Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® - Start With Trust

Are you...?

If yes, click here to learn about BBB Accreditation.

Are you...?

This business is not BBB accredited.

1st Choice Flooring

Phone: (210) 680-5541 Fax: (210) 680-9369 1400 Callaghan Rd, San Antonio, TX 78228


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 1st Choice Flooring include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 1st Choice Flooring
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 04, 2009 Business started: 03/01/2005 Business started locally: 03/01/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Ernie Alcala, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ernie Alcala, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Hardwood Floor Contractors Tile & Marble Contractors - Flooring Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing Floor Coverings & Installation Home Improvements Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers

Industry Tips
Tips for hiring a contractor

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1400 Callaghan Rd

    San Antonio, TX 78228

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April 2012 I purchase some wood laminate flooring from ****** *********** and I used their contractor, 1st Choice Flooring to install it. In August 2012 I called 1st Choice Flooring because the trim came loose and my floor began to pucker and lift. After calling once a week for several months, the guy that installed the floor finally came out to look at the damage. He stated he was not sure why the floor puckered and stated he would have to contact the *****. He said the trim just needed to be re-glued. After calling several times and leaving tons of messages I finally got in contact with someone to come out and look at the floor again. I was told the reason for the laminate floor to lifting was possibly moisture or the cleaning products I used. I used the products recommended by lumber liquidators. After a year of calling, I finally talked to someone and I relayed the issue to him. I told him that Ive been calling for over a year and he said that my warranty may have ran out but he would work with the warranty department and call me back. Although Ive called and left several messages before the warranty expired, I still have not received a call back. I called another firm to come and give me an estimate on the repair of my floor and he stated that although moisture could have been the problem, it appeared that the reason for my laminate floor to experience lifting is that the floor was installed without leaving enough space around its perimeter for acclimation to occur after installation. He stated when properly installed, a laminate floor should have a perimeter of approximately 8-10 millimeters to allow for expansion due to acclimation, in which the floor adjusts to the temperature and humidity of its new environment. If this is not done, however, the floor has nowhere to expand to, and consequently bows up slightly due to the pressure upon its sides. He quoted me $500-$800 for repair but recommended I get with the original installers to repair the floor.

Desired Settlement: Repair the floor.

Business Response: Hi 
**** 
Hope all is well 
I just wanted to reach out to you & inform you that I am currently cleaning out my junk folder & ran across your email about complaint ******* 

Please be advised that as of this moment I will be requesting my staff to pull the clients information so we can update you asap
should you have any questions as per this email feel free to call me @ ************ **** 


****** ****** ***
Colossians 3:23
 
         1st Choice 
Flooring & Consulting
 Direct: ************
 Fax     : ************

Consumer Response: Complaint: *******

I am rejecting this response because: It does not address my problem.

Regards,

****** *****

10/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/17/2012 Problems with Product/Service