Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are You the Business Owner of Legacy Construction & Restoration?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Legacy Construction & Restoration

Phone: (210) 284-6102 11765 West Ave Ste 147, San Antonio, TX 78216

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Legacy Construction & Restoration meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Legacy Construction & Restoration include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Legacy Construction & Restoration
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: April 24, 2013 Business started: 05/01/2005 in TX Business started locally: 02/01/2008 Business under new ownership as of: 01/01/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Colt Harmon, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Colt Harmon, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Doors Landscape Lighting Christmas Lights & Decorations Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Concrete Contractors Contractors - General Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Patio & Deck Builders Roofing Contractors Commercial Roofing Contractor - Metal Roofing Siding Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Legacy Holdings
Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

  • 11765 West Ave Ste 147

    San Antonio, TX 78216 (210) 284-6102

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Company was contracted to replace roof, replace front door and screen door. Also was paid to remove and re-texture ceiling and repaint ceiling and wall due to water damage. All items were covered under insurance claim. Roof did get replaced, but several boards that were damaged were replaced and not painted. One board has fallen off. The skylight is leaking and new water damage is occurring. Front screen door has been only partially installed, main front entry door was improperly installed and was re-worked on, but deadbolt still not functional and inside door trim has not been installed, wall surrounding door was to be retextured and repainted. Poor workmanship, door handle set is not level, door is set on angle to wall, exterior door molding not finished. Contractor was also to provide deck estimate to insurance company, which is also covered by an insurance claim, and he has failed to do so. Front fence was to be replaced by contractor, also as part of the insurance claim, but was never done. I was accomodating to his erratic work times, the last time the front door was worked on, the contractor and a helper stayed until 12:30AM, nailing and drilling to reinstall deadbolt plate, that is still not properly installed. The contractor collected payment from both me and the insurance company, but essentially did not complete any work he was contracted to do. I will now have to pay again to have work completed and corrected as well as have skylight sealed, although there is a 10 year warranty. Contractor has failed to respond to both telephone and text messages.

Desired Settlement: Roof will be re-sealed around skylight, wood that fell off will at least be replaced and wood at least primed to seal frome water. Rest of work on doors, ceilings and walls will either be completed or money for work that remains to be done refunded.

Business Response: Ms
*******,

I
received your email as well as 1 letter from you today with regards to Ms.
*******. In response to her complaint. The first time I was made aware of any
problem was when I received your letter. I made several attempts to contact
***** to address any issues she may have with no response from her. Finally,
after several attempts I got a returned call from her. At that time she was
offered to have all issues addressed and offered my sincere apologies for any
inconvenience she has endured. She refused to allow me the opportunity to make
things right and has an unpaid balance that remains outstanding from her
insurance claim which I spent several months negotiating and getting approved.
Ms ******* has been out of work and had no income throughout the claim process
and had recently had surgery on her back leaving her unable to take care of her
home. She had allowed her property to reach such a state of neglect that ****
had previously denied her claim on her deck. She was also being cited on a
regular basis for the state of her property. 

I
had her home reinspected and after a lengthy battle got it approved for her. I
went to great lengths to help ***** and even had a guy come to cut the brush
and weeds to make the yard inhabitable once again. This was done at my expense.
I replaced her roof and had my crew replace wood that was worn and
in  bad need of repair. This was also not in the claim. I did install
the door improperly and assured her it would be corrected before I was
done. 

I
had an abscess in a tooth which put me out of commission for nearly 2 weeks.
During this time Ms ******* could not reach me and lodged this complaint with
you. The ceilings were not scheduled to be done until after the deck was
completed as per her request. I have not been paid on the remaining balance
owed for the roof and she has declined my offer to repair the skylight and door
as I'd indicated would be done. I have no other resolution to offer her as she
has declined me opportunity to correct the issue she requested to be addressed.
I continue to go unpaid at the time of this submitted response. If you've any
questions I can answer please feel free to contact me at the phone number
listed below. 

 

Thank
you,



**** ******

************






 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******
 
I am rejecting this response and will address Mr. ******'s comments in response to your letter, he states that he hadn't heard of the problems I had before. Since he declined to answer my repeated calls, the last of which was made 9/4/13, he was not aware of only the skylight leak, new interior water damage and exterior boards that he replaced had fallen off. All of the other issues have been ongoing since Legacy Construction started the work. It is true that I did not answer Mr. ******'s phone calls on 9/16 and 9/17, but I did call him back on 9/18 to discuss concerns with him. Since the BBB had sent Mr. ****** a letter on 9/11/13, I felt that I was getting a call in response to your letters NOT to my phone calls. My exterior front entry door has been installed twice by Mr. ****** and it is still in unusable condition. There are numerous issues and I have submitted several photos. My front entry door was installed on an angle to the wall, so that the exterior molding had to be custom made (with me providing the materials and also directly paying the subcontractor); the exterior screen door does not have the closer installed; the glass to the storm door is still in the box in the garage; the old doors that were to be hauled off are there as well (I cannot get my car in the garage now); the screen door cannot be locked as the hole was not drilled properly; the entry door deadbolt cannot be locked and after 2 installations, the screws are not flush with the plate, the deadbolt cannot be fully engaged as those holes do not line up properly and that is only with the insulation strip to the door removed, the integrity of the wood and the resultant strength degrades with each installation; the lever set was installed at a noticeable angle 1/8” off as the supplied template was not used, resulting in Mr. ****** re-drilling it improperly again, weakening the structural integrity of the set, and gouging the surface of the door in the process; my entry door trim was never installed, primarily due to the improper installation and the ½ inch difference from side to side so that the will be flush with the Sheetrock (which I find unacceptable in a custom home); the door knob remains loose after his 'repair'; the front entry wall was not re-textured and repainted; my front fence was not repaired; my front window screen was not replaced; my water-damaged ceiling in the living room has not been re-textured and painted; the water-damaged wall in living room was not repainted; the water-damaged ceiling in the entry and stairwell was not repainted and re-textured; the water-damaged skylight box was not re-textured and repainted; I was never given the plans to the deck for my engineer to review as promised, nor did I ever receive a bid; 2 of the 3 trim boards that were replaced (less than 12 feet total was replaced) during the roof replacement have since fallen off. One of the concerns that I discussed with ****, my insurance carrier, was the fact that Mr. ****** had put in a request to receive the remaining funds that were to be dispersed with the completion of the work, which at that time, and still hasn't been completed. At that time **** released the funds, $2300, to me so that I could have the work completed properly. Since Mr. ****** was paid $1000 in labor alone for the uncompleted front door, that leaves me with the responsibility to get the remainder of all the work done for a little more than twice that. Mr. ****** is correct in that I have had numerous health issues, including a 5 day hospital surgery for major back surgery, in which I declined to go into a rehab facility after discharge to be cared for, but instead came home to care for myself without assistance. I fell July 21 and sustained 4 rib fractures, but through that time, I made my home available to Mr. ****** and his crew to do the necessary work. I was given dates and then had them rescheduled at the last minute and had workers here until late night, including once after midnight, which did not allow me to get the rest I needed, as I couldn't plan my days. Since I also have an auto-immune disorder that I am receiving ongoing treatment for, the resulting stress from this ordeal has exacerbated those symptoms and I on Medical Leave from my job. It is true that Mr. ****** was instrumental in getting the re-inspection for the deck, and I did feel some loyalty for that, but I was the one who contacted and paid for the engineer's report. Mr. ****** had also been advised by me that I had been offered a grant from a charitable foundation for the deck repair if the funds were not going to be covered by insurance, so there was no reason not to proceed with the bids. I was AND STILL AM being cited for my property, with the latest email last week stating that they have no option but to take me to court over the lack of progress in the repairs. It is true that Mr. ****** did have somebody cut some brush, but that person broke a wooden gate and also left piles of brush in more that 4 areas of my ½ acre hillside property, but he failed to mention that I also cut brush myself this summer to the best of my ability. I have since removed much of the brush myself and had a generous neighbor assist me with the limbs that I could not lift, as I still have restrictions from my surgery. The yard is hardly habitable as he claims, as I have parts of massive cedar beams and railings scattered over my yard from the deck collapse. **** came out yet again 9/20/13 to document more pictures. In the meantime, the delay has meant ongoing weather-related damage to the structure of the chimney due to missing siding that was to be replaced by Mr. ******. I feel that an abscessed tooth was not the reason for a 12 day delay in returning my calls, as we had communicated by text messages frequently. Also, if he was that ill, as a business owner there should be some contingency in place to notify his customers. With that in mind I, then brought up to Mr. ****** during our conversation the final reason, which I also discussed with ****, was the fact that he had ongoing personal legal issues of his own. On 9/6/12 Mr. ****** was arrested and charged with ********** ** * ********** *********, **** ** *******. In lieu of the fact that on 8/6/13 he was awaiting trial for Cause #********** and that he had previously been arrested and convicted of a **** ******, cause #***********, resulting in incarceration at the TX Dept. of Corrections, my insurance company and I felt that in this case, since he still hadn't returned my calls, it was better to proceed on the assumption that he might not be around to complete the work. At that time, they released the remaining funds to me and I had contacted another company and 2 days later, I not only had the deck design, but also the estimate. At this point, since their bid for the deck alone was over $24,000 and the estimate was 2 weeks of construction, I feel like I made the right decision, as did ****. I will still come out losing money in this process, but I feel like the work can finally proceed and be done properly. As for the front door, Mr. ****** was aware that the damage was due to a burglary and that I had remaining fears, so the fact that my current door is LESS secure than my old door did little to affirm his commitment to complete the work properly. The late hours with the pounding and drilling on my front door had me worried when the deck construction would be done as well, as my neighbors on both sides are up before 5AM. With a 2 day estimated install time for a door that is still not installed properly after 2 months and 2 attempts, I don't feel that I am wrong to not have him return a third time. I also advised Mr. ****** during our phone call that if he thought I owed him money, that he was welcome to take me to court. I just want to put this behind me and get the work completed so that I have back door egress again, have a feeling of safety regarding my front door and have a few pleasant rooms again, although I know that will cost me more than $2300 out of pocket.


Regards,

***** *******