there was no response of
any sort. We then attempted to reach Mr. *********** by phone. After several
attempts we did make phone contact with him on August 17, 2012. Our phone calls
are recorded so I listened to this call.  We verified we had the correct party on the
phone and as required by law, gave Mr. *********** the mini-miranda for
collection accounts.

 

In his complaint to the BBB, Mr. *********** stated he isn’t
sure if this debt is his or not but, during our phone call, he confirmed that
our client did render him services but he said he had paid in full up front for
their services. We told him we would check with our client and if they showed
still owing we would request an itemized statement from them and then mail it
to him. We mailed the itemized statement on August 20, 2012 showing the amount
paid by his insurance, the amount he paid and the remaining balance due. We
gave Mr. *********** a week to contact us, he did not respond, so we again
attempted to contact him by phone. He never answered the phone or returned our
calls. We then sent three more letters to him with no response.

 

On July 1, 2013 (almost a year later) we received a dispute
letter from Mr. ***********. As required by law, we requested validation of the
account from our client. Due to the age of the account it took some time for
our client to gather the documents. But they did respond with proper
documentation on July 31, 2013 and we immediately mailed the validation
information to him that same day. He did not respond to our mailing.  Our mail was not returned by the Post Office.


 

On July 31, 2013 we also received a request from ******** to
verify that the account was being reported on the correct credit file. We
verified his name, address, and social security number.

 

On June 10, 2014 (again, almost a year later) we received a
letter from him that stated in part that he is not disputing the validity of
the debt but simply requesting proof on the debt. As of today, we are mailing
the information we sent to him in July of 2013 by certified mail.

 

As you can see, we have made every attempt possible to
communicate with him and have sent him all the documentation he requested. This
is a validated debt and we deny the account is reported inaccurately.  Also, there is no “intentional act of
misleading” of our reporting. We have reported this account as a “disputed
account” (as required by law) since July 2013.

 

One last thing, on both of the letters we received from him he
listed his address as **** *****
**** and that is where we have sent all correspondence. On the file from the
BBB his address is shown as ****
***** ****. If this is in fact his address then his correspondence to us should
have had that same address. If the **** is an incorrect address, and he will
let us know, I will forward the validation paperwork to that address.

 

  

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  I cannot accept the response because I have not received "validation" per Federal Law yet.  They stated in their response that they sent it but I haven't received it hence, I haven't reviewed it.  They offer no proof that they have provided anything to me ever.  And they continue to damage me financial while violating the law.

They allude to some conversation, which I have no recollection of and would be hardly admissible in collection of a debt. In fact the recording of a phone conversation for the purposes of collecting a debt doesn't seem quite legal, so when I complain to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau regarding this collection agencies failure to abide the regulations I will furnish them their admission of recording conversations (or if they actually didn't falsely claiming recording conversations to help aid them in the collection of a debt would be illegal - false statements are illegal)    

That does not excuse the fact that they still haven't "validated" the debt.  And I bet that if and when I do receive something in the mail from them it will be deficient to validate.  They fail to even show a contractual relationship between me and them - why would I pay them?  Where's the contract?  Where's my specific permission and authorization under § 805.  Communication in connection with debt collection   [15 USC 1692c] (b) COMMUNICATION WITH THIRD
PARTIES.  Except as provided in section 804, without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector, or the express permission of
a court of competent jurisdiction, or as reasonably necessary to effectuate a post judgment judicial remedy, a debt collector may not communicate, in
connection with the collection of any debt, with any person other than a consumer.  There is NO permission granted by the law for you to be allowed to report anything to a 3rd party.


Where is this VALIDATION the state they have given, and is it complete?  The law says they can not verify the information and continue collection efforts without validating this debt.

Regards,

*** ***********

Business Response: In response to Mr. ***********’s statement that he hasn’t
received our client’s validation of his debt: we mailed the first validation
July 31, 2013 and it was not returned by the Post Office to us. Our second
mailing just occurred. We mailed it by certified mail on June 13, 2014. We have
not received a signature card from the Post Office and have not received our
package back from the Post Office.

 

Regarding his comments about our recording of phone calls:
in the state of Texas recording of phone calls are legal as long as one party
of the phone call is aware of the call being recorded. Our representatives are
aware they are being recorded. We use these recordings for training and support
issues.

 

If Mr. *********** would like to contact me by phone or come
to our office I will play the recording of the phone call for him.

 

Regarding his comment of not having a “contractual
relationship” with us: services were rendered by our client and he signed their
“Consent to Services” form. We don’t purchase debts. Our clients assign their
accounts to us when they become delinquent.

 

Regarding his statement that he didn’t give us permission to
report this account: The law he is quoting does not pertain to reporting
information to a credit file. Our government does make some strange laws but
even they realize that if it was a requirement that consumers have to give permission
before anything derogatory was reported then everyone would have a perfect
record because permission would NEVER be given.

 

The law states that when written dispute of a debt is
received we must validate and we have. The law states when an account is
disputed by the consumer we have to report it as disputed on their credit file
and we have.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I still have received nothing in the mail from Merchants.  Nor have I received that form they say I signed gives them the right to become a party to any contract, nor that I signed permitting them to report anything on my credit report.

Further, I beg to differ regarding their response that they are allowed to report information about me to a 3rd party under: § 805.  Communication in connection with debt
collection   [15 USC 1692c]

Let us examine the exact language:

"COMMUNICATION WITH THIRD PARTIES. --Except as provided in Section 804, without the prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector,
or the express permission of a court of competent jurisdiction, or as reasonably necessary to effectuate a post judgment judicial remedy, a debt
collector may not communicate, in connection with the collection of any debt, with any person other than the consumer, his attorney, a consumer reporting
agency if otherwise permitted by law, the creditor, the attorney of the creditor, or the attorney of the debt collector."

Here is how I see it is written:

Look where the comma is after that part..."a consumer reporting agency if otherwise permitted by law,... See, the comma comes after the "if
otherwise" not before. It is specifically targeted to the consumer reporting agency. You know it’s not permitted by law or else they would have
put it at the end of the whole list of who they "may communicate" with, to include all of them. Punctuation is very important in law. They are
being sneaky!

This may not be how Merchants nor many other collection agencies practice the law, however, the law is the law.  And they've been doing it wrong for years!  And this could be a giant problem for collection agencies throughout the country.  They have caused damages to millions of consumers credit by breaking the law.  Think of the damages $$$.  

And regarding recording phone calls.  They hide behind a flimsy State law.  Well I'm going to rely on the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau, which is the new sheriff in town, with unlimited budget to determine "right" from "wrong" and Debt Collectors need to be especially careful regarding consumers, and everything they do to a consumer that is in order to “collect a debt” must be definitely spelled out and a warning must precede
it.  You certainly gave no warning that you were recording a phone call that is being used in order to “collect a debt”. 

The CFPB is a very fluid and broad interpretation organization and will consider “bad behavior”, not just the “law”
in fining Merchants and put an end to their unfair tactics.  Furthermore, the Federal Fair Debt Collection Practices Act prohibits:  “unfair” means to collect or attempt to collect a debt.  I’d consider failure to notify a consumer that a call is being recorded to collect a debt as falling within "unfair".

And even if a consumer in a phone conversation, without seeing anything in writing, given the voluminous nature of doctors and medical bills in today's society - "admitted" (and who knows what their definition of "admitted" to owing the debt in a mere phone conversation means) the consumer given the lack of physical proof, against a slick on the phone collection agent, could easily have confused one bill or debt for another.  After all this was truly a stealth phone conversation that only the professional collection agent knew was recorded and he/she knew what the mission was - to get admission to a alleged debt and payment for that alleged debt, without showing any proof of the alleged debt over the phone from an unsuspecting consumer, whether it is owed or NOT.  So he/she could make a buck!

I have been damaged by this Collection Agency financially with the resent lack of purchasing power and higher interest rates on resent purchased that has been cause specifically by Merchants and will be looking to collect from them, if they don't stop damaging NOW.  

Merchants has not just damaged me, but many consumers using the same "unfair" and as far as I read the law illegal reporting of information on consumers credit reports without "prior consent of the consumer given directly to the debt collector"

I see major damages to consumers by this collection agency.  Perhaps a class-action suite is needed to bring them into line with consumer rights and the law.

Regards,

*** ***********

1/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Secondary Nature of Compliant: Failure to provide assistance and inappropriate behaviour of personnel I received a letter from said collector stating a 48 hour notice of further action if I did not do X Y or Z, ASAP. I was later told "oh we only send those just to get you to call" This letter was an inclusion of not one account from one doctor but three separate doctors from three entirely different practices (one of the doctors they had listed as four separate account balances so it showed as 7 accounts totaled). Merchants claimed that they were taking 48 hour action in Totality on ALL accounts even though they were soul and separate and unrelated. All accounts needed to be handled separately, especially since each one had a very specific circumstance. Two of them I had only three weeks ago ask for verification of debt and just four days prior received said verification. The others (the four separate but really all one account from the same doctor I had only just received notice two days prior from Merchants and the accounts never should have gone to collections to begin with. A further follow up call to Vitalogy skin confirmed this and an arrangement and account hold was made with *****) Since I had just received the debt verification. I had not even had time to get with the doctor my records or Merchants to do my verification. My 30 days was violated for my side of the debt verification. As I was trying to explain this to ***** and *** on the afternoon of October 2, 2013, both men were rude and belligerent. ***** just repeated what I said and told me I wasted 7 minutes of his time, told me to hold in the middle of our conversation with no explanation as to why and left me there for 10 minutes. I hung up and called back asking for a manager. I then spoke with ***. Who said "big deal ***** took another call more important then you" I was not their customer, the doctors are and they do not have to do anything for me or to help me. I told him the could not bundle up all different accounts with different time periods and different things going on. He said he could do anything he wanted. I hung up and proceeded to call on the Vitalogy skin accounts and ***** did verify the error and put an account hold. I'm still working on the two other older accounts to clear up those problems since I did just receive the debt verification information within my rights. I did not appreciate the threatening letter, the rudeness, the lack of attention or unprofessionalism from this company. There are and were errors to be addresses. Even the business office at one of the doctors office admitted that as is appalled at Merchants behaviour. I called them in order to fix the problem. I did not ignore. I was instead treated extremely horribly. It does not help my medical issues.

Desired Settlement: I would like all negative reporting by Merchants removed promptly from my Credit. I would like Merchants to honor the account hold from Vitalogy skin in accordance with my agreement and the Business office staff and recognize it is NOT 3 or 4 separate accounts but one account. Sometimes things are not what they look like, do not be so fast as to argue with someone. I would like Merchants to cease and desist all contact with me in accordance to the Fair Credit Reporting Act. I will not be subjected to any further rude behaviour. I will handle the balance with the doctor's office s without their further intervention or heartache on my health. I would like Merchants to recognize that how they handled this situation was in error both in how they combined all the accounts and how their employees spoke to me on the phone so it will not happen again in accordance to the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Business Response: BBB Complaint: ******** ****** Case ID #*******
 

Ms. ******’s complaint that we failed to provide assistance
is not accurate. She called our office on September 5, 2013 questioning one of
her accounts. We offered to mail her an itemized statement on that account and
one on a second account that we brought to her attention. She stated we could
mail them to the address we had on file. We mailed both itemized statements on
September 13, 2013. On September 17, 2013, another client assigned four
accounts with different dates of service. As required by law, we sent the first
notification letter on September 18, 2013 on each of these individual accounts.
On September 23, 2013 we attempted to contact her by phone. When we called her
number there was not an answer but a few minutes later she called and stated she
was not ******** ****** and did not know that person. Even though the phone
number was the same one she had called us from on September 5th. (Also,
I listened to the recorded phone calls we have from her phone number, it sounds
like the same person.) Regardless, since we could not reach her by phone, we
sent out a letter on September 26, 2013. She called us on October 2, 2013. Our
representative attempted to answer her questions but at one point, he had to
ask her to hold. She was on hold approximately two and a half minutes when she
hung up and called back to our office asking to speak with a manager. She was
transferred to a manager. Mr. ******* tried to answer her questions but she
became upset. She said she was put on hold for “an inexcusable amount of time” and
called us “crooks”. She told him we can’t collect on all these accounts at one
time because that is against the law. He was telling her it was not illegal
when she hung up on him.

 

Let me clarify our procedures on new accounts.  As new accounts are assigned and entered into
our system they are “linked” to other accounts in the system and “packeted” so
that we work them at the same time. Each account will get a required individual
first notification letter but after this first individual contact we work the
accounts at the same time. If we didn’t do this, then we would be making
numerous calls and sending numerous letters to an individual that would then be
construed as harassment.

 

One of our clients, Vitalogy Skincare, did contact us on
October 22, 2013 instructing us to put their four accounts on a hold until
further notice.

 

Vitalogy Skincare has given us permission to remove their
accounts from the credit report. We have notified the bureaus to delete
immediately. We will not remove the other client’s accounts from her credit
report; as per our clients, they remain unpaid past due collection accounts. We
will cease and desist contact with her based on her request through the BBB
complaint.

 

I do want to say that I have listened to all of the phone
calls between her and our representatives and the supervisor who spoke with
her. None of them were ever rude to her. If Ms. ****** or you would like to
listen to the phone calls, please contact me and I’ll be happy to play them.

 

If Ms. ****** would like to contact me directly I encourage
her to do so and will try to answer her questions or work with her in resolving
her accounts.  

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
I am rejecting their response because it still contains many untruths  and slanderis remarks towards myself.  I realize they are trying to protect their company but they were rude, hung up on me, never sent me itemized statements, left me on hold, I been this waiting three months to respond even to THIS complaint with the  BBB and took over five weeks to stop sending me bills from Vitaology Skin even after they were told not to.  I received three more bills from them.

This company twists the truth and has a blatant disregard for customers, clients, and authority. 

First I never received itemized statements from them.  Only more billing statements.
Second, I NEVER told them I was NOT me on a phone call.  I called them back or let it roll to my answering service.  But saying I claimed not to be myself is slander and a lie in a pile of the rest of their lies. I don't care what they say they do or don't have chopped up tapes. I do have a 25 yr old daughter who sounds nearly like me. However to make such a horrid accusation is criminal. 
Third, I WAS disconnected when put on hold by your rude agents. I did not hang up. Again. You turned it on me. Poor form.
Fourth when I tried to speak to a manager he was a rude  man who basically told me I was none of his concern and he didn't care about me only the people he was collecting for.  So why would I want to "further discuss and clarify" this with you?  This is why I went to the BBB and then it took three months and two complaints for you to respond to them.

If they continued to make such remarks I will no other recourse than to seek legal counsel. Collectors have to be aware of what they say.  I can say you are rude and a crook.

I am overburdened with medical bills and doing what I can to pay everyone what I can. Unfortunatley some things go to bad collectors like you in a very short 90 days before arrangements and insurance has been paid. I will deal with the doctors directly not crooks, yes I do claim that one that lie and say you are will ruin my credit if I don't pay you ASAP.  Listen to  your own tapes on that one.
Regards,

******** ******

5/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
9/17/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
9/5/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
6/29/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/27/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/19/2012 Billing/Collection Issues