Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Bam Bam Renovation

Phone: (512) 905-0339 Fax: (512) 233-2339 View Additional Phone Numbers 10200 Sprinkle Rd, Austin, TX 78754 http://bambambuilder.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bam Bam Renovation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bam Bam Renovation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bam Bam Renovation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 14, 2008 Business started: 10/01/2002 in TX Business started locally: 10/01/2002
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Brian K Miller, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian K Miller, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Handyman Services Windows Windows - Repairing Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Contractors - General Doors - Repair Drywall Contractors Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Mason Contractors Painting Contractors Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Bam Bam Renovation and Repair
Licensing

BBB has verified this business sub-contracts all licensed plumbing and electrical services out to third party contractors.

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • 10200 Sprinkle Rd

    Austin, TX 78754 (512) 507-2304 (512) 905-0339

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There is so much wrong with the experience I had with Bam Bam R&R that I will try to be as concise and detailed as possible without being overly long winded. My fiance and I hired ***** ****** on 9/12/2014 to build a kennel in my garage for my dogs. He took my check for $18,000 and told me he would start work the following week. ***** had stopped by several times to "look at the job", but no work had actually been started until I finally demanded a start date on October 8th 2014. On October 13th 2014 work finally started on my garage, he had my money for over a month without completing any work at all. This was extremely frustrating considering ***** told us that the job would be completed in a month to month and a half. Even after being disappointed by the over promise under deliver issue, I still remained positive and tried to have a good relationship with Mr. ******. I quickly noticed that my frame to my garage door was damaged from them opening it, I demanded that they replace the door before the contract was signed, it had bent and fallen off the track because the spring was broken. Mr. ****** assured me several times that the door was fine and all that had to be fixed was the spring and that the door was still functioning fine. I showed him the damage and he continued to make light of the situation stating that it could be easily repaired. When my fiance and I had a conversation with him about it he got angry and eventually ripped the piece of wood off my garage frame yelling that this was a minor issue, damaging the frame further. I felt intimidated and he had already cashed my $18,000 check so I felt trapped in the situation and wanted to avoid any issues. He continued working on my garage and a few days later (October 23 2014) as the drywall was being installed I noticed that the frame was damaged in 4 more locations, it had been hit by a hammer. Why anyone doing drywall inside of my garage would damage framing on the outside of my garage is anyone's guess. I brought the new damage to his attention and he responded with "and?", I actually have the text messages saved to prove this response. I got angry at his lack of regard for my home after he assured me numerous times that he would treat my home with respect as if it were his own. I still held back my frustration and he continued with how it was the penance we had to pay till he could seal it off. I let the situation go until I discovered I had to have surgery performed and I have no health insurance being self employed. I told Mr. ****** I would have to get rid of a few things, namely the ac unit because it was entering winter and it was not necessary at the moment. He stated that this would be ok and he would revise the contract. The revised contract contained work we had not agreed upon or discussed, bringing the total to the amount of $30,000 at completion, what it was before, stating that he had given me discounts prior and now he was removing them. One of those new charges was for $1,800, to replace the framing they damaged, stating that it was not stable enough to support the door where he had insulated and sealed it off, which was also not discussed. The agreement was to still have a weather sealed insulated door that was still functional so I could bring in my large grooming equipment. His crew proceeded to fix the siding on my home and just do a partial siding job on another part of my home. I looked at the work they had performed and it was awful, the siding was not lined up, some parts were separated or higher than the other, nails were broken off and pushing siding away from the house, nails were going through the siding and sticking out of the interior drywall, and there was no flashing to prevent water from getting in. I again brought this to Mr. ******s attention and his reasoning was that "the guys felt they should be replacing all of it and not some of it so they didn't do a quality job where I would have to replace it all within a year anyways." Umm what?? I would not have agreed to pay $3000 for siding work that would have to be replaced in a year. Why was this not told to me ahead of time? He also had no apology for such shoddy work. Then there was an issue with a drain I wanted in my garage. ***** quoted me $1,210 for the drain to be cut and installed, it was supposed to go the full length of the back of my garage. A month had gone by and only a 6 foot section had been cut, I asked him about this and he told me that the price he quoted was only going to cover the costs of that section and if I wanted it to go the full length I had to pay double that. I argued that this was not my concern where he agreed to do the whole length for that price. He agreed he would do the entire drain for that price. His crew did not cut the rest of the drain for almost a month, this in itself created a whole new issue. I also had my garage floor stained and textured for a quoted price of $4,000, $1,000 if I wanted the concrete porch they were installing stained also. I told him I did not want the exterior porch stained because the dogs would just ruin it with mud and dirt. He continued to quote me the $4,000 even though I told him several times I did not want the porch stained. His stain guy had already stained the interior and left waiting for the other guys to finish the interior and he would touch up any spots and seal the floor at a later date. After about 4-5 conversations about this he finally removed the $1,000 from the quote. His stain guy was moving out of state and it had been communicated to me throughout the whole project that getting the floor stained and finished was a priority. A month went by and the floor had still not been sealed and the rest of the drain had still not been cut. There was also an area of the floor left unstained because a full wall cabinet was supposed to go there only to have that idea thrown away when outlets were installed behind where the built in cabinets were supposed to go. He told me we could install kitchen style counters and cabinets to leave the outlets accessible, which was not what I wanted or agreed to at all, he told me I could not have the cabinets I wanted because it was against code. Extremely frustrated by now I told him to just forget the cabinets and please put stain on the floor where it was missing because I did not know what I was doing with that area anymore. At this time is the point that I just started telling him to just finish up what he already started and leave, don't cut the rest of the drain, he told me it could not go the full length because of rebar in my floor so they would have to leave concrete in the middle, creating 2 drains and bore a hole through the middle. Which again, is not what was promised or discussed. When they installed my concrete patio they damaged my lawn because they brought a tractor back there, they also used my buckets for my dogs water and a kids swimming pool I owned to mix the concrete. ***** assured me he would fix my lawn, there were 3 foot trenches in my neighbor and my yards from the tractor. At a later date he informed me he would put down grass seed instead of sod to replace my damaged grass, I told him this was unacceptable. To this day he has not repaired my yard and I had to hoof out $3,000 to repair it myself. He also left my sprinkler system off for the entirety they were there without telling me. I didn't realize this until I noticed my grass and plants dying. There were no outlets in my garage because they took them all apart to install the drywall so I couldn't even plug in the sprinkler system on my own. ***** sent me an email on 11/25/2014 stating that the stain guy was coming by to seal the floor because he was leaving for Colorado and it needed to get done. His crew showed up and started cutting the rest of the drain, after I told him to just finish up what they started and leave. If something hadn't been started to leave it. The stain guy showed up and promptly left because he couldn't seal it with all the concrete particles in the garage. I got an email the next day from ***** telling me that the sealing was complete...... there were still cardboard panels on the ground protecting the floor and dust from concrete everywhere, as well as trash that they were supposed to throw away (ie: concrete chunks from the floor and other trash). They used my shop vac to vacuum up the concrete, breaking it, and they also used my other dog water buckets to keep the debris in. Again contaminating and damaging more of my property. I had had it at this point, I told ***** to show me receipts of purchases and payments, showing everyone had been paid, also to show where exactly all my money went. By now everything had been partially completed and over $20,000 in work would never be completed. I also asked him again not to do anything new and to just finish the floor, drywall, plumbing and electrical. He ignored my request for financial documents 3 times until finally my fiance asked him, then he finally replied with a prompt no. I told him until he could give me that information and proof his workers were certified (especially were it appeared that everything was completed by an amateur), not to step foot on my property. He replied telling me he was done with us and would not return because we were purposely trying to pick a fight with him and were generally just unhappy with everything. He sent his worker here the next day with a new water heater, after we told him we wanted to discuss which one. My fiance and I already had one picked out. It was not what we wanted at all. We wanted a 50 gallon heated with the longest warranty available, he brought us a 40 gallon heater with no mention of warranty. I was also completely unaware he was even showing up with it because he emailed me letting me know at 11:30 pm. I had no reason to check if they were coming because he told me he was abandoning the job. The worker sat out front waiting for me because I had a doctors appointment for an hour. I turned him away telling him until ***** provided the things I asked they were not allowed back. Especially where they sealed the door without finishing the stain, how could they wash the floor and air it out without damaging the drywall? He also continued to keep starting more projects to keep up costs, when I did not want anymore damage to my home. I also requested that he put all the electrical on it's own circuit, the lights in my home were getting turned off when he was testing them, telling me that they were in fact not on their own circuit. When I addressed this with his workers they had no idea that this was a requirement. I have powerful grooming equipment that would short out especially where the electricity was turning off in my office when they were testing it. They never finished anything involving the electrical and it was never put on it's own circuit. He also never provided me with a 3 day to cancel notice, invalidating the contract, and he lied to me about the fact that all his workers were subcontractors for other companies, he never gave me a list of the companies he was hiring. I specifically told him I wanted to work with only one person and if there were others involved I would want to know. It is now March 2015 and my garage is still unfinished and I had several contractors approach me because he never paid them and they are threatening to put a lien on my home if they don't receive payment. I am wondering what exactly he did with my money where all these workers claim that there is nowhere near $18,000 in work done in my garage, you don't have to be a professional to see that this is true.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have ***** ****** pay for the damages to my home and other property, provide a list of all workers he hired and if they were paid, if not to give me my money back so I can pay them. As well as any monies that were not used in the renovation so I can complete the job. I would like proof of this with receipts and other financial documents. As well as proof that his workers were licensed.

Business Response: To whom it may concern,
     I have already lost a couple of thousand dollars on this project plus enough stress over it. From the beginning, I have been trying to help Ms *******. From the first day on the job she has expressed her dislike and dissatisfaction with contractors. I gave her the benefit of the doubt and thought maybe she had a string of bad contractors but I learned it most likely wasn't the contractors that were the issue. If Ms ******* will be truthful, she can provide the other contractors she used as well so we can have support to problems going on in that household. I am not going to exert too much energy with this customer any more then a short letter here.
     She has a balance on this job that she owes my company and I have already provided a spreadsheet showing all costs in details. We also have a detailed contract as well. There is a load of paper trails showing everything from emails, text messages, and paperwork. During the construction stage we tried to finish the job but were locked out at least two times when she was in the house. I even when over there twice after calling and making attempts to reach her so we could figure out solutions. I also, meet with her and her boyfriend two times and have documentation showing our changes but she refuses to acknowledge these meetings as you can see in here letter. You can see my history and my client referrals a well that I do not have these issues with customers. Where as you can not say this about Ms *******'s history with contractors. I can also provide written support from those who have experienced problems when on the job at her home. When I read her letter I barely could finish it because of the lack of truth. I don't need to say much, I can provide documents to support. I can show where all of what we have spent and completed. I also, have pictures to provide to support the work. As far as the accusations about subs not getting paid, all subs are paid. Also, I am a General Contractor, I use subs and this was understood.
    Anyways, I have exerted so much on this project. I am willing to drop the amount she owes and the equipment we left on the job since she locked us out, to get rid of this thorn in my side. That is funny and it's evidence in itself that we didn't abandon the job. We wouldn't leave our equipment on the job along with of course the evidence of text messages and emails to finish the job. I hope Ms ******* gets then help she needs and gets the done what she needs to get done. As far as me and my company we will not return to that job. There are many other things that I have left out that are safety concerns for me and my guys both physically and financially. I leave these things out to help soften the outlook on who Ms ******* is and what she has done.
Thanks
***** K ******

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: To say Mr. ******'s response to the Better Business Bureau was ridiculously unprofessional would be a gross understatement, although a very vivid example of what my fiance and I dealt with when he was working on our home. I refuse to go around and around with he said, she said nonsense. In my original complaint I kept all matters non-personal, truthful and to the point, to only be met with aggression and personal attacks. I have over a hundred photographs with documented damage to my home and property, numerous emails documenting conversations between myself and Mr. ******,as well as saved text messages between us. Three of the emails where he blatantly ignores my requests for receipts and any financial documentation proving that he paid his subcontractors (that I never knew he was hiring) , as well as documentation of where my deposit was going. In regards to his "property" he left behind, I sent an email as well as a demand letter prepared by a legal adviser sent certified letter that Mr. ****** refused to sign for but later picked up at the post office several weeks later. In this letter I demanded Mr. ****** to come back to my residence and finish the job, remove his "property" from my residence, as well as provide documentation yet again for all licenses and certifications of his employees and financial documents for payments to subcontractors and for supplies. All of of my requests were ignored even my demand letter garnered no response. I have given Mr. ****** ample time to make amends but it is obvious from his response on the site that he has no intention of doing that, instead he commits lible and defamation of character. Neither myself nor my fiance ever saw any spreadsheets of costs and I have a certified demand letter in my possession from a lawyer of one of Mr. ******'s subcontractors demanding payment and a typed request for payment from another that was hand delivered by the contractor to my home. He told me that Mr. ****** had refused to pay him because he said he was fired from the job and I had not paid him, so he had no money to pay the contractor.  Feeling pity on Mr. ****** because of his false story, the contractor reduced the bill in attempts to encourage Mr. ****** to pay for his services. He also revealed to me he tried to come and finish the job several times but Mr. ****** would not allow him to because other jobs were being completed. As for the door being locked twice, I admit, it was locked once, by mistake and I contacted Mr. ****** later on letting him know the door was now unlocked with an apology. Two weeks went by and neither Mr. ******, nor any of his workers showed up to work. I sent a complaint into this site in hopes for some sort of mediation to make both parties happy, I am sadly finding that I may have no choice but to seek legal action against Mr. ****** to receive satisfaction. Mr. ****** can contest anything he likes, as well as even going so far as to comment on my mental health, but I have hundreds of pages of text and photo documentation as proof of all my before mentioned statements and can be provided upon request. 

Regards,

****** *******

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of Mediation. If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID .********, , and find that Mediation is necessary.

Regards,

****** *******

7/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted Bam Bam Renovation and Repair B.D.B.Ventures, Inc. to build a short retaining wall and construct an eight (8) foot fence, pour a concrete patio and other improvements. I entered into a contract with Bam Bam Renovation and Repair B.D.B.Ventures,Inc., on May 16, 2014 and provided a deposit. I did not hear from Brian ****** until I contacted him to ask about my project. During the early stages of our interaction, I asked for a simple schedule that provided a start date and an end date. This is something that Mr ****** has been unwilling or unable to produce. I received numerous emails from Mr. ****** detailing why he haven't begun my project ranging from family celebrations, college trips, softball tryouts, material shortages, manpower shortages, poor subcontractor performance, inability to get material samples, feedback on a bracket .... I never received a schedule with a list of construction activities, durations, begin and end dates. There are other examples of Mr. ******'s inability to perform this work. Resultantly, I cancelled this project, per Section Five: Duration, "Either party may cancel this contract prior to commencement of work." The work had not commenced. I then requested a refund of my deposit. Mr. ****** has not directly responded to my request for a refund check and a time that I will receive my refund check, I am concerned that Mr. ****** has used my funds for purposes other than my project. I would expect a reputable company to deposit the funds into the company's working account, establish a project number, and draw against the funds as a project progresses. I would also expect a reputable company to have sufficient working capital to be able to return the deposit check to a customer for which they have not commenced work.

Desired Settlement: There is no other acceptable outcome. Mr. ****** must refund our deposit.

Consumer Response:

Mary-

Please rescind my complaint against BAM BAM Renovations and Repairs. Mr. ****** has rectified the situation to my full and complete satisfaction.

 

Thank you,

***** M. *****

*** ******** ****** **.

************* ** *****

 

###-###-####

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bam Bam Renovation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)