This business is not BBB accredited.

Franchise Maintenance Organization, Inc.

Phone: (210) 648-4535 Fax: (210) 648-4781 ---, San Antonio, TX 78222 http://www.fmoinc.webs.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Franchise Maintenance Organization, Inc. include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Franchise Maintenance Organization, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Franchise Maintenance Organization, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 15, 2013 Business started: 01/01/1999 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1999 Business incorporated 01/12/2000 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
920 Colorado St, Austin TX 78701
Phone Number: (800) 803-9202
customerservice@license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Wayne Pape, Owner
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Wayne Pape, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services Fence Contractors Appliances - Major - Service & Repair Appliances - Installation Contractor - Commercial Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Concrete Contractors Contractor - Remodel & Repair Patio & Deck Builders

Industry Tips
Appliance repair tips Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    ---

    San Antonio, TX 78222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/29/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted FMO, Inc for an estimate to install appliances in my newly constructed home after finding them on the ************ website as certified installers. ************ will add an additional year to the warranty if installed by one of their certified installers. I spoke to **** for a quote, giving him the information on the number of appliances and specifics about each one. I was quoted, "$95/hour with a 2 hour minimum and an install time of, "5-1/2 to 6 hours." I made the appointment for the following Thursday and was told the installers would arrive between 9:30am and 10:00am. On the day of the appointment ****** and ***** showed up at 10:45am. I showed them the appliances, discussed any details they needed to know for the installation, and they went to work. In 3 hours they had already installed the built-in double oven, the flush inset full refrigerator, and the flush inset full freezer. They were moving onto a refrigerator drawer in my pantry when ****** told me he could not install that item because I was missing some hardware. He said he could install it without the specific hardware but it wasn't a good idea. We agreed that appliance would not be installed and he moved onto the built-in microwave. At this point I let them, and my tile contractor that had been working in the house for a few weeks, know I was leaving for a meeting with the cabinet maker 5 minutes down the road. While at the cabinet shop I received a call from ****. It was around 3:30pm. He told me ****** called him to come help him and they should be done in about an hour. I returned to the house at 4:00pm and ****** told me he was unable to install the microwave because the glass was broken, although he did install part of the trim kit, and **** and ***** were finishing with an under cabinet refrigerator. ****** moved onto the vent hood, which appeared to be the last appliance to install and ****'s 1 hour prediction was almost up. ****** and ***** worked on the vent while **** stood by and watched and chatted with them. Once the hood was in and they were sealing the ductwork seams with tape I asked my husband, who had shown up to install trim in the house, to finish up with them so I could go home. At this point ****** and ***** had been there over 6 hours. I called my husband at 9:00pm to find out what time he would be coming home and that's when he told me the installers had just left and he questioned me about the amount he had to pay. What was quoted at $95/hr turned into $142.50/hour for 6 hours and $95/hour for 7 hours totaling $1,520. We were charged an additional $47.50/hr for **** being there to "help" but I was never told there was an extra fee nor was I given the opportunity to approve or decline an additional installer. We were also charged for their travel time, which I was not informed about during my phone call with **** for pricing or at any other time. My husband asked ****** about the additional charges that increased the bill from $973.75 for 10 hours of work to $1,520.00 for 13 hours of work. ****** told him it was for their travel time and the additional installer (****) and that he had discussed it with me, which was not true. Taking ****** at his word that I was aware of the additional charges, my husband wrote the check. I then found out that ****** installed the refrigerator drawer in the pantry, which he knew was not to be installed. I don't know how he installed it since I did not have the correct hardware and he never came to me with an alternative installation option. Unfortunately, before I left I didn't see the need to mention to my husband that we weren't installing that appliance since ****** knew it was off the list to install. I was not happy to hear it was installed knowing ****** didn't have the proper installation brackets so I checked it first thing the following day to find that ****** had cut into the face frame of my cabinets, ruining them. I know this particular appliance requires two duct vents in the bottom front of the cabinet but they are supposed to be behind the face frame and the refrigerator drawer was to be a flush inset installation, which it was not. I called ****, his number was the only one I had, to ask about the additional charges that he had not notified me of and to ask why the drawer was installed and my cabinet was ruined. He told me ****** had called him and asked him to bring a part so he could install the drawer. As for the travel charges, he said his boss said they have to charge travel time because he has to pay them while they are traveling, but sometimes he forgets to mention it and many customers are not happy about the charge. *** said I would need to call ****** to ask why he did what he did with the refrigerator drawer and to call his boss, Mr. **** to tell him I wasn't happy with the charges. I began trying to reach Mr. **** right away. I finally reached him the following Monday. I explained to him that I had been charged for an additional installer when I did not approve an additional installer. I also told him that ****** and I agreed not to install my drawer fridge and he installed it anyway and ruined my cabinet. I let him know I had not been told of the travel charges and the travel time I was being charged was exorbitant. He said maybe there was an accident and that's what took them so long to get to my place. I said maybe his installers stopped for breakfast or to fill up at the gas station and that's why they were late. I didn't care that they were late until I found out my payment clock started at 9:00am. If I knew this detail ahead of time I would have been calling to find out why they were late. And if I had been told during my phone call with **** that I would be responsible to pay $95/hr for travel time I would have insisted on a set time allowed using Google maps and not left it up in the air for speculation when it took them an additional 45 minutes. Mr. **** was not at all sympathetic to the issues I had. He made excuses and told me I didn't have to approve an additional installer, they will do that sometimes to save on time, which would lower the charges to the customer. But no time was saved and the additional installer was no value added for me and it appears that Mr. **** and his installers are the only ones benefitting from their decision to send and charge for an additional installer. He said he would talk to ****** and **** and call me back. He didn't call me back so the next day I began calling him. I left a message, which he did not respond to. I finally called at a time he answered and we spoke again. He said he talked to ****** and **** and there was a lot of modifications, which there was nothing out of the ordinary except for him cutting my cabinet front. I told him **** had no active install role and added no value to the work except to bring a part so ****** could install an appliance we had agreed not to install. Besides not knowing I was going to be charged for **** in addition to our agreed upon quote, he was not doing anything to warrant additional charges. Mr. **** began laughing until I told him it was not funny. Because of the estimate given to me by **** I was under the impression my install charges would be around $600. Two of the appliances were taken out of the equation, the fridge drawer and the microwave that was broken, therefore cutting the time needed for install down. On top of that, the following day my tile contractor told me as soon as I left for my meeting ****** went outside for a smoke break and to make a phone call. I don't have a problem with workers taking a break but I shouldn't be responsible for paying them $95/hr to have a cigarette and make a phone call. I explained all this to Mr. **** and he said he talk to **** and ****** again and call me back. I have not heard from him since. My receipt shows the install of the following appliances: Dishwasher, Double Oven, Microwave(damaged), Trim Kit, Gas Cooktop, Warming Drawer, Refrigerator, Freezer, Vent Hood, Beverage Cooler x3, and the Fisher Paykel Fridge drawer. In reality, the dishwasher was already installed and secured to the cabinetry and FMO, Inc installers didn't touch it; the microwave was not installed because the glass was broken and the trim kit was only half installed; one beverage cooler was not installed properly and sticks out beyond the cabinet and is crooked, with the right side protruding farther than the left and needs to be re-installed correctly; the other two beverage coolers were not level, therefore needing more adjustments before the cabinet maker could install the door fronts; and I have already mentioned the Fisher Paykel refrigerator drawer that was not supposed to be installed and the cabinet was ruined in the installation process. My total bill was $1,723.34, which included the following: $60 for Materials, $12 for 20% OH&P (which was also left out of the quote) $1,520 Labor, and $131.34 for tax. Tax was also charged on the 20% OH&P, which seems like a tax in itself. I'm requesting a refund for the unauthorized charges that were added on without my knowledge or approval and for the repair of the cabinet that was damaged by cutting the face frame when installing an appliance that should not have been installed. The following is the breakdown of fair and reasonable charges for the work that was done and the refund amount I am requesting from Mr. **** at FMO, Inc.: $950 for Labor @ $95/hr for 10 hours $72 for Material and 20% OH&P $84.32 Tax Less $285 to repair/replace cabinet TOTAL: $821.32 Deducted from $1,723.34 equals a REFUND AMOUNT: $902.02

Desired Settlement: Refund of the unauthorized charges plus the cost to repair the cabinet that was damaged.

Business Response:

BBB Complaint ID : ******** **********

 

Rebuttal to the Complaint :

 

FMO, Inc. has been the top appliance installer in ***** ***** for many years. We probably average about 1,000 installations a year of various magnitude. We are the warranty re-installer for ******** **** ********** for ***** *****.

 

Once every 2-3 years we run across a situation like this one. A residential customer, trying to be a General Contractor, who has no real concept of construction gets upset, primarily because they do not listen, or just hear what they want to hear, what is convenient for themselves.

 

In the end, they got what they wanted, they just don’t want to have to pay for it. There was no quote – just a rough estimate over the phone based on what we were told. Needless to say, lots of time when we arrive, things are much different than we are told, so we just have to do what we need to do to get the job done. WE could have been told to quit at any time.

 

What Ms. **** refrained from saying anything about was that we were called in too early, and had to wait for the cabinet installers to complete before we could do our work. Also, she said nothing about the fact that this was supposed to be a flush inset design, but the cabinets did not allow enough room for that to occur properly, so we could not “flush” set the equipment. We also had to build all the trim pieces to mount the fridge as the cabinet guys could not do it. Also, if Ms. **** had the refrigerated drawer re-done, chances are it is now improperly installed and is a safety risk. We had installed it to factory specs, vented properly.  

There is no dispute to resolve. We will not take any action regarding this claim, as we deem it unjustifiable.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Consumer Response: Complaint* ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is apparent from Mr. ****** response that he is trying to deflect the real issues of this complaint by ignoring any direct answers and instead, trying to imply the customer is not competent.

Why did his employee install an appliance that he was instructed not to?  

Why does Mr. **** feel it's not his responsibility when his employee damages a cabinet during an install?

Why did his company representative, who quoted his hourly rate, not mention the charges begin at the time the installers leave the shop, which adds their travel time to the total?  (Later admitting to forgetting that detail.)

Why was I charged an additional $47.50/hr without prior notification or approval?

Why is the customer responsible to pay $95/hr for smoke breaks and telephone calls?

Why did his employee mislead my husband into thinking I was aware of the additional charges when I was never informed of them?

Mr. **** is trying to paint a picture that as "residential customers", we have "no real concept of construction".  He never came to the job site to inspect the work in question and he has no concept of our qualifications or background.  Because of this, he has convinced himself that, "they got what they wanted, they just don't want to have to pay for it."  The fact is we got some of what we wanted and a lot of what we didn't want.  We are not saying the entire job was unsatisfactory, just that we should not be charged for the things we did not ask for, approve, or have any knowledge of, as in 6 hours for an additional person on site that was called to deliver a part for an appliance that was not being installed, and 3 hours of travel time.

Our experience in remodels and new construction has taught us to ask lots of questions so there will be no surprises at the end of a job, and that is why I gave **** the entire list of appliances, noted the ones that had flush inset installations, told him we had the trim pieces but left them off for the installers so there would be no chance of the cabinet maker attaching them incorrectly, etc.  Although he was fully aware of the job when he quoted me $95/hr and 5-1/2 - 6 hrs to complete, I assumed the time needed to do the job could fluctuate depending on how smoothly each install went.  Never did he mention travel time, and he never mentioned the rate he quoted only covered two workers and if they called for another worker I would be responsible for an additional $47.50/hr plus their travel time.  Mr **** made lots of general statements in his response to include, " lots of time when we arrive, things are much different than we are told...".  He did not say my job was different than he was told because he knows I gave **** accurate and detailed information.

The claim that we called the installers in "too early" is another untrue statement.  Either Mr. **** is misinformed or disingenuous.  All the cabinets were installed and the appliances were on site near their perspective install locations.  He is referring to two trim pieces that go on either side of the vent hood.  His installer said he would not put the trim pieces on so unless the cabinet maker did it, he would not install the hood.  He went on to install another appliance while the cabinet maker, who's shop is 5 minutes up the road, came over and installed the two trim pieces and left.  Once the hood install began, the trim was removed before completing the installation, thereby indicating the trim was not necessary to the install, and his installers were never waiting on the cabinet maker as he claimed.

Mr **** is giving more incorrect information regarding the install of the refrigerator drawer.  Before we even had a chance to discuss this appliance, his installer told me he was not able to install it to factory specs because the brackets were missing and he didn't recommend installing without them.  That's when we agreed this appliance would not be installed and the installer moved on to another one.  Mr **** goes on about how much time it took to build and attach the trim pieces, which were already built and onsite, but he fails to mention this is all part of his service and the appliance he's referring to is the one that should not have been installed.  On a side note, the factory installation guide states, "Cutout dimensions are referenced from inside face of cabinetry frame."  There is also a diagram showing the cuts are behind the face frame, so I'm not at all confident that it was installed to factory specs as he professes.

The details above outline why we feel justified to lodge this complaint against FMO,Inc. and request a refund for the unauthorized charges that are in dispute.


Regards,

***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Franchise Maintenance Organization, Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)