Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

National Bankcard Systems Inc

Phone: (512) 494-9200 Fax: (512) 344-2956 View Additional Phone Numbers 5725 W Highway 290 Ste 105, Austin, TX 78735 http://www.enbs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that National Bankcard Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for National Bankcard Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on National Bankcard Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 04, 1998 Business started: 06/10/1997 in TX Business started locally: 06/10/1997 Business incorporated 06/10/1997 in TX
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Joe Brannon Mr. Peter Estep, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Joe Brannon
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service Credit Card - Merchant Services


Additional Locations

  • 5725 W Highway 290 Ste 105

    Austin, TX 78735 (800) 550-7892 (512) 494-9200 (888) 898-8416

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I ended my services with National Bank Card Services 50 months ago they were called National Bankcard services, now they are called the "Merchant Store." Their toll free number is ###-###-#### or ###-###-#### Their address is **** ** *** *** ***** *** ******* ** ***** Their web address is **************** This quoted passage below comes directly form their website. They claim to be honest, but they took $14.75 from me for 50 months. By law they only had to refund me for 3 months, which they did, but honest is not stealing 47 months worth of money from for no service in return. Recently I had a similar situation with Amazon in which both my husband and I had signed up for Amazon Prime. It took me 2 years to figure out we were being doubled charged, but it was no problem with Amazon, as they have amazing customer service and refunded me for the last 2 years for services not rendered. Sometimes morality and what is right and fair rises above what the law makers have to say. "The Merchant Store is a full-service merchant service provider. We specialize in all types of electronic transaction processing including credit and debit cards, electronic checks, gift and loyalty cards, and more. Our core focus is providing honest services, reasonable prices, and the best support anywhere." IF THE MERCHANT STORE DOES NOT REFUND ME FOR THE ADDITIONAL 47 MONTHS OF SERVICES NOT RENDERED AND $693.25 OF STOELN MONEY I WILL GIVE THEM HORRIBLE REVIEWS ON ANY SITE I CAN FIND REGARDING MERCHANT SERVICES. Thanks, ***** ###-###-#### CELL ********* ***** ***** **** ******* *** ***** *** ********** ** ****###-###-#### ***************************

Desired Settlement: I would like my money back for services not rendered. They stole money from me for 50 months and by law only had to refund me for 3 months. Terrible law. They have refunded me for the 3 months they have to by law, which is admitting they were in the wrong and now they are hiding behind a bad law to keep 47 months worth of revenue that they did nothing to earn. 14.75 X 47 months is $693.25. I want a refund please!

Business Response: We have looked into this complaint, and our findings are below.  This complaint has been updated by the BBB to the correct business name as The Merchant Store is contracted to handle phone support for National Bankcard Systems customers.  The Merchant Store has not been charging this customer nor do they have any direct control over charges that originate from National Bankcard Systems.

To address *****’s compliant, after her original contact, National Bankcard Systems received a ticket to refund her for 3 months of the $14.75 charges totaling $44.25 for our benefits package which provides a life time warrantee on the merchant’s processing devices as well as terminal supplies.  Shortly after the refund was processed a new ticket was opened to further review the account, requesting 47 months of additional charges. 

After reviewing the account we did find that the business closed their merchant account in April 2011, but didn’t not indicate that they wanted to close their benefits account which warrantees any processing devices regardless of processor.  If the merchant had requested to close the benefits account at the same time they requested their merchant account to be closed, their last billing would have been May 2011, as the system bills for the previous month’s service.  That being the case we feel the merchant is disputing charges between June 2011 and March 2015, or 44 months of which 3 have already been refunded.  

Over the past 44 months we were not given any indication that the merchant didn’t want or need the service and had we been notified we would of promptly stop charging the customer, as we did after her contact with The Merchant Store earlier this month. 

We are willing to extend the refund beyond 3 months, however there is a certain amount of responsibility on behalf of the account holder to look out for any debits/credits that they feel are incorrect and alert the involved parties in a timely manner.  We are will to go back as far as our system logs indicate the customer has been charged, 30 total months, as we can see during that time the customer didn’t have any warrantee requests.

The remaining refund due at that point would be 27 months, or an additional, $398.25.

Consumer Response:

From: ***** ****** [mailto:***********@**********
Sent: Tuesday, April 14, 2015 2:03 PM
To: info
Subject: ********

 

Hi BBB, 

I am writing in response to National Bank Card Services/Merchant store in regard to their response to me about stealing my money without permission for the last several months.  

 

I agree that I should have noticed that they were stealing my money, but honestly I ended my contract in good faith that charges to my account would end.  This is how things work in an honest world.  

 

I was never told that I needed to request to close my 'benefits account" in  addition to ending my merchant services with this company.  It was never brought to my attention, hence the reason I had no reason to believe they were still taking my money.  As I mentioned in my original complaint I saw the charges but thought they were connected one of my other merchant service accounts.   

 

For the record I was never told about a "benefits account"  and I have no idea how it affected me other than serving as an excuse to steal my money. 

 

Ideally I would get all the money this company stole from me, but if they refund me 27 months that would noted in the online reviews I give to the company.  

 

If they are willing to refund me 27 months why have they not done so already?  It should have been  an instant refund in my opinion and it should include all 44 months.  The total stolen from my business account was 47 months at $14.75 per month.  The company did refund me for 3 months, bringing the total of stolen money down to 44 months and $649.

 

Thanks, 

***** ******

********

Business Response: *****,

Sorry about the delay here.  Any and all refunds are processed once monthly towards the end of the month.

After further review of the account history we have decided to refund the remaining $649.00.  The refund has already been processed and we expect the funds to be in your account between the 1st and the 4th of May.

Thanks





 

9/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has processed unauthorized ACH debits against my bank account over the course of several years. They have indicated error on their behalf and promised to return the funds via a ACH credit. They have not been forcomming in returning the funds. (74) ACH debits at $ 14.00 each

Desired Settlement: ACH credit that has been promised and is due amount $ 1036.00 encompasing (74) deductions at $ 14.00 each

Business Response: After looking into the complaint it looks like we agreed with him originally and agreed to do a full refund.   We have since attempted to refund his bank account twice and both attempts were rejected by his bank.  I have attached record of both attempts here.

He need to contact his bank and request that they rejected our ACH's so we can fund his bank account.  Also our ACH system only goes back 36 months, so we would also like his bank to fax us the total that was charged so we have it for our records.  Please fax to ************

Please let us know when the bank is faxing over the requested records, and when they will be ready to accept the refund.  From there we will make a 3rd attempt.

Thanks
***

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** (****) ******

I have faxed over the requested documents to the number provided and have a confirmation of fax sucess on file
I have a resource at my bank that is and has offered to assit The Merchant Store in making the transaction.  They have not seen any attempts thus far to my account for a credit as all attempts are recorded.  The resource is listed on the 5 page fax.   I have also attached the fax here.
How do I gain access to these attached ACH credit attempts so my bank can review them as they are ready to assist.
Regards
****

Business Response: In order to make sure we don't run into issue again, we have decided to send a check for the full refund amount. 

Please provide a mailing address where we are able to mail the check.

Thanks
***

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

**** (****) ******

The check can be mailed to the below address.  Once recieved I will revise the incident to acceptably closed

**** (****) ******
***** *********** ** ******** ***** *****

Regards
****

9/21/2012 Billing/Collection Issues