BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marketing and contract fulfillment services to a network of financial institutions for refinancing automobiles. Property/Casualty Insurance Sales

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RateGenius meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RateGenius include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 3
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on RateGenius
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 03, 1998 Business started: 04/18/1996 in TX Business started locally: 04/18/1996 Business incorporated: 04/23/2007 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579
joann.mcanally@occc.state.tx.us

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe St, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdi.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 252-3439

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Brown, CEO Ms. Alina Soliz, Customer Service Manager
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Credit & Debt Counseling Financing Consultants Insurance - Property Loans

Alternate Business Names
RateGenius Insurance Agency RateGenius Loan Services RateGenius, Inc
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

RateGenius has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4412 Spicewood Springs Rd Bldg 6

    Austin, TX 78759

  • PO Box 28650

    Austin, TX 78755

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ******* **** on or about 7/14/14 to inquire about refinancing my automobile. I was told by them that my inquiry would not adversely affect my credit as they only did a "soft hit" in checking my credit. One of their lenders, Rate Genius, contacted me the same day (7/14) and left a message for me to return their call to discuss the refinance of my automobile. I did not return their call that day and by the time they called the next day (7/15) I had been alerted that my credit had dropped several points due to a "hard hit" credit check by Rate Genius and others. Therefore, I did not return Rate Genius' telephone call from 7/15 either and when I got an email from them on or about 7/16 I emailed them back and told them that I had withdrawn my request through ******* **** and to please not call me again. However, they DID call me again. As a matter of fact, they called on 7/16, 7/17, 7/18, 7/19, 7/21, 7/22, 7/23, 7/24, & 7/25. The name of the person who called was *****. I never spoke with anyone from Rate Genius, I never authorized anyone with Rate Genius to do a hard credit check, nor did I ever ask Rate Genius for any services. I understand that they would need to do a credit check before loaning me money, however, they should not be authorized to do a hard credit check until or unless a customer consents and/or understands that they are going to do so.

Desired Settlement: Contact the credit companies (specifically ********) and return my credit to the status it was before they got involved.

Business Response: We want to thank the customer for bringing this matter to our attention. We have carefully researched the issue of the customer receiving multiple calls and having their credit pulled. First and foremost, we want to apologize for any confusion rateGenius may have caused and we want to apologize for calling the customer multiple times. Our records show ******* **** did send us a notice informing us about the customer's request to withdraw from the application process. However, somehow missed the notification. We have fixed the communication issue on our end. The customer shouldn't have received any more calls. 

Unfortunately rateGenius cannot restore the customer's credit score. Our records indicate the customer submitted her application online with ******* **** and had a phone call with ******* ****. After researching the issue, we have found when submitting an application online with LT, the customer is required to put in their social security number. Before hitting submit on the online application, the third bullet clearly states "You are providing Express Written Consent under the Fair Credit Reporting Act for ******* ****, LLC, selected dealer(s) and/or up to five (5) partners with whom you are matched to obtain your consumer credit report information from your credit profile or other information from Contracted Credit Bureau(s) associated with your inquiry." Because rateGenius is a partner of ******* ****, this is why he credit profile was pulled. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I AM addressing the problem with ******* **** as I understand the problem starts with them.  However, Rate Genius should not be allowed to do a hard credit pull until or unless a potential customer authorizes it.    And Rate Genius continued to call me until July 29th.  Their last call to me was July 29, 2012 at 7:50 p.m.   This was even after I had emailed them twice to stop calling me.   If Rate Genius can contact the bureaus and do a hard pull on my credit, they can and will contact the bureaus and reverse the damage. 

Regards,
***** **********

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RateGenius Loan Officer, Mr. **** *****, approved my car refinancing in May 2014. My Loan # is *******. On 19 June 2014, I received a congratulatory message from RateGenius telling me that I'm approved for auto refinancing through RateGenius. I called and spoke with Mr. ***** and I asked him whether I still have to pay my June payment of $627.23 to **** *********. He stated that I could skip two (2) monthly payments of $627.23 for the months of June and July 2014. Then, he requested me to provide all the required documents, which I did. All requested personal info was provided to him, and the loan package that was sent to me was completed and returned to him. I did not pay June's payment because he said the refinance company, ***** ********* ********* ********* ***., ** *** ******* ******** ** ***** would take care of the entire amount I owe to **** *********. For record purposes, I also called **** ********* stating that RateGenius would pay everything and that my car refinancing would be taken over by RateGenius and to make sure that my conversation with a **** customer service was noted in my **** account. On July 8, 2014, Mr ***** emailed me and said that the ***** ********* ********* ******** cancelled my pre-approved car refinancing, even though it had approved it the first time, because I have too many collections in my credit score. In return, I emailed Mr. ***** to confirm the cancellation and he confirmed it. Then I requested Mr. ***** to return all the forms I have submitted. He emailed back and said he already shredded them. "I hope I will not be an identity theft victim".

Desired Settlement: I want RateGenius or ***** ********* ********* ********* **** to pay for my June 2014 payment to **** Financing of $627.23 plus interest or send me a check for this amount plus interest and I will pay **** Financing myself.

Business Response: We want to thank Mr. ****** for contacting us and giving us a chance to look into his problem. 

As Mr. ****** states, we were happy to re-approve his refinance application. Unfortunately, due to the length of time between the customer accepting the offer & contacting us to confirm, his original approval was no longer valid. Once we resubmitted the customer’s application, many collections were on his report. We again were able to get ***** ********** approval to help the customer. On June 23rd, our rep called the customer for the customer’s 10-day payoff. By June 23rd, the customer was already 19 days past due on his car note.

Although we were able and glad to help Mr. ****** with his refinance, rateGenius does not advise customers to skip payments when there are collections and past dues on their credit. We apologize for any misunderstandings.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Rategenius's statement is not true.  I specifically asked Mr. **** ***** about my June payment, and he said I don't have to pay it including the July payment.  Immediately after he said
that, I called ** ********* and told the business that Rategenius will send the pay-off amount of $25K plus.  I also made sure the customer service I spoke too noted this pay-off amount in my account.  By the way, my monthly payment schedule was not until June 27, and I was not delinquent at that time.  I'm up-to-date on my payment with ** *********.  60 months remain from my 6 years contract with ** *********.  Rategenius offered me 66 months to pay, with $595.00 monthly payment.  In other words, Rategenius would still make profit from me by extending the loan to 66 months.   Mr. ***** statement that I could skip two months, June and July payments, confirmed that Rategenius would still make profit ($627.23@ 4months) in this proposed refinancing.  I took the offer for not having to pay June and July payments plus the monthly reduction of $32.00.

There's only one refinancing approval with Rategenius  since the beginning, and I totally disagree with the lender's statement that it pulled my credit again and seen there are too many collections.  My credit would not have changed in that short period of time. 
 

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: Upon further research, rateGenius has retrieved a recorded call where the loan officer makes
the statement, "You do not need to make your payment if you get this back
to me quickly." Unfortunately, when asked about skipping car payments, ****
***** was not made aware the car note was already past due.

After the loan officer and the customer spoke, it took over 16 days to receive the completed
loan documents back. We offer UPS overnight document shipping for free. RG is
proud to serve customers in order to save them money, so we gladly resubmitted the
customer’s app due to amount of time that had passed. It is the lender that
controls the approval or denial of your loan. RG does not have a say in this.

RG has made a good faith effort to help the customer with the provided information from the
customer. We would like to pay for half of the payment to have the matter
resolved. The amount would be $313.62 in check form. Thank you for letting us help you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In checking my credit report last week I saw that on May 24, 2012 and again on Aug 15, 2012 thios auto refinancing company queried my credit report. I knew that I had not sought this service, nor had my wike, nor had we cosigned for anyone for a loan, This is one of several recent instances of irregularities that we have noted regarding attempts to hack into or take our loans of our accounts, one being successful wirh a credit card account. On 1/25/2014 I called the ###-###-#### number and spoke with a representative. I was told that their records did not indicate that me or my wife had applied for a loan, but that she could not tell me who did. She took my number and said that her manager would call me back. This did not happen. The following day I went to their website and requested information on their customer service web page and have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why this business concern was inquiring about my credit, who was doing it, and for whom it was being done.

Business Response: Financial services companies, such as RG, will conduct "soft inquires" on consumers reports, which does NOT affect the consumers credit report or score. Soft inquires are only used for marketing purposes in order to see if a potential customer fits criteria for a refinance option. Credit bureaus, such as Experian, provide financial services companies, such as RG, with this information. Again, soft inquires have NO affect on credit score. We believe this is a soft inquiry because the customer is nowhere in our system when we tried to look him up. In order to make sure we have not made a mistake, we would need to know which credit reporting bureau showed the customer rateGenius on his credit report. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As stated by RateGenius, "In order to make sure we have not made a mistake, we would need to know which credit reporting bureau showed the customer rateGenius on his credit report.".  That credit reporting bureau was Experian.  I want to make sure that RateGenius has not "made a mistake".  I would also like to know why they did not respond to my previous requests with this informastion.  Thank you. 


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: The next steps to resolve the customer's issue is for rateGenius to get with Experian to determine what kind of pull was made on his credit. Once we have an update, we will be contacting the customer. If the credit pull from rateGenius is, in fact, a hard pull, rateGenius will take all available avenues to fix the issue. We apologize for any unsettled solutions for the customer's questions. There may have been a miscommunication about what kind of credit pull was made on his account, so that may be the reason why he was not informed of this earlier. We are working hard to fix this issue in a timely manner. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to Rate Genius via a auto refinance application filled out with ******* ****. I received a call as well as an email stating I was approved and the general terms such as rate, period, and payment were included in the e-mail. It looked good to me so I called and spoke with a *** ******* who explained the terms and the process. I agreed to the terms and a loan document package was e-mailed to me. That very afternoon we got someone to watch our kids so my wife and I could gather the documents needed and get to UPS to get letters notarized at our expense and send the documents overnight. The documents were acknowledged received and that I could look forward to skipping a payment, which I did. I received notice almost a full week later that they wouldn't be able to honor the agreement due to our income being too low. Our income was stated on the original application that they allegedly secured a loan based on. We provided documentation that our income is actually HIGHER than what was on our application. It is my suspicion that the loan was never actually secured based on the information that was provided on the application. I have attempted many times to get an explanation and get to the bottom of this but the specific rep and Rate Genius in general has stopped responding to my e-mails and voicemails. Now I have also incurred a late charge and a negative note on my credit report for, as advised, skipping a payment on my current loan.

Desired Settlement: Would accept the honoring of original agreement. At very least would like an apology, explanation, and perhaps deleting inquiry from credit bureaus due to failure to honor agreement.

Business Response: The customer entered main income on the application as $3833 and joint as $3083. This is what was approved should the Proof Of Income match or exceed this amount.

Based on the proof of income (POI) provided, the main actually came to $3676 and joint to $2497. POI was sent to the lender and lender declined to honor the loan due to income dropping by this amount exceeding their debt-to-income (DTI) limitations. The customer then stated that he had recently received a pay increase. To do everything we could, we asked the customer to provide proof of this in form of a letter. We received this letter, and the lender still declined because the joint was still $586 less than what the customer originally stated on the initial application. *** ******* called  to let the customer know that with the letter they still wouldn't be able to get approved. *** indicated she has not received any correspondence from the customer since then, and hasn't avoided any contact. 

Simply put, because the actual amount of income is $586 less than what the customer originally stated, the customers DTI (debt-to-income) does not meet the criteria for the lender, so the approval was revoked. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As *** can attest my income exceeds stated amounts and was provided with documents showing this.  I even sent *** scanned copies showing of the documents sent that show main income is $3,833.33/month ($46,000/12) and joint is $3,112.00/month ($37,344/12) which EXCEEDS amount on application.  One voicemail was left and several e-mails which were sent as replies thus avoiding any chance of misspelling or going to spam were sent as well as one to the company's general e-mail box was sent.  No replies to any of these.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Per the lender:

Child support was not used because the lender did not receive any proof of continuance for at least the next three years.  If the lender used the primary’s income of $3835 (based on $1770 biweekly) and the coapplicant’s income of $2497.38 = the DTI is still over 56% and was not approved.  When subtracting the current payment and using the minimum new payment (based on the current loan balance at 5.40% for 60 months), the DTI was still 53.74%.  The lender did use the higher income as it was on his pay-stub. The letter from his employer was not a factor, as it was not signed. In addition, the child support document provided did not have anyone’s name on it or specify what the deposit was for.  If the customer had submitted the court order to verify continuance and a statement with her name on it (this is hand written at the bottom), the lender could have used that income. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was never at anytime informed that the support income was being rejected and was never asked to provide additional documentation.  This would have been helpful information to have.  Again, another example of not being informed or having questions answered which just solidifies the poor customer service experience that this complaint is about.  I am more than happy to forward the e-mail communications I have so there is no question that this information was never at any time disclosed. 

Regards,

******* *******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable offer to resolve the complaint. However the consumer did not accept the offer.

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never done business with RateGenius or any of its affiliates. I do not want to do business with RateGenius or any of its affiliates. I am receiving unsolicited emails from RateGenius. I did not give any permission for RateGenius or any of its affiliates to contact me. If RateGenius is under any misconception that they have this permission, I am formally telling them they do not have my permission to contact me.

Desired Settlement: I want all communications from RateGenius and any of its affiliate to cease and desist. Please remove me from any list you have me on. Please contact the people providing you the lists to let them know they do not have my permission to distribute my information.

Business Response: ***** ***********
*** ******** *****
Wayne, NJ 07470


May 10, 2013



Dear Mr. ***********,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 10/18/2013 (Case #*******).

We have looked into our records and were unable to determine how your information got onto our mailing
lists, as we strive to only reach out to those who have done business with RateGenius or one of its partners.
However, we have gone ahead and added you to our Opt Out list which has removed your contact information from our database
and should cease all communications in the future.

If for any reason you continue to receive any mail or email from RateGenius, please feel free to forward it to us at the
contact info below and we will look into any other possible reasons why it might be getting sent out. We apologize for
any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for taking the time to contact us about this matter.


Regards,


*** ******

********** *******

**********@rategenius.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   As long as I no longer receive contact I want to close the complaint.  I would like to open a new complaint if communication occurs at a later date.

Regards,

***** ***********

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rate Genius said they would due a 100% refinance on my car loan with ****** credit Corp Rate genius were 460.78 short on the payoff. ****** wants me to pay and so does rate genius the 460.78. Rate genius said it was a100% refi. I refuse to pay. I have already started to pay car payments to ***** credit union THEY PICKED UP THE LOAN

Desired Settlement: PAY THE BALANCE TO ****** TO ****** ****

Business Response: ***** **** ******** **** ***** ****** ** ******* ** *****


September **, 2013


Dear Mr. ********,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 9/**/2013 (Case #*******).

After reviewing our records, it has been determined that a error had occurred when receiving the payoff amount for your auto refinance from ****** ****** ****.
We have addressed and escalated this issue with ****** ****** ****. to ensure that the payoff amount is corrected and that you do not owe the disputed $460.78 balance.
We apologize for any hassle or inconvenience this error may have caused and hope that we have addressed the issue to your satisfaction.

If you have any further questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Regards,

*** ******
Compliance Manager

*************************

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

9/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon arranging for a refinance loan through this company successfully, I was offered a chance to purchase a more economical insurance policy for my car. I selected *********** and was lead to believe that it would be up to me to contact *********** as my information would already be with the company. I called the toll free customer service number on ***********'s web site as I did not receive any other instructions. The policy was in place and payment was made on this transaction. On September ***, 20**, I find on my online bank account history that I am being charged by an insurance company working for *********** on another policy altogether. I contacted ***********, the undesired policy is being cancelled, and the charge to my bank account is going to be refunded. I'm writing the BBB because, to me, it is the principle of this matter. Poor product representation, poor communications, creating confusion and unnecessary expense. It is RateGenuis' business practice that I want to complain about. As a result of this second charge coming to my bank account, I could have incurred the expense of stopping this smaller company of *********** from taking payments, changing my bank account number, and having to do without my debit card to get a new one to protect myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund to be sent to me as quickly as possible. I would also like a full explanation, in postal or email, from management on how this blunder of setting up two automobile policies occurred. Thank you.

Business Response: ******** ******
**** ********* **
****** ** *****


September **, 20**



Dear Ms. ******,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 9/*/20** (Case #*******).

We have reviewed our records and recorded phone calls and determined that
there was a *********** policy set up by us (per your request) and then a
second policy was established by you contacting another ***********
agent directly. RateGenius Insurance Agency does not employ any
salesperson by the name of ***** and it is our belief that this may have
been the name of the agent you spoke with at the other agency, hence
why there were two policies established in your name.


We apologize for any confusion that this may have caused. A
refund for the first policy of $**7.36 was processed on 9-*-** and can
take between 10-14 business days to go through. If you have any
questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for your
patience and understanding.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: In the initial sales pitch to me about cheaper insurance, the simple term "***********" was used as a company who would be able to provide me lower cost insurance coverage than my current company.  Due to ***********'s marketing, I immediately thought of the main company and I honestly do not recall at all being told that RateGenius was in business with *********** themselves.  I thought RateGenius was acting as an intermediary for me and that it was my responsibility to contact *********** before a lapse could occur in coverage.  I thought this in addition to the fact that RateGenius had contacted ******** ********** ****** ***** for a refinanced automobile loan.  When I contacted *********** on August ****, I did speak with a person identifying herself as "*****" and she was able to look up the information RateGenius supposedly had provided about me.  Had I been covered already by ***********, though one of their local agencies, ***** would have informed me of my new policy number and would not have had to open an actual policy on me.  This implied, to me, that she was working from information she had received from RateGenius.  I had no indication at all that two policies now existed on one vehicle until I was online with an online *********** agent AFTER my bank account had had $**7.36 removed by someone who's name I had no idea about which took place on September ***.  On my ******** account history, the name provided was " *********** ******** Insurance Premium."   I had to get on the internet to find out who this was!  That name does not imply any relationship to RateGenius and, if it is connected, none of the organizational structure of RateGenius or ***********s' smaller business units was ever explained to me.  It took a *********** online agent, through their online chat feature, to look up the fact that I was being billed TWICE because a duplicate insurance policy existed.   Mr. ****** contends in his reply letter that my recorded conversation/s "agreed" to their policy. My reply to this statement is I agreed to the name "***********" and that I was not told that his company was in any way connected as an agent of ***********.   Finally, I contend that I was never sent any sent any paperwork by RateGenius for my signature, no identification cards, only an ACH withdrawal using my routing information and bank account number obtained by the automobile loan information.  I'm sorry, but I feel I was a victim of deceptive business practice.  I am not happy.

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: ******** ******

**** ********* **

****** ** *****





September **, 20**







Dear Ms. ******,



This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was
presented

to our company on 9/*/20** (Case #*******).

We sincerely apologize as to any confusion that may have
arisen from this situation. We have carefully reviewed all the correspondence
in regards to establishing your new policy with *********** and fully believe
that RateGenius Insurance Agency was acting in good faith as your insurance
agent. As your agent, we are authorized to sell insurance policies for the
*********** Insurance Company on your behalf.

 

As part of this relationship, we gather the necessary
information from you and then take care of the leg work in setting up your new
policy with *********** as well as appropriately cancelling your old policy
with General Insurance Company. We strive to help our customers understand how
this works and how we are working for them on their behalf. We apologize for
any confusion or if there was any lack of clarity in this regard. When
*********** was contacted directly by you on 8/**/**, the new policy we were
taking care of for you had not gone through their system quite yet. Hence they
did not show the policy in their system at that time. Therefore, ***********
went ahead and set up another new policy for you and this is how the two
charges came about on your bank statement.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience that this
confusion may have caused. As stated previously, RateGenius Insurance Agency
has already contacted *********** and had the duplicate charge refunded to your
account. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or
need any further clarification. Thank you for your patience.

 

Regards,

*** ******

********** *******

*************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will, however, in the future be far more cautious when dealing with sales offers that have potential to cause great inconvenience and are completely profit-oriented.  I advise RateGenius to read over similar complaints on the Better Business Bureau's page against them and realize there is a pattern.

Regards,

******** ******

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter in the mail stating that I was pre-qualified by RateGenius to refinance my car loan at a lower rate. In order to find out what new rate I would be qualified for I had to go online to fill out an application. Within a day I received an email from **** *******, their senior loan consultant, who told me they could refinance my loan at a better rate than I am currently paying. In order to find out what that rate is I would need to call him. At that point this felt very salesman-like and I decided that I was not interested in finding out what I qualified for and chose to ignore his email. Within the next week I received 6 phone messages from Mr. ******* asking me to call him to discuss the refinance. This evening when he called again, in his message he said "If I don’t hear back from you by the end of the day tomorrow I’m just gonna withdraw your application. I don’t want to do that ‘cuz it will adversely affect your credit to have us pull it and then not follow through with the refinance." To me this felt like a high pressure tactic, even a threat.

Desired Settlement: An assurance from RateGenius that my credit rating will not be adversely affected.

Business Response: ***** ********
*** ********** ******
Stewartsville, NJ 08886


August 19, 2013


Dear Ms. ********,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 8/16/2013 (Case #*******).

After reviewing the complaint, our records show that you submitted an application online
on August 6, 2013. As part of the application process, you authorized RateGenius to retrieve your credit report
for the purpose of determining the creditworthiness of this loan request. Our loan officers make a
concerted effort to make contact with our applicants so as to be able to discuss the offer in detail
and be able to answer any questions you may have. We believe that our representative acted in good
faith to reach out to you and make you aware of the effect the inquiry on your credit report can have. We
apologize for any misunderstanding that may have come from this communication as it is never our desire
to ever have a customer feel pressured.

As such, we believe that RateGenius was acting in good faith within the bounds of Permissible Purpose
in making a credit inquiry in response to your online application. Thank you for bringing this important
matter to our attention. We have discussed this matter with all the parties involved and their management
to ensure that proper communication takes place going forward. Please feel free to
contact us with any other questions or concerns at: **********@rategenius.com

Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After applying for refinancing of my current vehicle through a third party, Rate Genius contacted about four times. On 7/30/2014 between the hours of 4:00 and 5:00 PM ***** ******** (###-###-#### / callback number for Rate Genius) contacted me. His tone and the nature in which he handled the call was completely inappropriate. First, he required that I shower him with gratitude for refinancing my loan. Then he attempted to go back and forth about how he should be addressed as opposed to answering the questions that I had. Finally, I asked to speak with another representative. *****, transferred me to **** *******, who he claimed was his supervisor; that, I doubt. However, I strongly encourage management to review that call because ***** provided very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: Careful review of the call, and an examination of what it reveals about *****'s motivation for the manner in which he treated me.

Business Response: ***** ****
**** ******** **** **** **
Houston, TX 77042


August 6, 2013


Dear Ms. ****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 8/2/2013 (Case #*******).



We have received notification of your interaction with RateGenius and have
reviewed the situation with the proper management staff. The call from 7/30/13
has been pulled and reviewed with the salesperson involved, ***** ********. It
has been determined that his handling of the conversation is not in line with
the type of quality customer service that we strive and desire to provide. As a
result of this, disciplinary action has been taken and the call has been used
as a training tool for ***** as well as other sales staff at RateGenius so that
we can provide better service for our customers in the future.

We hope that this action will satisfy any concerns you may have at this time. Thank
you for bringing this important matter to our attention. Please feel free to
contact us with any other questions or concerns at: compliance@rategenius.com


Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called asking for a quote on home and car insurance. I received a verbal quote but asked for a copy to be sent to my email. After calling and not hearing back for weeks I decided to go to a different company. I received a call about a month and a half after my initial meetings to find out that they signed me up for insurance without my sign off or permission. They stated that I could be signed up with only a verbal confirmation, which I never gave. The person I talked to said the only way to make this go away was to prove that I had duplicate insurance. There was no way that I was going to give this company more of my personal information to fix their mistake. This has been completed, but I think it is horrible business practice and should be noted on record that they are able to do this.

Desired Settlement: I finally got in touch with the manager and she canceled the policy with no personal information needed from my part.

Business Response: ***** ***** **** ********** ****** ******* ** *****



June 6, 2013



Dear Ms. *****,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 5/22/2013 (Case #*******).

Our records indicate the conversation that took place between you and one of our insurance managers. We again apologize for the breakdown
in communication and any inconvenience this may have caused. We will address this issue to help keep it from happening in the future.

We are glad to hear that you are content with the resolution provided. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at: *************************

Best Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an e-mail from Rate Genius telling me I was turned down for a loan. I didn't appply for a loan from them. They also gave me information about my credit report that is false.

Desired Settlement: Stop loan application that wasn't applied for. Remove any trace of their activity from my credit report, if they did try to look at my credit. Stop this fraudulent activity!

Business Response:
May 10, 2013



Dear Mr. *******,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 4/19/2013 (Case #*******).

Our records indicate that 2 applications were submitted to us for consideration of an auto loan refinance on the following dates:

Dec. 11th, 2012  4:08PM
Apr. 9th, 2013  11:14AM

We processed both applications expeditiously but we were unfortunately unable to provide any refinance options due to certain key factors on
your credit file. Regretfully, we do not have any control over the contents of your credit file and can only act according to what is
reported to us by the credit bureaus. As such, we sent out an Adverse Action letter to you for both applications that outline the specific
reasons as to why the applications were denied.

If you have any questions as to the content of your credit report, we ask that you contact ******** at the following address:

******** *** ******** ******** ** *** ***** ****** ** ***** ************

Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at: **********@rategenius.com

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I never applied for any loan with them.  They CAN remove their inquiries
any time they want.  Their answer is unacceptable and unethical.  They
are also lying about my credit report.  Why are businesses like this allowed to stay in business???

Regards,

*********** *******




























Business Response:
May 22, 2013



Dear Mr. ********


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 4/19/2013 (Case #*******).


Our records indicate that we did in good faith indeed receive an online application submission from you on Apr. 9th, 2013 11:14AM and that said application was processed and denied due to key factors reflected on your credit file.
We then sent the required adverse action notice to you on April 19th outlining the reasons that your application for a vehicle loan refinance was denied.

We feel that we acted appropriately and accordingly within the permissible purpose guidelines regarding the inquiry into your credit. However, we will go ahead and send a request to ******** asking to have the inquiries removed
from your credit report in order to pacify the situation.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the content of your credit report, we ask that you please contact ******** at the address below to address any issues.

******** *** ******** ******** ** *** ***** ****** ** ***** ************
We hope that this action will satisfy any concerns you may have at this time. Please feel free to contact us with any other questions at **********@rategenius.com

Regards,

*** ****** ********** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
4/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1