BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Dunn Wright Remodeling Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Dunn Wright Remodeling Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Dunn Wright Remodeling Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 01, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1989 in TX Business started locally: 06/01/1989 Business incorporated: 04/09/1993 in TX
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeff Stief, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeff Stief, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Cabinets Countertops Fence Contractors Storm Windows & Doors Windows Energy Conservation Products & Services Windows - Repairing Screen Enclosures Contractor - Commercial Contractor - Sheetrock Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen Remodeling Outdoor Kitchens Building Contractors Cabanas - Beach & Pool Carports Contractors - General Home Improvements Contractor - Insulation Painting Contractors Painting - Faux Finishing Patio & Deck Builders Patio Design Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures Siding Contractors Skylights

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 1315 Basse Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78212 (210) 821-6000

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mid November, 2010 Dunn-Wright Remodeling Co. completed putting a gabled roof on my flat roof house. There is a flat off set of 14 X5 at the back of the house that the gable could not cover. Despite the fact that it had not worked in the past Dunn-Wright used a rubberized flat solution for this part of the roof and at my insistence to have a metal roof on that area the contract was revised. When I asked why there was no charge for the metal addition I was told that the area was small and that they had enough supplies lying around to take care of it. At the end of the project I was told that Dunn-Wright could not do the metal cover. From the moment this 14X5 off set was completed it was very apparent it was a problem. It is set up like a bath tub and holds the water for weeks after a rain, that is, until now, the waters drains off into my house under the ****** board, which was also installed by Dunn-Wright. On November 4, 2913 I called Dunn-Wright to have them come look at the situation which they did but as of to-date, November 26, 2013 I have not heard of any action, although I called them a couple of times. After I saw how the water sat for weeks on this part of the roof I sought the opinion of two different contractors and both told me that standing water is never good. Dunn-Wright and I went back and forth on this issue for several months only for me to be ignored and I had to pay them extra funds because I delayed paying them the last $890 of over $26,000. I also found a roofer who said he could do the metal roofing by extending the drip line for the sum of $750. I proposed this to Dunn-Wright but got no response. Had I gone and done it myself I am sure I would have lost the warranty on the roof, and at the same time I feel that it is the responsibility of Dunn-Wright to fix the problem.

Desired Settlement: The roofing method Dunn-Wright used is obviously not working. They need first stop the present leak and then come up with a method for a secure and long term solution to this part of the roof. I really have no roof as long as I have consisting leaking. The window issues are minor in comparison and can probably be easily fixed.

Business Response:

 

**** ***** ***

*** ******** ***** **********

Office: ************

Fax:     ************

www.dunn-wright.net

 

December 23, 2013

To; BBB

Re: ***** *******  ID#*******

 

 

**** ****** sent an email on July 09, 2013 (copy enclosed) regarding a window that needs caulking. No where in this letter does she mention a roof leak.

                **** ****** emailed another letter on July 16, 2013 and October 02, 2013 (copies enclosed) with no mention of a roof leak.

                **** *********, our job superintendent, has met with **** ****** on several occasions, including for debris/spider webs in her existing skylight. Never has she mentioned a leak.

                When this job was completed in 2011, **** ****** held back final payment of her job, which was to build a gable roof over a two story home and a gable roof over her garage. The siding was all replaced with ****** plank and painted. A lien was placed on her home and she retained payment for half a year in case the roof leaked. She made her final payment in December and we released the lien.

                The offset roof, as she mentions in her letter, could not be covered with a gable. **** and I both explained to **** ****** that to install a metal roof, a pitched roof would need to be framed. She refused the framing as it would interfere with an upstairs window. (See letter dated April 7, 2011, enclosed).

                Her previous roof, which was tar and gravel, had a belly in the offset roof. We simply replaced it with a modified Bituem roof. We did not frame it. We did not create it. We simply put a new roof on her existing home that does not leak.

                Although water pools at this area, it always had before, but the roof we installed is designed to hold water, even on commercial roofs with paraphat walls which serve as damns and hold water. I’ve explained this to **** ****** several times over three years.

                **** ****** has a home with a flat roof she bought decades ago. She has always had leaks and roof issues since she bought the home. I understood that. I can appreciate her constant headaches and paranoia every time it rains.

                But the roof we installed has not leaked, has never leaked, and I can assure you will not leak. I will be most happy to contact **** ****** personally. I will be happy to go look at the roof again. But without framing a slope over the existing roof, to get rid of the dip, which she has already refused several times, I can’t think of any other solution to the offset roof other than what options have been offered since the project was completed 3 years ago.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

 

 

******* ** ***** ******* *******

 

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
See attached.

Regards,

***** ******

In regards to the
bugs coming in the skylight there was no response from Dunn-Wright until I had
wasps in my bedroom. A 40 year
old skylight was put on the new roof.

There was no response to the emails of July 9, 16 or October 2 relating
to the leaking window. After a very heavy rain at the end of October I noticed
discoloration on the ****** plank just under the offset roof and water coming
in under the ****** plank. * called my neighbor, a retired contractor to have a
look and it was indeed his belief the offset roof was leaking. My neighbor took
photographs and I immediately called *** ********* to tell him the offset roof
was leaking.

*** ********* met with my neighbor and myself, showed him the photos of
the roof and we also

discussed the
leaking window with him. *** ********* had no ladder to check either situation
and said he would return with one. I
called him two weeks in a row with no response and after the 3rd I
decided to contact BBB.

Although he had no ladder to check the window *** ********* insisted it
was the window itself that was the trouble and not the lack of caulking. My
neighbor did a water test on the window from the inside for a process of
elimination, but the test showed it could be one or the other. I informed *** ********* of this.

The decision to go to the expense of putting a gable on the house was
to eliminate the flat and bellied roof, not to end up with the same Achilles
heel that caused all the leaking in the past. Perhaps I am paranoid about the
roof, especially when I saw the belly of water after the first rain after the
roof install that took 14 days to dissipate. T showed it to *** ********* as he
had come to my house as Dun-Wright
had ruined two window screens in the roofing process.

I recall a conversation with *** ***** and *** ********* about putting a
gable over the offset and I recall they both also agreed it would not be a good
idea. However, the following revisions were made to the contract.
"Contractor to convert rubber roof at flat offset section to 5-V metal
roofing. Contractor to frame with slight pitch for drainage and install new
decking." This does not sound like a gable to met Nor do I recall any
suggestion to frame a slope over the existing roof to get rid of the dip. The
idea was to cure this area not keep it as is.

I have correspondence back to
December 29,2010 with my concerns about the standing water on the offset roof.
In March of 2011 I had a roofer look at the situation and he made the following
observations: standing water for excessive amounts of time, a buckling outer
rim, no edge hems in place and

accelerated wear
and tear. The same roofer said he could extend the drip line and install a
metal cover to correct the problems. *** ***** squashed that idea.

I do not see how this could be resolved as *** ***** s lack of response
and ignorance to any problem I presented confirms the fact that he thinks 1 am
paranoid, he insists on sticking with the notion that the installation he
decided to put on my roof is unquestionable and will never leak and is not
leaking now.

***** ****** 

Business Response:

January 14, 2014

Re: ***** ******* Claim #*******

Better Business Bureau;

As you may be aware, this will never end.

**** ****** is upset because we removed her skylight and reused it. Yet when we asked her if she wanted a new skylight, she didn't want to pay for one (see proposal 10-135A, provided by **** ******, item #4, for $420.)

This proposal was provided as an "A" proposal, meaning addendum to the original proposal (copy enclosed/attached). All of these items, including removing the tar and gravel roofing (item #1 for $900) are specific to the request of **** ******.

Item #7 is specific to transferring the modified Bitumen roofing (the roof in question) to a metal roof. It states that framing and decking will need to be installed to provide a "slight pitch for drainage." Yet time and time again **** ****** has refused a pitch because it would interfere with an upstairs window (see my letter dated April 7, 2011 included in complaint by **** ******).

So now here we are, almost four (4) years later, and **** ****** is now bringing up a bent window screen for the first time ever.

The "A" proposal clearly states a "sloped roof" because **** ****** accepted a proposal dated 3­8-10 to gable her home (two story) and garage (second story), but the offset roof was always to be a flat roof (as built originally) with a modified Bitumen roof.

I have included two (2) pictures of garages at some condominiums I was recently at for an estimate (for a kitchen, not roofing). As you can tell, all these roofs hold water after rain. Some have standing water at the end; some in the middle (with bellies like **** ******'s) some even have standing water around roof penetrations (wind turbines).

As I explained in my last letter, and numerous times to **** ******, that is the reason for the roofing material we used. That is what it does. It does not leak.

**** ****** bought a home 30 years ago with flat tar and gravel roofmg. Over the years, she hired several companies, some that tried and failed, and some that never tried. The solution was to gable or pitch the roof where possible.

In her letter dated March 27, 2011, last paragraph, she states "I am really pleased with the way my home turned out." She goes on to say that "without hesitation I have reconunended your company fully to those who asked and I will continue to do so"!

So here we are, the one company that did what we said we would do, stood behind our work and not have a roof leak. I had to hire an attorney to put a lien on her home because she wouldn't pay until she was certain her roof didn't leak. It is now glaringly obvious that **** ****** will continue this harassment year after year and now she complains to the Better Business Bureau.

If mediation is the next step, please let me know where and when to be there.

Sincerely,

******* ** ***** ******* *******


Consumer Response:

 

This issue is not resolved and to go into mediation with ***** considering his attitude, his purview of the situation and his obstinate failure to take any responsibility would be useless. Bottom line is neither he or any of his employees have come to my house with a ladder to look at either the window or the roof and his work is supposed to be under warranty for five years.

***** ****** *******************

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I would like to reject the offer of Mediation for complaint ID *******.

Regards,

***** ******

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

8/28/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
1