Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description










BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Revolve Solar LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Revolve Solar LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Revolve Solar LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 14, 2012 Business started: 01/01/2012 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/2012 Business incorporated 02/01/2012 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tim Padden, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Padden, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Brett Pearson, Marketing
Related Businesses
Human Channel Marketing
Business Category

Contractors - Solar Energy Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Manufacturing & Distribution Solar Energy Products Service & Repair Solar Energy Products - Retail Solar Panel Cleaning Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Supplies & Parts Energy Service Companies Renewable Energy Energy Management & Conservation Consultant Solar Energy Equipment & Systems Dealers Solar Energy System Design & Installation

Products & Services

Revolve Solar LLC sells the following brand(s): Enphase Inverters, SMA inverters, Solar World USA

Revolve Solar LLC offers the following product(s): Enphase Inverters, SMA inverters, Solar World USA solar modules/panels

Method(s) of Payment
Check, bank transfer, credit card.
Refund and Exchange Policy

Additional Locations

  • N MoPac Express Way Ste 670

    Austin, TX 78728

  • 14205 Burnet Rd Ste 670

    Austin, TX 78728 (512) 271-9445

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife ***** and myself live in *****, CA and called revolve solar to request a quote for a solar system and invited a salesman, ****** into our home. He originally came with with an offer of a 26 panel system that would cover 85% of out electric usage for a total of $165 a month to own. We wanted a larger system with 40 panels to cover at least 100% of our energy uses. he came back with a cost of $226 per month, our budget was a max of $250 per month and we agreed on that system. We discussed the 30% tax credit and he explained how it would work. He said multiple times that we would receive the entire 30% back when we filed our taxes (unless we owed taxes then it would be deducted from the amount we owed) which is $11502. however upon filing the taxes for the year 2014 we found that we would only receive about $2700 back in the first year which left us with an outstanding balance of almost $9000 on a loan (0%until July 2015 there after 17.99%APR with interest accruing from day one if not payed in full by the July 2015 date). To remedy the situation we had to take out an home equity loan to pay off the existing high interest loan at approximately 3.25%APR. Upon initial calculations if we receive the same $2700 back in our taxes, it will take approximately 4.25 years to pay off the existing loan costing us an additional approximately $1800 in interest alone, in addition we now have a higher payment of $150 a month that we can not afford, remember our initial budget was $250 maximum, now with both loans we are paying $400 per month. For one second if the salesman had mentioned even the remote possibility of not receiving back the entire amount when filing our taxes, we would have been hesitant about the purchase of the system and done further research. We trusted him to explain and the contract without reading every word of legal mumbo-jumbo, and he failed to mention that not everyone would receive the entire refund in the first year.

Desired Settlement: I would like the original contract rescinded, The items removed from my home, and 100% of the total original purchase price refunded, so we can pay off all loans in full, then purchase a solar system from a reputable company when we can actually budget for it.

Business Response: I have personally spoken to *** ***** on a number of occasions to explain and try to resolve the situation. We regret that *** & **** ***** now feel it is necessary to complain via the BBB.  Our customer's are informed that the contract may entitle the Purchaser to a tax credit of up to 30% of the Contract Price from the government.  

Like any tax credit of this type, you have to have an equal or greater tax liability against which you can claim that credit. 

A copy of the original contract has been submitted for the BBB to review and verify that this is not "small print" hidden somewhere, but a clear and distinct component of our agreement with each and every customer.  The customer initialed the clear and complete "REBATES  AND TAX BENEFITS" paragraph in the contract in which it states that Revolve make "no representations or warranties concerning the availability of any such rebate".  We cannot offer any such warranty because we are not the government, nor are we the Purchaser's CPA and we do not have, nor do we ask for tax records from the customer. 

Only those parties will know how much tax liability the customer will have during that year and in that same paragraph, we state "Revolve Solar CA Inc. urges its potential customers to consult with a tax advisor prior to making any? financial decision".  

The fact that *** ***** did not have a tax liability enough to warrant the entire credit in year 1, is a matter between him, his CPA and the government. Unfortunately we can not help on or advise on such matters.  The customer had a number of options available to them for the installation of solar panels including leasing. A lease has no tax credit implications so they could have opted for a financing structure that allowed the leasing company to consume all tax credit benefits and pass on lower payments to the customer, but instead they wanted these tax credits so they chose the loan. 

We inform customers of some specialist companies that offer loans in the solar sector, but they are under no obligation whatsoever to take that particular loan. They could just as easily spoken to their bank for a loan or paid cash up front. 

A great deal of care is taken to explain our agreement and have customer initial to confirm they agree each paragraph which is written in clear, plain english to avoid precisely these situations. 

As far as the customer's request to have the system removed and to be refunded, that is not an option in a situation where  - as the customer signed to confirm - we have satisfactorily delivered all equipment, goods and services and the installation has been completed in a satisfactory manner. There is no issue with the goods installed or services Revolve Solar has provided - the issue is with the customer's tax liability. 

I would like to reiterate that we regret that the customer was not in a position to receive the full credit in the first year.  I am more than happy to speak with ** ***** again. He did however make very clear in our last engagement that he did not to hear from unless we were to offer a 0% loan to cover the costs, which - as a solar company not a loan provider - we cannot do.  We constantly strive for complete satisfaction for all of customers and regrettably that will not be possible in this situation.



Sincerely,

*** ******
***
Revolve Solar.