Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

RateGenius

Additional Locations

Phone: (866) 728-3436 4412 Spicewood Springs Rd Bldg 6, Austin, TX 78759 http://www.rategenius.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers marketing and contract fulfillment services to a network of financial institutions for refinancing automobiles; including Property/Casualty Insurance Sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that RateGenius meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for RateGenius include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 24 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

24 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 14 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 8
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 14
Total Closed Complaints 24

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

7 Customer Reviews on RateGenius
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 6
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 7

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 1998 Business started: 04/18/1996 in TX Business started locally: 04/18/1996 Business incorporated 04/23/2007 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner
2601 N Lamar Blvd, Austin TX 78705
www.occc.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (800) 538-1579
joann.mcanally@occc.state.tx.us

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe St, Austin TX 78701
http://www.tdi.texas.gov
Phone Number: (800) 252-3439

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Chris Brown, CEO Mr. Ian Harlow, Complaints Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Ian Harlow, Complaints Manager
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Financial Services Credit & Debt Counseling Financing Consultants Insurance - Property Loans

Alternate Business Names
RateGenius Insurance Agency RateGenius Loan Services RateGenius, Inc
Industry Tips
Finding a financial planner

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

RateGenius has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 4412 Spicewood Springs Rd Bldg 6

    Austin, TX 78759 (866) 728-3436

  • PO Box 28650

    Austin, TX 78755

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues
6/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I applied for a refinance of my Auto loan on 4/22/15 and was accepted by a Fed. Credit union, was emailed loan documents to electronically sign, loan was booked, when I noticed that Gap Insurance was placed , and as per a GAP Waiver Addendum, signed on 4/22/15 between myself- borrower and Logix Fed. Credit Union. This document does not Disclose, in any way a 3rd part Gap Ins. Co, only that a full REFUND of the GAP WAIVER FEE. Also, on the Federal Truth -in -lending disclosure, initiated by Rate Genius, also did not disclose the true GAP provider- called Allied Gap, on the FEDERAL Truth-in-Lending disclosure statement - only an amount going to GAP, phoned yesterday, as per voicemail of a ******** ******* was very evasive re: what " Allied Gap" had anything to do with my loan with a Federal Credit Union, and the double talk began, as NOTHING was disclosed about this company, whatsoever, when I phoned again today, after the 24 hour call back time indicated on her voicemail was the reason for the call today, and after questioning her, to find out that " Allied Gap" has a business relationship, of some sort with Rate Genius, would not disclose more, then emailed the cancellation for policy and refund, which indicated the $ was to be returned to the Lender, not the borrow, myself, not getting straightforward answers, only being told things are their "policies" requested any of these policies in writing and forwarded to me immediately, as well as the reason the GAP Ins. Co was never Disclosed on Federally required form, as well as conflicting verbiage re" refund, as she ( ******** *******) Rate Genius said it is company policy to refund to Lender only. I requested to speak with her supervisor, and was finally connected to her- **** *******, and when confronted with issues, became very combative, evasive, and not forthcoming with truths and at one point said that she was going to hang up on me. The Cancellation form was signed by myself, crossing out the wording from this Mysterious Allied GAP Co. form indicating money will be returned to Lender, wrote in borrower, initialed, and was faxed. The attitude of these people are, to say the least not close to be professional, as when certain questions were asked, both persons had no idea what to say, but to side-step a true answer, then when I asked the "supervisor" **** *******- said she is Controller, who Agent for Service is and official address is, she had no clue, and then began the less than professional verbal abuse by her as well. Needless to say, nothing would get through to those people, as the more the conversation continued, the more shady everything became with them, and then, as preparing FEDERAL TRUTH IN LENDING documents and NOT including the Name of the Gap Ins. Co, then told today I MUST deal with that Co. which has never been disclosed to me, at all is very disturbing and should have been disclosed properly as per Federal Regulations, as both individuals side-stepped the issues and refused to acknowledge the waiver addendum , signed by me that i am entitled to full refund if requested before 60 days, and NOT ONE WORD ever included ALLIED Gap, anywhere, not on the Waiver, nor the FEDERAL TRUTH IN LENDING DISCLOSURE. At this point, it is unsure what the Rate Genius personnel intend to do, as I requested a refund- to ME, in a quick, TIMELY manner, only, or will need to pursue other avenues, which nothing was told to me except that they follow the policies, of which, NONE were EVER disclosed to me.

Desired Settlement: Desired outcome is , as per contract that I signed, and NOT including this mysterious Allied GAP ins. Co. to be paid to the lender, of which was not in anything that I had signed, nor was disclosed, AT ALL. I am requesting a full refund of the GAP Ins. placed , and as per information, is not required, to be sent to ME, in the amount of $559.00, the amount collected, and as per **** ******* still has not been disbursed to the mysterious GAP ins. Co. IMMEDIATELY

Business Response: May 15, 2015

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 5/12/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of rateGenius. We have
looked into the situation and carefully reviewed it to make sure we
address your concerns properly and completely

We have spoken to Allied who is one of our GAP Product providers regarding
the matter. The reason the GAP Waiver contract that was signed by you
does not mention the Allied name on the form is because it is a general
Waiver between you, the customer, and the lender (in this case, Logix
FCU). We have confirmed that Florida law does not require Allied's name to be on the Waiver.

We have pulled all calls between you and RateGenius, and
on 2 different calls both on April 22, 2015, the GAP product is
discussed with you and is mentioned by name by both you and the
Loan Officer as being "Allied" GAP a total of 4 distinct instances. We're
unsure where the mystery of the GAP provider comes from, but we are
more than willing to have you listen to these calls should you so desire.

As for your refund, we are more than happy and willing to issue a refund
for the GAP product, as you are still within your legal 60 Day
cancellation period which ends on June 27th, 2015. We
cannot issue the refund however until we have received a signed, unaltered
cancellation form from you. Our Product Manager that you have spoken with
will be able to assist facilitate that.

The refund amount will be issued to your lender, Logix FCU, because the
cost of the product was rolled into your new auto loan with them. Since
you did not pay for the GAP product out of pocket (via
Credit Card, Check, etc) we cannot issue the refund directly to you.
Logix FCU paid for the product by adding the cost of the GAP to your
loan principal, ergo we will issue the refund (once we receive the
cancellation form from you unaltered) to Logix FCU who will then reduce
the loan principal by the amount of your GAP price. This
is beneficial to you because this also lowers the amount of interest you
would have originally paid on that portion of principal over the term of your auto loan.

We appreciate your patience and understanding in refinancing your auto
loan with RateGenius and hope that this clears up and confusion or
misunderstanding that may have taken place in
communications with our staff. Thank you again for bringing this to our
attention and please do not hesitate to contact us should you
have any further questions.

Best regards,

Compliance Manager

5/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I tried working with RateGenius on an auto refi. All was well when they were trying to get my business and then a snag with that lender. After getting paperwork notarized and sending it in within 24 hours, it wasn't until 5 days later that I receive a text message saying there was an issue and to call. Once I called I was told they were working with that lender. It's been almost 2 months and not a word from RateGenius about the status and what will happen with my paperwork. During the process, I learned that Logix Credit Union was listed as the finance company on my insurance which caused me distress. There was no confirmation that the loan went thru and I have been paying the original lender who should be listed as the finance company should there be a loss. I contacted ******* ********* to discuss and he has not responded to any of my emails, voicemails or text messages. With these companies having sensitive personal information, I am concerned about the security of my information.

Desired Settlement: I would like confirmation of the status of the loan. If the loan is denied, then I want the physical return of all paperwork submitted for the refinance.

Business Response: May 15, 2015

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 5/10/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of rateGenius. We have
looked into the situation and carefully reviewed it to make sure we address your concerns properly and completely.

We appreciate your patience while we attempted to find you a lower rate on your auto loan. Unfortunately after the initial review
of your loan application, it was ultimately declined due to reasons stemming from your ChexSystems report. We made sure
that the Loan Officer that you worked with contacted you regarding the issue and resolved any questions or concerns you
may have had about it. We sincerely apologize for any breakdown in attempts to contact you regarding this matter previously.

The Loan Officer is currently in communication with your previous insurance company to change the policy back to the original
lien holder. Management will oversee this to make sure it is carried out to completion.

We thank you again for bringing this to our attention and we hope that the matter has been resolved adequately. Please do not hesitate to
reach out to rateGenius should you have any other questions or concerns regarding your application.

Best Regards,

Compliance Manager

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,
******** *****

4/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I began the process with rate genius on 02/17/2015 to refinance my vehicle. I sent all required financial information that day. Upon receiving all my information I was told the financier agreed to honor their estimate. After they received all my information including my personal information, bank information, spousal information and military information they sent me the contract to be signed along with the outlining of the loan agreement. I sent it back to them the next day that was 02/24/2015. I was then in contact with another individual from rate genius who then told me I needed to open another insurance policy in order to be the policy holder. So I did just that with USAA for $800 and some change; under the understanding that the loan was approved which she said. 45 days later after numerous attempts to get in touch with them time after time which they never returned any of my calls or emails, forcing me to miss payments on my current loan which they told me not to pay in order to not mess up my payoff quote. on 04/01/2015 they called me that everything fell through and they were in no way going to reimburse me for the several thousand dollars in which they cost me. They sat there and told me I was lying about information in which I received on their behalf, so I forwarded the emails to my attorney. They failed to follow through on their contract and inform me of any notices for 2 months.

Desired Settlement: I asked them to only reimburse me for the late fees and insurance money I paid upon there instruction immediately.

Business Response: April 8, 2015

******* *****
*** ********* ***
** ****** ** *****

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 4/2/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of rateGenius. We have
looked into the situation and carefully reviewed it to make sure we
address your concerns properly and completely. We appreciate your
patience while we attempted to find you a lower rate on your auto loan.
One of the stipulations required by the lender was that there be an
insurance policy in your name that lists you as insured, which is a
standard requirement for most auto loans.

The lender we had matched you with ultimately declined the application due to issues that
have been disclosed to you over the phone as well as in writing (we are
unable to go into details about the reasons for being declined in this
public letter due to the private nature of your application).
Unfortunately, we did not know the lender would decline the application
at the time that you opened the new insurance policy. It is my understanding
that one of our supervisors has reached out to you to pinpoint the exact amount that was
spent on the new policy and will be issuing you a refund for that
amount as a courtesy to you.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have
caused you and hope that in the future we may be able to better earn
your business. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this
matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******* *****

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First I get an e-mail that I was approved to refinance my car,then get a phone telling me I was denied.I consider this very deceiving on their part.And now I have a a hard inquiry lowering my credit score.Also was told the credit inquiry wouldn't affect my credit score.,Not true.

Desired Settlement: Make good on your approval.

Business Response: March 19, 2015

***** *****
*** **** ***** *** *** ******** ** *****

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 2/2/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of RateGenius. We have investigated the matter carefully and wish to apologize
for any confusion that may have arisen as a result of your application. We pulled the call with out Customer Service dept and believe
this to be a result of confusion between the terms "Pre-Qualified" and "Pre-Approved".

As per the CFPB, "Pre-qualification" is a lender’s estimate of how much you could be eligible to borrow based on information you supply.
Pre-qualification does not mean you will get the loan as it is based on a very limited amount of information about the customer.

"Pre-approval" usually means that the lender is ready to make you a loan based on the information and documentation you provided
at the time you requested a pre-approval.

The email sent by RateGenius only stated that you were Pre-Qualified for a possible lower interest rate on your car loan. From there, we invite our
customers to apply online to see if they further qualify for a lower interest rate. Before a customer can submit an application the last page of the app states
"I authorize rateGenius and/or its lenders to retrieve my credit report for the purpose of evaluating the credit worthiness of this loan request,
and to service my loan if made, as outlined in rateGenius' Terms and Conditions." In order for the customer to finish submitting the refinance application,
the customer must check the box to acknowledge they've read this statement. By checking his box, we pulled the customer's credit report and
followed the Fair Credit Reporting Act. Once the application was taken and more information was gathered, however, it was determined by our
lenders that due to issues with income, it would not allow the loan to be approved. 

Again, we apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:My daughter and I combined our incomes,which should be more then sufficient.And income seemed to be the main factor(,for being declined) as I read in your reply.
My daughter also called and gave all the requested information.Again we where told the loan was approved.(not per-qualified.)This is false advertisement and also damaged my credit score with a hard inquiry .My only consolation is that BBB has this on file.So maybe other people can read my complaint.not make the same mistake I made.  

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response: March 30, 2015

***** *****
*** **** ***** *** *** ******** ** *****

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 2/2/2015 (Case #********).

We thank you for taking the time to respond to us regarding this complaint. We have gone back and reviewed all documentation as well as listened
to all the recorded conversations from your transaction. Unfortunately we cannot find an instance where our representative stated that the credit inquiry
would not affect your score. We apologize if there was any confusion that arose from that.

The reasons that you and your daughter's (as joint applicant) application was declined are outlined in the Adverse Action Notice that was emailed to you
per the guidelines of the FACT Act. Unfortunately the information in that notice is private and confidential and we are not able to post that here, but we
are more than willing to re-send the Adverse Action Notice to you again if you'd like to review it again.

Again, we apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused and that we were unable to assist you at this time. We hope that in the future
we might be able to earn your business again. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards, As far as doing business in the future.with your company.I 'll use this as a learning experience.

***** *****

4/8/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I Was sent a letter stating I was prequalified for a lower interest rate for my car loan. When I called I asked exactly what that meant. I was told all I had to do was fill out the application online or by phone and I was already approved. After being transferred to a suoervisor he stated I needed to show more income at that time I added my husband to the loan. As my husband was speaking to the supervisor he stated with the added income we would get the loan. Today we called to find out we were declined for refinancing my vehicle at a lower interest rate.. False advertisement letter to refinance my car at a lower interest rate, lied to by rategenius employees as well as a rategenius supervisor. I received a letter from rategenius I did not approach them they approached me by letter to refinance. I would had never applied. for the loan and had my credit pulled if I was not misled by rategenius.

Business Response: March 11, 2015

******** *****
** **** **** ** ******* ** *****

Dear *** *****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 2/2/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of RateGenius. We have investigated the matter carefully and wish to apologize
for any confusion that may have arisen as a result of your application. We pulled the call with out Customer Service dept and believe
this to be a result of confusion between the terms "Pre-Qualified" and "Pre-Approved" on part of the customer.

As per the CFPB, "Pre-qualification" is a lender’s estimate of how much you could be eligible to borrow based on information you supply.
Pre-qualification does not mean you will get the loan as it is based on a very limited amount of information about the customer.

"Pre-approval" usually means that the lender is ready to make you a loan based on the information and documentation you provided
at the time you requested a pre-approval.

The letter sent by RateGenius only stated that you were Pre-Qualified for a possible lower interest rate on your car loan. Once the application
was taken and more information was gathered, it was determined that the lender would have a better chance of approving the loan by adding
the additional income of your spouse in order to help what is called the Debt-to-Income (DTI) ratio. After reviewing the call, the RateGenius supervisor
at no point ever guaranteed or assured that the loan would be approved. He also explained the difference between pre-qualified and pre-approved.

After the loan application was completed and sent to the lender, Family Savings, the lender determined it did not meet their approval metrics
and the mandated Adverse Action Notice was then sent which notifies the consumer as to why the loan was declined.

Again, we apologize for any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:I was misled on two separate occasions froma rate genius representative.  I know the difference between pre qualified and preapproved and however did not need anyone to explain that to me.  My concern is the fact on two separate occasions someone from rate genius gave me false information. One being the fact that if nothing had changed since the time I received the letter in which nothing had changed that I would be approved. I stated I did not want my credit pulled it there was a slim chance of refinancing for a lower interest rate. Second, being adding my husband and the extra income the representative then stated that it shouldn't be a problem at all with the added income. I just want people to be aware that when talking to a customer representative from rate genius do you not take what they say to heart because they are not in a place to confirm whether or not a loan will be approved. They should have stated they did not know whether adding my husband for the extra income would or would not make me qualified to lower my interest rate. Just want consumers to be aware and hope this doesn't happened to other people that receive the letter to refinance for a lower interest rate and be misled by rate genius representatives. Not to mention my credit was pulled again two days later when suggested by rate genius that added income would help. 

Regards,

******** *****

Business Response: ******** *****
** **** **** ***** ******* ** *****

Dear *** *****,

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention. We have reviewed both calls made between you and our representatives
and have found at no point any instance of our representatives assuring that an approval of your loan would be guaranteed. Based on
the information in those calls, it appears that the lender, Family Savings, may have given you that impression during your call with them
and we invite you to take the issue up with them for further resolution.

As the process is designed with federal regulations in mind, we work with you, the consumer, to give you the best chance of getting approved
for a lower interest rate auto loan. You were selected as "pre-qualified" based on a very limited amount of information we have from a soft inquiry
on your credit profile. This soft inquiry does not affect your score negatively. We then sent the letter on behalf of the lender to invite you to fully
apply for the loan. When you filled out the application, you agreed to a hard inquiry on your credit. This allowed the lender to see more information
on your credit report to be able to better see if you met all the standards to be approved for the loan.

Our representatives stated that by adding your husband as a joint borrower, it would help by decreasing your Debt To Income ratio and would
help the application. However optimistic as we try to be, it was never a guarantee that the lender would approve the loan. We can only make
recommendations that will likely increase the chances of being approved. Once your husband applied as a joint borrower, he also agreed, as part of the
security questions that are asked to every customer, to having his credit pulled for the purposes of this loan.

Our lenders are unfortunately unable to make an approval without first being able to look at your credit profile. This is why you were only "pre-qualified"
at first, as opposed to "pre-approved". Again, our deepest apologies for any confusion or inconvenience this has caused you. We are taking measures
to ensure that our staff are all properly trained to help our customers better understand the process and to be more clear in order to mitigate any confusion or distress.

Thank you for your patience and consideration,

*** ******

********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I was also on the phone call and know exactly what was said. I am happy that you are going to make sure your representatives are trained appropriately for future calls so other consumers are not misled.

Regards,

******** *****

4/7/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After stupidly signing up on ******* ****, without my consent hard pulls were done to my credit. Your company who I previously had never heard of, did a hard pull on my credit without my consent. ******* **** is also false advertising saying it will be a soft pull to match up lenders. As a result, I now have numerous pulls and numerous calls at all hours of the night. I'm a student and work full time and can't have my phone going off all the time.

Desired Settlement: Removal of the hard pull off my credit as I didn't consent.

Business Response: March 19, 2015

********* ******* ** ******** ** ********** ** *****

Dear *** *******,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 3/19/2015(Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of rateGenius. We have looked into the situation and carefully reviewed it to make
sure every aspect is covered. Unfortunately rateGenius is unable to restore the customer's credit score as our records indicate you
submitted your application online with ******* ****. 

When submitting an application online with ******* ****, the customer is required to put in their social security number. Before hitting submit
on the online application, the third bullet clearly states "You are providing Express Written Consent under the Fair Credit Reporting Act
for ******* ****, LLC, selected dealer(s) and/or up to five (5) partners with whom you are matched to obtain your consumer credit report
information from your credit profile or other information from Contracted Credit Bureau(s) associated with your inquiry." Because
rateGenius is a partner of ******* ****, this is why the credit profile was pulled. 

As for the calls, our call records do not show any outgoing calls made to your listed number and our offices close at 8pm Central Time,
so it is likely that the late calls you received were from another lender/partner with whom ******* **** matched you. We do have record of
receiving a Do Not Call list request for your number and have complied with keeping that on file and removing your phone number from any future
communication.


Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

3/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we refinanced through RateGenius last July, we happily bought into the extended warranty and the peace of mind it gave us knowing that if anything went wrong with our care mechanically, we would be taken care of (although hoping we never would have to use it!). Unfortunately, this month something went wrong with our motor and the dealership we took it to (no one but the local dealer would even touch the car because of its CVT transmission) determined we needed a new one. Because of the needs of the extended warranty, the dealer had to dismantle the motor completely (although it was clear to them a new motor was needed by just taking off the heads) adding several more hours of labor to the bill. Then, they wanted our service records for the last two years (we were never provided a contract stating this was a requirement). We were able to dig up several and were assured this would appease the pocket books above. Ultimately, the determination came back that they would NOT honor our extended warranty. Why? Because those receipts we provided did not have our NAMES on them. After overcoming all previous obstacles strategically placed in front of us, the finally finagled a way to not have to pay out a dime. I don't believe for one second they ever intended on honoring the warranty, and I plan to voice that to anyone who will listen. I am now without transportation, living thirty minutes from my job, AND still responsible for paying on a vehicle I cannot drive, or even afford to pay the dealer for their time and tow the thing home. Thanks a lot RateGenius!

Desired Settlement: I would like to see the warranty honored and my car repaired.

Business Response: March 11, 2015

***** ****** *** ******** ***** ** *****

Dear *** ******,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 2/2/2015 (Case #********).

Thank you for bringing this matter to the attention of RateGenius. We have looked into the situation and carefully reviewed it to make sure
every aspect is covered. We have discovered that the reason your warranty claim has been denied by the warranty company, INDS, is
due to an evident lack of proper regular maintenance on the vehicle.

This stipulation is outlined in the Extended Warranty contract that was sent to you and signed at the time of purchase, as well as sent to
you again 3 months later. At no point did RateGenius or its provider of extended warranties, INDS, ever guarantee that the vehicle would
be covered unconditionally.

You are more than welcome, however, to cancel the warranty (our records show that the cancellation form has been sent to you) for a
pro-rated refund of the cost of the warranty.

Again, we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

3/11/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter from Rate Genius advertising a pre-approval for a lower interest rate. I called the number, gave them the ID number they provided on the letter. They asked for and received personal information as I believed they were a lending company. They told me they would shop my information around for an approval. I confirmed that they would only pull one credit request. Immediately after, the same night, I started getting recorded calls from cash advance companies. I called back and was told that they do not provide my information to any other companies. But the calls are still coming. I am on a Do Not Call list and have had no problems until that night. This company is deceptively collecting information, lying to consumers and shopping out the information to high-interest rate cash advance companies.

Desired Settlement: Stop deceptive practices. Stop selling my information. Stop assisting credit identity thieves.

Business Response: March 10, 2015

***** ********
**** *** ****** *****
** *********** ** *****

Dear *** ********,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 2/17/2015 (Case #********).


We have carefully reviewed your complaint and as a result, have reviewed our agreements with all of our business partners and any other 3rd parties
with which we work. We take our customers' privacy very seriously and strive to always protect your information from ever being used
for any purpose other than that which you have applied for through our services.

In accordance with state and federal privacy laws, we never sell or
disseminate our customers' personal information to any outside parties for other uses. RateGenius also maintains language in our agreements with our
lenders and partners that assures that your information is only used in finding you a better refinance option for your auto loan.

We apologize for any inconvenience that you have experienced as a result of these calls, but we have determined that it is merely coincidental that those
calls began around the same time that you applied for an auto loan refinance with rateGenius. We maintain that rateGenius has not, nor ever will, sell your
information or used it in any manner other than that which was agreed upon in your application.

Thank you for your patience and consideration in this matter.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******



Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

***** ********

1/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company that I never heard of pulled my credit, after pulling my credit they gave my information to 5 other banks who pulled my credit. I filled a FTC complaint and will be looking into litigation

Desired Settlement: The must have written consent to pull credit. They need to remove inquires immediately

Business Response: *** **********,

We
apologize for any inconvenience this issue has caused.  Our records show
that on November 28, 2014, you submitted an application with Lending
Tree to receive auto refinance offers from up to 5 of their partners. 
Our company, rateGenius, is a partner of Lending Tree and thus we
received your personal information in order to find you a competitive
rate with our network of lenders.  On the Lending Tree website, there is
a section of the application that requires your Social Security
Number.  That page contains the following text, "You are providing
Express "Written" Consent under the Fair Credit Report
Act for LendingTree, LLC, selected dealer(s), and/or up to five (5) partners (see link below)
with whom you are matched to obtain your consumer credit report
information from your credit profile or other information from
contracted Credit Bureau(s) associated with your inquiry."

https://www.lendingtree.com/legal/partner-list

Again,
we apologize if this was not your intent or has caused any
inconvenience, but we would still very much like to earn your business. 
Alternatively, we can add you to a "block" list so that we will never
again process an application from you.

Best Regards,
***** ********
******** ** *********
RateGenius, Inc.

###-###-####

10/15/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have recently have been diligently working on my credit to buy a home. I was researching refinancing a car but did not want a head inquiry showing up on my credit which in return would have a negative effect on my credit, I originally went to the website car loans.com. Their website claimed no harm would be done to my credit. I have a screen shot of this.Then, I received a phone call from rate genius stating they ran my credit and had an offer for me. I have evidence of the false advertising, copies of my credit report with the inquiry. My FICO has gone down 4 points because of this. I would like to avoid litigation as I work at a Law Firm. This is a direct violation of the Federal Fair Credit Reporting Act.

Desired Settlement: I am requesting the credit inquiry to be removed from my credit. I did not authorize this and a letter stating this has been resolved.

Business Response: We appreciate the customer contacting us to review the problem and find a solution. Upon reviewing the information from the customer, we've found the customer was directed to the RG website to fulfill an application. Before a customer can submit an application the last page of the app states "I authorize rateGenius and/or its lenders to retrieve my credit report for the purpose of evaluating the credit worthiness of this loan request, and to service my loan if made, as outlined in rateGenius' Terms and Conditions." In order for the customer to finish submitting the refinance application, the customer must check the box to acknowledge they've read this statement. By checking his box, we pulled the customer's credit report and followed the Fair Credit Reporting Act.

9/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 10, 2014, I applied online through *********** to refinance my car loan. I was contacted by RateGenius that I was approved they could reduce my interest rate from 17.43% to 11.5% saving me about $80.00 per month in payments. I of course accepted this offer. I provided all of the information they requested and signed all of the loan documents for loan number ******* and was told everything was fine. I was very happy with the service they provided. I was dealing with ***** *********, ****** **** *******. I received a call September 12, 2014 from Mr. ********* that the system kicked back everything and that they could only offer me 14% interest and all I needed to do was resign the documents. I told him that was not acceptable as I had already agreed on a previous offer and payment and that I would not sign anything else. He continued to try to convince me to take the loan at which point I was very upset and hung up on him. I realize that my credit is less than perfect, however all of the documents were already signed and submitted and to come back after the fact and tell me they cannot commit to what was agreed upon is unacceptable. I find this to be a bit shady. There was no reason for me to provide all of the back-up information including copies of my drivers license, social security card, payroll etc. to this company if the offer they gave me was not legitimate. I feel that I could end up a victim of identity theft now that they have all of my personal information.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refinance loan at the rate that was offered of 11.5%. This is what was agreed upon and should be followed through with.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I am willing to speak to ***** again regarding this, however the 11.5% interest rate should be upheld, whether with that lender or another, I don't care.  It is not my fault that the lender changed its policies.  The offer should not have been made at 11.5 if it could not be upheld.

Regards,

****** ******

Business Response: We did offer the customer the initial rate of 11.5%, but when we sent her completed documents back to the lender, the lender denied the 11.5% because this particular lender has changed the way they do their calculations for interest rates. This was the first 2014 vehicle we had with this particular lender, and the way they determine the value of the vehicle was not disclosed to us prior to closing the loan.
Because the lender had updated their business practices, we had to oblige by the 14% interest rate. We understand how this is frustrating and we want to apologize. 

We did try to continue the conversation with the customer to find a solution for a lower rate than 14%, but she hung up on us while doing so. We would like to invite the customer to speak with us again to give her some solutions to save on her auto loan. Please let us know if you would like us to contact you or if you would like to call ***** directly. We would love to help any way we can.

Business Response: Since yesterday, the lender said they will honor the original offer. The customer should have been contacted to be made aware of this. Any issues regarding interest rates are at no control of rateGenius. We are only the liaison and have no authority in regards to interest rates or approvals. We are happy a solution has been found for the customer. 

Consumer Response: I did receive a call from RateGenius that they would honor the rate, however they have not yet sent me confirmation in writing nor proof of funding.  Once the original loan has been paid off and I receive the confirmation in writing, I will of course give a good report to the BBB.  I spoke to ******* (I think) and he said that I would be receiving multiple emails, however I have not yet received one.

Thank you.

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted ******* **** on or about 7/14/14 to inquire about refinancing my automobile. I was told by them that my inquiry would not adversely affect my credit as they only did a "soft hit" in checking my credit. One of their lenders, Rate Genius, contacted me the same day (7/14) and left a message for me to return their call to discuss the refinance of my automobile. I did not return their call that day and by the time they called the next day (7/15) I had been alerted that my credit had dropped several points due to a "hard hit" credit check by Rate Genius and others. Therefore, I did not return Rate Genius' telephone call from 7/15 either and when I got an email from them on or about 7/16 I emailed them back and told them that I had withdrawn my request through ******* **** and to please not call me again. However, they DID call me again. As a matter of fact, they called on 7/16, 7/17, 7/18, 7/19, 7/21, 7/22, 7/23, 7/24, & 7/25. The name of the person who called was *****. I never spoke with anyone from Rate Genius, I never authorized anyone with Rate Genius to do a hard credit check, nor did I ever ask Rate Genius for any services. I understand that they would need to do a credit check before loaning me money, however, they should not be authorized to do a hard credit check until or unless a customer consents and/or understands that they are going to do so.

Desired Settlement: Contact the credit companies (specifically ********) and return my credit to the status it was before they got involved.

Business Response: We want to thank the customer for bringing this matter to our attention. We have carefully researched the issue of the customer receiving multiple calls and having their credit pulled. First and foremost, we want to apologize for any confusion rateGenius may have caused and we want to apologize for calling the customer multiple times. Our records show ******* **** did send us a notice informing us about the customer's request to withdraw from the application process. However, somehow missed the notification. We have fixed the communication issue on our end. The customer shouldn't have received any more calls. 

Unfortunately rateGenius cannot restore the customer's credit score. Our records indicate the customer submitted her application online with ******* **** and had a phone call with ******* ****. After researching the issue, we have found when submitting an application online with LT, the customer is required to put in their social security number. Before hitting submit on the online application, the third bullet clearly states "You are providing Express Written Consent under the Fair Credit Reporting Act for ******* ****, LLC, selected dealer(s) and/or up to five (5) partners with whom you are matched to obtain your consumer credit report information from your credit profile or other information from Contracted Credit Bureau(s) associated with your inquiry." Because rateGenius is a partner of ******* ****, this is why he credit profile was pulled. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I AM addressing the problem with ******* **** as I understand the problem starts with them.  However, Rate Genius should not be allowed to do a hard credit pull until or unless a potential customer authorizes it.    And Rate Genius continued to call me until July 29th.  Their last call to me was July 29, 2012 at 7:50 p.m.   This was even after I had emailed them twice to stop calling me.   If Rate Genius can contact the bureaus and do a hard pull on my credit, they can and will contact the bureaus and reverse the damage. 

Regards,
***** **********

7/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: RateGenius Loan Officer, Mr. **** *****, approved my car refinancing in May 2014. My Loan # is *******. On 19 June 2014, I received a congratulatory message from RateGenius telling me that I'm approved for auto refinancing through RateGenius. I called and spoke with Mr. ***** and I asked him whether I still have to pay my June payment of $627.23 to **** *********. He stated that I could skip two (2) monthly payments of $627.23 for the months of June and July 2014. Then, he requested me to provide all the required documents, which I did. All requested personal info was provided to him, and the loan package that was sent to me was completed and returned to him. I did not pay June's payment because he said the refinance company, ***** ********* ********* ********* ***., ** *** ******* ******** ** ***** would take care of the entire amount I owe to **** *********. For record purposes, I also called **** ********* stating that RateGenius would pay everything and that my car refinancing would be taken over by RateGenius and to make sure that my conversation with a **** customer service was noted in my **** account. On July 8, 2014, Mr ***** emailed me and said that the ***** ********* ********* ******** cancelled my pre-approved car refinancing, even though it had approved it the first time, because I have too many collections in my credit score. In return, I emailed Mr. ***** to confirm the cancellation and he confirmed it. Then I requested Mr. ***** to return all the forms I have submitted. He emailed back and said he already shredded them. "I hope I will not be an identity theft victim".

Desired Settlement: I want RateGenius or ***** ********* ********* ********* **** to pay for my June 2014 payment to **** Financing of $627.23 plus interest or send me a check for this amount plus interest and I will pay **** Financing myself.

Business Response: We want to thank Mr. ****** for contacting us and giving us a chance to look into his problem. 

As Mr. ****** states, we were happy to re-approve his refinance application. Unfortunately, due to the length of time between the customer accepting the offer & contacting us to confirm, his original approval was no longer valid. Once we resubmitted the customer’s application, many collections were on his report. We again were able to get ***** ********** approval to help the customer. On June 23rd, our rep called the customer for the customer’s 10-day payoff. By June 23rd, the customer was already 19 days past due on his car note.

Although we were able and glad to help Mr. ****** with his refinance, rateGenius does not advise customers to skip payments when there are collections and past dues on their credit. We apologize for any misunderstandings.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:  Rategenius's statement is not true.  I specifically asked Mr. **** ***** about my June payment, and he said I don't have to pay it including the July payment.  Immediately after he said
that, I called ** ********* and told the business that Rategenius will send the pay-off amount of $25K plus.  I also made sure the customer service I spoke too noted this pay-off amount in my account.  By the way, my monthly payment schedule was not until June 27, and I was not delinquent at that time.  I'm up-to-date on my payment with ** *********.  60 months remain from my 6 years contract with ** *********.  Rategenius offered me 66 months to pay, with $595.00 monthly payment.  In other words, Rategenius would still make profit from me by extending the loan to 66 months.   Mr. ***** statement that I could skip two months, June and July payments, confirmed that Rategenius would still make profit ($627.23@ 4months) in this proposed refinancing.  I took the offer for not having to pay June and July payments plus the monthly reduction of $32.00.

There's only one refinancing approval with Rategenius  since the beginning, and I totally disagree with the lender's statement that it pulled my credit again and seen there are too many collections.  My credit would not have changed in that short period of time. 
 

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: Upon further research, rateGenius has retrieved a recorded call where the loan officer makes
the statement, "You do not need to make your payment if you get this back
to me quickly." Unfortunately, when asked about skipping car payments, ****
***** was not made aware the car note was already past due.

After the loan officer and the customer spoke, it took over 16 days to receive the completed
loan documents back. We offer UPS overnight document shipping for free. RG is
proud to serve customers in order to save them money, so we gladly resubmitted the
customer’s app due to amount of time that had passed. It is the lender that
controls the approval or denial of your loan. RG does not have a say in this.

RG has made a good faith effort to help the customer with the provided information from the
customer. We would like to pay for half of the payment to have the matter
resolved. The amount would be $313.62 in check form. Thank you for letting us help you. 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Regards,

******** ******

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In checking my credit report last week I saw that on May 24, 2012 and again on Aug 15, 2012 thios auto refinancing company queried my credit report. I knew that I had not sought this service, nor had my wike, nor had we cosigned for anyone for a loan, This is one of several recent instances of irregularities that we have noted regarding attempts to hack into or take our loans of our accounts, one being successful wirh a credit card account. On 1/25/2014 I called the ###-###-#### number and spoke with a representative. I was told that their records did not indicate that me or my wife had applied for a loan, but that she could not tell me who did. She took my number and said that her manager would call me back. This did not happen. The following day I went to their website and requested information on their customer service web page and have not received a response.

Desired Settlement: I want to know why this business concern was inquiring about my credit, who was doing it, and for whom it was being done.

Business Response: Financial services companies, such as RG, will conduct "soft inquires" on consumers reports, which does NOT affect the consumers credit report or score. Soft inquires are only used for marketing purposes in order to see if a potential customer fits criteria for a refinance option. Credit bureaus, such as Experian, provide financial services companies, such as RG, with this information. Again, soft inquires have NO affect on credit score. We believe this is a soft inquiry because the customer is nowhere in our system when we tried to look him up. In order to make sure we have not made a mistake, we would need to know which credit reporting bureau showed the customer rateGenius on his credit report. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As stated by RateGenius, "In order to make sure we have not made a mistake, we would need to know which credit reporting bureau showed the customer rateGenius on his credit report.".  That credit reporting bureau was Experian.  I want to make sure that RateGenius has not "made a mistake".  I would also like to know why they did not respond to my previous requests with this informastion.  Thank you. 


Regards,

***** *******

Business Response: The next steps to resolve the customer's issue is for rateGenius to get with Experian to determine what kind of pull was made on his credit. Once we have an update, we will be contacting the customer. If the credit pull from rateGenius is, in fact, a hard pull, rateGenius will take all available avenues to fix the issue. We apologize for any unsettled solutions for the customer's questions. There may have been a miscommunication about what kind of credit pull was made on his account, so that may be the reason why he was not informed of this earlier. We are working hard to fix this issue in a timely manner. 

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was referred to Rate Genius via a auto refinance application filled out with ******* ****. I received a call as well as an email stating I was approved and the general terms such as rate, period, and payment were included in the e-mail. It looked good to me so I called and spoke with a *** ******* who explained the terms and the process. I agreed to the terms and a loan document package was e-mailed to me. That very afternoon we got someone to watch our kids so my wife and I could gather the documents needed and get to UPS to get letters notarized at our expense and send the documents overnight. The documents were acknowledged received and that I could look forward to skipping a payment, which I did. I received notice almost a full week later that they wouldn't be able to honor the agreement due to our income being too low. Our income was stated on the original application that they allegedly secured a loan based on. We provided documentation that our income is actually HIGHER than what was on our application. It is my suspicion that the loan was never actually secured based on the information that was provided on the application. I have attempted many times to get an explanation and get to the bottom of this but the specific rep and Rate Genius in general has stopped responding to my e-mails and voicemails. Now I have also incurred a late charge and a negative note on my credit report for, as advised, skipping a payment on my current loan.

Desired Settlement: Would accept the honoring of original agreement. At very least would like an apology, explanation, and perhaps deleting inquiry from credit bureaus due to failure to honor agreement.

Business Response: The customer entered main income on the application as $3833 and joint as $3083. This is what was approved should the Proof Of Income match or exceed this amount.

Based on the proof of income (POI) provided, the main actually came to $3676 and joint to $2497. POI was sent to the lender and lender declined to honor the loan due to income dropping by this amount exceeding their debt-to-income (DTI) limitations. The customer then stated that he had recently received a pay increase. To do everything we could, we asked the customer to provide proof of this in form of a letter. We received this letter, and the lender still declined because the joint was still $586 less than what the customer originally stated on the initial application. *** ******* called  to let the customer know that with the letter they still wouldn't be able to get approved. *** indicated she has not received any correspondence from the customer since then, and hasn't avoided any contact. 

Simply put, because the actual amount of income is $586 less than what the customer originally stated, the customers DTI (debt-to-income) does not meet the criteria for the lender, so the approval was revoked. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: As *** can attest my income exceeds stated amounts and was provided with documents showing this.  I even sent *** scanned copies showing of the documents sent that show main income is $3,833.33/month ($46,000/12) and joint is $3,112.00/month ($37,344/12) which EXCEEDS amount on application.  One voicemail was left and several e-mails which were sent as replies thus avoiding any chance of misspelling or going to spam were sent as well as one to the company's general e-mail box was sent.  No replies to any of these.

Regards,

******* *******

Business Response: Per the lender:

Child support was not used because the lender did not receive any proof of continuance for at least the next three years.  If the lender used the primary’s income of $3835 (based on $1770 biweekly) and the coapplicant’s income of $2497.38 = the DTI is still over 56% and was not approved.  When subtracting the current payment and using the minimum new payment (based on the current loan balance at 5.40% for 60 months), the DTI was still 53.74%.  The lender did use the higher income as it was on his pay-stub. The letter from his employer was not a factor, as it was not signed. In addition, the child support document provided did not have anyone’s name on it or specify what the deposit was for.  If the customer had submitted the court order to verify continuance and a statement with her name on it (this is hand written at the bottom), the lender could have used that income. 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I was never at anytime informed that the support income was being rejected and was never asked to provide additional documentation.  This would have been helpful information to have.  Again, another example of not being informed or having questions answered which just solidifies the poor customer service experience that this complaint is about.  I am more than happy to forward the e-mail communications I have so there is no question that this information was never at any time disclosed. 

Regards,

******* *******

10/24/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have never done business with RateGenius or any of its affiliates. I do not want to do business with RateGenius or any of its affiliates. I am receiving unsolicited emails from RateGenius. I did not give any permission for RateGenius or any of its affiliates to contact me. If RateGenius is under any misconception that they have this permission, I am formally telling them they do not have my permission to contact me.

Desired Settlement: I want all communications from RateGenius and any of its affiliate to cease and desist. Please remove me from any list you have me on. Please contact the people providing you the lists to let them know they do not have my permission to distribute my information.

Business Response: ***** ***********
*** ******** *****
Wayne, NJ 07470


May 10, 2013



Dear Mr. ***********,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 10/18/2013 (Case #*******).

We have looked into our records and were unable to determine how your information got onto our mailing
lists, as we strive to only reach out to those who have done business with RateGenius or one of its partners.
However, we have gone ahead and added you to our Opt Out list which has removed your contact information from our database
and should cease all communications in the future.

If for any reason you continue to receive any mail or email from RateGenius, please feel free to forward it to us at the
contact info below and we will look into any other possible reasons why it might be getting sent out. We apologize for
any confusion or inconvenience this may have caused. Thank you for taking the time to contact us about this matter.


Regards,


*** ******

********** *******

**********@rategenius.com

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.   As long as I no longer receive contact I want to close the complaint.  I would like to open a new complaint if communication occurs at a later date.

Regards,

***** ***********

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Rate Genius said they would due a 100% refinance on my car loan with ****** credit Corp Rate genius were 460.78 short on the payoff. ****** wants me to pay and so does rate genius the 460.78. Rate genius said it was a100% refi. I refuse to pay. I have already started to pay car payments to ***** credit union THEY PICKED UP THE LOAN

Desired Settlement: PAY THE BALANCE TO ****** TO ****** ****

Business Response: ***** **** ******** **** ***** ****** ** ******* ** *****


September **, 2013


Dear Mr. ********,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 9/**/2013 (Case #*******).

After reviewing our records, it has been determined that a error had occurred when receiving the payoff amount for your auto refinance from ****** ****** ****.
We have addressed and escalated this issue with ****** ****** ****. to ensure that the payoff amount is corrected and that you do not owe the disputed $460.78 balance.
We apologize for any hassle or inconvenience this error may have caused and hope that we have addressed the issue to your satisfaction.

If you have any further questions or concerns, do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for your patience and understanding.

Regards,

*** ******
Compliance Manager

*************************

9/27/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon arranging for a refinance loan through this company successfully, I was offered a chance to purchase a more economical insurance policy for my car. I selected *********** and was lead to believe that it would be up to me to contact *********** as my information would already be with the company. I called the toll free customer service number on ***********'s web site as I did not receive any other instructions. The policy was in place and payment was made on this transaction. On September ***, 20**, I find on my online bank account history that I am being charged by an insurance company working for *********** on another policy altogether. I contacted ***********, the undesired policy is being cancelled, and the charge to my bank account is going to be refunded. I'm writing the BBB because, to me, it is the principle of this matter. Poor product representation, poor communications, creating confusion and unnecessary expense. It is RateGenuis' business practice that I want to complain about. As a result of this second charge coming to my bank account, I could have incurred the expense of stopping this smaller company of *********** from taking payments, changing my bank account number, and having to do without my debit card to get a new one to protect myself.

Desired Settlement: I would like the refund to be sent to me as quickly as possible. I would also like a full explanation, in postal or email, from management on how this blunder of setting up two automobile policies occurred. Thank you.

Business Response: ******** ******
**** ********* **
****** ** *****


September **, 20**



Dear Ms. ******,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 9/*/20** (Case #*******).

We have reviewed our records and recorded phone calls and determined that
there was a *********** policy set up by us (per your request) and then a
second policy was established by you contacting another ***********
agent directly. RateGenius Insurance Agency does not employ any
salesperson by the name of ***** and it is our belief that this may have
been the name of the agent you spoke with at the other agency, hence
why there were two policies established in your name.


We apologize for any confusion that this may have caused. A
refund for the first policy of $**7.36 was processed on 9-*-** and can
take between 10-14 business days to go through. If you have any
questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. Thank you for your
patience and understanding.

Regards,

*** ******
********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: In the initial sales pitch to me about cheaper insurance, the simple term "***********" was used as a company who would be able to provide me lower cost insurance coverage than my current company.  Due to ***********'s marketing, I immediately thought of the main company and I honestly do not recall at all being told that RateGenius was in business with *********** themselves.  I thought RateGenius was acting as an intermediary for me and that it was my responsibility to contact *********** before a lapse could occur in coverage.  I thought this in addition to the fact that RateGenius had contacted ******** ********** ****** ***** for a refinanced automobile loan.  When I contacted *********** on August ****, I did speak with a person identifying herself as "*****" and she was able to look up the information RateGenius supposedly had provided about me.  Had I been covered already by ***********, though one of their local agencies, ***** would have informed me of my new policy number and would not have had to open an actual policy on me.  This implied, to me, that she was working from information she had received from RateGenius.  I had no indication at all that two policies now existed on one vehicle until I was online with an online *********** agent AFTER my bank account had had $**7.36 removed by someone who's name I had no idea about which took place on September ***.  On my ******** account history, the name provided was " *********** ******** Insurance Premium."   I had to get on the internet to find out who this was!  That name does not imply any relationship to RateGenius and, if it is connected, none of the organizational structure of RateGenius or ***********s' smaller business units was ever explained to me.  It took a *********** online agent, through their online chat feature, to look up the fact that I was being billed TWICE because a duplicate insurance policy existed.   Mr. ****** contends in his reply letter that my recorded conversation/s "agreed" to their policy. My reply to this statement is I agreed to the name "***********" and that I was not told that his company was in any way connected as an agent of ***********.   Finally, I contend that I was never sent any sent any paperwork by RateGenius for my signature, no identification cards, only an ACH withdrawal using my routing information and bank account number obtained by the automobile loan information.  I'm sorry, but I feel I was a victim of deceptive business practice.  I am not happy.

Regards,

******** ******

Business Response: ******** ******

**** ********* **

****** ** *****





September **, 20**







Dear Ms. ******,



This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was
presented

to our company on 9/*/20** (Case #*******).

We sincerely apologize as to any confusion that may have
arisen from this situation. We have carefully reviewed all the correspondence
in regards to establishing your new policy with *********** and fully believe
that RateGenius Insurance Agency was acting in good faith as your insurance
agent. As your agent, we are authorized to sell insurance policies for the
*********** Insurance Company on your behalf.

 

As part of this relationship, we gather the necessary
information from you and then take care of the leg work in setting up your new
policy with *********** as well as appropriately cancelling your old policy
with General Insurance Company. We strive to help our customers understand how
this works and how we are working for them on their behalf. We apologize for
any confusion or if there was any lack of clarity in this regard. When
*********** was contacted directly by you on 8/**/**, the new policy we were
taking care of for you had not gone through their system quite yet. Hence they
did not show the policy in their system at that time. Therefore, ***********
went ahead and set up another new policy for you and this is how the two
charges came about on your bank statement.

Again, we apologize for the inconvenience that this
confusion may have caused. As stated previously, RateGenius Insurance Agency
has already contacted *********** and had the duplicate charge refunded to your
account. Please do not hesitate to contact us should you have any questions or
need any further clarification. Thank you for your patience.

 

Regards,

*** ******

********** *******

*************************

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.  I will, however, in the future be far more cautious when dealing with sales offers that have potential to cause great inconvenience and are completely profit-oriented.  I advise RateGenius to read over similar complaints on the Better Business Bureau's page against them and realize there is a pattern.

Regards,

******** ******

9/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a letter in the mail stating that I was pre-qualified by RateGenius to refinance my car loan at a lower rate. In order to find out what new rate I would be qualified for I had to go online to fill out an application. Within a day I received an email from **** *******, their senior loan consultant, who told me they could refinance my loan at a better rate than I am currently paying. In order to find out what that rate is I would need to call him. At that point this felt very salesman-like and I decided that I was not interested in finding out what I qualified for and chose to ignore his email. Within the next week I received 6 phone messages from Mr. ******* asking me to call him to discuss the refinance. This evening when he called again, in his message he said "If I don’t hear back from you by the end of the day tomorrow I’m just gonna withdraw your application. I don’t want to do that ‘cuz it will adversely affect your credit to have us pull it and then not follow through with the refinance." To me this felt like a high pressure tactic, even a threat.

Desired Settlement: An assurance from RateGenius that my credit rating will not be adversely affected.

Business Response: ***** ********
*** ********** ******
Stewartsville, NJ 08886


August 19, 2013


Dear Ms. ********,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 8/16/2013 (Case #*******).

After reviewing the complaint, our records show that you submitted an application online
on August 6, 2013. As part of the application process, you authorized RateGenius to retrieve your credit report
for the purpose of determining the creditworthiness of this loan request. Our loan officers make a
concerted effort to make contact with our applicants so as to be able to discuss the offer in detail
and be able to answer any questions you may have. We believe that our representative acted in good
faith to reach out to you and make you aware of the effect the inquiry on your credit report can have. We
apologize for any misunderstanding that may have come from this communication as it is never our desire
to ever have a customer feel pressured.

As such, we believe that RateGenius was acting in good faith within the bounds of Permissible Purpose
in making a credit inquiry in response to your online application. Thank you for bringing this important
matter to our attention. We have discussed this matter with all the parties involved and their management
to ensure that proper communication takes place going forward. Please feel free to
contact us with any other questions or concerns at: **********@rategenius.com

Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

8/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After applying for refinancing of my current vehicle through a third party, Rate Genius contacted about four times. On 7/30/2014 between the hours of 4:00 and 5:00 PM ***** ******** (###-###-#### / callback number for Rate Genius) contacted me. His tone and the nature in which he handled the call was completely inappropriate. First, he required that I shower him with gratitude for refinancing my loan. Then he attempted to go back and forth about how he should be addressed as opposed to answering the questions that I had. Finally, I asked to speak with another representative. *****, transferred me to **** *******, who he claimed was his supervisor; that, I doubt. However, I strongly encourage management to review that call because ***** provided very poor customer service.

Desired Settlement: Careful review of the call, and an examination of what it reveals about *****'s motivation for the manner in which he treated me.

Business Response: ***** ****
**** ******** **** **** **
Houston, TX 77042


August 6, 2013


Dear Ms. ****,

This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented
to our company on 8/2/2013 (Case #*******).



We have received notification of your interaction with RateGenius and have
reviewed the situation with the proper management staff. The call from 7/30/13
has been pulled and reviewed with the salesperson involved, ***** ********. It
has been determined that his handling of the conversation is not in line with
the type of quality customer service that we strive and desire to provide. As a
result of this, disciplinary action has been taken and the call has been used
as a training tool for ***** as well as other sales staff at RateGenius so that
we can provide better service for our customers in the future.

We hope that this action will satisfy any concerns you may have at this time. Thank
you for bringing this important matter to our attention. Please feel free to
contact us with any other questions or concerns at: compliance@rategenius.com


Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

6/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called asking for a quote on home and car insurance. I received a verbal quote but asked for a copy to be sent to my email. After calling and not hearing back for weeks I decided to go to a different company. I received a call about a month and a half after my initial meetings to find out that they signed me up for insurance without my sign off or permission. They stated that I could be signed up with only a verbal confirmation, which I never gave. The person I talked to said the only way to make this go away was to prove that I had duplicate insurance. There was no way that I was going to give this company more of my personal information to fix their mistake. This has been completed, but I think it is horrible business practice and should be noted on record that they are able to do this.

Desired Settlement: I finally got in touch with the manager and she canceled the policy with no personal information needed from my part.

Business Response: ***** ***** **** ********** ****** ******* ** *****



June 6, 2013



Dear Ms. *****,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to our company on 5/22/2013 (Case #*******).

Our records indicate the conversation that took place between you and one of our insurance managers. We again apologize for the breakdown
in communication and any inconvenience this may have caused. We will address this issue to help keep it from happening in the future.

We are glad to hear that you are content with the resolution provided. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
If you have any further questions, please feel free to contact us at: *************************

Best Regards,

*** ******

Compliance Manager

5/29/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received an e-mail from Rate Genius telling me I was turned down for a loan. I didn't appply for a loan from them. They also gave me information about my credit report that is false.

Desired Settlement: Stop loan application that wasn't applied for. Remove any trace of their activity from my credit report, if they did try to look at my credit. Stop this fraudulent activity!

Business Response:
May 10, 2013



Dear Mr. *******,


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 4/19/2013 (Case #*******).

Our records indicate that 2 applications were submitted to us for consideration of an auto loan refinance on the following dates:

Dec. 11th, 2012  4:08PM
Apr. 9th, 2013  11:14AM

We processed both applications expeditiously but we were unfortunately unable to provide any refinance options due to certain key factors on
your credit file. Regretfully, we do not have any control over the contents of your credit file and can only act according to what is
reported to us by the credit bureaus. As such, we sent out an Adverse Action letter to you for both applications that outline the specific
reasons as to why the applications were denied.

If you have any questions as to the content of your credit report, we ask that you contact ******** at the following address:

******** *** ******** ******** ** *** ***** ****** ** ***** ************

Thank you for your patience and understanding. Please feel free to contact us with any additional questions or concerns at: **********@rategenius.com

Consumer Response:

Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:  I never applied for any loan with them.  They CAN remove their inquiries
any time they want.  Their answer is unacceptable and unethical.  They
are also lying about my credit report.  Why are businesses like this allowed to stay in business???

Regards,

*********** *******




























Business Response:
May 22, 2013



Dear Mr. ********


This letter is being written with regards to the BBB Complaint that was presented to
our company on 4/19/2013 (Case #*******).


Our records indicate that we did in good faith indeed receive an online application submission from you on Apr. 9th, 2013 11:14AM and that said application was processed and denied due to key factors reflected on your credit file.
We then sent the required adverse action notice to you on April 19th outlining the reasons that your application for a vehicle loan refinance was denied.

We feel that we acted appropriately and accordingly within the permissible purpose guidelines regarding the inquiry into your credit. However, we will go ahead and send a request to ******** asking to have the inquiries removed
from your credit report in order to pacify the situation.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding the content of your credit report, we ask that you please contact ******** at the address below to address any issues.

******** *** ******** ******** ** *** ***** ****** ** ***** ************
We hope that this action will satisfy any concerns you may have at this time. Please feel free to contact us with any other questions at **********@rategenius.com

Regards,

*** ****** ********** *******

8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues