BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides services in biweekly loan payment accelerators for the auto industry. They assist customers in the acceleration of their loan payoff through biweekly half payment debits.  The half debits, which occur every two weeks, allow customers to make an extra principal payment each year starting usually in the second year of the loan.  

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Smartnote meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Smartnote include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Smartnote
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 17, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2000 Business started locally: 08/01/2000 Business incorporated: 02/11/2003 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Partnership (LLP)

Business Management
Ms. Kimberly Saul, Office Manager Holly Radosta, CS Mgr
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kimberly Saul, Office Manager
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
The Smart Group, L.P.

Additional Locations

  • 810 Hesters Crossing Rd Ste 235

    Round Rock, TX 78681 (512) 402-9400 (888) 296-4290

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (512) 402-9400(Phone)
  • (512) 402-9408 (Fax)
  • (512) 402-9410 (Fax)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had contacted this company on 3-24-2014 to cancel my enrollment and have a refund check issued to me. I was informed that I would receive a check within 30 days, as is their policy. After not receiving anything in the mail from them after 30 days, I contacted the company. I was informed that not only had the amount I was owed changed from over $200 to around $60 because of their fees and adjustments, but also a check hadn’t been issued yet and if I wanted the money wired that I would have to pay another fee. I also have never received an itemized statement of charges/changes from them since the cancellation. I can’t help but think that if I had forgotten about this, that I would have never received a refund. I still have not been issued a refund check or an itemized statement from them as of 4-24-2014.

Desired Settlement: I would like a TIMELY refund, and an itemized statement including how they prorate their enrollment fee.

Business Response:

Thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. It is my goal as the Customer Service Manager at SmartNote to resolve customer complaints quickly, fairly and to the satisfaction of all parties involved. I have reviewed Ms. *****’s account and according to our records, Ms. ***** called our call center and spoke to Account Specialist, ***** *. regarding a debit that was processed on 3/21/14 in the amount of $123.36. Ms. ***** stated that she was going to pay off her auto loan in full and she was requesting to stop the biweekly debits through SmartNote. ***** *. processed Ms. *****’s request and closed out her account. It was explained to Ms. ***** that a refund in the amount of $211.72 for debits processed on 3/7/14 & 3/21/14 would be mailed to her in 30 days via check USPS per SmartNote policy, less the $35.00 Prorated Enrollment fee. Please note that Ms. ***** agreed to pay a one-time deferred Enrollment Fee of $246.00 to SmartNote that is collected within the first year of service when she signed up for the program. Ms. ***** had not yet satisfied the Enrollment Fee and as a courtesy SmartNote prorated the fee down to $35.00.

 

The next day, 3/25/14, we received notification from Great Southern Bank, Ms. *****’s financial institution, that the debit that was processed on 3/21/14 was returned for the following reason: Debit submitted on 03/21/2014 (ID: ********) was returned unpaid.  Return code was R10 (Customer Advises Not Authorized; Item Is Ineligible, Notice Not Provided, Signature Not Genuine, or Item Altered. When we receive this notification it usually means that the customer went to their bank and told them to pull the funds back from SmartNote. Unfortunately, this created a returned debit (NSF) fee of $25.00 and we had to subtract $123.36 from the refund of $211.72 because the 3/21/14 debit was pulled back, leaving Ms. ***** with a refund of $63.36. I sincerely apologize that a representative from SmartNote did not contact Ms. ***** on 3/25/14 regarding the returned debit and the change in her refund amount causing Ms. ***** to have to call back on 4/24/14. As a show of goodwill I would be happy to waive both the $35.00 Prorated Enrollment fee and $25.00 NSF fee and transfer $123.36 back into Ms. *****’s bank account at no additional charge. I will also send an account history to her right away.

 

Again, I apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused and as I stated previously, it is my goal to ensure all parties involved are satisfied with this resolution. If additional information is required or if you have any questions, please feel free to call or email me at 512-615-8701 or ***********************. We value our customers and any and all feedback is appreciated.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. If there is any further action needed on my part, please let me know.

Blessings,

******* *****

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

4/15/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
10/8/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
12/26/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
9/13/2011 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2011 Billing/Collection Issues
1