Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The BankCard Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for The BankCard Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The BankCard Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2011 Business started: 11/03/2005 Business started locally: 11/03/2005 Business incorporated 11/03/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Jayme Mathis, Executive Vice President Mr. John Mott, Executive Vice President Mr. Timothy Ligon, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Gina Meegan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jayme Mathis, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Gina Meegan, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. John Mott, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services Online Payments Gift Certificates/Cards Credit Card Processing Service

Alternate Business Names
National Merchant Services LTD.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The BankCard Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17353 Bell North Dr Ste 104

    Schertz, TX 78154 (866) 412-0717

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was approached by a local rep (*********** **) for their company at my sports bar telling me he could get me a better rate than the merchant services company I had. He showed me a lower rate an said he would take care of closing out my other account an send them their equipment back so that I would not be charged any fees from them for switching it before my contract with them was up. He repeatedly told me before an after signing with him an The BankCard Group that he would take care of it all for me switching to them. I switched an then for 5 months I was repeatedly charged by the other company for a minimum acct fee and he NEVER closed out my account with them an finally I had to make several calls to get it closed myself after he had taken their processor an equipment to send back. He told me month after month of me calling an texting him that I was still being charged by the other company that he was taking care of it an that they were closing it. The total money they took from my account since he did not close it as he stated an promised in front of several of my employees was $369. Then he also stated that there would be NO yearly fee that he would waive that for me switching and then I was charged by his company The BankCard Group a yearly fee of $99. Then he had stated an promised to lower the monthly fee and never did after several months of regular charges totaling around $140. Then he swore that he was working with the company to resolve the issues an get me a refund of all those fees mentioned above. I called the company early Feb to see what the deal was an to let them know that after several weeks of me texting, emailing an calling him he would not reply at all an had not got my refund issued.. They were suppose to check into it an get back to me. He the same day finally called me back an said they were still working on it.. It was pretty cut an dry as he verbally an by texts stated about getting me my refund. I had to switch bank accounts an he came out the first of Feb an did the paperwork an the new account was not suppose to take effect until March 4th, the day before we reopened at a new location an the old account was suppose to have been closed that day as the business was temporarily closed due to moving, He then stated in front of one of the new owners an another that the other would close an the new would go into effect March 4th. I received a letter from the bank of old account showing The BankCard Group tried to take out 2 fees on March 3rd from the account that was suppose to be closed an caused an over draft which then cost me $70 to fix. Then also they took the same day $59 from the new account an we weren't even open yet an had not used the services yet as it was scheduled for March 4th. I called an texted him immediately and when he called me back he said he would get it taken care of once again. He also said he was still trying to get the other prior refunds. I told him specifically I wanted answers by close of business and did not hear back from him yesterday (3/7/16). I then called to customer service today (3/8/16) at The BankCard Group AGAIN an told them the prior issue had not been resolved an then of the new issue of March 3rd with charging BOTH accounts. I spoke with the same female I had talked to in early Feb. She assured me she would refund the new charges an get with the rep an see what the deal was an that she or her manager would call me back today and I informed her if not then I would proceed with whatever action I could to get the issues resolved. I did NOT hear back from her or her manager regarding the issues an my complaints. I got a text from the local rep stating he was working on it as he had said for months!!!! This is absolutely fraud an deceit by a rep an a company after it's brought to their attention.

Desired Settlement: I want refunded to me by the company what was promised by the local rep Christopher Buckner verbally an by texts an with witnesses present. Also what the customer service agreed on as well. The total as of right now is $869. That does NOT include all the anxiety, time wasted on having to call, email an text the rep an the company.

Business Response:

BBB Corporate Office

***** ****** ******

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

P: ***** ********

F: ***** ********

Date: March 11, 2016   

Complaint ID: ********

Dear ****** *******

This letter addresses two separate businesses so we will address Gone Country Gift Shop first. This account was changing ownership during the month of February 2016. The owner ***** ******** had processing in the month of February. There is a monthly minimum on all agreements and this account was billed for the processing of those batches and the month end fees. All is valid billing and in the merchant services agreement. However, since the new owners also boarded accounts with us in the middle of the month we submitted a refund for the difference of the minimum on 03/11/2016, therefore this account was only billed for the processing fees that were deposited and for services rendered. In addition the new account that was set up was also refunded since processing had not begun yet.

Attached is this merchant services agreement and the final statement to show we only billed what was processed and the refund amount of $31.69 reflected the difference of what was billed.

Gone Country Sports Bar had processing in the month of October 2015 so that was a valid billing cycle. In the merchant services agreement it states that we will bill minimums until we are notified to cancel and free equipment is returned. The BankCard Group received equipment in February of 2016 and closed that account with no early termination fee since they were out of business. In addition we refunded all billing back to the month of October which was the last date of processing.

Attached is the merchant services agreement stating the equipment was free and that we bill until it is returned. Also attached are the statements reflecting back to the last month processed and add up to the total refund that was submitted of $342.60.

In summary both accounts had been handled prior to us receiving this complaint and accounts refunded accordingly. If you have any additional questions regarding this merchant service account please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Office Manager

The BankCard Group

***** ********


Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

ID # ********- The BankCard Group

I did not respond to the company's reply as I was awaiting to see when I received the partial refund that they stated they were refunding and I still have NOT received it.  I have not heard anything back from them per our last conversation either. 

Regards,

Kathy Luttrell

Business Response:

BBB Corporate Office

***** ****** ******

1005 La Posada Drive

Austin, TX 78752

P: ***** ********

F: ***** ********

Date: April 5, 2016      

Complaint ID: ********

Dear ****** *******

This letter will again addresses two separate businesses so we will address Gone Country Gift Shop first. As stated in the previous letter we issued a refund for $31.69, refunds are issued to the account listed on file. This refund was processed on 03/14/2016. However, the bank account was listed as closed and the bank retuned the deposit to R02-Account Closed. At that time we submitted to have a check issued and mailed and to the address we have on file. Please remember that all of this is a process. We deposited to your financial institution and then ut takes several does for us to receive the notification that you closed the bank account. At that time it gets researched in accounting and then I am notified in how we would like to proceed. So the process to issue a check had already been submitted. If you do not receive the check please call us so we can research if it has been cashed or not.

This brings us to Gone Cone Country Sports Bar. Again the bank account was closed and the same detailed procedure as above was followed. A check is already in the process of being issued. The bank account on file was listed as closed and the deposit was returned R02-Account Closed.

In summary both accounts had again been handled prior to us receiving this complaint and accounts refunded accordingly.  The process would have been much faster had the accounts we have listed on file would not have been closed. Attached are copies of the deposit and trace information that were originally submitted, please keep in mind that deposits take place 2-3 business days after submission. If you have any additional questions regarding this merchant service account please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Office Manager

The BankCard Group

***** ********


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
  I had spoken to Gina over a month ago an per our phone conversation she was told that both the initial gift shop an the sport's bar bank accounts had been closed. She acknowledged that an said at that time she would go ahead an put in for a paper check to be issued because I asked then how it would be refunded since I had to close the accounts to keep their company from taking out further money that was not suppose to be taken out as they had been doing for almost 6 months. Our conversation by phone where you acknowledged the refund an putting in for a paper check was right before your initial first reply to this complaint. So you knew the accounts had been closed. 

In addition, I still want to be refunded the money that was taken out of my account by the prior credit processing company that I had when your local rep Christopher Buckner lied to me repeatedly an provided false an misleading information to get me to switch to your company, which I unfortunately did.  With that being said he took their credit processing equipment an said he would return it to them an have my account with them closed.  I have several texts an emails where we discussed it over several months when I kept telling him they were continuing to take money every month from my account.  He swore to me an texted that he was taken care of it.  So for over 6 months they continued to take money out of my account an I had to continue to call them an finally in late January they said they could not close my account because they had not yet received their equipment back.  I immediately contacted him an he said he had taken care of it.  After another month of them debiting my account I called back an he had FINALLY sent them their equipment over 6 months after HE took it from the sports bar. The total they took out was $40.00 a month an their yearly fee of $125.00, for a total of $405.00.    I understood your reply in our phone conversation that you can't be responsible for money another company took out of my account, but with that said the company would have NOT taken that money out of my account if YOUR local rep Christopher Buckner had not took their equipment an kept it for over 6 months. So I do believe that would make it your company's fault.  

In reply to the refunds you stated you were giving, the amounts do not cover everything that is owed to me by your company's local reps mistakes an not doing his job. He took your company's equipment also in October of last year an the sports bar account with you'll was suppose to be closed then.  He didn't turn it in til Feb. 4 months later. So in you continuing to take money for that account it caused my bank account to be overdrawn because you were double dipping into it for that account an for the gift shop account I had opened which had the same bank account.  He repeatedly assured me month after month that he was getting it all refunded. The overdraft fees your double dipping caused were in the total amount of $102.50.   So that is another total amount of $507.50 that your company owes me.   

I also would like to have my current account with you'll closed come April 30th 2016 and no other fees be taken out of the bank account. No early termination fee since your local rep Christopher Buckner has caused me so much stress, undue hardship an a lot of time in trying to get this straight.


Regards,

Kathy Luttrell

Business Response:

Date: May 17, 2016

Complaint ID: ********

DearBBB,

This letter is to address an issue that was brought up previously and discussed. The BankCard Group cannot refund what another company has billed you. The BankCard Groups refund policy is to review a dispute within 30 days of the billing cycle. We refunded 3 months minimums of 61.90 plus the November billing of 156.90 (this is the bill that included the 95.00 annual fee that you are disputing and that was already refunded). The total refund of 342.60 was sent by check and cashed.

As a processor we cannot cancel any of your personal accounts, we are considered an uninterested third party. You the merchant are responsible for cancelling your other merchant services accounts and this was part of the prior conversation that we had.

In addition you also state this went on for over 6 months. You processed in October 2016 and were refunded everything from November 2016 through February 2016, four months. The statements are attached again so that you can verify the totals refunded as well as to assist in when your last processing statement should have been.

As far as the Merchant service account Gone Country Gift Shop it is under a three year agreement, so an early termination fee should apply. This fee will be waived once the free equipment is returned to our office. The merchant is responsible for all monthly fees owed through the month the terminal is received. This agreement and terms and conditions are attached. There is personal information whited out since you are not the authorized signor on this account or even on the documents to make decisions for this business.

All documentation for mentioned accounts with terms and conditions as well as statements are attached. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely, 

 

                        **** ******

                          Office Manager

                             The BankCard Group   ***** ********

2/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
2/3/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When the representative ***** ******* came into our office he advised us there would not be a cancellation fee if we ever decided to cancel with his company, then today we called to see about cancelling and they said there would be a $495 charge to cancel. They also stated when we signed up that the terminal was free. Now we are getting billed $19.95 for 48 months for the terminal.

Desired Settlement: We should not be charged for cancelling since their rep ***** ******* told us we were under no contract and that we could cancel any time. We want all billing to be stopped for the $19.95/month for the terminal since we signed a contract for a free terminal.

Business Response:

*** ********* ****** ***** ****** ****** **** ** ****** ***** ******* ** ***** ** ***** ******** ** ***** ********

Date: December 30, 2015

Complaint ID: ********

Dear ****** *******

Shown in attached documents this merchant signed the original merchant service agreement on April 29, 2015. On that date there was also a Free Terminal agreement that was completed and sent to the merchant for processing. Our industry has implemented EMV technology and new piece of equipment was needed with this programming in order to process EMV cards.

On October 28, 2015 this merchant representative met with her and let her know that we could upgrade that equipment for 19.95 a month in a lease. She signed and agreed to the lease. The leasing company also reached out to the merchant to verify the lease agreement prior to approving the lease.

The leasing company is First Data Leasing and on November 10, 2015 ******* ******** signed the Delivery and Acknowledgement form stating she received the equipment and it was in working order. We require a copy of the driver’s license to also verify signatures to commence the lease. Copies of all of the following documents are attached.

The merchant placed a phone call to cancel services and switch providers on December 22,2015. There is a $495.00 early termination fee for cancelling the merchant service agreement and at that time we forwarded all documents requested to the merchant. Also attached is the faxed confirmation of all documents sent.

Several attempts to reach this merchant were made to see how she wished to proceed and she stated that she wished for the account to be closed so the $495.00 early termination fee was billed. The lease agreement is through First Data Global Leasing and ******* ******** would need to contact them directly to go over cancelling the lease at this time.

If you have any additional questions regarding this merchant service account please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Office Manager

The BankCard Group

***** ********

*Attached are 26 pages including merchant agreement and lease information completed.


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The reason we even switched to The Bank Card Group was because their sales rep said it is a month to month contract and there would be no cancellation fee. This sounded great because we are a seasonal business and close during winter months so we could cancel at anytime with no fee and then start back up when ever we open back up. I explained all this to **** and she said she would contact the rep that came into our business and we also tried contacting him but he never answered and **** apparently was unable to get in touch with him. As far as the equipment goes there was never any discussion that we would be on a leas at $19.95 for 48 months. The rep came in and said we should be getting a new terminal and to call him as soon as it comes in. We did receive the terminal and contacted the rep he came in  and hooked the machine up and said I need you to sign the form stating I was here and I hooked the machine up and that he would fill in the date and any other office information. We contacted First Data and after we received the lease agreement with them and they stated they had never even heard of the bank card group. So no we do not feel as if we should have to pay the $495.00 cancellation fee since we were never under any contract except a month to month basis, they have done nothing but lie to us and give us false information and if they are giving a company our personal checking information with out our knowledge I am concerned about my customers information. I think this is a fraudulent company that tells you one thing and then turns around and tries to get money from you.  

Regards,

******* ********

Business Response:

*** ********* ****** ***** ****** ****** **** ** ****** ***** ******* ** ***** ** ***** ******** ** ***** ********

Date: January 12, 2016

Complaint ID: ********

Dear ****** *******

The BankCard Group does have the ability to stop billing during the months that the account is not processing. That is different than closing the account. ******* ******** called to close the account and that is when the early termination fee was applied. Again closing the account is different than placing the account on a seasonal status.

The First Data Lease agreement was completed at 19.95 a month for 48 months. Below is the process for leased equipment:

  • The representative went over the lease agreement and then submits to the corporate office.
  • First Data places an outbound call to the business confirming the lease request.
  • The equipment is then delivered to the merchant.
  • The representative then has the merchant complete a Delivery and Acceptance form that states they have received the equipment and it is in working order.
  • That Delivery and Acceptance is submitted to First Data and the lease is then complete and in progress.

The representative was contacted in regards to this account and all the information was confirmed. That the account can be a seasonal account and will not be billed during the off season. A call would need to be placed to let us know that you are going into your seasonal status. Then once the account is to be utilized a call 48 hours in advance to make active again. This is different than cancelling the account. Cancelling or closing the account and switching providers does have a early termination fee if closed prior to the three year agreement.

Again the documents for the lease that were completed are attached and the signatures are the merchants and the lease was verified in several different manners on different occasions.

If you have any additional questions regarding this merchant service account please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,

**** ******

Office Manager

The BankCard Group

***** ********


Consumer Response:

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
 Again this was not the agreement that was made between our company and ***** ******* that was representing The BankCard Group. He was very adamant about the fact that we could CANCEL at anytime and there would be NO cancellation fees. I asked him several times to make sure we were both on the same page that if we would switch to his company and then decided we did not want to keep them as our card processing company we could cancel and there would be no fees. He assured us over and over that their company had no hidden fees and that there
would not be any cancellation fees. As far as the terminal goes and the lease they are claiming we signed. I contacted First Data and they sent back a letter stating we had been with their company since 2012 and have already made 27 payments. How is this correct if we just switched to the BankCard Group May 1st of 2015 and then was supposedly changed terminals and signed a lease in November 2015. Your company is based on lies. I believe your company forges documents and lies to companies just to get their money. I don't think **** has any grounds to speak on this matter anyway considering all correspondence was made with ***** *******. You are just taking the word of a sales rep out to make money and not listing to the fact that he promised us there was no cancellation fees, no statements fees, and no equipment fees. ALL LIES FROM THE BANKCARD GROUP.   
 Best Regards,

******* ********

Business Response:

I have spoken with the owners and we have decided to cancel this merchants lease. Since it is already closed I am not sure how to get this to the merchant and post this so it resolves the issue. Can you please assist me? Thank you in advance for your help.

 

Thank you,

**** ******

The Bankcard Group

************ *******

4/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Merchant Services (aka - The BankCard Group) called my company and claimed to be my payment card processor. They stated that I needed to update my card scanner to be in compliance with new regulations coming into effect. After realizing I had been tricked, I called and was promised a full refund, but I only received a partial refund. I am disappointed with the misrepresentation and the lack of a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and I want this company reprimanded for their unethical practices.

Business Response: BBB Corporate Office

Attn: **** *********

1*** ** ****** *****

******* ** *****

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

 

Date: April 22, 2015

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear Ms **** *********,

 

This merchant was contacted
in an effort to gain their merchant services account. We were offering free
equipment as long as they process with us that are smart card and PCI/DSS
compliant. I have attached the documentation that was sent to this merchant in
an effort to gain their business. All documents are clearly stating National
Merchant Services.

 

We stated that we were
National Merchant Services and that they could send us there statement for a
full comparison to see how much money we could save them and gave the company
the information to fax it back to. We are also giving a list of several
websites that support what we called and stated.

Here is some information on what the
cards are about and the machine.

Here is the Visa link…

***********************************************************************************************

The second bullet is where
it talks about April 1,2013

 Here is the MasterCard
link..

*****************************************************************


Go to April 2013 and it is
the first set of info

***********************************************************************************************

The merchant called in August
2014 and we let him know that we would refund the minimums that were billed
once the free equipment was received. That was returned on August 21, 2014. We
then refunded the 35.00 minimum and have never had another call from this
merchant.

Statements are also attached
showing what was billed and what was charged the difference is $20.37. Had we
been contacted this would have also been refunded. This is the first request
for that portion of the statement to be refunded. A credit for the $20.37 has
been processed.

It’s unfortunate that there
is any confusion this may have caused them and we have placed them on our do
not call list. If you have any additional questions please let us know. Thank
you and have a great day.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have spoken with the business over the phone.  I have attached the original voice mail (if you are able to download) that I received from the company, just to show that the woman that called me stated that she was calling "about my merchant services account."  I did not have such an account so she was being misleading.

I have also attached the email I sent to ***** ******* on 09/02/2014, requesting a full refund.



Regards,

*********** ***********

3/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Bankcard Group was our credit card processor and out ori****l contract was up in 8/2012. At that point we were put on a month-to-month contract term with a free terminal agreement being signed. The free terminal agreement states we had to give them 30 days to meet or beat another processor if we were considering changing processors. The agreement does not state that we had to stay with them after giving them an opportunity to provide the save service or rectify any service related issues. Even though they stated they could save us money (which all processor claim) we decided to proceed with changing processors and cancel our service with The Bankcard Group. During the process of giving them 30 days, the rep I was dealing with (****) assured me that she was the one in charge of this process and if we decided to proceed with switching, there would be no cancellation fees as we were on a month-to-month basis. I specifically asked this question to avoid this issue. However, when it came down to actually cancelling, the charged us a $450 cancellation fee that was taken directly out of our bank account without our consent. **** is stating that because we chose to cancel, the contract reverted to our ori****l terms, which is NOT how the current agreement reads. No where in the agreement does it state we have to stay with them for our processing.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cancellation fee refunded. There should have never been a cancellation fee charged to us as our contract was up and we did give them the 30 days as stated and returned the terminal in like new condition as per the agreement terms. We did everything that was required as per the agreement, The Bankcard Group is not. As I stated before, the agreement does not state we have to stay with them after allowing them to meet or beat the other processors rates.

Business Response: BBB Corporate Office

Attn: **** *********

**** ** ****** *****

******* ** *****

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

 

Date: March 6, 2015

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear Ms **** *********,

 

This merchant stopped processing on October 25, 2014. They requested
cancellation of merchant services on February 3, 2015. Per the free terminal
agreement that was completed on June 26, 2012, The BankCard Group holds the first
right of refusal to match or beat our competitor’s rates or rectify an issue
within 30 days.

 

After speaking with the merchant In February 2015 they
forwarded me the new processors statement and The BankCard Groups rates were
lower. The savings to maintain processing with our company was $67.00 based off
of the attached statement. This information was given to the merchant and they
decided to stay with the other processor and close this merchant services
account. Since The BankCard Groups rates were lower and the merchant decided to
close the early termination fee did apply.

 

The merchant called in after the fee was billed and the fee
was explained in detail as to why it was billed. Unfortunately The BankCard
Group was unable to collect the money from the merchant because the funds were
not available. So while this was a valid fee, the early termination fee of
$450.00 was never collected.  Don’s Auto
Repair is requesting The BankCard Group to refund money that was never
collected. The BankCard Group cannot refund money that was never collected and
the account is in a closed status at this time.

 

Please let me know if there are any other questions
regarding this matter. Thank you and have a great day.

 

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####

***All supporting documents are attached.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were mislead to believe that this this company was our credit card processing company and we provided social security and banking information. We can not verify that this is a legitimate business and that this company is not fraudulently using or selling our information. We have had to take steps to protect ourselves from possible identity theft.

Desired Settlement: We would like to know that this is a legitimate company and that our information is not being used fraudulently. We would like it to be recorded that the company is misleading and aggressive in their advertising.

Business Response:

Date: November 18, 2014

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear ** **** *********,

 

This merchant was contacted in an effort to gain their merchant services account. We were offering free equipment as long as they process with us that are smart card and PCI/DSS compliant. I have attached the documentation that was sent to this merchant in an effort to gain their business. All documents are clearly stating National Merchant Services. All calls were also pulled and listened to and we stated National Merchant Services as well as I have attached the emails received between companies.

 

We stated that we were National Merchant Services and that they could send us there statement for a full comparison to see how much money we could save them and gave the company the information to fax it back to. We are also giving a list of several websites that support what we called and stated.

Here is some information on what the cards are about and the machine.
Here is the Visa link…
***********************************************************************************************
The second bullet is where it talks about April 1,2013
 Here is the MasterCard link..
*****************************************************************
Go to April 2013 and it is the first set of info
***********************************************************************************************

 

It’s unfortunate that there is any confusion this may have caused them and we have placed them on our do not call list. If you have any additional questions please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

 

 

10/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to report a very DISHONEST business practice by The BankCard Group. The BankCard Group never provided us with any information on what was needed to process a claim with VISA. They sent us a letter basically threatening us with a charge of $500 if we did not drop the issue that involved a customer making a fraudulent claim for $32.03 that was processed on 11/11/2013. Of course this would upset any small business. We sent an attachment with our response that we would not pay any fees since the information we were given matched with what the credit card company had on file. We contacted The BankCard Group via phone and email. When we would talk to a representative on the phone it seemed as if they were hiding something on every conversation. They would not respond to our emails. The only response we really received was that we should try suing the customer that made the false claim. I find their actions to be very dishonest and in our eyes fraudulent. They deducted $500 without any warning and would not respond to us. We contacted our local rep who says she was working with her manager in Texas. Their response was that they never heard of such a fee and that the situation sounded “crazy.” I also had issues with my local reps responding on the issues as well. It was very, very FRUSTRATING. Its one thing to be DEFRAUDED out of $32.03, but then for your banking merchant account to come in and STEAL another $500 from you is beyond words. I don’t believe Bankcard ever took any actions or even looked into the case. Basically charged us $500 and went on with their day. Not even the decency to tell us why they would do such a thing. What more can a business provide? We provided tracking, billing and shipping address was the same, card code matched, address was verified and matched, etc. We will continue to fight The BankCard Group until this is resolved. Other business that want to process credit cards please beware and learn from our mistake. Stay away.

Desired Settlement: Refund the unfair fee of $500. Your representatives leading us on is a deceptive business practice.

Business Response:

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

Date: April 22, 2014 Complaint ID: ********

Dear Mrs **** *********,

The $500.00 that the merchant is disputing is not a fee that is billed from our company. The BankCard Group processes all transactions on a merchants account and deposits funds. Once one of their customers issues a dispute on the transaction it begins the chargeback process. There is a letter issued to S4K Inc and it stated what their customer is disputing, they then have an allotted amount of time that is designated in that letter to respond with all proof as to why they billed that customer, then it is up to a legal team to state whose side they feel is correct.

S4K Inc was notified of the chargeback, responded to the chargeback, and then lost the chargeback. At that time they are provided with an option to send the chargeback to arbitration or they accept • that they lost the chargeback. S4K Me signed the document acknowledging the $500.00 charge and that they wanted to send this claim to arbitration. S4K Inc did cancel the arbitration on the $32.03 chargeback. However, they have another chargeback for $450.00 that they did send to arbitration and lost and this is what they were billed for. All of these documents are also attached. This is a fee that goes directly to Visa/Mastercard for, legal fees and was signed for in supporting documents. Attached are all supporting documents so that one can understand that this fee was signed for and was acknowledged.:The BankCard Group closed this account with no early' termination fee in an effort to satisfy this merchant because they were billed the $500.0 for arbitration and the early termination fee is $495,00.

If you have any additional questions regarding this matter please let us know. Thank you and have great day.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Vice President

The BankCard Group
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is an unfair and unethical business practice, and your response skirts the crux of the issue. Here are the issues/questions I would like addressed:

1) You automatically sided with a consumer who disputed a charge, and still sided with the consumer even after we provided ample evidence that the charge was legitimate (address matched, tracking, card code match, and IP address of customer). Instead of refunding the small charge to us, the letter we received threatened $500 in order for us to continue fighting the issue. We would like proof of your initial review and reason for denial, and also proof of arbitration. 

2) If arbitration was canceled as requested, why were we not refunded the $500 fee?

3) Why are your representatives not informed of your business practices so that they can help resolve these issues for us, your merchants/customers? 

In the eyes of small business owners like me, it seems like it's just easier for you all to automatically side with a consumer who disputes a charge. While I can understand giving them that initial benefit, I don't understand you turning a blind eye to proof that the consumer is lying, and in doing so, punishing your own merchants/customers. I look forward to your response. 

**** *****

Business Response:

BBB Corporate Office
Attn: **** *********
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752
P: ###-###-#### .
F: ###-###-####

Date: April 22, 2014
Complaint ID: ********

Dear Mrs **** *********,

Shown in attached documents this merchant signed for the $500.00 arbitration fee.that he is disputing and it is .a fee that is billed from Visa/MasterCard. The BankCard Group processes all transactions on a merchants account and deposits. funds. Once one of their customers issues a dispute on the transaction it begins the chargeback process. There is a letter issued to. S4K Inc and it stated what their customer is disputing, they then have an allotted amount of time that is designated in that letter to respond with all proof as to why they billed that customer, then it is up to a legal team to state whose side they feel is correct.

To answer question 2 S4K Inc asked he did not cancel the arbitration fee for the 450.00 chargeback that his Customer was disputing. That is what this was billed for and the documents are attached to show his signature. S4K Inc keeps stating that this is for a 32.03 transaction and they are not related in any manner. There were two separate chargebacks that S4K Inc had being processed and the chargeback for the 450.00 that went to arbitration was settled just after the 32.03 arbitration was • requested to be cancelled. The 500.00 that S4KInc is disputing is not related to the 32.03 chargeback, it is for the 450.00 chargeback that is attached.

54K Inc was notified of the 450.00 chargeback, responded to the chargeback, and then lost the chargeback. At that time they are provided with an option to send the chargeback to arbitration or they accept that they lost the chargeback. S41( Inc signed the document acknowledging the $500.00 charge and that they wanted to send this claim to arbitration. S4K Inc lost the $450.00 chargeback that they requested to be sent arbitration.

This arbitration is a fee that goes directly to Visa/MasterCard for legal fees and was signed for in

supporting documents.                                 •

The representative is knowledgeable as to what and how a chargeback gets processed. They are not

given any details as to the chargeback because that is between S4K Inc and Visa/MasterCard.

If you have any additional questions regarding this matter please contact Visa/MasterCard. Thank

you and have a great day.

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####


*Attached are 40 pages including merchant agreement and all correspondence on both chargebacks.



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on The BankCard Group
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart