BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Commercial & Medical Credit Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Commercial & Medical Credit Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Commercial & Medical Credit Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1998 Business started: 12/16/1988 Business started locally: 12/16/1988 Business incorporated: 12/16/1988 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings & Mortgage Lending
2601 N Lamar Blvd # 201, Austin TX 78705
www.sml.state.tx.us
Phone Number: (877) 276-5550
rcrochet@sml.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Brenda Coffee, President Peggy Deatley, Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Brenda Coffee, President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies

Alternate Business Names
Advocate, Inc.

Additional Locations

  • 9844 Lorene Ln

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 340-9515

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was in a MVA in 2012 and I am permanently disabled due to this accident I have had many billing issues with the medical care I have received. This business contacted me about a bill that was sent to them and I did not know it had gone to collections. When I asked if they had billed through the auto claim representative **** told me it was not their problem and that I would need to deal with it and then hung up on me. If I am to be contacted by the collection agency I expect to be treated with respect and to be able to discuss what it is in regards to who they are when it was sent to them and how I can get it handled. Not yelled at and hung up on by someone who called me.

Desired Settlement: I only wish to be contacted if they plan on assisting me in the information that I need to get it covered under my MVA claim or they can take care of that themselves. I have not given them a reason to call and harrasse me or treat me like this. they can not be a customer service based company and call to yell at people and hang up on them.

Business Response: 7/23/14  Complaint ID ********

*** ******** called because she received our first letter from Commercial & Medical Credit Services.  Our first letter contains information to dispute or request information in writing within 30 days explaining the balance owed or services received.  *** ******** called representative, **** and *** ******** was trying to tell **** that Commercial & Medical Credit Services needed to call doctor's office to find out about her insurance and why she had a balance.  **** with CMC tried to tell *** ******** that she will need to contact doctor's office to ask them about insurance being filed and why she had a balance.  Representative **** ended the call.  They were both talking over each other. 

******** ***** *******, has counseled representative, ****, regarding phone tactics. 

***** ******* *********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I didn't receive any letters from the and I didn't call them they called me.  After the disrespectful responses I got and upon being hung up on I called back to get the name of the rep.  I feel like the business is simply trying to make things look as if the issue was not as bad as they were

 
Regards,
***** ********

Business Response: It was my understanding that *** ******** called our office initially and also made a second call to obtain the representatives name. CMC has mailed a notice to *** ******** on June 13, 2014 to her residence address informing her that she had an account in collections.  We have no confirmation that she received the letter.  Being there is a mix up on who made the initial call, I sincerely apologize to *** ******** for *****s rudeness and the fact that **** hung up on *** ******** without properly ending the call. 

I can assure *** ******** CMC Services does not take this matter lightly. **** was given a verbal reprimand. CMC Services does not tolerate such phone tactics. Representatives must remain professional. 

I would be more than happy to personally discuss *** ********'s account with her.  If she should want CMC Services to obtain an itemized statement, we must have a written request from *** ********.

CMC Services and I will strive for resolution with *** ********. 

Sincerely, 
***** ******* *********** *******

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/18/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company somehow acquired a debit card number and processed an unauthorized payment of $355. When my wife called up ***** **** and talked to them, ***** **** called Commercial and Medical and demanded to know how they got the card number. Commercial and Medical then reversed the debit. We spoke to Commercial and Medical to ask them how they got the card number and they said we gave it to them. This is an outrageous lie ... we never gave them any card number. They then threatened to take more money out of the account so we changed the card number. In fact, they told me they ... quote "Do this all the time" ... am I to understand that they commit fraud like this all the time. We are very upset that they could do this. How did they get the debit card number ? In addition ... I just called them up to get their address, told them I was filing this complaint ... and then, about a minute later, I received a call from my own phone number ... proven by my caller id. What is going on here ... we need to get to the bottom of this. Thank you

Desired Settlement: Have them tell us how they acquired the debit card information.

Business Response: COMMERCIAL & MEDICAL CREDIT SERVICES 
**** ******                              ***** ******** *** ******** ** *****          *** ***** ********

******** ******* *****. is a client of CMC. *** **** ****** account was assigned to our office on 1/24/12 with his address and cell phone number.

9/10/13 at 11:27 am

Our representive, *****, called *** **** ****** on his cell phone introduced herself as ***** calling on behalf of ******** ******* ****** asking him to make payment arrangements.

*** ****** may have felt ***** was an employee of the credit union.

*** ****** made arrangements with her for a payment of $355.00 for September 2 and he gave her his debit card number, states names on card was his and wife and business name "Integrity Custom Builder".

9/25/13 at 9:11 am

Debit card was processed and gave authorization code.

10/4/13 at 10:28 am

***** left message on answering machine to speak to *** ****** for future payments.

10/4/13 at 10:42 am

*** ****** returned call authorizing her to take next payment of $355.00 on 10/24/13, same card and last payment would be scheduled for November. ***** was to call him in November for specific date.

***** ******* *********** ******* 

10/22/13

Consumer Response:

Dear BBB:

 

Just because I haven't responded does Not mean my complaint has been resolved ... in fact, it has not. I tried to respond to your office once but I got lost in your way of doing it ... with the emails etc.

This company, in their response, admitted to fraud. They represented themselves as ***** and they deceived me. Isn't that fraud ?

That's why the payment was the exact same amount as my truck payment ... to *****.

 

Business Response:

11/26/13                                            Complaint ID ******* It is our procedure when calling on behalf of our clients to use the phrase "I am calling on behalf of" i.e. ******** ******* *****. Our collectors use this phrase because we are not employees of i.e. ******** ******* *****. and this phrase is not used to deceive anyone. It is unfortunate that *** **** ****** misunderstood the phrase "on behalf of" as Commercial & Medical Credit Services representing an employee of ******** ******* ******* ****** *****. This is not Commercial & Medical Credit Services intentions. ***** ******* *********** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:

 

Yes, this is the same response as last time ... and just as misleading. They might have opened up the conversation that way but when I asked if it was about my truck payment ... they agreed. That's why the payment was for $355 ... my truck payment. This is no coincidence. That's why I will not give this up. I would never have agreed to make this payment if not for their misrepresentation. I fully believe that it was totally intentional ... and I consider that fraud. Furthermore ... during this process they realized that the bank account was in my wife's name and called her up and got nasty with her. They can not be allowed to behave like this.

 

thank you

 **** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.