BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that KM BUILDERS meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for KM BUILDERS include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on KM BUILDERS
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 01, 2001 Business started: 07/01/1984 Business started locally: 07/01/1984 Business incorporated: 07/01/2002 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Keith Moehle, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Keith Moehle, Owner
Business Category

Contractors - General Home Builders Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Painting Contractors Roofing Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services Cabinets Contractors - Flooring Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Outdoor Kitchens

Alternate Business Names
KM Construction KM Design Center KM Remodeling
Additional Information

This company offers design/build services for remodeling kitchens, baths, room additions, outdoor living areas, etc.

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 7915 Mainland Dr Ste 200

    San Antonio, TX 78250 (210) 680-5626

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: KM builders were hired to design and build an expansion to a house being considered for purchase. They designed a construction plan that did not meet city setback requirement & could not be financed or built. The owner is ***** ****** refused to return the earnest money that was taken for the construction.

Desired Settlement: Refund earnest money and money paid for design

Business Response:

On 7/20/13 and again on 8/7/13 Mr and Mrs  ******* hired KM Builders’ designer, **** ******, to design a concept for a room addition to a home they were considering purchasing.  They were told that we could not obtain a plot map for the property to ensure that any addition would be within the building setback requirements for that subdivision. We told them that they would need to obtain that from the bank or the current owner. They pushed **** to develop the design concept for the addition without the plot map due to the fact they didn’t want to ask the homeowner for this and had a deadline to meet with their financing. **** worked day and night designing and pricing several different designs due to the fact that the *******s changed their mind about what they wanted repeatedly.

The *******s finally agreed on a design and asked **** to present pricing and a proposal to take to the bank. They put a down payment of $5000 toward the finalizing of the plans, scheduling and starting the project as soon as possible after they obtain the property.

The *******s later called and said they were financing there property and had received the plot map from the bank. They said that the room addition would not completely fit on the property as designed. We told them that we would help them apply for a variance or we could again quickly redesign the project to fit on the property and that there would be no additional charge. They said they would consider that.

The *******s later called and said that they had completed the financing of their home and that they wanted us to refund the money they had paid for the design and the money they had paid for the deposit to build the room addition.

I told the *******s I would be happy to apply the deposit of $5000 toward any room addition that we design and build onto their new home and that, in addition, we would not charge for the re-design work.

In conclusion, we have expended a larger amount of energy and costs for the ******* project especially in comparison to average projects in this price range - thus we have earned the money paid us for work delivered. Our position has not changed – we will still be willing to apply the deposit of $5000 toward any room addition that we design and build onto their new home and not charge for the re-design work.

 

Sincerely,

***** ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: 9817799

I am rejecting this response because:

KM Builders were hired to design the expansion over other builders because **** ****** agreed to work on our time frame and we made it clear that there was a time crunch to get the design submitted to the bank to allow us to get financing. At no point during the design process did KM Builders emphasize the need for the survey map of the property. Their statement: "They were told that we could not obtain a plot map for the property to ensure that any addition would be within the building setback requirements for that subdivision. We told them that they would need to obtain that from the bank or the current owner. They pushed **** to develop the design concept for the addition without the plot map due to the fact they didn’t want to ask the homeowner for this" is blatantly false. In fact, during the design process we asked on multiple occasions if there was enough room for the expansion in the front yard and were repeatedly assured by KM builders that there was. **** ****** informed us that he had taken measurements personally and there was ample space for the design we were developing. The set-back requirement for the subdivision is apparently public information available from the city.  The design for which we signed the contract does not meet set-back requirements and can not be built. KM builders were grossly negligent in their design process and provided us a product that would not meet city regulations. They cannot claim the deposit paid to build it.

Regards,

**** *******

Business Response: Thank you for allowing us to clarify our position.  As pointed out in the response, KM was hired with the understanding that we would design the customer's plan quickly to meet the deadline for closing.  The promise was taken very seriously by us and that goal was met. Before closing there was a completed set of plans, detailed proposal, and signed contract for the construction of an addition in the front yard of the home you were purchasing.  This was a tremendous undertaking because in addition to it being a large project, we went through several other plans and renovation ideas on the existing house to arrive at the final plans, all part of the outstanding service that was provided in getting to the final result. 
 
The plans were based on there being a 30’ building setback from the front street.  We can disagree on what was said, but it was common knowledge that KM did not have a plot map because that comes only from an actual homeowner.  In the absence of a plot map for the specific site, the standard building practice would be to use any information filed with the city.  For some years there has been no filing of actual plot maps (with residential home sites and property line designations) with the city of *** *******.  After extensive searching, we were able to locate the neighborhood plot plan (without property lines or home site designations) that clearly shows a 30’ setback building line at the property in question, filed at about the time the subdivision was developed.  This setback is common and to be expected in a neighborhood like of this nature and this made it a very reasonable parameter to use as the standard for the plans that were being developed.  As was pointed out, there were special trips to the house just to measure and validate that the plans being developed fell within the criteria filed with the city years ago, the only known documents to which we could refer.  It further shows that we take the development of our plans very seriously and there can be no question. given the long hours and intense schedule that were endured, that we were all acting in good faith and under reasonable assumptions. The plan that was developed falls within the requirements of the city, given the information we were able to obtain from public records.
 
When unfortunate events like this occur and the problem was no fault of either party, the solution is for us to offer a remedy to the client at no charge.  The offer was made to re-design as needed at no additional cost and the money set down as a deposit would be credited to the new plans that we develop.  Were we to credit the money back, not only would we be outside of the bounds of our contract, we would be taking complete ownership of a problem that was not ours.  Our offer still stands, we would be glad to re-design at our expense and apply the contract deposit to the new contract.  If the decision is to move forward you have lost nothing. If the client has simply changed their minds about doing a remodeling project, which they are certainly free to do, they would rightly surrender their deposit according to the terms of the contract.  KM Remodeling has incurred significant expenses in getting this project to this point. Abandoning this project and requesting a refund after a contract has been agreed to is not a reasonable request.  We hope the client will choose to let us redesign and build their project per the terms of the contract.
 
Respectfully,
 
***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/27/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/7/2011 Problems with Product/Service