Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

American Best Home Improvements Inc

Phone: (210) 341-5560 Fax: (210) 341-4768 View Additional Phone Numbers 1355 Basse Rd, San Antonio, TX 78212


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Best Home Improvements Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Best Home Improvements Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Best Home Improvements Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1990 in TX Business started locally: 01/01/1990 Business incorporated 08/01/1997 in TX
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

City of San Antonio Development Services Department
1901 S Alamo St, San Antonio TX 78204
http://www.sanantonio.gov/dsd/plans_permits.asp
Phone Number: (210) 207-1111

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Aaron D Acosta, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Aaron D Acosta, President
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Windows - Installation & Service Contractors - General Home Improvements Roofing Contractors Siding Contractors

Industry Tips
Before You Build Your Home Tips for hiring a contractor Tips for hiring a roofing contractor

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/18/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: hi i am and elderly woman who was approved for my house to get remodled due to my disablity from my heart.. so american best home improvement was selected to rebuild my home... due to them remodling we had a contract stating that after 1 year of the settlement of the foundation there would be a walk thru to adjust all tears and cracks of the floors and walls etc to fix anything ...after that year noone seemed to care and never came out to try and make the last walk thru,so due to that the plumbing has been gone bad and hving so many issues with sewer back up and so i called the city development services and found out that american best home improvement got permits for everything but plumbing,hve tried to contact american best home improvement and the gentleman Mr. Aaron Acosta and he wants to send the same plumber out but charge me fees...i am on a fixed income of social secruity so i am unable to pay plus i dnt want the same plumber that didnt hve a permit to begin with messing with the plumbing again...i am very sad and disgusted cause i hve to live in all this mess until i get this all fixed...cant shower in peace and hve to use a bucket for potty and thats horrible...please help me and others who are i am sure in the same boat now...not fair to us...

Desired Settlement: i want to get a brand new licensed plumber come out and redo this plumbing with a permit and let this company american best home improvement know that we can an will not be taken advantage of us disabled and elderly people...i am sure more hve been affected by this company....

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Regards,

***** **** i am so sorry but what ** ****** and Better Home Improvementwould not be having any of these issues if he had done the job correctly as stated in the contract...NHS did add in the contract bout the whple plumbing had to be done and NHS did pay to have BEtter HOMe Improvemnt to repair...and no its not NHS job to have gotten the permit for the plumbing to get done it was the contractor Better Home Improvement job...so in not doing that has led to the plumbing being horrible...yes i feel Better Home Improvement got paid to do the job and did not do it correctly and should be held responsible for what needs to be repaired again...and as for all the other repairs needing to be done to the house,Better Home Improvement and *** ****** has not attempted to try and contact me for any more repairs...yes the contract was for a year but i did attempt to contact NHS and Better Home Improvement for the final walk thru of the property but never happened due to noone answering or calling back...so no i feel Better Hme Improvement should be held responsible for what should hve been done the first time sorry...so nothing is being done by Better Home Improvement and *************

10/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contracted this company to do the work, fence, shower, ducts, improvement to the shed. I have never seen how bad the work is. They left nails, lumber, lunches and they have not even taken the post which they were suppose to. I trip over it and my lawn mower got the best of it. They had a medal post sticking over six inches and the lawm mower may have shaft and blade issues. Also, the chain saw I was using broken with some medal wire and other medal items that were close to the bushes I was cutting

Desired Settlement: That they finish the fence and ducts work and cancel the contract.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

09/14/2015

This letter is in reference to the complain of Mr. ****** ******** and enclosed is a
letter he signed confirming that everything he had issues with was taken care of.
The job was complete to his satisfaction and was also paid for any and all
damages that might of happen to any of his lawn tools the enclosed letter also
confirms that.

Consumer Response: Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: On the shed there other type of material rather then wood was put on. I check with Tuff Shed and they advised me they only use plywood, not the material used in the shed. This material will rott soon and it will be back to getting it fixed again. I did not notice that till after I had spoken to Mr. *******. The shed looks good but the material use to repair it was not the same as the shed had. Request that material used in the shed be replace with the same material it was made with. Other then that there is one window to the back bathroom which I belive the glass was reverse. You cannot look outside but you can look from the outside it. Those two are the only issues left and if repaired everything else will be fine.

Regards,

******* ********

5/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

This is an answer to the complain by Mr. ***** ***** on Slate Valley , First and foremost the complaint has nothing to do with the contract that American Best had with Mr. ***** in 2013.We have a reciept that was signed where the last amount owed was paid in full . The complaint he has is with a subcontractor that Mr. ***** hired on the side without the knowledge of American Best no contract was ever done for the extra work because it did not have anything to do with American Best.  We have no knowledge of what traspired between Mr. ***** and the subcontractor, we were not aware of any extra work being done at any time or what was suppose to be done . We are not liable for any work done without a contract to any customer when they decide to hire someone on their own .This is a risk the consumer takes when hiring someone on their own time and where no contract exists.  American Best did speak to the subcontractor and the subcontracor stated that he was in fact hired by Mr.***** to do some extra work on his own time, The subcontractor also stated that the work he did for Mr. ***** has nothing to do with American Best . If the BBB wants the phone number to contact the subcontractor we are willing to provide that information anytime it is requested.

12/2/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I, ***** **** HIRED AMERICAN BEST HOME IMPROVEMENT COMPANY ON 10/10/13. I HIRED THIS COMPANY THAT I THOUGHT WAS RELIABLE AND HAD A GOOD RATING WITH BBB IN SAN ANTONIO. TO THIS DATE 9/5/2013 ALL I HAVE RECEIVED WAS RUN AROUNDS WHEN SEEKING COMPLETION OF REMOLDING THAT I HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR. MY REMOLDING WAS FINANCED BY 2 COMPANYS AND I AM NOT SATISFIED WITH THE CONTRACT THAT THEY RUSH ME TO SIGN. NEEDLESS TO SAY THERE WERE MANY LIES ON THE CONTRACT ON WHAT WAS GOING TO BE DONE AND HOW MUCH I MADE YEARLY TO PASS LOANS. NO PERMIT OF ANY KIND THAT I KNOW OF WERE PULLED AT MY PREMISES. I HAVE TRIED TO RESOLVE MANY OF MY CONCERNS WITH THE OWNER OF ABHI AND HAD NO LUCK. HE NEITHER ANSWERS MY CALLS NOR MADE ANY ATTEMPTS TO CONTACT ME. PLEASE HELP ME RESOLVE THIS ISSUE.

Desired Settlement: HAVE LOANS VOIDED.

Business Response: RESPONSE TO YOU REQUEST; OUR COMPANY TRY TO FIX MR **** COMPLAIN WE CALL TO MAKE AN APPOINTMENT TO FIX THE PROBLEMS AND MR **** DENAI TO LET OUR COMPANY TO DO THE REPAIRS . WE WILL DO REPAIR ON ANY OF THE WORK UNDER WARRANTY WE HAVE CONTRACT WE MR **** AT NO COST IF HE ALOUD  US TO THE PROPERTY  AT ANY TIME.

***** ****** PRESIDENT    
AMERICAN BEST HOME IMPROVEMENT
1355 BASSE RD 
SAN ANTONIO TX 78212
*** *** ****




Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: I have constantly called Mr. ****** to fillful his duties at my site and he failed to do them in a timely manner. I have people/neighbors who can witness and can testify to this. I apologize for the late response and hope this finds you in best regards.

Regards,

***** ****

Business Response:

IN REFERENCE TO THE COMPLAINT WITH MR. **** THE LAST TIME AN ATTEMPT WAS MADE WAS THE FIRST WEEK OF SEPTEMBER2013,EARLY ONE MORNING A REPRESENTATIVE BY THE NAME OF ****** ******* AND SOME WORKERS OF AMERICAN BEST  WENT TO THE RESIDENCE OF MR.**** AND TRIED TO RESOLVE SOME OF THE ISSUES THAT WERE CONCERNING HIM.  WHILE THERE AMERICAN BEST WORKERS WORKED ON AN ISSUE THAT HAD NOTHING TO DO WITH ANY WORK RELATED TO THE CONTRACT,REPAIRS WERE DONE IN GOOD FAITH AND NO PAYMENT WAS  RECEIVED FOR SERVICES DONE.   WHILE THE REPRESENTATIVE WAS TALKING TO MR.**** HE RECEIVED A PHONE CALL AND TOLDTHE REPRESENTATIVE HE WOULD HAVE TO LEAVE AND THAT HE WOULD COME BACK LATER,  THE REPRESENTATIVE STAYED ON THE PROPERTY FOR A WHILE AND WHEN SHE REALIZED THAT HE MIGHT NOT BE COMING BACK ,LEFT A NOTE ASKING HIM TO PLEASE CONTAC AMERICAN BEST AS SOON AS HE COULD,SO WE COULD CONTINUE TO TRY TO RESOVLE HIS ISSUES.  A MESSAGE WAS LEFT ON HIS PHONE 09/10/2013 AND SINCE THEN NO CONTAC HAS BEEN ATTEMPTED BY HIM.  ALL AMERICAN BEST IS ASKING IS FOR TEN WORKING DAYS TO COMPLETE ANY REPAIRS ON THE PROPERTY ACCORDING TO THE CONTRACT.   AMERICAN BEST NEEDS TO KNOW WHAT METHOD OF PAYMENT IS GOING TO BE MADE IF AND WHEN ALL REPAIRS ARE MADE DUE TO THE FACT THAT ********** FINANCIAL PAYMENTS WERE HALTED BY MR.**** A WHILE BACK AND ELES FINANCIAL IS TRYING TO COLLECT FOR ITS LOAN MADE TO MR.**** .  AMERICAN BEST HAS TO ENSURE THAT SOME TYPE OF PAYMENT WILL BE MADE WHEN EVERYTHING IS DONE.  ONCE AGAIN MR. **** HASN'T MADE ANY EFFORT ON HIS BEHALF TO EITHER CALL THE REPRESENTATIVE ON HER CELL NOR THE OFFICE AND NEITHER HAS HE TRIED TO CALL MR. ****** REGARDING HIS PROBLEMS.

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because:
Once again Mr.****** is fabricating the truth. I have family and neighbors that can testify to my truth. Numerous times Mr.****** lied to me by saying his company would show up and never did.....yes I had to leave in a emergency I can prove that but all that was being done were miner cosmetics on the outside.....if any prove is needed or if any of my neighbors or family members need to be questioned I am sure there will not be a  problem....
***** ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on American Best Home Improvements Inc
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)