Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Alamo City Granite & Tile

Phone: (210) 978-4845 911 Vance Jackson Rd Apt 112, San Antonio, TX 78201


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Alamo City Granite & Tile meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Alamo City Granite & Tile include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Alamo City Granite & Tile
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2011 Business started: 03/25/2010 in TX Business started locally: 03/25/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Robert Tapia, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Tapia, Owner
Business Category

Countertops Countertop - Fabrication Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling Bathroom Remodeling - Walk-In Tubs Cabinet Refinishers Granite Cabinet Maker

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 911 Vance Jackson Rd Apt 112

    San Antonio, TX 78201

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This summer we had new granite counter tops installed by Alamo City Granite & Tile. One of the tops was on a "peninsula" cabinet that was at a 45 degree angle. After the installers left, I noticed something was wrong with this particular part of the granite - the top was fabricated incorrectly and the front of the top was not parallel to the cabinet. In fact, the difference from one side of the cabinet to the other (this section of cabinet is only about 30" wide) was almost 3/4 of an inch. Once the cabinet's drawer was put back in, the issue was even more noticeable. One side of the drawer is actually visible when you look from the top down, and the counter top is clearly at an angle. I informed ****** *****, the company's owner, of the problem that very day. He gave me a poor excuse for the crooked counter top issue, but he did ultimately commit to coming back out to take a look at the mistake. Since that time, Mr. ***** has broken numerous commitments to come look at the problem and to discuss possible fixes. He now refuses to take my phone calls or return my text messages. Mr. ***** came highly recommended by a friend. He seemed like a really nice and conscientious person with Christian values. I'm extremely disappointed in his unwillingness to stand behind his work. My family and I spent a lot of money to improve our home and I'm sickened by the outcome.

Desired Settlement: The section of granite that was cut improperly needs to be redone. The granite that we chose is neutral and readily available, so if a replacement piece is necessary, that shouldn't be a problem. It just needs to be done correctly.

Business Response: The work that was performed was approved by the home owner prior to them issuing a final payment. Both the homeowner and his wife said that everything looked ok and they they were happy.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: This was the most lame response I could imagine. Are you kidding me? The message is: 'you didn't notice my screw-up until after I left, and you were naive enough to pay me, so too bad for you, live with it'.
As I clearly stated in my complaint, I contacted ****** ***** the same day - right after he left my house. My instincts told me to stop payment on the check, but up until that point, Robert seemed like an honest person who would stand behind his work.
To be fair, the rest of the counters did look good. It wasn't until I re-installed the cabinet drawers that I noticed how crooked the one top was. I thought I was hiring a professional to do the job right. I did not pay to have it done mostly right.


Regards,
***** ***********

Business Response: See Attached Document(s)

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  The contractor is not responding to my complaint - he is only shedding light on the fact that he made two major mistakes. As he correctly pointed out, we were told that the overhang to the right of the sink would be less than on the left. He claimed that this was because of issues with the wall on the left - in spite of the fact that the wall did not change during this entire process. That wall was in the exact same spot when he measured and made his template.

However, the issue of the overhang being a different depth on either side of the sink is NOT the subject of this complaint. Believe me, I'm not happy about that issue, but I am willing to live with it. The bigger problem - and the subject of my complaint - is the fact that the overhang on the cabinet to the right of the sink is not parallel with the front of the cabinet!! This became glaringly obvious when the drawer for the cabinet was put back in place.

If this contractor had taken the time to come back and look at the problem (like he said that he would do), then this wouldn't be so difficult to understand.

Since my last correspondence, I have had a proffessional granite installer out to look at the problem. He immediatly noticed that the problem was caused by the seam being cut incorrectly.

Regards,

***** ***********

4/4/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable