Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The BankCard Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The BankCard Group include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 7
Billing/Collection Issues 3
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on The BankCard Group
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 09, 2011 Business started: 11/03/2005 Business started locally: 11/03/2005 Business incorporated 11/03/2005 in TX
Type of Entity

Private Limited Company by Shares (LTD)

Business Management
Mr. Jayme Mathis, Executive Vice President Mr. John Mott, Executive Vice President Mr. Timothy Ligon, Chief Financial Officer Ms. Gina Meegan, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jayme Mathis, Executive Vice President
Customer Contact: Ms. Gina Meegan, Office Manager
Principal: Mr. John Mott, Executive Vice President
Business Category

Credit Card - Merchant Services Online Payments Gift Certificates/Cards Credit Card Processing Service

Alternate Business Names
National Merchant Services LTD.

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The BankCard Group has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 17353 Bell North Dr Ste 104

    Schertz, TX 78154 (866) 412-0717

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/24/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: National Merchant Services (aka - The BankCard Group) called my company and claimed to be my payment card processor. They stated that I needed to update my card scanner to be in compliance with new regulations coming into effect. After realizing I had been tricked, I called and was promised a full refund, but I only received a partial refund. I am disappointed with the misrepresentation and the lack of a full refund.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund and I want this company reprimanded for their unethical practices.

Business Response: BBB Corporate Office

Attn: **** *********

1*** ** ****** *****

******* ** *****

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

 

Date: April 22, 2015

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear Ms **** *********,

 

This merchant was contacted
in an effort to gain their merchant services account. We were offering free
equipment as long as they process with us that are smart card and PCI/DSS
compliant. I have attached the documentation that was sent to this merchant in
an effort to gain their business. All documents are clearly stating National
Merchant Services.

 

We stated that we were
National Merchant Services and that they could send us there statement for a
full comparison to see how much money we could save them and gave the company
the information to fax it back to. We are also giving a list of several
websites that support what we called and stated.

Here is some information on what the
cards are about and the machine.

Here is the Visa link…

***********************************************************************************************

The second bullet is where
it talks about April 1,2013

 Here is the MasterCard
link..

*****************************************************************


Go to April 2013 and it is
the first set of info

***********************************************************************************************

The merchant called in August
2014 and we let him know that we would refund the minimums that were billed
once the free equipment was received. That was returned on August 21, 2014. We
then refunded the 35.00 minimum and have never had another call from this
merchant.

Statements are also attached
showing what was billed and what was charged the difference is $20.37. Had we
been contacted this would have also been refunded. This is the first request
for that portion of the statement to be refunded. A credit for the $20.37 has
been processed.

It’s unfortunate that there
is any confusion this may have caused them and we have placed them on our do
not call list. If you have any additional questions please let us know. Thank
you and have a great day.

 

 

Sincerely,

 

 

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

I have spoken with the business over the phone.  I have attached the original voice mail (if you are able to download) that I received from the company, just to show that the woman that called me stated that she was calling "about my merchant services account."  I did not have such an account so she was being misleading.

I have also attached the email I sent to ***** ******* on 09/02/2014, requesting a full refund.



Regards,

*********** ***********

3/12/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Bankcard Group was our credit card processor and out ori****l contract was up in 8/2012. At that point we were put on a month-to-month contract term with a free terminal agreement being signed. The free terminal agreement states we had to give them 30 days to meet or beat another processor if we were considering changing processors. The agreement does not state that we had to stay with them after giving them an opportunity to provide the save service or rectify any service related issues. Even though they stated they could save us money (which all processor claim) we decided to proceed with changing processors and cancel our service with The Bankcard Group. During the process of giving them 30 days, the rep I was dealing with (****) assured me that she was the one in charge of this process and if we decided to proceed with switching, there would be no cancellation fees as we were on a month-to-month basis. I specifically asked this question to avoid this issue. However, when it came down to actually cancelling, the charged us a $450 cancellation fee that was taken directly out of our bank account without our consent. **** is stating that because we chose to cancel, the contract reverted to our ori****l terms, which is NOT how the current agreement reads. No where in the agreement does it state we have to stay with them for our processing.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cancellation fee refunded. There should have never been a cancellation fee charged to us as our contract was up and we did give them the 30 days as stated and returned the terminal in like new condition as per the agreement terms. We did everything that was required as per the agreement, The Bankcard Group is not. As I stated before, the agreement does not state we have to stay with them after allowing them to meet or beat the other processors rates.

Business Response: BBB Corporate Office

Attn: **** *********

**** ** ****** *****

******* ** *****

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

 

Date: March 6, 2015

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear Ms **** *********,

 

This merchant stopped processing on October 25, 2014. They requested
cancellation of merchant services on February 3, 2015. Per the free terminal
agreement that was completed on June 26, 2012, The BankCard Group holds the first
right of refusal to match or beat our competitor’s rates or rectify an issue
within 30 days.

 

After speaking with the merchant In February 2015 they
forwarded me the new processors statement and The BankCard Groups rates were
lower. The savings to maintain processing with our company was $67.00 based off
of the attached statement. This information was given to the merchant and they
decided to stay with the other processor and close this merchant services
account. Since The BankCard Groups rates were lower and the merchant decided to
close the early termination fee did apply.

 

The merchant called in after the fee was billed and the fee
was explained in detail as to why it was billed. Unfortunately The BankCard
Group was unable to collect the money from the merchant because the funds were
not available. So while this was a valid fee, the early termination fee of
$450.00 was never collected.  Don’s Auto
Repair is requesting The BankCard Group to refund money that was never
collected. The BankCard Group cannot refund money that was never collected and
the account is in a closed status at this time.

 

Please let me know if there are any other questions
regarding this matter. Thank you and have a great day.

 

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####

***All supporting documents are attached.


Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ******

12/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We were mislead to believe that this this company was our credit card processing company and we provided social security and banking information. We can not verify that this is a legitimate business and that this company is not fraudulently using or selling our information. We have had to take steps to protect ourselves from possible identity theft.

Desired Settlement: We would like to know that this is a legitimate company and that our information is not being used fraudulently. We would like it to be recorded that the company is misleading and aggressive in their advertising.

Business Response:

Date: November 18, 2014

Complaint ID: ********

 

Dear ** **** *********,

 

This merchant was contacted in an effort to gain their merchant services account. We were offering free equipment as long as they process with us that are smart card and PCI/DSS compliant. I have attached the documentation that was sent to this merchant in an effort to gain their business. All documents are clearly stating National Merchant Services. All calls were also pulled and listened to and we stated National Merchant Services as well as I have attached the emails received between companies.

 

We stated that we were National Merchant Services and that they could send us there statement for a full comparison to see how much money we could save them and gave the company the information to fax it back to. We are also giving a list of several websites that support what we called and stated.

Here is some information on what the cards are about and the machine.
Here is the Visa link…
***********************************************************************************************
The second bullet is where it talks about April 1,2013
 Here is the MasterCard link..
*****************************************************************
Go to April 2013 and it is the first set of info
***********************************************************************************************

 

It’s unfortunate that there is any confusion this may have caused them and we have placed them on our do not call list. If you have any additional questions please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

 

 

10/30/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I would like to report a very DISHONEST business practice by The BankCard Group. The BankCard Group never provided us with any information on what was needed to process a claim with VISA. They sent us a letter basically threatening us with a charge of $500 if we did not drop the issue that involved a customer making a fraudulent claim for $32.03 that was processed on 11/11/2013. Of course this would upset any small business. We sent an attachment with our response that we would not pay any fees since the information we were given matched with what the credit card company had on file. We contacted The BankCard Group via phone and email. When we would talk to a representative on the phone it seemed as if they were hiding something on every conversation. They would not respond to our emails. The only response we really received was that we should try suing the customer that made the false claim. I find their actions to be very dishonest and in our eyes fraudulent. They deducted $500 without any warning and would not respond to us. We contacted our local rep who says she was working with her manager in Texas. Their response was that they never heard of such a fee and that the situation sounded “crazy.” I also had issues with my local reps responding on the issues as well. It was very, very FRUSTRATING. Its one thing to be DEFRAUDED out of $32.03, but then for your banking merchant account to come in and STEAL another $500 from you is beyond words. I don’t believe Bankcard ever took any actions or even looked into the case. Basically charged us $500 and went on with their day. Not even the decency to tell us why they would do such a thing. What more can a business provide? We provided tracking, billing and shipping address was the same, card code matched, address was verified and matched, etc. We will continue to fight The BankCard Group until this is resolved. Other business that want to process credit cards please beware and learn from our mistake. Stay away.

Desired Settlement: Refund the unfair fee of $500. Your representatives leading us on is a deceptive business practice.

Business Response:

P: ###-###-####

F: ###-###-####

Date: April 22, 2014 Complaint ID: ********

Dear Mrs **** *********,

The $500.00 that the merchant is disputing is not a fee that is billed from our company. The BankCard Group processes all transactions on a merchants account and deposits funds. Once one of their customers issues a dispute on the transaction it begins the chargeback process. There is a letter issued to S4K Inc and it stated what their customer is disputing, they then have an allotted amount of time that is designated in that letter to respond with all proof as to why they billed that customer, then it is up to a legal team to state whose side they feel is correct.

S4K Inc was notified of the chargeback, responded to the chargeback, and then lost the chargeback. At that time they are provided with an option to send the chargeback to arbitration or they accept • that they lost the chargeback. S4K Me signed the document acknowledging the $500.00 charge and that they wanted to send this claim to arbitration. S4K Inc did cancel the arbitration on the $32.03 chargeback. However, they have another chargeback for $450.00 that they did send to arbitration and lost and this is what they were billed for. All of these documents are also attached. This is a fee that goes directly to Visa/Mastercard for, legal fees and was signed for in supporting documents. Attached are all supporting documents so that one can understand that this fee was signed for and was acknowledged.:The BankCard Group closed this account with no early' termination fee in an effort to satisfy this merchant because they were billed the $500.0 for arbitration and the early termination fee is $495,00.

If you have any additional questions regarding this matter please let us know. Thank you and have great day.

Sincerely,

***** ******
Vice President

The BankCard Group
###-###-####

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

This is an unfair and unethical business practice, and your response skirts the crux of the issue. Here are the issues/questions I would like addressed:

1) You automatically sided with a consumer who disputed a charge, and still sided with the consumer even after we provided ample evidence that the charge was legitimate (address matched, tracking, card code match, and IP address of customer). Instead of refunding the small charge to us, the letter we received threatened $500 in order for us to continue fighting the issue. We would like proof of your initial review and reason for denial, and also proof of arbitration. 

2) If arbitration was canceled as requested, why were we not refunded the $500 fee?

3) Why are your representatives not informed of your business practices so that they can help resolve these issues for us, your merchants/customers? 

In the eyes of small business owners like me, it seems like it's just easier for you all to automatically side with a consumer who disputes a charge. While I can understand giving them that initial benefit, I don't understand you turning a blind eye to proof that the consumer is lying, and in doing so, punishing your own merchants/customers. I look forward to your response. 

**** *****

Business Response:

BBB Corporate Office
Attn: **** *********
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752
P: ###-###-#### .
F: ###-###-####

Date: April 22, 2014
Complaint ID: ********

Dear Mrs **** *********,

Shown in attached documents this merchant signed for the $500.00 arbitration fee.that he is disputing and it is .a fee that is billed from Visa/MasterCard. The BankCard Group processes all transactions on a merchants account and deposits. funds. Once one of their customers issues a dispute on the transaction it begins the chargeback process. There is a letter issued to. S4K Inc and it stated what their customer is disputing, they then have an allotted amount of time that is designated in that letter to respond with all proof as to why they billed that customer, then it is up to a legal team to state whose side they feel is correct.

To answer question 2 S4K Inc asked he did not cancel the arbitration fee for the 450.00 chargeback that his Customer was disputing. That is what this was billed for and the documents are attached to show his signature. S4K Inc keeps stating that this is for a 32.03 transaction and they are not related in any manner. There were two separate chargebacks that S4K Inc had being processed and the chargeback for the 450.00 that went to arbitration was settled just after the 32.03 arbitration was • requested to be cancelled. The 500.00 that S4KInc is disputing is not related to the 32.03 chargeback, it is for the 450.00 chargeback that is attached.

54K Inc was notified of the 450.00 chargeback, responded to the chargeback, and then lost the chargeback. At that time they are provided with an option to send the chargeback to arbitration or they accept that they lost the chargeback. S41( Inc signed the document acknowledging the $500.00 charge and that they wanted to send this claim to arbitration. S4K Inc lost the $450.00 chargeback that they requested to be sent arbitration.

This arbitration is a fee that goes directly to Visa/MasterCard for legal fees and was signed for in

supporting documents.                                 •

The representative is knowledgeable as to what and how a chargeback gets processed. They are not

given any details as to the chargeback because that is between S4K Inc and Visa/MasterCard.

If you have any additional questions regarding this matter please contact Visa/MasterCard. Thank

you and have a great day.

***** ******

Vice President

The BankCard Group

###-###-####


*Attached are 40 pages including merchant agreement and all correspondence on both chargebacks.


9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company called up and left a voice mail message representing themselves as our merchant services saying that our machine needed to be updated so we can accept smart cards. When I called back they had all of our information to verify and said they had to fax over paperwork for us to sign for the machine. They even knew what rates we were currently getting. What clued me in is they asked for our tax payer id. I told the gentleman on the phone, "shouldn't you already have that on file since we are current customers" and he said it is on file however he wanted to put it in the paperwork he was faxing over. Once I received the fax I was able to identify that they were indeed not our merchant services. It is very shady practice to call up businesses and portray yourself as their merchant services to get business.

Desired Settlement: I would like to ensure that they do not contact our business again (now or in the future). I also hope that others will see this and less will be swindled into doing business with them.

Business Response: BBB Corporate Office
Attn: **** *********
1005 La Posada Drive
Austin, TX 78752
P: (512) 445-4748
F: (512) 445-2096

Date: August 20, 2013

Complaint ID: *******

Dear Ms **** *********,

This merchant was contacted in an effort to gain their merchant services account. We were offering free equipment as long as they process with us that are smart card and PCl/DSS compliant. I have attached the documentation that was sent to this merchant in an effort to gain their business. Al! documents are clearly stating National Merchant Services.

We stated that we were National Merchant Services and that they could send us there statement for a full comparison to see how much money we could save them and gave the company the information to fax it back to, We are also giving a list of several websites that support what we called and stated.

Here is some information on what the cards are about and the machine.

Here is the Visa link...

**** ************** ** **** ************* *************** * ** ************************************ 

The second bullet is where it talks about April 1,2013 .

Here is the MasterCard link..

************************* ********************** *** ************

Go to April 2013 and it is the first set of info

**** ******************************************************************************** ***********

It's unfortunate that there is any confusion this may have caused them and we have placed them on our do not call list. If you have any additional questions please let us know. Thank you and have a great day.

Sincerely,

***** *******
Vice President
The BankCard Group

6/13/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The Bankcard group made phone calls to make believe that it is time to "renew" our ONE YEAR contract for a better (lower) merchant processing rate and a upgraded terminal. My new office manager at that time was convinced that the Bankcard Group was our merchant service vendor and signed an agreement with them. When I later on found out that we have been switched, I called and complained the fraudulent practice of wrongful bait and switch tactics and demanded to close the account especially their rate was higher (roughly 3.5% vs 2.17% previously). The representative, ****, immediately offered to drop the rate and promised to keep that rate for future months. So I decided to stay with them for another month to later on found out the rate in the following months went up again. Therefore, I complained again about their fraudulent practice and closed the account and returned all equipment. I was told then by the representative that our contract was for 3 years. Then, they sent a letter to demand a early termination fee of $495. I went ahead and issued a check only because the letter threatened to turn me in collection. My willingness to issue the check was only to protect my credit. However, neither I nor my practice, should be responsible for the charge as reasons listed in the followings: 1. The agreement is signed by ***** as “Office Manager.” Under Texas law, she has no authority to commit a professional association because she is neither an officer of the PA nor an owner. No non-physician can be an owner or an officer of a PA under Texas law. Therefore, the agreement is no good. 2. The entire agreement states along its face on every page that it is a “Merchant Payment Card Application/Agreement,” singular, not “agreements” (plural). If all of the agreements are therefore bound together in a single agreement, we have blatant ambiguities in two significant ways: a. One part of the Agreement says New York law applies and another part of the Agreement says that Texas law applies. Which is it? b. One part of the Agreement says that it is a three year agreement and the other says it is a one year agreement. Which is it? 3. The recent Bank of America multi-billion dollar settlement shows that the courts are not very kind to overreaching banks in this area.

Desired Settlement: 1. Completely close our account 2. Promptly refund $495. 3. Release me and my practice from further financial responsibility and association

Business Response:
 

In researching this account we have found that
they signed all of the required documents to open the account. All of the
Documents say our company name and clearly show who we are. **** did lower the
fee's and the effective rate did reflect the desired effective rate that this
particular merchant requested. In trying to determine how the Merchant arrived
at that effective rate it was discovered that they used "net" volume
vs. "gross" volume. In merchant services this does not work because you
are charged the fee on both the sale and the return of the items.

 

Because we do care and want to serve each and
everyone of our clients are going to do the following.

 

As we speak I have instructed my Customer
Service department to refund the Early Termination fee. We have already closed
the account. This merchant has no further obligations with The BankCard Group
other then any outstanding Chargebacks that may arise in the future from ****
or **********.

 

 

 

"Work with us, Not for us"  

***** ** ******

Business Development

Merchant Services

************ *** ***

******************

 

"The future belongs to those who believe in the beauty of their dreams.

 

Eleanor Roosevelt"

 

 






Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Please promptly process the refund and mail the check directly to the business address:

**** * ******** **** ***** *** ********* ** ****** 

Regards,

**** ****




















5/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/25/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service