Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Saldana's Construction Services

Phone: (210) 421-6455 Fax: (210) 521-1234 2315 Painted Sky St, San Antonio, TX 78238


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Saldana's Construction Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Saldana's Construction Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Saldana's Construction Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 26, 2008 Business started: 01/01/2005 Business started locally: 01/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jesse Saldana II, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesse Saldana II, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Concrete Contractors Concrete - Custom Contractors - General

Alternate Business Names
Versal Roofing and Remodeling
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 2315 Painted Sky St

    San Antonio, TX 78238 (210) 421-6455

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/4/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 19, 2014, I contracted Saldana Construction to install the handrails for the stairs, as he had been recommended to us. We had just had an ordeal with a previous contractor and he was fixing what the other contractor had done incorrectly. The work was started and the rail was installed, however it still to this day has not been completed properly. On October 8, 2014, I contacted Mr. ******* to see when they would be out to finish the job, as well as to inform him that the banister was coming loose from the walls. I did not hear back from him, so I also sent a text message on Otober 9, 2014 trying to set up a date to finish the work. He told me he would let me know as soon as he could send a guy out to finish the work. I did not hear back from him, so I contacted him again on October 13, 2014. This was his response: " We will be there to finish your stairs this week. Sorry it's taken so long but we are finishing some jobs & will be able to get to your stairs." After no one showed to fix the banister, I sent him the following e-mail: *****, Can you please give me the date you will be here to finish the stairs. As per the contract, this was supposed to take two days, and as of today, it has been a month since the contract was signed. You were given a check for the final payment on September 29, and it was cashed on October 1, despite the work not being finished. We were told then that you would be sending your carpenter out. It is now three weeks later, and nothing. I really need to get this finished and the rail fixed, as per our conversation. Again, if you could please give me the date you will be here to complete this job, I would greatly appreciate it. He sent a guy out, who did work on the banister, which I was happy with the progress. We were finally getting something done. The banister was still not painted, as per the contract and there was a hole put in my wall, but that was an easy fix for me. The gentleman who came out was a hard worker and I wanted to see if he would be involved with any future projects, as we had additional work on the house that needed to be done. At this point I will still willing to have Mr. ******* do additional work if that gentleman was going to work on the project. That quickly changed. On November 1, 2014, I sent the following e-mail: Hi *****, Can you let me know when they will be out to touch up the paint on the railing that was taken off during installation. I will be home all day on Wednesday and Thursday. Thanks His response was: I'll have painter come by Wednesday Once again, the painter didn't come out, so I sent him a text message saying the painter didn't show up and I once again tried to set up a time to have the work completed. I also sent pictures where you could see how it was coming out of the wall, where you could see the welding job on the upper banister and the lack of painting. He sent a guy out to paint, but he didn't have the right paint. I gave him my paint to paint the base. He said he would come back the following day, so we rearranged our schedule, however he did not show up. I once again e-mails Mr. ******* on December 11, 2014 to make one final attempt to have him finish the job correctly. The e-mail is as follows: Hello *****, I am making one final attempt to have the railing completed. Again, I have waiting for weeks after you told me you would be out to finish the job. It continues to come out up at the top (it is worse than the previous pictures I have sent), and isn't flush on either level at the wall. it is coming loose on the bottom level and the painting was never completed. Can you please let me know what date we can have this completed correctly. Thank you, Mr. ******* has still not responded and the problems I am having with the rails continue to get worse. On a phone call with Mr. *******, he acted as if he was doing me a favor by offering to completing the work (which he never did), stating I never had a contract with him. He told me I had a contract with the guys who put together the railing. While, I didn't believe this, being that I had a contract signed by Mr. *******, on Saldana letterhead, and the checks were written to Mr. *******, I just wanted the work done. At this point, I have no confidence that Mr. ******* can complete the work properly or in a timely matter, being that the contract was signed five months ago. I will be more than happy to send copies of e-mails, texts, pictures and the contract, if necessary.

Desired Settlement: I am asking for a refund of the cost to have the stairs fixed properly, by another contractor.

Business Response:  I received your email for the first time this weekend. I've tried to contact Mrs .******** in regards to her letting my men in to address this issue .I am waiting for her response. I will have my men repair any issue involving work that was contracted by us.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ******* had NUMEROUS opportunities to fix this problem.  He chose NOT to.  I do not have the faith that he will complete this job or do it correctly.  I am willing to get an estimate from the contractor that I trust and forward that.

Attached are some of the pictures of the way it looks today.  

Regards,

******** ********

Business Response:

 I offered to send the gentlemen she said she preferred to work with. Ms. ******** never returned my phone call so I had no way of communicating with her to try to get this resolved. But she acknowledged I called by rejecting my offer to comply. This is the only complaint I've had in 15years of doing work for my clients.I regret that she is unwilling to let me resolve these issues.Regards, ***** *******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Mr. ******* regrets that I will not allow to to correct this?  I did give Mr. ******* numerous occasions to do just that.  The contract was originally signed on September 19, 2014 and it states that this will take 2 days to complete.  I was still attempting to contact Mr. ******* in December to try and resolve this issue.  He did not return my correspondence.  I would also like to add, Mr. ******* asked for full payment prior to the job being completed.  I complied and he quickly cashed the check.  This job has been paid for in full, but is still not completed.  I feel that I was extremely patient in this situation.  The fact that I was even giving Mr. ******* a final opportunity in DECEMBER to fix a job that should have been completed in September, or even by the end of October was quite generous.

I am including a few pictures (due to the limit) of the work that was done, as well as the picture that was referenced on the contract as to how the job was to look.  As you can see in the picture that was texted to Mr. *******, the pattern is different to what was actually done.  While I was a bit disappointed, I was willing to overlook that, however I am not willing to overlook the poor workmanship.  This may be Mr. *******'s first complaint in 15 years, but as you can clearly see in the pictures, the work is not acceptable.  Again, I do not have the confidence Mr. ******* will complete the job in a timely manner or correctly.  I am not asking for a full refund, I am just asking for what it will cost me to have the job done correctly.  I think that is reasonable considering the circumstances.         

Regards,
  
******** ********

Business Response: Ms.********,you remember the facts a little different than I do. You originally asked me for help because the man who was working for you was fired by you. you asked me for a bid to do several repairs to your entry area that was not completed. You had no stair railings at the time. I provided you with a bid but you rejected the original bid.You asked if we could do only stair rails Mr ******* reduced his original price & I told you I would let him work with you to build you metal stair rails.You accepted that price & your stairs were made & installed by Mr *******. You told me you loved your new rails & gave me a check for $1500.00 to pay Mr ******* which I did. A few weeks later you contacted me stating that the stairs were not trimmed out.So I sent you Mr.********* at no cost to you & again you stated that you loved his work. I doubt that if screws were pulled out of the wall the way your current pics show that you would have praised him.You did ask him to do additional work at your home while he was there & he refused explaining to you that he worked for me & didn't do work on the side.So here we are now & I offered to see what needed to be done to resolve your complaint which you rejected in an effort I think to make me look bad. I again I  offer to send Mr. ********* to repair your stairs (only your stairs)to put this issue behind me.

Business Response: I'm willing to work to put an end to this problem.I'm willing to return her money for if she returns the rails we had built.Or she can keep the rails & except $400.00 to finish her project with someone else.

Consumer Response:

The cost to redo both handrails and paint them matte black will be $966 with sales tax.

 

The price includes removing both handrails, re-welding them to the correct angle, painting them, and re-installing them.

 

We will install the wall plates behind the sheetrock.

 

Our price excludes tape, float, texture and painting of the sheetrock.

 

As you can see, I will still be responsible for the cost of the sheet rock.  The $400 offered will not fix the problem.  If I return the railings to Mr. *******, I am out the hundreds of dollars for the materials that I provided to him to originally do the rail, which I will then need to re-buy.  So, I will  be out even more money.

 

Please feel free to contact me with any additional questions.

 

Thank,

 

******** ********    

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I am unable to find the process for mediation, but I don't see why this would be a problem.  If someone could call me and let me know where I can find the information or let me know what it is, I would appreciate it.

Regards,

******** ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Saldana's Construction Services
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)